Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sekine (US 9,517,784).
In re claim 1, Sekine discloses an operation device for receiving an operation input regarding translation and/or turning about a vertical axis of a moving body from a user operating the moving body (10), the operation device comprising: at least three leg parts (as shown in annotated Figure 5 below) extending upward from a vehicle body; an operation part (20) joined to each of the leg parts and configured to receive an operation input from the user; and at least one displacement sensor (torque sensors 21 include torsion bars which inherently require a displacement to sense said torque) configured to detect a horizontal displacement amount of the operation part, wherein, as seen in top view, each of the leg parts is in a position spaced from a straight line connecting selected two of other leg parts (as shown in annotated Figure 5 below).
Examiner-annotated Figure 5
In re claim 2, Sekine further discloses wherein the at least three leg parts include four leg parts disposed at vertices of a rectangle as seen in top view (as shown in annotated Figures 5 above).
In re claim 4, Sekine further discloses wherein the at least three leg parts include three leg parts disposed at vertices of a triangle as seen in top view. The Examiner notes that the claim is not limited to “only” three parts and that any three of the leg parts of Sekine form a triangle with each other.
In re claim 5, Sekine further discloses wherein the three leg parts consist of two leg parts disposed to be laterally spaced from each other and one leg part disposed in front of the two leg parts. The Examiner notes that the two rear leg parts, as shown in annotated Figure 5 above, are laterally spaced and either of the front leg parts can be considered to be the “one leg part disposed in front of the two leg parts”.
In re claim 8, Sekine further discloses wherein the at least one displacement sensor includes two displacement sensors (left and right torque sensors 21 as shown in Figure 6), each of the two displacement sensors being configured to detect a horizontal displacement amount of a corresponding one of laterally spaced positions of the operation part (column 5, lines 1-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekine.
In re claim 3, Sekine discloses the operation device according to claim 2, but does not disclose wherein each of the leg parts has a round rod shape. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flat plates of Sekine such that they comprised a round rod shape as an obvious design choice as the shape of the these leg parts does not affect the functionality of the device. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The specific limitations of “wherein the one leg part disposed in front of the two leg parts is disposed between the two leg parts as seen in a front-rear direction” is not anticipated or made obvious by the prior art of record in the examiner’s opinion. The Examiner notes that the prior art does not teach a force sensor comprising an operation part attached to three legs forming a triangle in which the front leg is between the two rear parts.
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The specific limitations of “comprising two restricting members supported on the vehicle body and provided with respective through holes for allowing left and right end portions of the operation part to pass therethrough in a left-right direction” is not anticipated or made obvious by the prior art of record in the examiner’s opinion. The Examiner notes that the prior art does not teach two restricting members having holes to receive left and right end portions of the handle as shown in Figure 8 of the current invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references cited on the attached PTO-892 teach operation devices/force sensors of interest.
/MICHAEL R STABLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611