DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 20 January 2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Chen does not teach a gap between the inner and outer insulators. The examiner disagrees. Chen’s gap is labelled 31 or 31a and is clearly shown in Figs. 1a-1c, 2b, 3b, 4b, and 6a.
Applicant argues that Sanchez does not teach a light emitting device in the gaps between the power wire cores. The examiner disagrees. Sanchez’s light emitting devices 1200 are in the gaps between power wire cores 1120 (see Fig. 4).
Applicant argues that the light emitting devices in Sanchez risk being damaged by external impact. The examiner respectfully points out that Chen teaches that sheath around the light source is stated to result in a stronger, less easily breakable light source, thus motivating one of ordinary skill to make the combination with Sanchez to solve the very issue applicant is pointing out (Chen paragraph 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez et al. (WO 2021/171064 A1) in view of Chen (US 2004/0212992 A1) and Jester (US 6945669 B1).
With respect to claim 1: Sanchez teaches “a luminescent cable (1000), comprising: power wire cores (1120); a sheath layer (1300); and a light-emitting device (1200) for the luminescent cable, comprising a light strip capable of emitting light (1210), wherein the power wire cores and the light-emitting device are bundled in the sheath layer (see Fig. 4), and wherein, the power wire cores are attached to each other in pairs and form gaps at an outside (see Fig. 4), the light-emitting device is arranged in one of the gaps at the outside (see Fig. 4), the light- emitting device has a shape in fit with the one of the gaps at the outside (see Fig. 4)”.
Sanchez does not specifically teach a loose jacket layer sleeving the light strip, wherein the light strip is slidable relative to the loose jacket layer, and at least portion of the loose jacket layer is made of a light- transmitting material; wherein, the light strip comprises an LED light bar, and a jacket layer slidably arranged in the loose jacket layer; wherein the tight jacket layer is extruded and wrapped around the LED light bar, and is tightly attached to the LED light bar; and a gap is formed between the tight jacket layer and the loose jacket layer, such that the light strip is slidable freely in the loose jacket layer”.
However, Chen teaches “a light strip (1) capable of emitting light (paragraph 30); and a loose jacket layer (2 or 3) sleeving the light strip (see Figs. 1-4), wherein the light strip is slidable relative to the loose jacket layer (paragraphs 30, 41), and at least portion of the loose jacket layer is made of a light-transmitting material (paragraph 39); wherein, the light strip comprises an LED light bar (paragraphs 30, 38), and a jacket layer slidably arranged in the loose jacket layer (paragraphs 30, 41); wherein the jacket layer is wrapped around the LED light bar (see Figs. 1b, 1c), and is attached to the LED light bar (paragraph 7); and a gap (31) is formed between the jacket layer and the loose jacket layer (see Figs. 1b, 1c), such that the light strip is slidable freely in the loose jacket layer (paragraphs 30, 41)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the luminescent cable of Sanchez with the jackets having the gap therebetween taught by Chen in order to make it harder to break and provide a decorative effect (Chen paragraph 2).
Sanchez does not specifically teach that the jacket layer is a tight jacket layer that is tightly attached to the LED light bar.
However, Jester teaches a jacket layer (32, 42, 52) tightly attached (column 2 line 58-column 3 line 4) to an LED (column 1 lines 34-37) light bar (31, 41, 51).
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cable of Sanchez by tightly wrapping the jacket layer around the LED light bar as taught by Jester in order to avoid tangling the LED light bar and reduce breakage (Jester column 3 lines 1-4).
Sanchez in view of Chen does not specifically teach that the tight jacket layer is extruded.
However, Sanchez teaches that extrusion is an appropriate method for the purpose of forming a jacket layer in a cable (page 5 lines 20-33).
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the extrusion method Sanchez teaches to form the jacket layers taught by Chen due to the art recognized suitability of extrusion for the purpose of forming a jacket layer in a cable (Sanchez page 5 lines 20-33).
With respect to claim 3: Sanchez in view of Chen and Jester teaches “the luminescent cable according to claim 1 (see above)”.
Sanchez does not specifically teach “wherein the gap between the light strip and the loose jacket layer is filled with a buffer medium or in a vacuum setting, and the buffer medium filled is one or more of gas, liquid, paste, and gel”.
Chen teaches “wherein the gap between the light strip and the loose jacket layer is filled with a buffer medium or in a vacuum setting, and the buffer medium filled is one or more of gas, liquid, paste, and gel (paragraph 37)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the light emitting device of Sanchez by filling the gap as taught by Chen in order to enhance the visual effect (Chen paragraph 14).
With respect to claim 4: Sanchez in view of Chen and Jester teaches “the luminescent cable according to claim 1 (see above)”.
Sanchez does not specifically teach “wherein at least a portion of the tight jacket layer is made of a light-transmitting material”.
Chen teaches “wherein at least a portion of the tight jacket layer is made of a light-transmitting material (paragraph 39)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cable of Sanchez by selecting transparent materials as the jacket in order to see the light from the light sources inside the jacket (Chen paragraphs 38-39).
With respect to claim 5: Sanchez in view of Chen and Jester teaches “the light-emitting device for a luminescent cable according to claim 4 (see above)”.
Sanchez further teaches “wherein the LED light bar comprises a plurality of LED lamp beads (1211), and cords (1220, 1230) for connecting the plurality of LED lamp beads and an energy collection element (page 7 lines 2-18)”.
With respect to claim 6: Sanchez in view of Chen and Jester teaches “the luminescent cable according to claim 5 (see above)”.
Sanchez teaches “wherein the plurality of LED lamp beads and the energy collection element are connected in series, in parallel (see Fig. 5), or in a series and parallel combination mode”.
With respect to claim 7: Sanchez in view of Chen and Jester teaches “the luminescent cable according to claim 5 (see above)”.
Sanchez teaches “wherein the energy collection element is configured to provide energy for the plurality of LED lamp beads to emit light (page 7 lines 2-18)”.
With respect to claim 8: Sanchez in view of Chen and Jester teaches “the luminescent cable according to claim 1 (see above)”.
Sanchez does not specifically teach “wherein the cross section of the loose jacket layer is circular, oval, rectangular, square, trapezoidal, fan-shaped, or irregular polygon”.
Chen teaches “wherein the cross section of the loose jacket layer is circular (see Figs. 1b, 1c), oval (paragraph 34), rectangular (paragraph 34), square, trapezoidal, fan-shaped, or irregular polygon”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the luminescent cable of Sanchez with the jackets having the cross sectional shapes taught by Chen due to the art recognized suitability of the cross section to provide the protective function of the jacket (Chen paragraphs 2 and 34).
With respect to claim 9: Sanchez in view of Chen and Jester teaches “the luminescent cable according to claim 1 (see above)”.
Sanchez further teaches “at least portion of the sheath layer is made of a transparent material (page 6 line 41)”.
With respect to claim 12: Sanchez in view of Chen and Jester teaches “the luminescent cable according to claim 9 (see above)”.
Sanchez does not specifically teach “wherein the gap between the light strip and the loose jacket layer is filled with a buffer medium or in a vacuum setting, and the buffer medium filled is one or more of gas, liquid, paste, and gel”.
Chen teaches “wherein the gap between the light strip and the loose jacket layer is filled with a buffer medium or in a vacuum setting, and the buffer medium filled is one or more of gas, liquid, paste, and gel (paragraph 37)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cable of Sanchez by filling the gap as taught by Chen in order to enhance the visual effect (Chen paragraph 14).
With respect to claim 13: Sanchez in view of Chen and Jester teaches “the light-emitting device for a luminescent cable according to claim 9 (see above)”.
Sanchez does not specifically teach “wherein at least a portion of the tight jacket layer is made of a light-transmitting material”.
Chen teaches “wherein at least a portion of the tight jacket layer is made of a light-transmitting material (paragraph 39)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cable of Sanchez by selecting transparent materials as the jacket in order to see the light from the light sources inside the jacket (Chen paragraphs 38-39).
With respect to claim 14: Sanchez in view of Chen and Jester teaches “the light-emitting device for a luminescent cable according to claim 13 (see above)”.
Sanchez teaches “wherein the LED light bar comprises a plurality of LED lamp beads (1211), and cords (1220, 1230) for connecting the plurality of LED lamp beads and an energy collection element (page 7 lines 2-18)”.
With respect to claim 15: Sanchez in view of Chen and Jester teaches “the luminescent cable according to claim 14 (see above)”.
Sanchez teaches “wherein the plurality of LED lamp beads and the energy collection element are connected in series, in parallel (see Fig. 5), or in a series and parallel combination mode”.
With respect to claim 16: Sanchez in view of Chen and Jester teaches “the luminescent cable according to claim 14 (see above)”.
Sanchez teaches “wherein the energy collection element is configured to provide energy for the plurality of LED lamp beads to emit light (page 7 lines 2-18)”.
With respect to claim 17: Sanchez in view of Chen and Jester teaches “the luminescent cable according to claim 9 (see above)”.
Sanchez does not specifically teach “wherein the cross section of the loose jacket layer is circular, oval, rectangular, square, trapezoidal, fan-shaped, or irregular polygon”.
Chen teaches “wherein the cross section of the loose jacket layer is circular (see Figs. 1b, 1c), oval (paragraph 34), rectangular (paragraph 34), square, trapezoidal, fan-shaped, or irregular polygon”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the luminescent cable of Sanchez with the jackets having the cross sectional shapes taught by Chen due to the art recognized suitability of the cross section to provide the protective function of the jacket (Chen paragraphs 2 and 34).
Claims 10, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez in view of Chen and Jester as applied to claims 9, 11-13 above, and further in view of Bodziony et al. (US 20130062093 A1).
With respect to claim 10: Sanchez in view of Chen and Jester teaches “the luminescent cable according to claim 9 (see above)”.
Sanchez does not specifically teach “wherein the sheath layer comprises an inner sheath, a reinforcing layer and an outer sheath nested in sequence from inside to outside”.
However, Bodziony teaches “wherein the sheath layer comprises an inner sheath (17), a reinforcing layer (18) and an outer sheath (19) nested in sequence from inside to outside (see Fig. 1)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the cable of Sanchez by employing a triple-layered reinforced sheath as taught by Bodziony in order to enhance the strength of the cable (Bodziony paragraph 24).
With respect to claim 18: Sanchez in view of Chen and Jester teaches “the luminescent cable according to claim 9 (see above)”.
Sanchez does not specifically teach “wherein the sheath layer comprises an inner sheath, a reinforcing layer and an outer sheath nested in sequence from inside to outside”.
However, Bodziony teaches “wherein the sheath layer comprises an inner sheath (17), a reinforcing layer (18) and an outer sheath (19) nested in sequence from inside to outside (see Fig. 1)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the cable of Sanchez by employing a triple-layered reinforced sheath as taught by Bodziony in order to enhance the strength of the cable (Bodziony paragraph 24).
With respect to claim 19: Sanchez in view of Chen and Jester teaches “the luminescent cable according to claim 12 (see above)”.
Sanchez does not specifically teach “wherein the sheath layer comprises an inner sheath, a reinforcing layer and an outer sheath nested in sequence from inside to outside”.
However, Bodziony teaches “wherein the sheath layer comprises an inner sheath (17), a reinforcing layer (18) and an outer sheath (19) nested in sequence from inside to outside (see Fig. 1)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the cable of Sanchez by employing a triple-layered reinforced sheath as taught by Bodziony in order to enhance the strength of the cable (Bodziony paragraph 24).
With respect to claim 20: Sanchez in view of Chen and Jester teaches “the luminescent cable according to claim 13 (see above)”.
Sanchez does not specifically teach “wherein the sheath layer comprises an inner sheath, a reinforcing layer and an outer sheath nested in sequence from inside to outside”.
However, Bodziony teaches “wherein the sheath layer comprises an inner sheath (17), a reinforcing layer (18) and an outer sheath (19) nested in sequence from inside to outside (see Fig. 1)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the cable of Sanchez by employing a triple-layered reinforced sheath as taught by Bodziony in order to enhance the strength of the cable (Bodziony paragraph 24).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/NATHANIEL J LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875