DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Applicant has a huge listing of referenced publications in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by applicant’s own admission, Specification, page 7, lines 20-24,
The disclosure teaches:
The hydrophilitized polymer in Bolto is obtained by soaking PE or PP membrane in chromic acid. Bolto reference in section 3, page 977. The term “hydrophilitized” is considered under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over applicant’s own admission, Specification, page 7, lines 20-24, in view of Thom et al (US 2015/0157986.)
The disclosure teaches:
The citation does not teach the “hydrophilicitized” microporous polyolefin sheet, the “hydrophilicitized” being as claimed in claim 3.
Thom teaches such hydrophilized polyethylene and polypropylene (claim 7) microporous ([0002]) membrane using grafting pluronics ® in [0025] and in the claims. Thom teaches the advantages of such hydrophilic modification in [0004]; and would make it likely easier to graft PVA (without requiring surface oxidation such as using chromic acid). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Thom in the teaching of Bolto, cited by applicant, for having the improved membrane, such improvement being obtained by teachings of Thom.
Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention
Conclusion
/KRISHNAN S MENON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771