DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s amendment dated April 20, 2026. Claims 1-7 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Erickson et al., U.S. Patent 10,140,987 B2 (2018).
As to claim 1, Erickson et al. discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, facilitate performance of operations (Figure 1, Figure 2), comprising:
receiving a signal comprising a second source of second acoustic energy that is determined to satisfy a navigational change condition applicable to an unmanned aerial vehicle (Column 9, Lines 33-57, Column 10, Lines 4-29); and
in response to the receiving, moving the unmanned aerial vehicle toward the second source of the second acoustic energy instead of a first source of first acoustic energy (Column 9, Lines 33-57, Column 10, Lines 4-29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erickson et al., U.S. Patent 10,140,987 B2 (2018) in view of Visser et al., U.S. Patent 10,379,534 B2 (2019).
As to claim 2, Erickson et al. discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1. Erickson et al. does not disclose a higher priority, as claimed.
Visser et al. discloses wherein the operations further comprise:
in response to determining that a first priority associated with the first acoustic energy represents a higher priority than a second priority associated with the second acoustic energy, after reaching the first source, moving the unmanned aerial vehicle toward the second source (Column 10, Lines 41-52).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of claim 1, as disclosed by Erickson et al., with the use of a higher priority, as claimed, as disclosed in Visser et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, to allow the user to prioritize the sources desired for connection.
As to claim 3, Erickson et al. discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1. Erickson et al. does not disclose a second priority, as claimed.
Visser et al. discloses where the operations further comprise:
in response to determining that a first priority associated with the first acoustic energy represents a lower priority than a second priority associated with the second acoustic energy, interrupting movement of the unmanned aerial vehicle the moving toward to the first source and moving the unmanned aerial vehicle toward the second source (Column 10, Lines 41-52).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of claim 1, as disclosed by Erickson et al., with the use of a second priority, as claimed, as disclosed in Visser et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, to allow the user to prioritize the sources desired for connection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Wang reference was improperly cited on the IDS.
MICHAEL BERNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3667
/MICHAEL A BERNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667