Introduction
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this Office Action. This is the First Office Action on the Merits.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs / columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the disclosure.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 line(s) 4, “the cyclic memory buffer” appears to be a typo. The Office is interpreting this limitation as “the memory buffer”.
In claim 5 line(s) 2, “the from a controller” appears to be missing a word. The Office is interpreting this limitation as “the event from a controller”.
In claim 5, line(s) 2, “the vehicle” appears to be a type. The Office is interpreting this limitation as “a vehicle”.
In claim 8 line(s) 1, “non-volatiles” should be “non-volatile”.
In claim 8 line(s) 2, “the compressed vehicle sensor data” appears to be a typo. The Office is interpreting this limitation as “the vehicle sensor data”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “data compression unit” in claim 10. The “data compression unit” is interpreted as software running on a processor, or structural equivalent thereof, similar to that described in at least paragraph(s) 15 of the specification.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 13, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,260,111. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims are fully encompassed by the patented claim.
Claims 1-8, 10, and 13-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 10,846,955. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims are fully encompassed by the patented claims.
Claims 1-8, 19, and 13-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, 7, and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,676,431. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims are fully encompassed by the patented claims.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 10, 13, 14, 18, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,087,110. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims are fully encompassed by the patented claims.
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 13, 15, 17, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,410,475. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims are fully encompassed by the patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 13-15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2007/0035632 to Silvernail et al.
As per claim 1, Silvernail discloses a data recorder (Silvernail; At least the abstract) comprising:
a memory buffer configured to store vehicle sensor data received from one or more vehicle sensors (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 3 and 53); and
a non-volatile storage configured to store the vehicle sensor data from the cyclic memory buffer in response to an event (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 55).
As per claim 2, Silvernail discloses wherein the memory buffer is configured to operate as a cyclic buffer (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 53).
As per claim 3, Silvernail discloses wherein the event comprises a collision involving a vehicle in which the one or more vehicle sensors are installed, and wherein the data recorder receives a signal indicative of the event from a controller of the vehicle (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 11 and 126).
As per claim 4, Silvernail discloses wherein in response to the event, the data recorder is configured to store the vehicle sensor data from the memory buffer into the nonvolatile storage (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 11 and 55).
As per claim 5, Silvernail discloses wherein the data recorder receives a signal indicative of the from a controller of the vehicle, the signal further indicative of a measurement from an inertia sensor being above a predetermined threshold and/or an application of an emergency braking system (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 11, 23, 26, and 29).
As per claim 6, Silvernail discloses a data recorder (Silvernail; At least the abstract) comprising:
a non-volatile memory (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 10 and 88), wherein:
at least a portion of the non-volatile memory device is configured to operate as a cyclic buffer (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 10); and
the cyclic buffer is configured to store vehicle sensor data received from one or more sensors of a vehicle (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 10).
As per claim 7, Silvernail discloses wherein the non-volatile memory is configured to receive a signal indicative of an event from a controller of the vehicle (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 11 and 126).
As per claim 13, Silvernail discloses a data recorder (Silvernail; At least the abstract) comprising:
a cyclic buffer configured to store raw vehicle sensor data received from one or more vehicle sensors (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 53); and
a non-volatile storage configured to store the raw vehicle sensor data in response to an event (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 55).
As per claim 14, Silvernail discloses further comprising a non-volatile memory to store compressed data received from the one or more vehicle sensors (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 54).
As per claim 15, Silvernail discloses wherein the event comprises a collision involving a vehicle in which the one or more vehicle sensors are installed (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 11).
As per claim 17, Silvernail discloses wherein the one or more vehicle sensors comprise at least one of a camera, an infrared camera, a sonar, a radar, or a lidar (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 9).
As per claim 18, Silvernail discloses wherein the cyclic buffer comprises volatile memory configured to store the raw vehicle sensor data (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 35; a volatile memory is used prior to saving to the HCS).
As per claim 19, Silvernail discloses wherein the cyclic buffer comprises non-volatile memory configured to store the raw vehicle sensor data (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silvernail in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0302758 to Wright.
As per claim 8, Silvernail discloses storing the vehicle sensor data in response to the event (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 11), but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a non-volatiles storage configured to store the compressed vehicle sensor data in response to the event.
However, the above feature(s) are taught by Wright (Wright; At least paragraph(s) 23). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of Wright into the invention of Silvernail with a reasonable expectation of success with the motivation of using a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way with predictable results. Sending the data and storing in a remote storage would provide a more robust storage system and the data could be accessed by third parties, such as emergency or insurance services, as discussed in at least paragraph(s) 32 of Wright.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-12, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silvernail in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0007323 to Botusescu et al.
As per claim 9, Silvernail does not explicitly disclose wherein the portion of the non-volatile memory device configured to operate as the cyclic buffer is further configured to store encrypted vehicle sensor data.
However, the above feature(s) are taught by Botusescu (Botusescu; At least paragraph(s) 18). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of Botusescu into the invention of Silvernail with a reasonable expectation of success with the motivation of using a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way with predictable results. Encrypting the data enhances the security.
As per claim 10, Silvernail discloses further comprising a data compression unit configured to compress raw vehicle sensor data into compressed vehicle sensor data (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 54),
Silvernail discloses that the video can be compressed into low, medium, and high quality (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 54), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the vehicle sensor data stored in the cyclic buffer comprises the compressed vehicle sensor data.
However, the above feature(s) are taught by Botusescu (Botusescu; At least paragraph(s) 18). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of Botusescu into the invention of Silvernail with a reasonable expectation of success with the motivation of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Compressing the data in the cyclic buffer, for example using a medium compression in the buffer, would reduce the storage capacity needed and, thus, reduce space and cost.
As per claim 11, Silvernail does not explicitly disclose wherein the data compression unit is further configured to encrypt the compressed vehicle data, wherein the compressed vehicle sensor data stored in the cyclic buffer is also encrypted.
However, the above feature(s) are taught by Botusescu (Botusescu; At least paragraph(s) 18). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of Botusescu into the invention of Silvernail with a reasonable expectation of success with the motivation of using a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way with predictable results. Encrypting the data enhances the security.
As per claim 12, Silvernail discloses wherein the vehicle sensor data stored in the cyclic buffer is encrypted prior to being stored in the cyclic buffer.
However, the above feature(s) are taught by Botusescu (Botusescu; At least paragraph(s) 18). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of Botusescu into the invention of Silvernail with a reasonable expectation of success with the motivation of using a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way with predictable results. Encrypting the data enhances the security.
As per claim 16, Silvernail discloses wherein the event comprises receiving a signal from an inertial sensor (Silvernail; At least paragraph(s) 11, 22, and 23).
Silvernail does not explicitly disclose and an application of an emergency braking system. However, the above feature(s) are taught by Botusescu (Botusescu; At least paragraph(s) 16 and 17). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of Botusescu into the invention of Silvernail with a reasonable expectation of success with the motivation of using a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way with predictable results. Using both accelerations and braking signals would provide more information to achieve a more accurate representation of the situation. Further, the exact types of signals used to determine an event would be a design choice and within the skill of one in the art during design.
As per claim 20, Silvernail does not explicitly disclose wherein the raw vehicle sensor stored in the cyclic buffer is encrypted.
However, the above feature(s) are taught by Botusescu (Botusescu; At least paragraph(s) 18). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of Botusescu into the invention of Silvernail with a reasonable expectation of success with the motivation of using a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way with predictable results. Encrypting the data enhances the security.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892. The prior art shows the state of the art.
/David P. Merlino/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665