DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment and Remarks filed on 07/31/2026.
Claims 1-15 received on 07/31/2026 are considered in this Office Action.
Claims 1-15 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Claim 15 was previously objected. In response to the amendment of claim 15, the objection is withdrawn.
Claims 1-12 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In response to the Applicant’s amendment to claim 1, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim 14 was previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d). In response to the Applicant’s amendment to claim 13, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejection of claims 1 and 13 under 35 USC § 102/103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In the Remarks, Applicant argues that prior arts cited by the Examiner fail to disclose the following additional new limitations (Remarks, pg 7-8): the plurality of vehicle mounting locations are configured to receive the vehicle control interface at different locations within an interior of the vehicle.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The basis of the argument comes from the Applicant’s allegation that the prior arts cited by the Examiner fails to solve the problem of the claimed invention of conventional vehicle controls often require a driver to stretch, lean, or look away from the road because the controls are fixed in one position, and thus fails to teach a vehicle control interface that can be selectively positioned at different locations within the vehicle interior according to user preference.
However, Medina specifically teaches a vehicle control interface that can be selectively positioned at different locations within the vehicle interior according to user preference (FIG. 4; FIG. 14; FIG. 15; para. [0059]: “control system facilitates ease of use for physically disabled users who may have decreased fine motor skills”; para. [0119]: “The mounting system 1400 may extend between the touch screen 102 and a dashboard 28 of the vehicle 10 (or a structural portion of the vehicle 10). The mounting system 1400 may be configured to extend or retract and rotate the touch screen 102 relative to the dashboard 28 so that the touch screen 102 is within reach of the user.”; para. [0122]: “The bendable member 1504 may be adjustable by hand and may maintain a current state or position once the touch screen 102 is adjusted to a desired position”, wherein mounting system allows repositioning of touch screen at different locations within the vehicle interior according to user preference), thus allowing a driver to stretch, lean, or look away from the road. Medina fails to specifically teach moving vehicle control interface among multiple mounting locations within the vehicle.
However, FAN specifically teaches exchangeable mounting hardware for vehicle control interface which enables relocation among multiple mounting locations within the vehicle or exchangeable mounting hardware configured to removably attach the housing to any one of a plurality of different vehicle mounting locations of within the vehicle, wherein the plurality of vehicle mounting locations are configured to receive the vehicle control interface at different locations within an interior of the vehicle (FIG. 6; pg 4 last paragraph-first paragrah: “The 6 shows a schematic view of the practical use of the present invention in combination with other structures. […] The suction cup 100 is used in combination with other interconnection structures to facilitate placement and retention of the electronic product on a smooth surface, a curved surface or a surface with arches. Only one of the embodiments is shown below, and this is not intended to limit the scope of the present invention. The present invention is intended to be an extension holder 200 on top of the housing unit 3 Attach. To the extension holder 200 In addition, a clamping device 300 assembled. The clamping device 300 can be a mobile phone 400 hold. The user can use the suction holder 100 attach to the curved platform above the dashboard of the vehicle such that the mobile phone 400 in the vehicle can be used without hands. It is obvious that the extension holder 200 and the clamping device 300 are not limited to those shown in the embodiment and can be freely selected from various available products”; pg 3 5th paragraph: “Press in a ring shape so that the suction cup 11 regardless of whether the surface is a curved surface or a surface with arches, it can be adjusted completely to the surface to which it is to be attached”, wherein “surface” and “dashboard of the vehicle” indicates plurality of vehicle mounting locations are configured to receive the vehicle control interface at different locations within an interior of the vehicle, as suction cup is capable of being attached to these locations).
Therefore, a combination of Daly in view of Medina and further in view of FAN further teaches (a) selecting one of a plurality of vehicle mounting locations within the vehicle (FAN pg 3 5th paragraph: “Press in a ring shape so that the suction cup 11 regardless of whether the surface is a curved surface or a surface with arches, it can be adjusted completely to the surface to which it is to be attached”, wherein the user can attach it to various surface location in the vehicle thus indicating Selecting one of a plurality of vehicle mounting locations within the vehicle); (b) Positioning a selectively positionable interface component adjacent the selected vehicle mounting location (Medina FIG. 14-FIG. 17; FAN FIG. 6; FAN pg 3 5th paragraph: “Press in a ring shape so that the suction cup 11 regardless of whether the surface is a curved surface or a surface with arches, it can be adjusted completely to the surface to which it is to be attached”, the user attaching it to various surface location in the vehicle thus indicating Positioning a selectively positionable interface component adjacent the selected vehicle mounting location).
For the reasons above, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and therefore the rejections of claims 1-15 are maintained.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are:
Claims 1-5 and 7-10: selectively positionable interface component (generic placeholder) receiving (function)
Claims 1-12: communication module (generic placeholder) communicate (function)
Claims 1-2 and 5-12: mounting interface (generic placeholder) removably attach (function)
Regarding “selectively positionable interface component”, it is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure of input switch such as display, a dial, a rocker switch, a display, a knob, a slider, and/or a handle and equivalents thereof as supported by a portion of paragraph [0043] of the specification reproduced below:
[0043] The selectively positionable interface component 210, 410 may comprise different embodiments, which may advantageously provide for an easier interface between the selectively positionable interface component 210, 410 and the vehicle feature 730. The selectively positionable interface component 210, 410 comprise a dial, a rocker switch, a display, a knob, a slider, and/or a handle, without limitation. Those skilled in the art will appreciate the various other selectively positionable interface components that may be used, after having the benefit of this disclosure.
Regarding “communication module”, it is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure of signal transmitter or receiver and equivalents thereof as supported by a portion of paragraphs [0032] and [0055] of the specification reproduced below:
[0032] The term radio, as it is used throughout this disclosure, is defined as the wireless transmission and reception of electric impulses or signals by means of electromagnetic waves.
[0055]: The communication module 612 may communicate this control input to the vehicle communication radio 732 of the vehicle 102, 602, 702, for example, via wireless transmission of electromagnetic radio waves. The vehicle communication radio 732 of the vehicle 102, 602, 702 may then receive the communication included by the electromagnetic radio waves received by the communication module and provide the control input indicated by the communication to the vehicle feature 730 via an electrical signal
Regarding “mounting interface”, it is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure of hardware comprising of suctioning mechanism, a magnetic surface, a hook-and-loop surface, and/or an adhesive surface and equivalents thereof as supported by a portion of paragraph [0067] of the specification reproduced below:
[0067] As previously mentioned, the housing 220, 320, 420, 520, 620 may additionally comprise a mounting interface 322. The mounting interface 322 may further exchangeably receive mounting hardware 324. The mounting hardware 324 may comprise a variety of mounting connections, including, but not limited to, a suctioning mechanism, a magnetic surface, a hook-and-loop surface, and/or an adhesive surface. Those skilled in the art, however, will appreciate the variety of mounting connections that may be used with the mounting hardware after having the benefit of this disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DALY (US 20210229603 A1), in view of Medina (US20240227821A9), and further in view of FAN (DE 202019002344 U1).
A merged copy of the PE2E English translation and foreign copy of DE 202019002344 U1 referenced was attached in the previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 1, DALY teaches a vehicle control interface for use within a vehicle (FIG. 7; para. [0022]: “convenient user interface system for reading information from a vehicle data bus and controlling functions available through the vehicle data bus. A touch-screen user interface is preferably provided as part of an interface/electronics module. The touch-screen may be part of a stand-alone tablet computer”), comprising:
a selectively positionable interface component for receiving a control input to affect an operational state of a vehicle feature (FIG. 7; FIG. 12; para. [0074]: “FIGS. 4-8 illustrate embodiments in which a stand-alone tablet device is combined with other components to create the inventive interface/electronics module.”; para. [0091]-[0101]: “flexible and capable user interface allowing a user to access more of the digital capability of a car […] removable touch-screen device or a touch-screen device actually installed in the car—the user is preferably presented with a graphical interface […] For instance, using the touch screen, the user can increase the fan speed and change the vent configuration to “defrost”; para. [0075]: “In order for the stand-alone tablet to interface with the vehicle's CAN bus, a wired or wireless connection must be made.”, wherein removable touch-screen device and stand-alone tablet indicates selectively positionable), comprising:
a communication module disposed within the vehicle control interface and configured to communicate with a vehicle communication radio of the vehicle (FIG. 3; FIG. 7; FIG. 8; para. [0075]: “In order for the stand-alone tablet to interface with the vehicle's CAN bus, a wired or wireless connection must be made.”; para. [0107]: “1. Wirelessly linking an external tablet to the interface/electronics module using BLUETOOTH or similar technologies”, wherein stand-alone tablet wirelessly linking using BLUETOOTH indicates disposed within the vehicle control interface and configured to communicate with, and “interface/electronics module” to corresponds to vehicle communication radio),
wherein the vehicle communication radio is electrically connected to the vehicle feature being controlled by the control input (FIG. 3; FIG. 8; para. [0022]-[0023]: “the interface/electronics module communicates with the vehicle CAN bus. This communication allows the module to receive data and transmit commands […] Thus, commands originating at the user interface can be sent to the vehicle CAN bus and carried out by OEM vehicle components. […] transmitted by the CAN bus and the user can be given the ability to control practically any function that is controlled by the CAN bus”; para. [0078]: “the interface module connects to the CAN bus”; para. [0017]: “FIG. 3 presents a simple depiction of several components and their electrical connections to both the CAN bus […] Each component (blower motor, window motor, seat motor, defrost actuator, window control switch, etc.) is connected in parallel to the CAN bus”; para. [0094]: “For instance, using the touch screen, the user can increase the fan speed and change the vent configuration to “defrost.””; para. [0080]: “Interface/electronics module 36 is added and connected to CAN bus 38 of vehicle 10. It is also connected to tablet 30 or other touch-screen interface device. Interface/electronics module 36 reads digital messages from the CAN bus and sends these to tablet 30. It can also receive commands from tablet 30, put these in an appropriate CAN format, and place them on CAN bus 38.”, wherein CAN bus connected to components indicate vehicle feature, and the interface/electronics module is electronically connected to the CAN bus which is electronically connected to several components or the vehicle feature being controlled by the control input, thus indicating that interface/electronics module is electrically connected to several components, as CAN bus is a communication wire);
a housing to enclose the communication module and at least partially enclose the selectively positionable interface component (FIG. 7; FIG. 11; para. [0022]: “The touch-screen may be part of a stand-alone tablet computer”, wherein stand-alone tablet computer encloses communication components inside and the touch display is shown outside, hence partially enclose), comprising:
a mount(FIG. 7; para. [0078]: “FIG. 7 shows an embodiment in which a tablet interface is added but the factory controls are retained. Mounting bracket 34 is added to the center console. This mounting bracket includes a tablet receiver that tablet 30 snaps into.”, wherein mounting bracket corresponds to a mounting interface), but fails to specifically teach a mounting interface including exchangeable mounting hardware configured to removably attach the housing to any one of a plurality of different vehicle mounting locations of within the vehicle and wherein the plurality of vehicle mounting locations are configured to receive the vehicle control interface at different locations within an interior of the vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Medina teaches a selectively positionable interface component for receiving a control input to affect an operational state of a vehicle feature (FIGs. 5-11; para. [0063]: “The control unit 300 includes a touch screen 102 (e.g., a capacitive touch screen, a display screen, a user input device, etc.)”; para. [0126]: “The process 400 also includes obtaining a user input to control a feature of the vehicle via a gesture, a tactile input, or a spoken input (step 404), according to some embodiments. The tactile inputs can be obtained as button presses or touching a screen at any of the touch screen 102, the user device 178, the handheld control unit 170, etc”; para. [0126]: “The process 400 also includes obtaining a user input to control a feature of the vehicle via a gesture, a tactile input, or a spoken input (step 404), according to some embodiments. The tactile inputs can be obtained as button presses or touching a screen at any of the touch screen 102, the user device 178, the handheld control unit 170, etc”),
a housing to enclose the communication module and at least partially enclose the selectively positionable interface component (FIG. 2A; FIG. 14; para. [0063]: “The control unit 300 includes a touch screen 102 (e.g., a capacitive touch screen, a display screen, a user input device, etc.) and an embedded computer assembly (ECA) 106, according to some embodiments”), and
a mounting interface including exchangeable mounting hardware configured to (FIG. 14-FIG. 17; para. [0120]: “In some embodiments, the mounting system 1400 also includes a mounting member 1412 (e.g., a clamp, a plate with openings for fasteners, etc.) configured to secure, fasten, attach, or otherwise fixedly couple the outer tubular member 1410 with the dashboard 28 of the vehicle 10.”; para. [0119]: “The touch screen 102 may be positioned directly to a left or a right of a steering wheel 26 of the vehicle 10”).
DALY and Medina are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor of providing an alternate user interface to the provided factory controls. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mounting bracket of DALY with the mounting system of Medina that comprises of a tubular member and mounting member configured to secure, fasten, attach, or otherwise fixedly couple the outer tubular member with the dashboard of the vehicle. Doing so will allow the touch screen to extend or retract and rotate the touch screen so that the touch screen is within reach of the user (Medina, para. [0119]), and further allow ease of use for physically disabled users who may have decreased fine motor skills (Medina, para. [0059]). Daly in view of Medina fails to specifically teach removably attach the housing to any one of a plurality of different vehicle mounting locations of the vehicle and wherein the plurality of vehicle mounting locations are configured to receive the vehicle control interface at different locations within an interior of the vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, FAN teaches a mounting interface including exchangeable mounting hardware configured to removably attach the housing to different vehicle mounting locations of the vehicle; wherein the plurality of vehicle mounting locations are configured to receive the vehicle control interface at different locations within an interior of the vehicle (FIG. 6; pg 4 last paragraph-first paragrah: “The 6 shows a schematic view of the practical use of the present invention in combination with other structures. […] The suction cup 100 is used in combination with other interconnection structures to facilitate placement and retention of the electronic product on a smooth surface, a curved surface or a surface with arches. Only one of the embodiments is shown below, and this is not intended to limit the scope of the present invention. The present invention is intended to be an extension holder 200 on top of the housing unit 3 Attach. To the extension holder 200 In addition, a clamping device 300 assembled. The clamping device 300 can be a mobile phone 400 hold. The user can use the suction holder 100 attach to the curved platform above the dashboard of the vehicle such that the mobile phone 400 in the vehicle can be used without hands. It is obvious that the extension holder 200 and the clamping device 300 are not limited to those shown in the embodiment and can be freely selected from various available products”; pg 3 5th paragraph: “Press in a ring shape so that the suction cup 11 regardless of whether the surface is a curved surface or a surface with arches, it can be adjusted completely to the surface to which it is to be attached”, wherein suction cup indicates exchangeable mounting hardware configured to removably attach and adjusted completely to the surface to which it is to be attached regardless of smooth surface, a curved surface or a surface with arches indicates attach the housing to different vehicle mounting locations of the vehicle, and “surface” and “dashboard of the vehicle” indicates plurality of vehicle mounting locations are configured to receive the vehicle control interface at different locations within an interior of the vehicle, as suction cup is capable of being attached to these locations).
FAN is considered analogous to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of attaching a mount onto a surface of a vehicle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting interface of DALY in view of Medina and incorporate mounting interface of FAN, including the suction cup. Doing so will enhance user experience by providing a secure attachment to various surfaces or locations in the vehicle (FAN, pg 3 5th paragraph).
Regarding claim 6, DALY in view of Medina and further in view of FAN teaches the vehicle control interface of claim 1. DALY and Medina further teaches wherein the selectively positionable interface component comprises a display comprising a screen that presents variable inputs via a graphic user interface (DALY FIG. 12; DALY FIG. 7; DALY para. [0092]: “Once the system is installed—either using a removable touch-screen device or a touch-screen device actually installed in the car—the user is preferably presented with a graphical interface. As those skilled in the art will know, it is possible to create an infinite number of different graphical interfaces.”; DALY para. [0022]: “The touch-screen may be part of a stand-alone tablet computer or part of an integrated and permanently-mounted display”; Medina FIGs. 5-11, wherein user selecting options indicate a display comprising a screen that presents variable inputs via a graphic user interface).
Regarding claim 8, DALY in view of Medina and further in view of FAN teaches the vehicle control interface of claim 1. DALY further teaches wherein the control input affects the operational state of an entertainment system of the vehicle (FIG. 12; para. [0095]: “2. Entertainment—Selecting this option causes the available radio, satellite, CD, and other external audio and video sources to be displayed. The user is given the option to change radio stations, or make other selections like changing from radio to satellite as the input”).
Regarding claim 9, DALY in view of Medina and further in view of FAN teaches the vehicle control interface of claim 1. Medina further teaches wherein the control input affects the operational state of an interior light of the vehicle (para. [0076]: “In this way, the ECA 106 may control operation of: lighting functionality of the vehicle 10 (e.g., dome lights, interior lights, headlights, etc.) by providing communications to the lights 144 (e.g., to the controllers thereof)”).
Regarding claim 10, DALY in view of Medina and further in view of FAN teaches the vehicle control interface of claim 1. DALY and Medina further teaches wherein the control input affects the operational state of a climate control system of the vehicle (DALY FIG. 12; DALY para. [0094]: “1. Environment—Selecting this option causes the current cabin temperature to be displayed and the outside air temperature to be displayed. In addition, the environmental control setting are displayed (desired temperature, fan speed, vent configuration, etc.). The user is given the option to make changes. For instance, using the touch screen, the user can increase the fan speed and change the vent configuration to “defrost.””; Medina FIG. 5; Medina para. [0110]: “an air conditioning button 532,”).
Regarding claim 13, DALY teaches a method for using a vehicle control interface within a vehicle to control a vehicle feature (FIG. 7; para. [0022]: “convenient user interface system for reading information from a vehicle data bus and controlling functions available through the vehicle data bus. A touch-screen user interface is preferably provided as part of an interface/electronics module. The touch-screen may be part of a stand-alone tablet computer”), comprising:
(a) Selecting (FIG. 7; para. [0078]: “FIG. 7 shows an embodiment in which a tablet interface is added but the factory controls are retained. Mounting bracket 34 is added to the center console. This mounting bracket includes a tablet receiver that tablet 30 snaps into.”),
(b) Positioning a selectively positionable interface component adjacent the selected vehicle mounting location (FIG. 7; para. [0078]: “This mounting bracket includes a tablet receiver that tablet 30 snaps into.”, wherein tablet corresponds to an example corresponding to selectively positionable interface component),
the selectively positionable interface component comprising: a communication module disposed within a housing, the communication module being preconfigured to communicate with a vehicle communication radio of the vehicle (FIG. 3; FIG. 7; FIG. 8; para. [0075]: “In order for the stand-alone tablet to interface with the vehicle's CAN bus, a wired or wireless connection must be made.”; para. [0107]: “1. Wirelessly linking an external tablet to the interface/electronics module using BLUETOOTH or similar technologies”, wherein stand-alone tablet wirelessly linking using BLUETOOTH indicates a communication module disposed in the housing being preconfigured communicate with a vehicle communication radio, such as “interface/electronics module”), and
wherein the vehicle communication radio is electrically connected to the vehicle feature being controlled (FIG. 3; FIG. 8; para. [0022]-[0023]: “the interface/electronics module communicates with the vehicle CAN bus. This communication allows the module to receive data and transmit commands […] Thus, commands originating at the user interface can be sent to the vehicle CAN bus and carried out by OEM vehicle components. […] transmitted by the CAN bus and the user can be given the ability to control practically any function that is controlled by the CAN bus”; para. [0094]: “For instance, using the touch screen, the user can increase the fan speed and change the vent configuration to “defrost.””; para. [0080]: “Interface/electronics module 36 is added and connected to CAN bus 38 of vehicle 10. It is also connected to tablet 30 or other touch-screen interface device. Interface/electronics module 36 reads digital messages from the CAN bus and sends these to tablet 30. It can also receive commands from tablet 30, put these in an appropriate CAN format, and place them on CAN bus 38.”, wherein the interface/electronics module is electronically connected to the CAN bus which is electronically connected to several components or the vehicle feature being controlled by the control input);
(c) (FIG. 7; para. [0078]: “FIG. 7 shows an embodiment in which a tablet interface is added but the factory controls are retained. Mounting bracket 34 is added to the center console. This mounting bracket includes a tablet receiver that tablet 30 snaps into.”, wherein mounting bracket added to the center console indicates a mounting interface);
(d) establishing communication between the vehicle communication radio and the communication module (FIG. 8; para. [0107]: “1. Wirelessly linking an external tablet to the interface/electronics module using BLUETOOTH or similar technologies”, wherein stand-alone tablet wirelessly linking using BLUETOOTH indicates direct wireless communication);
(e) receiving a control input from the selectively positionable interface component by the vehicle communication radio via the communication (FIG. 3; FIG. 7; FIG. 8; FIG. 12; para. [0094]: “The user is given the option to make changes. For instance, using the touch screen, the user can increase the fan speed and change the vent configuration to “defrost.””; para. [0091]: “One objective of the present invention is the provision of a flexible and capable user interface allowing a user to access more of the digital capability of a car. FIG. 12 shows an exemplary user interface”; para. [0075]: “In order for the stand-alone tablet to interface with the vehicle's CAN bus, a wired or wireless connection must be made.”; para. [0107]: “1. Wirelessly linking an external tablet to the interface/electronics module using BLUETOOTH or similar technologies”, wherein stand-alone tablet wirelessly linking using BLUETOOTH indicates communication); and
(f) translating the control input to an electrical signal to be received by the vehicle feature and affect an operational state of the vehicle feature (FIG. 12; para. [0080]: “It can also receive commands from tablet 30, put these in an appropriate CAN format, and place them on CAN bus 38.”; para. [0094]: “1. Environment—Selecting this option causes the current cabin temperature to be displayed and the outside air temperature to be displayed. In addition, the environmental control setting are displayed (desired temperature, fan speed, vent configuration, etc.). The user is given the option to make changes. For instance, using the touch screen, the user can increase the fan speed and change the vent configuration to “defrost.””, wherein the vehicle feature is operated based on the selection in the GUI/touch screen thus indicating translating the control input to an electrical signal to be received by the vehicle feature and affect an operational state of the vehicle feature), but fails to specifically teach one of a plurality of vehicle mounting locations and removably mounting the housing to the selected vehicle mounting location using exchangeable mounting hardware of a mounting interface.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Medina teaches a vehicle control interface that can be selectively positioned at different locations within the vehicle interior according to user preference (FIG. 4; FIG. 14; FIG. 15; para. [0059]: “control system facilitates ease of use for physically disabled users who may have decreased fine motor skills”; para. [0119]: “The mounting system 1400 may extend between the touch screen 102 and a dashboard 28 of the vehicle 10 (or a structural portion of the vehicle 10). The mounting system 1400 may be configured to extend or retract and rotate the touch screen 102 relative to the dashboard 28 so that the touch screen 102 is within reach of the user.”; para. [0122]: “The bendable member 1504 may be adjustable by hand and may maintain a current state or position once the touch screen 102 is adjusted to a desired position”, wherein mounting system allows repositioning of touch screen at different locations within the vehicle interior according to user preference),
(c) (FIG. 14-FIG. 17; para. [0120]: “In some embodiments, the mounting system 1400 also includes a mounting member 1412 (e.g., a clamp, a plate with openings for fasteners, etc.) configured to secure, fasten, attach, or otherwise fixedly couple the outer tubular member 1410 with the dashboard 28 of the vehicle 10.”; para. [0122]: “The mounting system 1500 includes a bendable member 1504 that fixedly couples with the dashboard 28 and supports the touch screen 102”).
DALY and Medina are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor of providing an alternate user interface to the provided factory controls. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mounting bracket of DALY with the mounting system of Medina that comprises of a tubular member and mounting member configured to secure, fasten, attach, or otherwise fixedly couple the outer tubular member with the dashboard of the vehicle. Doing so will allow the touch screen to extend or retract and rotate the touch screen so that the touch screen is within reach of the user (Medina, para. [0119]), and further allow ease of use for physically disabled users who may have decreased fine motor skills (Medina, para. [0059]). Daly in view of Medina fails to specifically teach one of a plurality of vehicle mounting locations and removably mounting the housing to the selected vehicle mounting location using exchangeable mounting hardware of a mounting interface.
However, in the same field of endeavor, FAN teaches (a) Selecting one of a plurality of vehicle mounting locations within the vehicle (pg 3 5th paragraph: “Press in a ring shape so that the suction cup 11 regardless of whether the surface is a curved surface or a surface with arches, it can be adjusted completely to the surface to which it is to be attached”, the user can attach it to various surface location in the vehicle thus indicating Selecting one of a plurality of vehicle mounting locations within the vehicle);
(b) Positioning a selectively positionable interface component adjacent the selected vehicle mounting location (pg 3 5th paragraph: “Press in a ring shape so that the suction cup 11 regardless of whether the surface is a curved surface or a surface with arches, it can be adjusted completely to the surface to which it is to be attached”, the user attaching it to various surface location in the vehicle thus indicating Positioning a selectively positionable interface component adjacent the selected vehicle mounting location);
(c) removably mounting the housing to the selected vehicle mounting location using exchangeable mounting hardware of a mounting interface (FIG. 6; pg 4 last paragraph-first paragrah: “The 6 shows a schematic view of the practical use of the present invention in combination with other structures. […] The suction cup 100 is used in combination with other interconnection structures to facilitate placement and retention of the electronic product on a smooth surface, a curved surface or a surface with arches. Only one of the embodiments is shown below, and this is not intended to limit the scope of the present invention. The present invention is intended to be an extension holder 200 on top of the housing unit 3 Attach. To the extension holder 200 In addition, a clamping device 300 assembled. The clamping device 300 can be a mobile phone 400 hold. The user can use the suction holder 100 attach to the curved platform above the dashboard of the vehicle such that the mobile phone 400 in the vehicle can be used without hands. It is obvious that the extension holder 200 and the clamping device 300 are not limited to those shown in the embodiment and can be freely selected from various available products”; pg 3 5th paragraph: “Press in a ring shape so that the suction cup 11 regardless of whether the surface is a curved surface or a surface with arches, it can be adjusted completely to the surface to which it is to be attached”, wherein suction cup indicates removably mounting using exchangeable mounting hardware).
FAN is considered analogous to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of attaching a mount onto a surface of a vehicle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting interface of DALY in view of Medina and incorporate mounting interface of FAN, including the suction cup. Doing so will enhance user experience by providing a secure attachment to various surfaces or locations in the vehicle (FAN, pg 3 5th paragraph).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DALY, in view of Medina, and further in view of FAN, and further in view of Kelly (US-20180202601-A1)
Regarding claim 2, DALY in view of Medina and further in view of FAN teaches the vehicle control interface of claim 1, but fails to specifically teach exchangeable mounting hardware is removable from the mounting interface and replaceable with different mounting hardware.
However, Kelly teaches exchangeable mounting hardware is removable from the mounting interface and replaceable with different mounting hardware (FIG. 13-22; FIGs. 25-29; para. [0070]: “FIGS. 21 and 22 depict a physical phone mount 914 that can be removably attached to a base (not shown) via a female threaded opening 956.”; para. [0073]: “FIG. 25 illustrates an adhesive base 613 that includes a structural base member 670, a male threaded projection 622 extending from one side of the structural base member 670, […] allows the base 613 to be permanently mounted on virtually any clean and relatively flat surface (e.g., a desk, a vehicle dash, or a vehicle windshield)”; para. [0075]: “FIG. 27 illustrates a suction cup base 813 that includes a structural base member 870, a male threaded projection 822 extending from one side of the structural base member 870”; para. [0074]: “FIG. 26 illustrates a cupholder base 713 that includes a structural base member 770 and a male threaded projection 722 extending from the top of the structural base member 770”, wherein FIGs. 25-29 show example mounting hardware that is replaceable)
Kelly is considered analogous to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of attaching a mount and device onto a surface on a vehicle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting hardware, a suction cup, of DALY in view of Medina and further in view of FAN and incorporate the teaching of Kelly, and include removably attachable base comprising of different mounting mechanisms on the vehicle interior surface, such as suction, adhesive or cup holder. Doing so will allow a variety of different bases can be used interchangeably (Kelly, Absract), thus allowing selecting the appropriate base based on the surface.
Regarding claim 3, DALY in view of Medina and further in view of FAN and further in view of Kelly teaches the vehicle control interface of claim 2. FAN further teaches wherein the mounting hardware comprises a suctioning mechanism (FIG. 1-6; pg 4 last paragraph-first paragrah: “The 6 shows a schematic view of the practical use of the present invention in combination with other structures. […] The suction cup 100 is used in combination with other interconnection structures to facilitate placement and retention of the electronic product on a smooth surface, a curved surface or a surface with arches. Only one of the embodiments is shown below, and this is not intended to limit the scope of the present invention. The present invention is intended to be an extension holder 200 on top of the housing unit 3 Attach. To the extension holder 200 In addition, a clamping device 300 assembled. The clamping device 300 can be a mobile phone 400 hold. The user can use the suction holder 100 attach to the curved platform above the dashboard of the vehicle such that the mobile phone 400 in the vehicle can be used without hands. It is obvious that the extension holder 200 and the clamping device 300 are not limited to those shown in the embodiment and can be freely selected from various available products”).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DALY, in view of Medina, and further in view of FAN, and further in view of Kelly, and further in view of Ioniq (NPL- Dashboard Mounted Magsafe Charger | Hyundai Ioniq 5).
Ioniq referenced by the Examiner is attached in the previous Office Action.
Ioniq FIG. 1 (left) and FIG. 5 (right)
Regarding claim 4, DALY in view of Medina and further in view of FAN and further in view of Kelly teaches the vehicle control interface of claim 2, but fails to specifically teach wherein the mounting hardware comprises a magnet corresponding to a complementary magnetic surface provided by the vehicle.
However, Ioniq teaches wherein the mounting hardware comprises a magnet corresponding to a complementary magnetic surface provided by the vehicle (FIGs. 1-7; Transcript 0:05-0:08: “allows you to mount your phone magnetically to the car's dashboard”; 2:52-3:13: “also a universal adapter that mounts here as well it's magnetic on both sides and all you have to do is take a adhesive backed metal plate attach it to your phone or to the case of the phone and then that allows you to mount whatever phone you want here and just like the magsafe version”, wherein FIGs. 1-7 show a magnet in the mounting hardware (case, or phone magsafe) and a magnetic surface of the vehicle).
Ioniq is considered analogous to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of attaching a mount and device onto a surface on a vehicle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting hardware bases, such as a suction cup or adhesive, of DALY in view of Medina and further in view of FAN and further in view of Kelly and incorporate the teaching of Ioniq, and include a magnet to removably attach the mount and portable device onto the magnetic surface of the vehicle. Doing so will allow the phone mount to be attached to a magnetic surface (Ioniq FIGs. 1-7).
Regarding claim 5, DALY in view of Medina and further in view of FAN and further in view of Kelly and further in view of Ioniq teaches the vehicle control interface of claim 4. Ioniq further teaches wherein the complementary magnetic surface is preinstalled to the vehicle (Ioniq FIGs. 1-7, wherein the dashboard is magnetic as shown in the figures, thus indicates complementary magnetic surface is preinstalled to the vehicle).
Claims 7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DALY, in view of Medina, and further in view of FAN, and further in view of Miller (NPL- What Is a Touchscreen Digitizer).
Miller referenced by the Examiner is attached in the previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 7, DALY in view of Medina and further in view of FAN teaches the vehicle control interface of claim 6. DALY further teaches wherein the display (para. [0154]: “the invention provides a graphic user interface displayed on a display screen. User inputs are accommodated via a touch screen capability on the display”), but fails to specifically teach the display further comprises a digitizer.
However, Miller teaches the display further comprises a digitizer to receive the control input corresponding with the variable inputs provided by the graphic user interface (Overview: “In touchscreen devices, the digitizer is a layer of glass that’s designed to convert analog touch comments into digital signals. Both capacitive and resistive touchscreen devices have a digitizer. It’s essentially a glass layer that’s placed over the device’s liquid-crystal display (LCD) layer. The digitizer’s primary purpose is to convert the analog signals from your touch commands into digital signals that they device can read”).
Miller is considered analogous to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of touch screen. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch screen of DALY in view of Medina and further in view of FAN and incorporate the digitizer of Miller. Doing so will allow to control the device’s display using touch commands (Miller, pg 3: “most touchscreen devices have a digitizer. Without this otherwise essential component, you wouldn’t be able to control the device’s display usingtouch commands.”).
Regarding claim 14, DALY in view of Medina and further in view of FAN teaches the method of claim 13. Daly and Medina further teaches wherein the selectively positionable interface component comprises a display comprising a screen that presents variable inputs via a graphic user interface touch screen, the method further comprising (g}receiving the control input touch screen corresponding with the variable inputs of the graphic user interface (Daly FIG. 12; Daly para. [0093]: “The user can make a selection by touching a particular area of the display.”; Daly para. [0094]: “1. Environment—Selecting this option causes the current cabin temperature to be displayed and the outside air temperature to be displayed […] The user is given the option to make changes. For instance, using the touch screen, the user can increase the fan speed and change the vent configuration to “defrost.””; Medina FIG. 4 404-408; Medina FIGs. 5-11; Medina para. [0126]: “The process 400 also includes obtaining a user input to control a feature of the vehicle via a gesture, a tactile input, or a spoken input (step 404), according to some embodiments. The tactile inputs can be obtained as button presses or touching a screen at any of the touch screen 102”), but fails to specifically teach a digitizer.
However, Miller teaches touch screen further comprises a digitizer (Overview: “In touchscreen devices, the digitizer is a layer of glass that’s designed to convert analog touch comments into digital signals. Both capacitive and resistive touchscreen devices have a digitizer. It’s essentially a glass layer that’s placed over the device’s liquid-crystal display (LCD) layer. The digitizer’s primary purpose is to convert the analog signals from your touch commands into digital signals that they device can read”).
Miller is considered analogous to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of touch screen. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch screen of DALY in view of Medina and further in view of FAN and incorporate the digitizer of Miller. Doing so will allow to control the device’s display using touch commands (Miller, pg 3: “most touchscreen devices have a digitizer. Without this otherwise essential component, you wouldn’t be able to control the device’s display using touch commands.”).
Regarding claim 15, DALY in view of Medina and further in view of FAN and further in view of Miller teaches the method of claim 14. The combination of Daly in view of Medina and further in view of FAN further teaches wherein the communication module and at least part of the selectively positionable interface component are enclosed by a housing (DALY FIG. 7; DALY FIG. 11; DALY para. [0022]: “The touch-screen may be part of a stand-alone tablet computer”; DALY para. [0107]: “1. Wirelessly linking an external tablet to the interface/electronics module using BLUETOOTH or similar technologies”, wherein stand-alone tablet computer encloses communication components inside, such as BLUETOOTH, and the touch display is shown outside, hence at least part of the selectively positionable interface component are enclosed) that is removably attached to the vehicle mounting location via a mounting interface of the housing (DALY FIG. 7; DALY para. [0078]: “FIG. 7 shows an embodiment in which a tablet interface is added but the factory controls are retained. Mounting bracket 34 is added to the center console. This mounting bracket includes a tablet receiver that tablet 30 snaps into.”; Medina FIG. 14-FIG. 17; Medina para. [0120]: “In some embodiments, the mounting system 1400 also includes a mounting member 1412 (e.g., a clamp, a plate with openings for fasteners, etc.) configured to secure, fasten, attach, or otherwise fixedly couple the outer tubular member 1410 with the dashboard 28 of the vehicle 10.”; FAN FIG. 6; FAN pg 4 last paragraph-first paragrah: “The 6 shows a schematic view of the practical use of the present invention in combination with other structures. […] The suction cup 100 is used in combination with other interconnection structures to facilitate placement and retention of the electronic product on a smooth surface, a curved surface or a surface with arches”); and
wherein the method further comprises: (h) removably mounting the mounting interface to the vehicle mounting location (Medina FIG. 14-FIG. 17; FAN FIG. 6; FAN pg 3 5th paragraph: “Press in a ring shape so that the suction cup 11 regardless of whether the surface is a curved surface or a surface with arches, it can be adjusted completely to the surface to which it is to be attached”).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DALY, in view of Medina, and further in view of FAN and further in view of HUION (NPL- Inspiroy Dial 2).
HUION referenced by the Examiner is attached in the previous Office Action.
HUION – Annotated FIG. 3
Regarding claim 11, DALY in view of Medina and further in view of FAN teaches the vehicle control interface of claim 1. Medina further teaches a digital accessibility button (FIG. 21; para. [0157]: “FIG. 21 , the control system 100 may include a DAB 2100 installed within reach of the driver of the vehicle 10. The DAB 2100 is a retrofit input device (e.g., a button, a button set, multiple buttons, a switch, etc.) that can be installed in a variety of locations such that a driver with impaired fine motor skills may press the DAB 2100. For example, the DAB 2100 may be positioned on the touch screen 102”), but fails to specifically teach wherein the selectively positionable interface component comprises a dial.
However, HUION teaches wherein the selectively positionable interface component comprises a dial (FIG. 3; Annotated FIG. 3; pg 3: “For detailed information about the functions of a dial controller, please refer to the table of settings below.
Default The default three functions of a dial controller are “Zoom in/out”, “Adjust Brush Size”, and “Scroll Up/Down”.
Multimedia You can turn the dial controller to play the previous song or next song. You can also rotate it to turn the volume up and down.
Customize Click on the input box (Clockwise/Anticlockwise) and enter a valid key combination to create a shortcut. You can turn the dial controller clockwise or anticlockwise to perform the shortcuts you entered.
None Selecting “None” means the dial controller will perform no function when you turn it.”).
HUION is considered analogous to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to a tablet. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tablet and DAB of DALY in view of Medina and further in view of FAN and incorporate the dial of HUION. Doing so will allow the user to customize the function of the dial and input the desired control using the dial, thus enhancing user experience (HUION, pg 3).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DALY, in view of Medina, and further in view of FAN, and further in view of Ricci (US20130145279A1).
Regarding claim 12, DALY in view of Medina and further in view of FAN teaches the vehicle control interface of claim 1. Medina further teaches a digital accessibility button comprising a switch (FIG. 21; para. [0157]: “FIG. 21 , the control system 100 may include a DAB 2100 installed within reach of the driver of the vehicle 10. The DAB 2100 is a retrofit input device (e.g., a button, a button set, multiple buttons, a switch, etc.) that can be installed in a variety of locations such that a driver with impaired fine motor skills may press the DAB 2100. For example, the DAB 2100 may be positioned on the touch screen 102”), but fails to specifically teach but fails to specifically teach wherein the selectively positionable interface component comprises a rocker switch.
However, Ricci teaches wherein the selectively positionable interface component comprises a rocker switch (FIG 2A-2B; para. [0060]-[0061]: “the device 100 may include one or more physical and/or electrical features such as switches, buttons, ports, slots, inputs, outputs, and the like. These features may be located on one or more surfaces 230 of the console 100 […] For example, control buttons 216, 220, and 224 may be configured to, in combination or alone, control a number of aspects of the device 100. Some non-limiting examples include overall system power, volume, brightness, vibration, selection of displayed items, a camera, a microphone, and initiation/termination of device functions. In some embodiments, instead of separate buttons two buttons may be combined into a rocker button. This arrangement is useful in situations where the buttons are configured to control features such as volume or brightness. In other embodiments, button 216 is configured to, in addition to or in lieu of controlling system power, control other aspects of the device 100”).
Ricci is considered analogous to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to a tablet. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tablet and DAB switch of DALY in view of Medina and further in view of FAN and incorporate the rocker switch of Ricci. Doing so will enhance user experience by combining two separate buttons into a single rocker button, thus allowing controlling a number of aspects of the device (Ricci, para. [0060]-[0061]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Geiser (US20250128751A1) teaches an emulating module configured to convert the CAN signals to control signals for the plurality of user-operated buttons such that the user-operated buttons emulate functions of a plurality of factory-installed buttons of the steering wheel.
/ANDREW SANG KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3668