DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 8, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for containing the Markush listing “chelating agent” for the amine source. This limitation renders the claims vague and indefinite, since a chelating agent does not need to contain an amine group. Claims 2 and 12 should be amended to recite “an amine containing chelating agent” for clarification purposes. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for containing the limitation “a chelating agent in an amount of from about 0.1 to about 2.5% by weight”. This limitation renders the claims vague and indefinite, since the amine source of instant claims 2 and 12 may contain a chelating agent. It is unclear if claims 8 and 16 are requiring an additional/different chelating agent in an amount of from about 0.1 to about 2.5% by weight than the chelating agent listed in claims 2 and 12. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Serrasqueiro et al, WO 2021/073901.
Serrasqueiro et al, WO 2021/073901, discloses a machine dishwashing detergent comprising a carbohydrate oxidizing enzyme and a surfactant system (see abstract and page 1, lines 3-8). It is further taught by Serrasqueiro et al that the dishwashing detergent contains 0.002-0.5% by weight of an active carbohydrate oxidase enzyme, such as hexose oxidase, 1-40% by weight of a carbohydrate oxidase enzyme substrate, and a surfactant system comprising a nonionic surfactant, wherein the pH of a 1% by weight solution (i.e., contains water in an amount of up to 99% by weight) is 8.5-11.5 (see page 2, lines 1-11), that the carbohydrate oxidase enzyme substrate is glucose (i.e., a reducing sugar; see page 5, lines 14-24), that suitable nonionic surfactants include C10-20 fatty acids, ethoxylated alcohols, and alkoxylated amines (i.e., an amine source) in an amount of 0.1-15% by weight (see page 6, lines 5-32), that the detergent further contains up to 5% by weight of an anionic surfactant (see page 7, lines 1-4), 10-50% by weight of a carbonate salt (see page 7, lines 6-11), and a builder/sequesterant material, such as GLDA (i.e., a chelating agent; see page 7, lines 13-31), and that the detergent is in the form of an aqueous liquid or a unit dose formulation (see page 10, lines 9-30), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note Examples 1-8 and Tables 1-3. Therefore, instant claims 1-2, 4-12 and 14-20 are anticipated by Serrasqueiro et al, WO 2021/073901.
In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed composition, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients within the claimed proportions for the same utility.
Claims 11-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lauridsen et al, WO 2006/131503.
Lauridsen et al, WO 2006/131503, discloses a detergent composition comprising a carbohydrate oxidase, lactose, a bleach activator and a surfactant (see abstract and paragraph 22). It is further taught by Lauridsen et al that the composition contains 0.1-1000 OXU per liter of detergent solution of carbohydrate oxidase (see paragraphs 7-16), 0.05-5 g/L of lactose (i.e., a reducing sugar; see paragraph 17), 1-40% by weight of an anionic surfactant, such as an alkyl sulfate and alpha-sulfo fatty acid methyl ester (see paragraphs 36-37), 0.2-40% by weight of a nonionic surfactant, such as an alkyl dimethyl amine oxide (i.e., an amine source) or an alcohol ethoxylate (see paragraph 38), 0-50% by weight of a carbonate (i.e., a base) or ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (i.e., a chelating agent) (see paragraph 39), and a stabilizing agent, such as lactic acid (see paragraph 41), wherein the composition is in the form of a liquid containing up to 70% by weight of water (see paragraph 35) and an aqueous solution of the detergent has a pH of 6-11 (see paragraph 44), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note Examples 1-3. Therefore, instant claims 11-12 and 14-20 are anticipated by Lauridsen et al, WO 2006/131503.
In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed composition, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients within the claimed proportions for the same utility.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piorkowski, US 2020/0109358, in view of Serrasqueiro et al, WO 2021/073901.
The primary reference of Piorkowski, US 2020/0109358, discloses a single dose pack including a container composed of a water-soluble film and a wash composition comprising a surfactant, an enzyme, an aqueous solvent, and 1-30% by weight of a saccharide system containing fructose and glucose (i.e., a reducing sugar) (see abstract and paragraphs 7-9). It is further taught by Piorkowski that the wash composition has a pH of 5.5-9.5 (see paragraph 20), that the wash composition contains 1-70% by weight of surfactants, such as alkyl ethoxylated sulfates, alcohol ethoxylates, and polyoxyalkylene alkylamines (i.e., an amine source) (see paragraphs 21-34), 0.01-5% by weight of an enzyme (see paragraph 36), up to 25% by weight of water (see paragraph 38), 1-20% by weight of a non-aqueous solvent, such as xylitol, mannitol and sorbitol (i.e., sustainable solvents; see paragraphs 39-40 and 44), and optional components, such as 0.01-0.5% by weight of an acid/base preservative (see paragraphs 45-46), and 0.01-3% by weight of chelating agents, such as ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (i.e., an amine source; see paragraph 51), wherein the unit dose wash composition is used in a dishwashing machine (see paragraphs 9 and 54-56). Specifically, note the Example in Table 1. Piorkowski does not teach a wash composition that contains 0.01-3% by weight of a Maillard reaction inhibiting enzyme.
The secondary reference of Serrasqueiro et al, WO 2021/073901, is relied upon supra as disclosing a machine dishwashing detergent comprising a carbohydrate oxidizing enzyme and a surfactant system (see abstract and page 1, lines 3-8). It is further taught by Serrasqueiro et al that the dishwashing detergent contains 0.002-0.5% by weight of an active carbohydrate oxidase enzyme, such as hexose oxidase (i.e., a Maillard reaction inhibiting enzyme; see page 2, lines 1-11), wherein the carbohydrate oxidase enzyme is capable of removing tea stains without the presence of a bleach precursor or bleach activator, while using relatively small amounts of active enzyme (see page 2, lines 17-34).
Therefore, in view of the teachings of the secondary reference of Serrasqueiro et al, WO 2021/073901, one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the primary reference of Piorkowski, US 2020/0109358, by including 0.002-0.5% by weight of an active carbohydrate oxidase enzyme, such as hexose oxidase, in their wash composition to improve the level of tea stain removal. Such modification would be obvious because one would expect that the use of 0.002-0.5% by weight of an active carbohydrate oxidase enzyme, such as hexose oxidase, as taught by Serrasqueiro et al, would be similarly useful and applicable to the analogous wash composition taught by Piorkowski.
Double Patenting
Claims 11-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/828,617 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending Application No. 18/828,617 claims a similar detergent composition comprising 0.01-5% by weight of a Maillard reaction inhibiting enzyme, such as hexose oxidase, 20-50% by weight of a non-aqueous/sustainable solvent, such as sorbitol, 15-40% by weight of an alcohol ethoxylate nonionic surfactant, 1-5% by weight of ethanolamine, 0.01-5% by weight of a reducing sugar, such as fructose, 0.01-1% by weight of a base, 0.01-1% by weight of an acid, 0.1-2.5% by weight of a chelating agent, 2-8% by weight of lauryl sulfate, 0.5-5% by weight of a fatty acid, water, and adjunct ingredients (see claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/828,617), as required in the instant claims. Therefore, instant claims 11-20 are an obvious formulation in view of claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/828,617.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/828,506 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending Application No. 18/828,506 claims a similar liquid detergent composition contained in a water-soluble unit dose comprising 0.01-3% by weight of a Maillard reaction inhibiting enzyme, such as hexose oxidase, 0.01-20% by weight of a sustainable polymer, such as starch, that further contains a reducing sugar, such as fructose, 15-35% by weight of a surfactant, 5-30% by weight of an amine source, such as ethanolamine, 0.01-2% by weight of a base, 0.01-2% by weight of an acid, 0.1-2.5% by weight of a chelating agent, 2-8% by weight of lauryl sulfate, 0.5-5% by weight of a fatty acid, water, and adjunct ingredients, wherein the pH of the detergent is 6-12 (see claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/828,506), as required in the instant claims. Therefore, instant claims 1-20 are an obvious formulation in view of claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/828,506.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 11-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/990,105 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending Application No. 18/990,105 claims a similar hand soap composition comprising 0.001-3% by weight of a Maillard reaction inhibiting enzyme, such as carbohydrate oxidase, 0.05-30% by weight of an amine source, such as an amine containing enzyme, 1-40% by weight of a primary surfactant, a primary humectant, at least 40% by weight of water, 0.1-15% by weight of a secondary surfactant, a sustainable solvent, such as sorbitol, a reducing sugar, and adjunct ingredients (see claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/990,105), as required in the instant claims. Therefore, instant claims 11-20 are an obvious formulation in view of claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/990,105.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 11-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/990,218 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending Application No. 18/990,218 claims a similar body wash composition comprising 0.001-3% by weight of a Maillard reaction inhibiting enzyme, such as carbohydrate oxidase, 0.05-30% by weight of an amine source, such as an amine containing enzyme, 1-40% by weight of a primary surfactant, at least 40% by weight of water, 0.1-15% by weight of a secondary surfactant, a sustainable solvent, such as sorbitol, a reducing sugar, and adjunct ingredients (see claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/990,218), as required in the instant claims. Therefore, instant claims 11-20 are an obvious formulation in view of claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/990,218.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 11-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/990,308 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending Application No. 18/990,308 claims a similar hair care composition comprising 0.001-1% by weight of a Maillard reaction inhibiting enzyme, such as carbohydrate oxidase, 0.05-30% by weight of an amine source, such as an amine containing enzyme, 1-40% by weight of a primary surfactant, at least 40% by weight of water, 0.1-15% by weight of a secondary surfactant, a sustainable solvent, such as sorbitol, a reducing sugar, and adjunct ingredients (see claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/990,308), as required in the instant claims. Therefore, instant claims 11-20 are an obvious formulation in view of claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/990,308.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/926,821 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending Application No. 18/926,821 claims a similar liquid detergent composition contained in a water-soluble container comprising at least one surfactant, 0.001-3% by weight of a Maillard reaction inhibiting enzyme, such as carbohydrate oxidase, 0.01-10% by weight of a fermented amino acid primary amine source, a secondary amine source, such as ethanolamine, 5-45% by weight of water, a reducing sugar, such as fructose, a sustainable solvent, such as sorbitol, and adjunct ingredients (see claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/926,821), as required in the instant claims. Therefore, instant claims 1-20 are an obvious formulation in view of claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/926,821.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/BRIAN P MRUK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
Brian P Mruk
August 9, 2026