Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, 14-19 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marinescu US2010/0017384 in view of Oracle Database Development Guide, “18 Using Continuous Query Notification (CQN)” 10/10/2019 https://web.archive.org/web/20191010190013/https://docs.oracle.com/en/database/oracle/oracle-database/19/adfns/cqn.html#GUID-373BAF72-3E63-42FE-8BEA-8A2AEFBF1C35 hereinafter referenced as Oracle Database Development Guide in view of Smith et al. US2016/0344808
Regarding claim 1, Marinescu teaches: Receiving a continuous query comprising a future condition to be applied to elements of a database, wherein the future condition comprises a condition to be applied against a source element of the database and a timing parameter indicating a time to which the condition is to be applied (Marinescu see paragraphs 0025 0027-0029 0034 0038 continuous query applied to business objects or business information based on threshold levels, condition of whether or not data has changed, and a countdown timer)
Generating, at an initial time, an initial result for the continuous query based on the condition being applied to the source element of the database
determining that the future condition is initially unmet based on the initial result; (Marinescu see paragraph 0027 0028 0034 user issues continuous query for business objects in enterprise database based a condition, the condition not being met and making a determination reply to client with synchronization message which reads on initial result)
enqueuing the future condition in a re-evaluation stored in the database, wherein the future condition is enqueued with the condition and the timing parameters, and wherein one or more future conditions to be evaluated at future times based on corresponding timing parameters for the one or more future conditions
evaluating, in response to a current time reaching the timing parameter, the future condition from the re-evaluation against the database of elements based upon, at least in part, the initial result, the condition, and the current time, wherein the current time is later than the initial time. (Marinescu see paragraph 0034 0035 0038 re-initiating countdown timer for continuous query to monitor for changes after previous synchronization message determining conditions are not met, determining that business information has changed while timer has not expired during pre-defined time period thus determining conditions are met and then send information to client)
Marinescu does not distinctly disclose: enqueuing condition in a re-evaluation queue, the re-evaluation queue comprises one or more future conditions to be evaluated at future times
updating, based on evaluating the future condition, the re-evaluation queue, including dequeuing the future condition from the re-evaluation queue in response to determining that the source element meets the condition of the query; and
performing an automated action defined by the query in response to updating the re-evaluation queue.
However, Oracle Database Development Guide teaches: enqueuing condition in a re-evaluation queue, the re-evaluation queue comprises one or more future conditions to be evaluated at future times (Oracle Database Development Guide see page 1 20 29 45 46 continuous query notification allowing queries to be registered for change notification such that notifications are in queue and invalidations of registration and enqueued in a queue)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a method of continuous queries as taught by Marinescu to include a continuous query notification as taught by Oracle Database Development Guide for the predictable result of more efficiently organizing and managing data.
However, Smith teaches: updating, based on evaluating the future condition, the re-evaluation queue, including dequeuing the future condition from the re-evaluation queue in response to determining that the source element meets the condition of the query; and
performing an automated action defined by the query in response to updating the re-evaluation queue.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a method of continuous queries as taught by Marinescu to include a continuous query notification as taught by Smith for the predictable result of more efficiently organizing and managing data.
Regarding claim 2, Marinescu as modified further teaches: generating an updated result using the continuous query. (Marinescu see paragraph 0029 0030 0034 determining that business information has changed or determining when it is available or a timer with an expiration to determine if and when conditions are met to send information to client)
Regarding claim 3, Marinescu as modified further teaches: wherein the timing parameter indicates that the condition is to be evaluated at a future time. (Marinescu see paragraph 0034 0035 0038 re-initiating countdown timer for continuous query to monitor for changes after previous synchronization message determining conditions are not met, determining that business information has changed while timer has not expired during pre-defined time period thus determining conditions are met and then send information to client)
Regarding claim 4, Marinescu as modified further teaches: wherein the timing parameter indicates that the condition is to be evaluated for a future period of time. (Marinescu see paragraph 0034 0035 0038 re-initiating countdown timer for continuous query to monitor for changes after previous synchronization message determining conditions are not met, determining that business information has changed while timer has not expired during pre-defined time period thus determining conditions are met and then send information to client)
Regarding claim 5, Marinescu as modified further teaches: wherein the timing parameter indicates that the condition is to be evaluated until a future time. (Marinescu see paragraph 0038 monitor business information for notification of condition being met until timer expires)
Regarding claim 7, Marinescu as modified further teaches: processing a change associated with the source element within the database of elements. (Marinescu see paragraph 0025 0027 0029 0041 0048 user issues continuous query for business objects in enterprise database and once condition is satisfied result is returned to user such that condition can be once an object exists or value falls below a threshold)
Regarding claim 11, Marinescu as modified further teaches: determine that the condition of the continuous query is no longer true; and
remove the future condition from the re-evaluation queue. (Marinescu see paragraphs 0034-0039 conditions are not satisfied for continuous query with countdown timer expiring and sending message unresponsive to user query. User may re-initiate timer, optional reinitiation by user reads on removing)
Regarding claims 8-10, 12, 14-19 note the rejection of claim(s) 1-5, 7, 11. The instant claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected claims and are therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Claim(s) 6, 13, and 20 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marinescu US2010/0017384 Oracle Database Development Guide, “18 Using Continuous Query Notification (CQN)” 10/10/2019 https://web.archive.org/web/20191010190013/https://docs.oracle.com/en/database/oracle/oracle-database/19/adfns/cqn.html#GUID-373BAF72-3E63-42FE-8BEA-8A2AEFBF1C35 hereinafter referenced as Oracle Database Development Guide in view of Smith et al. US2016/0344808 in view of Murphy et al. US2020/0050680
Regarding claim 6, Marinescu as modified further teaches: continuous query (Marinescu see paragraph 0025 0027 0029 0041 0048 user issues continuous query for business objects in enterprise database)
Marinescu does not teach: generating a compound key for the query using a unique identifier for the future condition and a unique identifier for the source element from the database of element.
However, Murphy teaches: generating a compound key for the query using a unique identifier for the future condition and a unique identifier for the source element from the database of element. (Murphy see paragraphs 0076 0077 0098 0154 compound key for query generated based on ID field in data record from data repository using subID, event type, date and length where subID reads on identifier of source element and event type read on identified of condition)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a method of continuous queries as taught by Marinescu to include compound keys as taught by Murphy for the predictable result of more efficiently organizing and managing data.
Regarding claim 13, see rejection of claim 6
Regarding claim 20, see rejection of claim 6
Response to arguments
Applicant’s argument: 101 abstract idea rejection should be withdrawn in light of new amendments
Examiner’s response: Applicant’s argument is considered and is persuasive and 101 rejection is withdrawn
Applicant’s argument: Prior art of record does not teach newly amended claims
Examiner’s response: Applicant’s argument is moot as newly amended claims are responded to in the above rejection
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLEN S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153