DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 06/10/2026 has been entered. Objections to the Specification and Drawings have been withdrawn. Claims 1-16 remain pending in the application.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 06/10/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 18/828,759 has been reviewed and was approved on 06/17/2026. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 6/10/2026, with respect to the Double Patenting rejection, have been fully considered. Therefore, this rejection has been withdrawn.
With respect to the 35 U.S.C. 101 abstract idea rejection, see pages 8-12, the Applicant’s argument has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, this rejection has been withdrawn.
With respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection, on pages 12-14, of claims 13-14 under Calapodescu et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0215421), hereinafter referred to as Calapodescu, the Applicant asserts that Calapodescu fails to disclose or suggest “send[ing] the input Htext through a series of one-dimensional convolution layers to a fully connected layer to produce an output in which, for each of a plurality of tokens, an estimate of an associated token-wise pitch is provided,” and therefore Calapodescu fails to disclose the features of amended claim 13 because Calapodescu relies on an iterative process to sequentially predict prosodic attributes for each token rather than sending an input text through a series of 1D convolutional layers and a fully connected layer to produce an output including an estimate of an associated token-wise pitch for each of a plurality of tokens. The Applicant further asserts that Calapodescu does not “convert a representation incorporating the estimate of the associated token-wise pitch into a speech representation to modify intermediate representations of phonemes for generation of an audio output.”
In response to Applicant’s argument that Calapodescu does not disclose or suggest “send[ing] the input Htext through a series of one-dimensional convolution layers to a fully connected layer to produce an output in which, for each of a plurality of tokens, an estimate of an associated token-wise pitch is provided”, Calapodescu Fig. 4 very clearly illustrates taking in a text with reference character 406, embedding it, and then sending it to prosodic attribute predictors 1 and 2, reference characters 404a and 404b respectively, which contain multiple one-dimensional convolutional layers before a full connected layer, to then predictor prosodic attributes, in this case pitch. This figure succinctly discloses all of the claimed limitations. Calapodescu also discloses “convert a representation incorporating the estimate of the associated token-wise pitch into a speech representation to modify intermediate representations of phonemes for generation of an audio output” through Calapodescu para [0069]: “The decoder 420 embodied in an FFTr stack 420 and an FC layer 422 is trained to generate speech representations of the input text that include prosody associated with the annotations 408,” and Calapodescu para [0070]: “An output of the model 400 generated via the decoder 420, such as a speech signal (e.g., a spectrogram), can be provided to a speech synthesizer 430, such as but not limited to a decoder (e.g., with a vocoder), for generating speech from the speech signal.” Both of these excerpts show that a speech representation is created based upon the estimated pitches, and that the pitches are modified to generate a final audio output through the prosody annotations. Thus, Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection are not persuasive.
With respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection, on pages 14-15, of claims 1-12 and 15-16 under Calapodescu in view of Shih et al. (US Patent No. 12,488,778), hereinafter referred to as Shih, the Applicant asserts that the cited art, alone or combined, fails to disclose or suggest “group the phoneme-level pitch values into N bins, wherein each bin of the N bins has a same number of phoneme-level pitch values as other bins of the N bins.” They further assert that nothing in Shih discloses or suggests that each bin contains the same number of speech characteristics, let alone the same number of phoneme-level pitch values. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-12 and 15-16 under Calapodescu, in view of Shih have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Calapodescu, in view of Shih, and further in view of Oplustil Gallegos.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Calapodescu et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0215421), hereinafter referred to as Calapodescu.
Regarding claim 13, Calapodescu discloses a device, comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable medium text at least in part by by causing the at least one processor system to send (Calapodescu Fig. 4 reference character 404a shows the prosodic attribute predictor, which predicts pitch and “An embedding layer 411 embeds tokens in the input text 406 and provides the embedded tokens to the encoder," Calapodescu para [0069])text through a series of one-dimensional convolution layers (Calapodescu Fig. 4 reference characters 410a and 412a are two one-dimensional convolutional layers in series) a plurality of tokens, an estimate of an associated token-wise pitch is provided (Calapodescu Fig. 4 reference character 416a shows the fully connected layer, where 410a and 412a are concatenated, then the output is sent to reference character 418, another one-dimensional convolutional layer, where the output then is the predicted pitch);
and convert a representation incorporating the estimate of the associated token-wise pitch into a speech representation to modify intermediate representations of phonemes for generation of an audio output (“The decoder 420 embodied in an FFTr stack 420 and an FC layer 422 is trained to generate speech representations of the input text that include prosody associated with the annotations 408,” Calapodescu para [0069], prosody annotations 408 are the modifications to the prosody that are generated in the output, and “An output of the model 400 generated via the decoder 420, such as a speech signal (e.g., a spectrogram), can be provided to a speech synthesizer 430, such as but not limited to a decoder (e.g., with a vocoder), for generating speech from the speech signal,” Calapodescu para [0070]).
Regarding claim 14, Calapodescu discloses all of the limitations of claim 13. Calapodescu further discloses wherein the one-dimensional convolutional layers are concatenated (Calapodescu Fig. 4 reference character 416a shows the fully connected layer, where 410a and 412a are concatenated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calapodescu, in view of Shih et al. (US Patent No. 12,488,778), hereinafter referred to as Shih, and further in view of Oplustil Gallegos et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0087558), hereinafter referred to as Oplustil Gallegos.
Regarding claim 1, Calapodescu discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one processor system configured to: receive text ("The encoder is trained to process an input text 406 including annotations 408 indicating prosodic features in the input text," Calapodescu para [0067]);
and convert a latent representation of the text incorporating the respective encoded pitch target into a speech representation to modify intermediate representations of phonemes for generation of an audio output (“The decoder 420 embodied in an FFTr stack 420 and an FC layer 422 is trained to generate speech representations of the input text that include prosody associated with the annotations 408,” Calapodescu para [0069], prosody annotations 408 are the modifications to the prosody that are generated in the output, and “An output of the model 400 generated via the decoder 420, such as a speech signal (e.g., a spectrogram), can be provided to a speech synthesizer 430, such as but not limited to a decoder (e.g., with a vocoder), for generating speech from the speech signal,” Calapodescu para [0070]).
However, Calapodescu fails to disclose convert the text toa plurality of phonemes, wherein each phoneme of the plurality of phonemes has wherein each bin of the N bins has a same number of phoneme-level pitch values as other bins of the N bins; to obtain a respective encoded pitch target for that respective bin such that the phoneme-level pitch values in the respective bin are represented by the respectiveencoded pitch target.
Shih teaches a method to implement a generative text-to-speech model.
Shih teaches convert the text to plural phonemes, each having a respective phoneme-level pitch value (Shih Fig. 4 reference character 410 partitions text into phonemes 412);
to obtain a respective encoded pitch target for that respective bin such that the phoneme-level pitch values in the respective bin are represented by the respectiveencoded pitch target (Shih Fig. 4 reference character 420 associated a phoneme feature vector 422 with the phonemes);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Calapodescu’s disclosure of a neural text-to-speech model with prosody control by including Shih’s teaching of converting the text to phonemes, grouping the phonemes together, and encoding/embedding them into a vector. Converting a textual element into its individual phonemes is a well-known technique within the text-to-speech system art, as it allows for individual acoustic parameters to be discovered, analyzed, and modified. Grouping the phonemes together allows for like phonemes with similar initial acoustic parameters to be analyzed together, thereby simplifying the amount of data that needs to be analyzed. Encoding or embedding the phonemes and groups of phonemes into vector format allows for numerical representation of the data, which further simplifies it and allows for input into neural models. This also allows for easier increase of dimensionality of the data, as neural networks tend to increase the dimensionality of data since multi-dimensionality of data provides additional degrees of freedom to fit complex functions (Shih col. 3 lines 28-33).
Oplustil Gallegos teaches a method and system for modifying speech generated by a text-to-speech synthesizer.
Oplustil Gallegos teaches group the phoneme-level pitch values into N bins, wherein each bin of the N bins has a same number of phoneme-level pitch values as other bins of the N bins (“This vector can then be simplified or “coarse grained” by binning/scaling/grouping the pitch values into N bins or groups according to pitch/frequency in 281. In an example, N is three which provides integer values {0, 1, 2}. These bins may be obtained by calculating the min and max for the entire dataset in 271 and 273 and splitting that range into three equally sized bins. Using these pitch/frequency bins the average phoneme pitch vector is turned into an integer vector containing the values 0 (lowest frequency bin) to 2 (highest frequency bin)”, Oplustil Gallegos para [0271]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Calapodescu’s disclosure of a neural text-to-speech model with prosody control by including Oplustil Gallegos’ teaching of utilizing binning to group pitch values into bins according to pitch. Binning is a common and well-known technique within data processing utilized to simplify data and improve the reliability of the data and its analysis. This would have been an obvious inclusion.
Regarding claim 2, Calapodescu, in view of Shih and further in view of Oplustil Gallegos, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Calapodescu further discloses wherein the processor system is configured to: predict pitch from an input Htext, which is identical to decoder input minus any pitch information ("An embedding layer 411 embeds tokens in the input text 406 and provides the embedded tokens to the encoder," Calapodescu para [0069] and Calapodescu Fig. 4 reference character 404a shows the prosodic attribute predictor, which predicts pitch).
Regarding claim 3, Calapodescu, in view of Shih and further in view of Oplustil Gallegos, discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Calapodescu further discloses wherein the processor system is configured to: send the input Htext to a first one-dimensional convolution layer in series with a second one-dimensional convolution layer (Calapodescu Fig. 4 reference characters 410a and 412a are two one-dimensional convolutional layers in series).
Regarding claim 4, Calapodescu, in view of Shih and further in view of Oplustil Gallegos, discloses all of the limitations of claim 3. Calapodescu further discloses wherein the one-dimensional convolutional layers are concatenated (Calapodescu Fig. 4 reference character 416a shows the fully connected layer, where 410a and 412a are concatenated).
Regarding claim 5, Calapodescu, in view of Shih and further in view of Oplustil Gallegos, discloses all of the limitations of claim 4. Calapodescu further discloses wherein the processor system is configured to send output of the one-dimensional convolutional layers to a fully connected layer to produce an output in which, for each of plural tokens, an estimate of an associated token-wise pitch is provided (Calapodescu Fig. 4 reference character 416a shows the fully connected layer, where 410a and 412a are concatenated, then the output is sent to reference character 418, another one-dimensional convolutional layer, where the output then is the predicted pitch).
Regarding claim 6, Calapodescu, in view of Shih and further in view of Oplustil Gallegos, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. However, Calapodescu fails to disclose wherein unvoiced speech is represented with an all-0 vector indicating the unvoiced speech has no pitch.
Shih teaches wherein unvoiced speech is represented with an all-0 vector indicating the unvoiced speech has no pitch ("Gap filling 204 may first identify unvoiced regions (gaps) as regions where the pitch (or energy) data is unavailable or shows small values below a set threshold," Shih col. 7 lines 41-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Calapodescu’s disclosure of a neural text-to-speech model with prosody control by including Shih’s teaching of indicating where unvoiced or voiceless phonemes are present in the speech. If phonemes are unvoiced or voiceless, i.e. they have no pitch, energy, or any other acoustic information attributed to them, it would be obvious to represent this value based on zero or a vector of zeros.
As to claims 7-12, method claims 7-12 and system claims 1-6 are related as system and method of using same, with each claimed element’s function corresponding to the system step, respectively. Accordingly, claims 7-12 are similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to the system claims.
Regarding claim 15, Calapodescu discloses all of the limitations of claim 13. However, Calapodescu fails to disclose identify plural phonemes, each having a respective phoneme-level pitch value; group the phoneme-level pitch values into N bins, each bin having a same number of phoneme-level pitch values as other bins; and encode each bin with a respective vector such that the phoneme-level pitch values in a respective bin are represented by the respective vector.
Shih teaches identify plural phonemes, each having a respective phoneme-level pitch value;
and encode each bin with a respective vector such that the phoneme-level pitch values in a respective bin are represented by the respective vector (Shih Fig. 4 reference character 420 associated a phoneme feature vector 422 with the phonemes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Calapodescu’s disclosure of a neural text-to-speech model with prosody control by including Shih’s teaching of converting the text to phonemes, grouping the phonemes together, and encoding/embedding them into a vector. Converting a textual element into its individual phonemes is a well-known technique within the text-to-speech system art, as it allows for individual acoustic parameters to be discovered, analyzed, and modified. Grouping the phonemes together allows for like phonemes with similar initial acoustic parameters to be analyzed together, thereby simplifying the amount of data that needs to be analyzed. Encoding or embedding the phonemes and groups of phonemes into vector format allows for numerical representation of the data, which further simplifies it and allows for input into neural models. This also allows for easier increase of dimensionality of the data, as neural networks tend to increase the dimensionality of data since multi-dimensionality of data provides additional degrees of freedom to fit complex functions (Shih col. 3 lines 28-33).
Oplustil Gallegos teaches group the phoneme-level pitch values into N bins, each bin having a same number of phoneme-level pitch values as other bins (“This vector can then be simplified or “coarse grained” by binning/scaling/grouping the pitch values into N bins or groups according to pitch/frequency in 281. In an example, N is three which provides integer values {0, 1, 2}. These bins may be obtained by calculating the min and max for the entire dataset in 271 and 273 and splitting that range into three equally sized bins. Using these pitch/frequency bins the average phoneme pitch vector is turned into an integer vector containing the values 0 (lowest frequency bin) to 2 (highest frequency bin)”, Oplustil Gallegos para [0271]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Calapodescu’s disclosure of a neural text-to-speech model with prosody control by including Oplustil Gallegos’ teaching of utilizing binning to group pitch values into bins according to pitch. Binning is a common and well-known technique within data processing utilized to simplify data and improve the reliability of the data and its analysis. This would have been an obvious inclusion.
Regarding claim 16, Calapodescu discloses all of the limitations of claim 13. However, Calapodescu fails to disclose wherein the instructions are executable to: represent unvoiced speech is represented with an all-0 vector indicating the unvoiced speech has no pitch.
Shih teaches wherein the instructions are executable to: represent unvoiced speech is represented with an all-0 vector indicating the unvoiced speech has no pitch ("Gap filling 204 may first identify unvoiced regions (gaps) as regions where the pitch (or energy) data is unavailable or shows small values below a set threshold," Shih col. 7 lines 41-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Calapodescu’s disclosure of a neural text-to-speech model with prosody control by including Shih’s teaching of indicating where unvoiced or voiceless phonemes are present in the speech. If phonemes are unvoiced or voiceless, i.e. they have no pitch, energy, or any other acoustic information attributed to them, it would be obvious to represent this value based on zero or a vector of zeros.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM MICHAEL WEAVER/Examiner, Art Unit 2658
/RICHEMOND DORVIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2658