DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 10, “modulate the first modulation light signal” should read “modulate the first modulated light signal”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7, 11-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite because it is further limiting on an aspect of claim 1 that was not required. The claim does not require the light signal to be modulated based on both the ultrasonic signal and the echo signal. In the case that only one of the ultrasonic and the echo signal is used to modulate the light signal, the limitation “modulate the light using the ultrasonic signal …[and] modulate the first modulated light based on the echo signal” is indefinite.
Claims 3-7 depend from claim 2, and incorporate it in its entirety, and are therefore indefinite for the reasons provided above.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite because it is further limiting on an aspect of claim 1 that was not required. The claim does not require the light signal to be modulated based on both the ultrasonic signal and the echo signal, it requires at least one or the other. In the case that only one of the ultrasonic and the echo signal is used to modulate the light signal, the limitation “modulate the light using the ultrasonic signal …[and] modulate the first modulated light based on the echo signals” is indefinite.
Claims 12-17 depend from claim 11, and incorporate it in its entirety, and are therefore indefinite for the reasons provided above.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite because it is further limiting on an aspect of claim 18 that was not required. The claim does not require the light signal to be modulated based on both the ultrasonic signal and the echo signal. In the case that only one of the ultrasonic and the echo signal is used to modulate the light signal, the limitation “modulate the light using the ultrasonic signal …[and] modulate the first modulated light based on the echo signal” is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaaskelainen (WO 2017/105424) in view of Ge (2023/0393099).
With respect to claim 1, Jaaskelainen teaches a transmitter configured to emit the ultrasonic signal (pg 9, lines 19-22; pg 10, lines 8-15); a receiver configured to receive an echo signal that occurs when the ultrasonic signal is reflected from an object (pg 9, lines 16-17; pg 10, lines 16-18); and a photoacoustic ultrasonic sensor configured to measure a light signal modulated based on at least one of the ultrasonic signal or the echo signal (pg 6, lines 11-17; pg 9, lines 14-15; pg 10, lines 18-22). However, it does not teach a signal generator configured to generate an ultrasonic signal.
Ge teaches a signal generator configured to generate an ultrasonic signal ([0058], lines 8-14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the apparatus of Jaaskelainen with the signal generator of Ge since such a modification would have provided a stable and repeatable signal.
With respect to claim 18, Jaaskelainen teaches emitting, by a transmitter, the ultrasonic signal (pg 9, lines 19-22; pg 10, lines 8-15); receiving, at a receiver, an echo signal that occurs when the ultrasonic signal is reflected from an object (pg 9, lines 16-17; pg 10, lines 16-18); and measuring, at a photoacoustic ultrasonic sensor, a light signal modulated based on at least one of the ultrasonic signal or the echo signal (pg 6, lines 11-17; pg 9, lines 14-15; pg 10, lines 18-22). However, it does not teach generating an ultrasonic signal using a signal generator.
Ge teaches generating an ultrasonic signal using a signal generator ([0058], lines 8-14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method of Jaaskelainen with the signal generator of Ge since such a modification would have provided a stable and repeatable signal.
With respect to claim 8, Jaaskelainen teaches a filter configured to filter the light signal measured by the photoacoustic ultrasonic sensor to output a beat frequency signal (pg 11, lines 16-18).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaaskelainen in view of Ge, and further in view of Brenne (20230388012).
With respect to claim 9, Jaaskelainen as modified teaches the invention as discussed above. However, it does not teach an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) configured to convert the light signal measured by the photoacoustic ultrasonic sensor into a digital signal.
Brenne teaches an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) configured to convert the light signal measured by the photoacoustic ultrasonic sensor into a digital signal ([0053], lines 6-7; [0056], lines 23-29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the apparatus of Jaaskelainen with the ADC of Brenne since such a modification would have allowed the data to be processed in a digital processor.
With respect to claim 10, Jaaskelainen as modified teaches the invention as discussed above. However, it does not teach a processor configured to process the light signal measured by the photoacoustic ultrasonic sensor.
Brenne teaches a processor configured to process the light signal measured by the photoacoustic ultrasonic sensor ([0053], line 7; [0056], lines 29-33). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the apparatus of Jaaskelainen with the processor of Brenne since such a modification would have improved the speed and accuracy of processing the data.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art which is cited but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The references made herein are done so for the convenience of the applicant. They are in no way intended to be limiting. The prior art should be considered in its entirety.
/KRYSTINE E BREIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645