DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communications filed 09 September 2024.
Claims 1-14 are subject to examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 11 April 2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2022-065440 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09 September 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bettner et al. (US-20220167022-A1) hereinafter Bettner in view of Hwang et al. (US-12126583-B2) hereinafter Hwang.
Regarding claim 1, Bettner discloses:
A computer-readable tangible non-transitory storage medium storing a program for causing a terminal of a viewer of a live-stream ([0038] program … implementation in a suitable computer readable program code … non-transitory computer readable medium [0047] live stream [0067] stream viewer devices) to:
cause, during the live-stream ([0047] viewers watching a game on a live streaming service … can send interaction signals (i.e. during watching a game)), the display of the terminal to display a live-streaming room screen ([0105-0106] streaming client window … includes a content playback portion that presents to the user streaming content) including (i) an image related to the live-stream obtained by reproducing a video data received from a server over a network ([0106] video of game content being played by a streamer streaming the content via the streaming service, see [FIG. 8]), (ii) a comment display region ([0106] chat area that displays text-based chat communications among viewers of the stream, see [FIG. 8]) and (iii) a comment input region for the viewer to input a first comment ([0106] text input field configured to accept text input from the viewer to submit as a text-based chat communication for the streamer, the viewer, and other viewers to see, see [FIG. 8]);
update, during the live-stream and in response to the viewer’s inputting the first comment in the comment input region ([0106] text input field configured to accept text input from the viewer to submit as a text-based chat communication for the streamer, the viewer, and other viewers to see, see [FIG. 8] (i.e. comment USER1 “Good Game” during stream)), the comment display region to display the first comment inputted in the comment input region ([FIG. 8] (i.e. displayed comments USER1 “Good Game” … USER3 “This enemy looks tough”, etc.);
transmitting, during the live-stream and in response to the viewer’s inputting the first comment in the comment input region ([0106] text input field configured to accept text input from the viewer to submit as a text-based chat communication for the streamer, the viewer, and other viewers to see, see [FIG. 8] (i.e. comment USER1 “Good Game” during stream)), a first comment input signal including the first comment inputted in the comment input region to the server over the network ([0055] server or backend system configured to communicate with a streaming client extension … receive messages from the streaming client extension, process the messages to determine actions to be performed at the streaming client extension, and communicate with a game server and/or a streaming service to confirm and implement the desired actions, see [0060] streaming client extension signals, game server signals, streaming service signals, or other signals);
Bettner does not explicitly disclose:
cause a display of the terminal to display a template registration screen for accepting text input before the viewer participates in the live-stream;
obtain the text input accepted through the template registration screen as a template before the viewer participates in the live-stream;
superimpose, during the live-stream, a template use inquiry region on the live-streaming room screen, the template use inquiry region inquiring of the viewer whether to use the template, which has been obtained before the viewer participates in the live-stream, as a second comment;
update, during the live-stream and in response to the viewer’s accepting to use the template as the second comment, the comment display region to display the second comment; and
transmitting, during the live-stream and in response to the viewer’s accepting to use the template as the second comment, a second comment input signal including the second comment to the server over the network.
However, Hwang discloses:
cause a display of the terminal to display a template registration screen for accepting text input before the viewer participates in the live-stream ([21:27-54] chatting message visually displayed on each screen of both the display devices may include respective message information input by the user at each stage (i.e. displayed to be input) [14:16-30] database may store message candidates that the user may select as a message to be sent to the counterpart on a chatting channel between the corresponding display device and other display devices inside/outside the house … messages preset by the user (i.e. would require to preset the message, e.g. displayed message) [25:24-57] messages prepared in advance in consideration of various criteria, see [3:4-22] text message selected from the plurality of messages (i.e. preset/prepared in advance as text is equated to text input before participation));
obtain the text input accepted through the template registration screen as a template before the viewer participates in the live-stream ([14:16-30] database may store message candidates that the user may select as a message to be sent to the counterpart on a chatting channel between the corresponding display device and other display devices inside/outside the house … messages preset by the user [25:24-57] messages prepared in advance in consideration of various criteria, see [3:4-22] text message selected from the plurality of messages (i.e. preset/prepared in advance as text is equated to text input before participation));
superimpose, during the live-stream ([26:56-27:9] real-time streaming), a template use inquiry region on the live-streaming room screen ([FIG. 13B], e.g. template selections in the display), the template use inquiry region inquiring of the viewer whether to use the template ([FIG. 13B] e.g. selections of the templates), which has been obtained before the viewer participates in the live-stream ([14:16-30] database may store message candidates that the user may select as a message to be sent to the counterpart on a chatting channel between the corresponding display device and other display devices inside/outside the house … messages preset by the user [25:24-57] messages prepared in advance in consideration of various criteria, see [3:4-22] text message selected from the plurality of messages (i.e. preset/prepared in advance as text is equated to text input before participation)), as a second comment ([25:24-57] selected message may be transmitted to the counterpart display device … corresponding display device and the counterpart display device may display the selected chatting message (i.e. comment) on the screen);
update, during the live-stream and in response to the viewer’s accepting to use the template as the second comment ([26:56-27:9] real-time streaming [25:24-57] select a specific message from the list (i.e. accepting to use the template as the second comment), the comment display region to display the second comment ([25:24-57] selected message may be transmitted to the counterpart display device … corresponding display device and the counterpart display device may display the selected chatting message (i.e. comment) on the screen); and
transmitting, during the live-stream and in response to the viewer’s accepting to use the template as the second comment ([26:56-27:9] real-time streaming [25:24-57] select a specific message from the list (i.e. accepting to use the template as the second comment), a second comment input signal including the second comment to the server over the network ([10:6-32] server device relaying communications for the in-house devices (i.e. signaling)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Bettner in view of Hwang to have displayed a template registration screen to obtain text input as a template before the viewer participates in the live-stream to superimpose a template user inquiry region on the live-stream to update, during the live-stream and in response to the viewers accepting to user the template as a second comment, the comment display region and transmit a second comment input signal including the second comment to the server over the network. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to display message candidate entries that a user may select that may be prepared in advance in consideration of various criteria to transmit to a counterpart display device (Hwang, [25:24-57]).
Regarding claim 2, Bettner-Hwang disclose:
The computer-readable tangible non-transitory storage medium of claim 1, wherein the superimposing, set forth above, includes
Bettner does not explicitly disclose:
superimposing, in response to a viewer’s request, the template use inquiry region on the live-streaming room screen.
However, Hwang discloses:
superimposing, in response to a viewer’s request ([25:24-57] user may make a predetermined gesture to trigger entry into the message input mode), the template use inquiry region on the live-streaming room screen ([14:16-30] database may store message candidates that the user may select as a message to be sent to the counterpart on a chatting channel between the corresponding display device and other display devices inside/outside the house … messages preset by the user [25:24-57] messages prepared in advance in consideration of various criteria, see [3:4-22] text message selected from the plurality of messages (i.e. preset/prepared in advance as text is equated to text input before participation) [26:56-27:9] real-time streaming [FIG. 13B], e.g. template selections in the display).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Bettner in view of Hwang to have superimposed, in response to a viewer’s request, the template use inquiry region on the live-streaming room screen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to display message candidate entries that a user may select that may be prepared in advance in consideration of various criteria to transmit to a counterpart display device (Hwang, [25:24-57]).
Regarding claim 3, Bettner-Hwang disclose:
The computer-readable tangible non-transitory storage medium of claim 1, wherein the obtaining, set forth above, includes
Bettner does not explicitly disclose:
obtaining the text inputs accepted through the template registration screen as a plurality of templates before the viewer participates in the live-stream, and
wherein the template use inquiry region shows the plurality of templates and enables the viewer to select one of the plurality of templates, and
wherein the selected template is used as the second comment.
However, Hwang discloses:
obtaining the text inputs accepted through the template registration screen as a plurality of templates before the viewer participates in the live-stream ([14:16-30] database may store message candidates that the user may select as a message to be sent to the counterpart on a chatting channel between the corresponding display device and other display devices inside/outside the house … messages preset by the user [25:24-57] messages prepared in advance in consideration of various criteria, see [3:4-22] text message selected from the plurality of messages (i.e. preset/prepared in advance as text is equated to text input before participation) [FIG. 13B] (i.e. multiple candidate messages, e.g. plurality of templates)), and
wherein the template use inquiry region shows the plurality of templates and enables the viewer to select one of the plurality of templates ([25:24-57] select a specific message from the list, see [FIG. 13B] (i.e. multiple candidate messages from which a message is to be selected)), and
wherein the selected template is used as the second comment ([26:56-27:9] real-time streaming [25:24-57] select a specific message from the list (i.e. accepting to use the template as the second comment, see [10:6-32] server device relaying communications for the in-house devices (i.e. signaling)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Bettner-Hwang to have obtained text inputs accepted through the template registration screen as a plurality of templates before the viewer participates in the live-stream to enable the viewer to select one of the plurality of templates to be used as the second comment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to display message candidate entries that a user may select that may be prepared in advance in consideration of various criteria to transmit to a counterpart display device (Hwang, [25:24-57]).
Regarding claim 10, Bettner discloses:
A computer-readable tangible non-transitory storage medium storing a program for causing a terminal of a viewer of a live-stream ([0038] program … implementation in a suitable computer readable program code … non-transitory computer readable medium [0047] live stream [0067] stream viewer devices) to:
cause, during the live-stream ([0047] viewers watching a game on a live streaming service … can send interaction signals (i.e. during watching a game)), the display of the terminal to display a live-streaming room screen ([0105-0106] streaming client window … includes a content playback portion that presents to the user streaming content) including (i) an image related to the live-stream obtained by reproducing a video data received from a server over a network ([0106] video of game content being played by a streamer streaming the content via the streaming service, see [FIG. 8]), (ii) a comment display region ([0106] chat area that displays text-based chat communications among viewers of the stream, see [FIG. 8]) and (iii) a comment input region for the viewer to input a first comment ([0106] text input field configured to accept text input from the viewer to submit as a text-based chat communication for the streamer, the viewer, and other viewers to see, see [FIG. 8]);
update, during the live-stream and in response to the viewer’s inputting the first comment in the comment input region ([0106] text input field configured to accept text input from the viewer to submit as a text-based chat communication for the streamer, the viewer, and other viewers to see, see [FIG. 8] (i.e. comment USER1 “Good Game” during stream)), the comment display region to display the first comment inputted in the comment input region ([FIG. 8] (i.e. displayed comments USER1 “Good Game” … USER3 “This enemy looks tough”, etc.);
transmitting, during the live-stream and in response to the viewer’s inputting the first comment in the comment input region ([0106] text input field configured to accept text input from the viewer to submit as a text-based chat communication for the streamer, the viewer, and other viewers to see, see [FIG. 8] (i.e. comment USER1 “Good Game” during stream)), a first comment input signal including the first comment inputted in the comment input region to the server over the network ([0055] server or backend system configured to communicate with a streaming client extension … receive messages from the streaming client extension, process the messages to determine actions to be performed at the streaming client extension, and communicate with a game server and/or a streaming service to confirm and implement the desired actions, see [0060] streaming client extension signals, game server signals, streaming service signals, or other signals);
Bettner does not explicitly disclose:
obtain a template automatically generated based on profile information of the viewer before the viewer participates in the live-stream;
superimpose, during the live-stream, a template use inquiry region on the live-streaming room screen, the template use inquiry region inquiring of the viewer whether to use the template, which has been obtained before the viewer participates in the live-stream, as a second comment;
update, during the live-stream and in response to the viewer’s accepting to use the template as the second comment, the comment display region to display the second comment; and
transmitting, during the live-stream and in response to the viewer’s accepting to use the template as the second comment, a second comment input signal including the second comment to the server over the network.
However, Hwang discloses:
obtain a template automatically generated based on profile information of the viewer before the viewer participates in the live-stream ([25:24-57] message candidate entries may include, for example, a message frequently used by the user inputting a corresponding message (i.e. profile information, e.g. frequently used by the user) … prepared in advance in consideration of various criteria);
superimpose, during the live-stream ([26:56-27:9] real-time streaming), a template use inquiry region on the live-streaming room screen ([FIG. 13B], e.g. template selections in the display), the template use inquiry region inquiring of the viewer whether to use the template ([FIG. 13B] e.g. selections of the templates), which has been obtained before the viewer participates in the live-stream ([14:16-30] database may store message candidates that the user may select as a message to be sent to the counterpart on a chatting channel between the corresponding display device and other display devices inside/outside the house … messages preset by the user [25:24-57] messages prepared in advance in consideration of various criteria, see [3:4-22] text message selected from the plurality of messages (i.e. preset/prepared in advance as text is equated to text input before participation)), as a second comment ([25:24-57] selected message may be transmitted to the counterpart display device … corresponding display device and the counterpart display device may display the selected chatting message (i.e. comment) on the screen);
update, during the live-stream and in response to the viewer’s accepting to use the template as the second comment ([26:56-27:9] real-time streaming [25:24-57] select a specific message from the list (i.e. accepting to use the template as the second comment), the comment display region to display the second comment ([25:24-57] selected message may be transmitted to the counterpart display device … corresponding display device and the counterpart display device may display the selected chatting message (i.e. comment) on the screen); and
transmitting, during the live-stream and in response to the viewer’s accepting to use the template as the second comment ([26:56-27:9] real-time streaming [25:24-57] select a specific message from the list (i.e. accepting to use the template as the second comment), a second comment input signal including the second comment to the server over the network ([10:6-32] server device relaying communications for the in-house devices (i.e. signaling)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Bettner in view of Hwang to have obtained a template automatically generated based on profile information of the viewer before the viewer participates in the live-stream to superimpose a template user inquiry region on the live-stream to update, during the live-stream and in response to the viewers accepting to user the template as a second comment, the comment display region and transmit a second comment input signal including the second comment to the server over the network. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to display message candidate entries that a user may select that may be prepared in advance in consideration of various criteria to transmit to a counterpart display device (Hwang, [25:24-57]).
Regarding claim 11, it does not further define nor teach over the limitations of claim 2, therefore, claim 11 is rejected for at least the same reasons set forth above as in claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, Bettner-Hwang disclose:
The computer-readable tangible non-transitory storage medium of claim 10, wherein the obtaining, set forth above, includes
Bettner does not explicitly disclose:
obtaining a plurality of templates automatically generated based on profile information of the viewer before the viewer participates in the live-stream, and
wherein the template use inquiry region shows the plurality of templates and enables the viewer to select one of the plurality of templates, and
wherein the selected template is used as the second comment.
However, Hwang discloses:
obtaining a plurality of templates automatically generated based on profile information of the viewer before the viewer participates in the live-stream ([14:16-30] database may store message candidates that the user may select as a message to be sent to the counterpart on a chatting channel between the corresponding display device and other display devices inside/outside the house … messages preset by the user [25:24-57] message candidate entries may include, for example, a message frequently used by the user inputting a corresponding message (i.e. profile information, e.g. frequently used by the user) … prepared in advance in consideration of various criteria, see [3:4-22] text message selected from the plurality of messages [FIG. 13B] (i.e. multiple candidate messages, e.g. plurality of templates)), and
wherein the template use inquiry region shows the plurality of templates and enables the viewer to select one of the plurality of templates ([25:24-57] select a specific message from the list, see [FIG. 13B] (i.e. multiple candidate messages from which a message is to be selected)), and
wherein the selected template is used as the second comment ([26:56-27:9] real-time streaming [25:24-57] select a specific message from the list (i.e. accepting to use the template as the second comment, see [10:6-32] server device relaying communications for the in-house devices (i.e. signaling)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Bettner-Hwang to have obtained a plurality of templates automatically generated based on profile information of the viewer before the viewer participates in the live-stream to enable the viewer to select one of the plurality of templates to be used as the second comment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to display message candidate entries that a user may select that may be prepared in advance in consideration of various criteria to transmit to a counterpart display device (Hwang, [25:24-57]).
Claim(s) 4, 6-8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bettner et al. (US-20220167022-A1) hereinafter Bettner in view of Hwang et al. (US-12126583-B2) hereinafter Hwang further in view of Agaoglu (US-20230177576-A1).
Regarding claim 4, Bettner-Hwang disclose:
The computer-readable tangible non-transitory storage medium of claim 1, set forth above,
Bettner discloses:
wherein the first comment is free from a price to pay ([0106] text input field configured to accept text input from the viewer to submit as a text-based chat communication for the streamer, the viewer, and other viewers to see, see [FIG. 8] (i.e. free from a price to pay as there is no price required)) and
Bettner does not explicitly disclose:
the second comment requires payment of a price from the viewer.
However, Agaoglu discloses:
the second comment requires payment of a price from the viewer ([FIG. 4] e.g. ask question 5$ (i.e. each question to ask is $5, and clicking on the button is to consent to pay $5 to ask a question)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Bettner in view of Agaoglu to have the second comment require payment of a price from the viewer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to benefit both the person asking the question and the person answering the question by an income-sharing method where service users can share their experiences among themselves for a price (Agaoglu, [0002]).
Regarding claim 6, Bettner discloses:
A computer-readable tangible non-transitory storage medium storing a program for causing a terminal of a viewer of a live-stream ([0038] program … implementation in a suitable computer readable program code … non-transitory computer readable medium [0047] live stream [0067] stream viewer devices) to:
cause, during the live-stream ([0047] viewers watching a game on a live streaming service … can send interaction signals (i.e. during watching a game)), the display of the terminal to display a live-streaming room screen ([0105-0106] streaming client window … includes a content playback portion that presents to the user streaming content) including (i) an image related to the live-stream obtained by reproducing a video data received from a server over a network ([0106] video of game content being played by a streamer streaming the content via the streaming service, see [FIG. 8]), (ii) a comment display region ([0106] chat area that displays text-based chat communications among viewers of the stream, see [FIG. 8]) and (iii) a comment input region for the viewer to input a first comment ([0106] text input field configured to accept text input from the viewer to submit as a text-based chat communication for the streamer, the viewer, and other viewers to see, see [FIG. 8]);
update, during the live-stream and in response to the viewer’s inputting the first comment in the comment input region ([0106] text input field configured to accept text input from the viewer to submit as a text-based chat communication for the streamer, the viewer, and other viewers to see, see [FIG. 8] (i.e. comment USER1 “Good Game” during stream)), the comment display region to display the first comment inputted in the comment input region ([FIG. 8] (i.e. displayed comments USER1 “Good Game” … USER3 “This enemy looks tough”, etc.);
transmitting, during the live-stream and in response to the viewer’s inputting the first comment in the comment input region ([0106] text input field configured to accept text input from the viewer to submit as a text-based chat communication for the streamer, the viewer, and other viewers to see, see [FIG. 8] (i.e. comment USER1 “Good Game” during stream)), a first comment input signal including the first comment inputted in the comment input region to the server over the network ([0055] server or backend system configured to communicate with a streaming client extension … receive messages from the streaming client extension, process the messages to determine actions to be performed at the streaming client extension, and communicate with a game server and/or a streaming service to confirm and implement the desired actions, see [0060] streaming client extension signals, game server signals, streaming service signals, or other signals);
wherein the first comment is free from a price to pay ([0106] text input field configured to accept text input from the viewer to submit as a text-based chat communication for the streamer, the viewer, and other viewers to see, see [FIG. 8] (i.e. free from a price to pay as there is no price required)) and
Bettner does not explicitly disclose:
superimpose, during the live-stream, a template use inquiry region on the live-streaming room screen, the template use inquiry region inquiring of the viewer whether to use a template, which has been obtained before the viewer participates in the live-stream, as a second comment;
update, during the live-stream and in response to the viewer’s accepting to use the template as the second comment, the comment display region to display the second comment; and
transmitting, during the live-stream and in response to the viewer’s accepting to use the template as the second comment, a second comment input signal including the second comment to the server over the network,
the second comment requires payment of a price from the viewer.
However, Hwang discloses:
superimpose, during the live-stream ([26:56-27:9] real-time streaming), a template use inquiry region on the live-streaming room screen ([FIG. 13B], e.g. template selections in the display), the template use inquiry region inquiring of the viewer whether to use the template ([FIG. 13B] e.g. selections of the templates), which has been obtained before the viewer participates in the live-stream ([14:16-30] database may store message candidates that the user may select as a message to be sent to the counterpart on a chatting channel between the corresponding display device and other display devices inside/outside the house … messages preset by the user [25:24-57] messages prepared in advance in consideration of various criteria, see [3:4-22] text message selected from the plurality of messages (i.e. preset/prepared in advance as text is equated to text input before participation)), as a second comment ([25:24-57] selected message may be transmitted to the counterpart display device … corresponding display device and the counterpart display device may display the selected chatting message (i.e. comment) on the screen);
update, during the live-stream and in response to the viewer’s accepting to use the template as the second comment ([26:56-27:9] real-time streaming [25:24-57] select a specific message from the list (i.e. accepting to use the template as the second comment), the comment display region to display the second comment ([25:24-57] selected message may be transmitted to the counterpart display device … corresponding display device and the counterpart display device may display the selected chatting message (i.e. comment) on the screen); and
transmitting, during the live-stream and in response to the viewer’s accepting to use the template as the second comment ([26:56-27:9] real-time streaming [25:24-57] select a specific message from the list (i.e. accepting to use the template as the second comment), a second comment input signal including the second comment to the server over the network ([10:6-32] server device relaying communications for the in-house devices (i.e. signaling)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Bettner in view of Hwang to have superimposed a template user inquiry region on the live-stream to update, during the live-stream and in response to the viewers accepting to user the template as a second comment, the comment display region and transmit a second comment input signal including the second comment to the server over the network. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to display message candidate entries that a user may select that may be prepared in advance in consideration of various criteria to transmit to a counterpart display device (Hwang, [25:24-57]).
Bettner-Hwang do not explicitly disclose:
the second comment requires payment of a price from the viewer.
However, Agaoglu discloses:
the second comment requires payment of a price from the viewer ([FIG. 4] e.g. ask question 5$ (i.e. each question to ask is $5, and clicking on the button is to consent to pay $5 to ask a question)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Bettner-Hwang in view of Agaoglu to have the second comment require payment of a price from the viewer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to benefit both the person asking the question and the person answering the question by an income-sharing method where service users can share their experiences among themselves for a price (Agaoglu, [0002]).
Regarding claim 7, Bettner-Hwang-Agaoglu disclose:
The computer-readable tangible non-transitory storage medium of claim 6, wherein the superimposing, set forth above, includes
Bettner does not explicitly disclose:
superimposing, in response to a viewer’s request, the template use inquiry region on the live-streaming room screen.
However, Hwang discloses:
superimposing, in response to a viewer’s request ([25:24-57] user may make a predetermined gesture to trigger entry into the message input mode), the template use inquiry region on the live-streaming room screen ([14:16-30] database may store message candidates that the user may select as a message to be sent to the counterpart on a chatting channel between the corresponding display device and other display devices inside/outside the house … messages preset by the user [25:24-57] messages prepared in advance in consideration of various criteria, see [3:4-22] text message selected from the plurality of messages (i.e. preset/prepared in advance as text is equated to text input before participation) [26:56-27:9] real-time streaming [FIG. 13B], e.g. template selections in the display).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Bettner in view of Hwang to have superimposed, in response to a viewer’s request, the template use inquiry region on the live-streaming room screen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to display message candidate entries that a user may select that may be prepared in advance in consideration of various criteria to transmit to a counterpart display device (Hwang, [25:24-57]).
Regarding claim 8, Bettner-Hwang-Agaoglu disclose:
The computer-readable tangible non-transitory storage medium of claim 6, set forth above,
Bettner does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the template use inquiry region shows a plurality of templates and enables the viewer to select one of the plurality of templates, and
wherein the selected template is used as the second comment.
However, Hwang discloses:
wherein the template use inquiry region shows a plurality of templates and enables the viewer to select one of the plurality of templates ([25:24-57] select a specific message from the list, see [FIG. 13B] (i.e. multiple candidate messages from which a message is to be selected)), and
wherein the selected template is used as the second comment ([26:56-27:9] real-time streaming [25:24-57] select a specific message from the list (i.e. accepting to use the template as the second comment, see [10:6-32] server device relaying communications for the in-house devices (i.e. signaling)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Bettner-Hwang to have obtained text inputs accepted through the template registration screen as a plurality of templates before the viewer participates in the live-stream to enable the viewer to select one of the plurality of templates to be used as the second comment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to display message candidate entries that a user may select that may be prepared in advance in consideration of various criteria to transmit to a counterpart display device (Hwang, [25:24-57]).
Regarding claim 13, it does not further define nor teach over the limitations of claim 4, therefore, claim 13 is rejected for at least the same reasons set forth above as in claim 4.
Claim(s) 5, 9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bettner et al. (US-20220167022-A1) hereinafter Bettner in view of Hwang et al. (US-12126583-B2) hereinafter Hwang further in view of Agaoglu (US-20230177576-A1) further in view of Honoré et al. (US-10560569-B2) hereinafter Honoré.
Regarding claim 5, Bettner-Hwang-Agaoglu disclose:
The computer-readable tangible non-transitory storage medium of claim 4, set forth above,
Bettner-Hwang-Agaoglu do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the price for the second comment is set such that as a maximum number of characters in the second comment is larger, the price is higher.
However, Honoré discloses:
wherein the price for the second comment is set such that as a maximum number of characters in the second comment is larger, the price is higher ([3:45-59] fee-per-character rate, e.g. character count can be used for generating billing invoices (i.e. higher the character count, higher the price)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Bettner-Hwang-Agaoglu in view of Honoré to have the price set such that the higher the price is for a larger amount of characters. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to utilize a fee-per-character rate for messaging (Honoré, [3:45-59]).
Regarding claim 9, Bettner-Hwang-Agaoglu disclose:
The computer-readable tangible non-transitory storage medium of claim 8, set forth above,
Bettner-Hwang-Agaoglu do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the price for the second comment is set such that as a maximum number of characters in the second comment is larger, the price is higher.
However, Honoré discloses:
wherein the price for the second comment is set such that as a maximum number of characters in the second comment is larger, the price is higher ([3:45-59] fee-per-character rate, e.g. character count can be used for generating billing invoices (i.e. higher the character count, higher the price)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Bettner-Hwang-Agaoglu in view of Honoré to have the price set such that the higher the price is for a larger amount of characters. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to utilize a fee-per-character rate for messaging (Honoré, [3:45-59]).
Regarding claim 14, it does not further define nor teach over the limitations of claim 5, therefore, claim 14 is rejected for at least the same reasons set forth above as in claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US-20050138560-A1) METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR BROADCASTING LIVE PERSONAL PERFORMANCES OVER THE INTERNET;
Hussain et al. (US-10484736-B2) SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR A MARKETPLACE OF INTERACTIVE LIVE STREAMING MULTIMEDIA OVERLAYS;
Kojima et al. (US-20230123269-A1) MANAGEMENT SERVER, USER TERMINAL, GIFT SYSTEM, AND INFORMATION PROCESSING METHOD.
/Alex Tran/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453