DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). In the instant case, claim 11 requires “one or more cameras with a field of view that includes at least a portion of the end effector and a target tissue including a torn meniscus” which encompasses a human organism. For purposes of examination, this will be treating as the one or more cameras being configured to have a field of view that includes at least a portion of the end effector and a target tissue including a torn meniscus.
Claims 12-18 are rejected as encompassing a human organism since they incorporate the limitations of claim 11 through their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8, 11-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schmitz et al. (US 2017/0095264).
Regarding claim 1, Schmitz discloses an arthroscopic instrument (see use with arthroscopes, [0076], Figs. 33-36) comprising: an elongate shaft extending along a longitudinal axis (see channeled shaft of endoscope 700, Fig. 33) ; at least one of a hub or a handpiece coupled to the elongate shaft (see handpiece of the endoscope coupled to the shaft of the endoscope, Fig. 35); an end effector coupled to a distal end of the elongate shaft and having a moveable jaw component (see power shear 702 at least indirectly coupled with the distal end of the elongate shaft that is movable in multiple directions; [0076], Fig. 33); and one or more cameras coupled to the elongate shaft and positioned adjacent the end effector (see camera 710 coupled to the elongate shaft and positioned adjacent the end effector, [0076], Fig. 33).
Regarding claim 2, Schmitz discloses wherein the moveable jaw component includes an electrode at a distal end portion thereof (see electrode 514, [0060], [0076], Figs. 11-12).
Regarding claim 8, Schmitz discloses wherein the shaft includes one or more ports configured for inflow or outflow of a fluid proximal of the end effector (see irrigation port 706 and suction port 708; [0076], Fig. 33).
Regarding claims 11-13 and 17, the claims are rejected under the same citations and rationale as that applied to the rejections of claims 1, 2, and 8 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmitz in view of Woloszko et al. (US 6,896,674).
Regarding claim 3, Schmitz discloses the limitations of claim 1, however fails to further disclose an electrode coupled to a suction tube of the end effector.
Woloszko teaches an arthroscopic device (see Figs. 42A-42B) comprising a suction lumen comprising a digestion electrode (see electrode 1450 coupled to the suction lumen 1442, Fig. 42A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the suction tube as disclosed by Schmitz to comprise an electrode coupled to the suction tube in light of Woloszko, the motivation being to provide the additional advantage of rapidly breaking down any tissue fragments that are drawn in to the lumen, ensuring the lumen remains free from blockage (see Woloszko col 45, lines 9-16).
Regarding claim 4, Schmitz further discloses wherein the suction tube is configured to be moveable proximal-distal along the end effector including being configured to be moveable to a position at or distal of a distal tip of the end effector (see the irrigation and suction being movable proximal-distal through at least proximal-distal movement of the endoscope to a position at or distal of a distal tip of the end effector dependent upon how the end effector was articulated, [0076], Fig. 33).
Claims 5-7, 9-10, 14-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmitz in view of Tojo et al. (US 2019/0328471).
Regarding claim 5, Schmitz discloses the limitations of claim 1, however Schimtz fails to further disclose wherein the one or more cameras are part of a visualization assembly that is configured to be moveable from a first position that has a first field of view including at least a portion of the end effector to a second position with a second field of view that differs from the first field of view.
Tojo teaches an instrument having an end effector and camera arrangement (see Figs. 7-9), wherein the camera is part of a visualization assembly that is configured to be moveable from a first position that has a first field of view including at least a portion of the end effector to a second position with a second field of view that differs from the first field of view (see Figs. 8A-9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the camera as disclosed by Schmitz to be part of a visualization assembly that is configured to be moveable from a first position that has a first field of view including at least a portion of the end effector to a second position with a second field of view that differs from the first field of view in light of Tojo, the motivation being to provide the additional advantage of ensuring an adequate view of both the surgical site and surgical instrument (see Tojo [0072]-[0073] and [0090]).
Regarding claim 6, Schmitz in view of Tojo further teaches wherein the visualization assembly is at least one of rotatable relative to the end effector or extendible and retractable relative to the end effector (see Tojo: see joints 27 and 261 providing twisting/rotation, [0043]-[0044] Fig. 7, and extension/retraction in Figs. 8A-9).
Regarding claim 7, Schmitz in view of Tojo further teaches wherein the visualization assembly includes a light source (see Schmitz: illumination 712, Fig. 33 and Tojo: light guide in [0051]).
Regarding claim 9, Schmitz in view of Tojo further teaches wherein the one or more cameras and the end effector are angled relative to the longitudinal axis of the elongate shaft (see Tojo: Figs. 8C-9).
Regarding claim 10, Schmitz in view of Tojo further teaches an articular joint connecting the one or more cameras and the end effector to the elongate shaft, wherein the articular joint is configured to move the one or more cameras and the end effector relative to the longitudinal axis (Tojo: see at least wrist 27, [0044], Fig. 7).
Regarding claims 14-16 and 18, Schmitz in view of Tojo teaches the limitations of these claims under the same citations and rationale as that applied in the rejections of claims 5-7 and 9-10 above).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Germain et al. (US 2017/0290602) in view of Murdeshwar et al. (US 2024/0016483).
Regarding claim 19, Germain discloses a method for performing arthroscopic meniscectomy (see [0043], Fig. 8) comprising: accessing a joint of a patient (as shown in Fig. 8); passing an arthroscopic instrument into the joint to a torn meniscus of the joint (as shown in Fig. 8); visualizing at least a portion of an end effector of the arthroscopic instrument with one or more cameras (see [0043]); and treating the meniscus with the end effector (see [0043]). However, Germain fails to further disclose the one or more cameras being coupled to the arthroscopic instrument adjacent the end effector.
Murdeshwar teaches a surgical instrument having jaws (see Fig. 5A-6B) comprising a camera lens coupled to the device adjacent the end effector to visualize the end effector (see [0075]-[0077], Figs. 5A-6B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the endoscope camera as disclosed by Germain to be incorporated into the same device such that the one or more cameras are coupled to the arthroscopic instrument adjacent the end effector in light of Murdeshwar, the motivation being to provide the predictable advantage of reducing the number of incisions to introduce the instruments into the joint while still having all the implements and functionality necessary to accomplish the procedure (see also Murdeshwar [0045]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 20, Germain further teaches wherein treating the meniscus with the end effector includes mechanically cutting the meniscus with actuation of a moveable jaw component, wherein treating the meniscus with the end effector includes providing radiofrequency energy to the meniscus, and wherein the treating the meniscus with the radiofrequency energy includes moving a position of an electrode with respect to a stationary portion of the end effector (see shearing that occurs as the electrode 415 passes the edge 445 of the lower jaw 412 and cutting current applied, [0044]).
Conclusion
/SEAN W COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794