DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-10, 13, 14, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2014/0149631, cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an apparatus (figs. 2 and 3) comprising first memory device (111) comprising a buffer (1160) or cache for a second memory device (121, [0047]-[0050], buffer 1160 is used for receiving data from the second memory device 121 via 182-183. Therefore, buffer 1160 is considered as buffer for the second memory device); wherein the buffer or cache of the first memory device operates as the buffer or cache of the second memory device (buffers 1160 and 1250 are working in conjunction with each other to transfer data between the first memory device (111) and the second memory device (121). The buffer 1160 stores data from the second memory device 121 via the buffer 1250. Therefore, the buffer 1160 in conjunction with the buffer 1250 operates as the buffer for the second memory device ([0050]). Note that, the claim does not call for the second memory device not to have a buffer or cache.); and a set of pins (181-188) configured to couple the first memory device to the second memory device ([0038]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim further teaches wherein the set of pins comprises a first set of pins (182-183), and further wherein the apparatus comprises a third memory device (131) connected to the first memory device via a second set of pins (184-185).
Regarding claim 4, Kim further teaches wherein the buffer or cache comprises a buffer (DBU, fig. 3), and wherein a size and location of the buffer is configured by a processor chip or memory controller (MC 20, figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 5, Kim further teaches wherein the processor chip or memory controller is not part of the first memory device (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Kim further teaches wherein the buffer is configured by the processor chip or memory controller based on signals sent from the processor chip or memory controller to the first memory device indirectly by way of a third memory device (fig. 2 and [0039]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim further teaches wherein the third memory device is connected to the first memory device via a second set of pins (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Kim further teaches wherein the third memory device comprises a cache for the first memory device (figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 9, Kim further teaches wherein the buffer or cache comprises a cache, and further wherein the second memory device comprises a buffer for a third memory device (131, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Kim further teaches wherein the third memory device is connected to the first memory device via a second set of pins (184, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches an apparatus comprising: a first memory device (111) comprising a cache for a second memory device (121, [0050], buffer 1160 is used for receiving data from the second memory device 121 via 182-183. Therefore, buffer 1160 is considered as buffer for the second memory device as claimed); a first set of pins (182-183) configured to couple the first memory device to the second memory device; the second memory device comprises a buffer for a third memory device (131); wherein the buffer of the second memory device operates as the buffer of the third memory device (same rationale is applied for claim 1 above and also see [0058]); and a second set of pins (184-185) configured to couple the second memory device to the third memory device (figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 14, Kim further teaches wherein the first memory device is connected to a processor or a memory controller (MC 20), and wherein the processor or the memory controller controls each of the first memory device, second memory device, and third memory device (fig. 2, [0035] and [0040]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches an apparatus (figs. 2 and 3) comprising: a first memory device (111); a second memory device (121) comprising a buffer (1250 and 1260) or cache for the first memory device or a third memory device (as shown in figure 3, data in buffer 1250 is to provide data to memory device 111 or data buffer 1260 is for receiving data from buffer in the third memory device 131, see also, [0047]-[0050] and [0058]); wherein the buffer or cache of the second memory device operates as the buffer or cache of the first memory device or the third memory device ((same rationale is applied for claim 1 above and also see [0058]); the third memory device (131); first wiring (172) configured to couple the first memory device to the second memory device; and a second wiring (173) configured to couple the second memory device to the third memory device ([0038]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 20, Kim further teaches a first group of memory devices (110) comprising first memory device (111) and a fourth memory device (114); a second group of memory devices (120) comprising the second memory device (121) and a fifth memory device (124); and a third group of memory devices (130) comprising the third memory device (131) and a sixth memory device (134); and wherein the first wiring connects each of the first memory device and the fourth memory device to the second memory device and the fifth memory device; and the second wiring connects each of the second memory device and the fifth memory device to the third memory device and the sixth memory device. (figs. 1, 2 and [0032]-[0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 11, 12 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2014/0149631, cited by applicant) in view of Park at el. (US 2018/0089116).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above but silent to third memory device comprises a controller.
However, Park teaches an apparatus (fig. 1) comprising: a plurality of memory devices (1300, 1400); wherein each of the memory devices comprises controller(1320 and 1420) (fig. 1 and [0031]-[0033]).
In view of Park’s teaching, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim by incorporating the teaching as taught by Park in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 11, 12 and 15-17, Kim teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Kim further teaches memory comprising nonvolatile memory, read-only memory, etc. ([0130]) but silent to the first memory device and the second memory device comprise dynamic random-access memory, non-volatile random-access memory as claimed.
However, Park teaches first and second memory devices comprise memories as claimed ([0032]).
In view of Park’s teaching, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim by incorporating the teaching as taught by Park in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Tremaine (US 2011/0087834, cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above but silent to a logical-to-physical mapping as claimed.
However, Tremaine teaches memory comprises a logical-to-physical mapping as claimed (fig. 4).
In view of Tremaine’s teaching, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim by incorporating the teaching as taught by Tremaine in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued to the rejection by arguing that (1) Kim does not disclose the buffer or cache of one of the memory devices operates as the buffer or cache of the other memory device; (2) English machine translation of foreign language Park is insufficient quality to rely upon for rejection and requesting a human translation. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding to (1), please see further detailed explanation as indicated above regarding to claims 1, 13 and 19.
Regarding to (2), the Pre-Grand Pub (US 2018/0089116) of the foreign language Park (DE 102017119470A1) is used for rejection above. Therefore, the human translation is not needed.
Conclusion
/TUYEN K VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876