DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues in the response filed 06/09/2026 that prior art Kearns or Wright disclose the track portion comprising a series of gear teeth. It is to be noted, the claim does not state what the track portion does, or how it is spaced/engaged with the rest of the tamper body let alone the tamper. New rejections with respect to Kearns in view of Akerfeldt/Cantanese and Wright in view of Akerfeldt/Cantanese has been made below.
The applicant argues the double patent rejection be held in abeyance. The examiner acknowledges the request, but the double patenting rejections is still maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 6,156,056 to Kearns in view of U.S. Patent 6,860,895 to Akerfeldt and/or U.S. Patent Publication 2007/0142846 to Cantanese.
As to claim 8, Kearns discloses a tamper (the device 12 with the suture buttress 200/400), comprising: a tamper body (402, col. 7 ll. 5-20, figure 23-25) that is elongate along a longitudinal direction, the tamper body defining a distal end, a proximal end opposite the distal end, and an outer surface; a tamper channel (406) that extends from the proximal end to the distal end along the longitudinal direction (figure 24), the tamper channel configured to receive a suture assembly therethrough (col. 7 ll. 5-20, figure 10, col. 4 ll. 33-53, the channel 406 is capable of being used with a system that can comprise a suture, therefore the channel can receive a suture assembly), at least one first cut (distal 418, figure 24, 25) at the distal end and that extends from the outer surface toward the tamper channel; and at least one second cut (distal 428, figure 24, 25) at the distal end opposite the first cut and that extends from the outer surface toward the tamper channel, wherein the at least one first cut and the least one second cut are configured to permit the distal end of the tamper to flex (figure 25). The specification does not define “tamper/tamper body” and there are no further claim limitations to the tamper body. Since the suture buttress reads on the structural limitations, can receive a suture assembly, would be able to push down something that is distal to the distal end, the suture buttress 400 can read on a tamper body.
However, Kearns is silent about the track portion comprising a series of gear teeth. It is noted that the track portion and series of gear teeth does not have any claim limitations linking it to the rest of the tamper and/or to the tamper body. Akerfeldt teaches a similar device (anchor delivery, abstract) having the track portion (161) comprising a series of gear teeth (163) for the purpose of driving distal parts of the device. Cantanese teaches a similar device (anchor delivery, abstract) having the track portion (paragraph 264, figure 15a-d) comprising a series of gear teeth (paragraph 264, figure 15a-d) for the purpose of assisting in anchor delivery. Both Akerfeldt and Cantanese teaches that is known that a track portion comprises a series of gear teeth can be a part of an actuation mechanism to help deliver a device. The claim does not state how the track portion engages and/or is spaced with the tamper body. Kearns does disclose that a distal part of the device can be moved. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the tamper of Kearns comprise the track portion comprising a series of gear teeth in order for assisting in actuation of the device.
As to claim 9, with the device of Kearns and Akerfeldt/Cantanese above, Kearns discloses the at least one first cut and the at least one second cut are configured to permit the distal end to flex more readily along a first plane than a second plane that is perpendicular to and intersects the first plane (figure 25). The buttress can more easily bend in the plane as seen in figure 25, then out of the plane based on the slits.
As to claim 10, with the device of Kearns and Akerfeldt/Cantanese above, Kearns discloses the at least one first cut and the at least one second cut extend only partially around the outer surface (figure 23, 24).
As to claim 11, with the device of Kearns and Akerfeldt/Cantanese above, Kearns discloses the first cuts and the second cut are separated by a portion of the outer surface (figure 23, 24).
As to claim 12, with the device of Kearns and Akerfeldt/Cantanese above, Kearns discloses the at least one first cut is a set of first cuts (figure 24, the set of slits 418), and the least one second cut is a set of second cuts (the set of 428), wherein the set of first cuts and the set of second cuts are offset with respect to each other along the longitudinal direction (figure 23-25).
As to claim 13, with the device of Kearns and Akerfeldt/Cantanese above, Kearns discloses the first cut is configured to open and the second cut is configured to compress when the tamper flexes along the plane (figure 25).
As to claim 14, with the device of Kearns and Akerfeldt/Cantanese above, Kearns discloses the first cut and the second cut are slits (col. 7 ll. 13-20).
Claims 8, 10, 11, 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 7,963,952 to Wright in view of U.S. Patent 6,860,895 to or U.S. Patent Publication 2007/0142846 to Cantanese.
As to claim 8, Wright discloses a tamper (10, the catheter can read on a tamper, see below), comprising: a tamper body (90/100, col. 6 ll. 30-col. 7 ll. 2, figure 3e-4a) that is elongate along a longitudinal direction, the tamper body defining a distal end, a proximal end opposite the distal end, and an outer surface; a tamper channel (lumen of catheter, figure 3e,g, 4a, 1, col. 3 ll. 66-col. 4 ll. 57) that extends from the proximal end to the distal end along the longitudinal direction (figure 1), the tamper channel configured to receive a suture assembly therethrough (col. 4 ll. 21-39, figure 1, the catheter is able to receive a medical instrument which can read on a suture assembly), at least one first cut (92, figure 3e; or 102/110, figure 3g, 4a ) at a distal portion and that extends from the outer surface toward the tamper channel; and at least one second cut (94, figure 3e; or 104/112, figure 3g, 4a) at the distal portion opposite the first cut and that extends from the outer surface toward the tamper channel (the second cut can be on the opposite side of the catheter, at least disclosed by figure 4a which can a slit orientation of previous slits), wherein the at least one first cut and the least one second cut are configured to permit the distal portion of the tamper to flex (col. 3 ll. 66-col. 4 10). The catheter can have different slit orientations/shapes that can read on the cuts as claimed, i.e. the wavy cuts of figure 3e, spiral cuts of figure 3g. The cuts as seen in figure 4a can be used as the cuts for the previous cuts, which can be the spiral cuts of figure 3g. Further the cuts allow the catheter to expand which can allow the “tamper to flex”. The specification does not define “tamper / tamper body” and there are no further limitations to the tamper body. Since the catheter reads on the structural limitations, can receive a suture assembly, would be able to manipulate something as the catheter expands, or manipulate something that is positioned within the catheter, the catheter can read on a tamper.
However, Wright is silent about the track portion comprising a series of gear teeth. It is noted that the track portion and series of gear teeth does not have any claim limitations linking it to the rest of the tamper body. Akerfeldt teaches a similar device (anchor delivery, abstract) having the track portion (161) comprising a series of gear teeth (163) for the purpose of driving distal parts of the device. Cantanese teaches a similar device (anchor delivery, abstract) having the track portion (paragraph 264, figure 15a-d) comprising a series of gear teeth (paragraph 264, figure 15a-d) for the purpose of assisting in anchor delivery. Both Akerfeldt and Cantanese teaches that is known that a track portion comprises a series of gear teeth can be a part of an actuation mechanism to help deliver a device. The claim does not state how the track portion engages and/or is spaced with the tamper body. Wright does disclose that the device can be used to deliver other devices, which would have an actuation mechanism. The device would then be a part of the “tamper”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the tamper of Wright comprise the track portion comprising a series of gear teeth in order for assisting in actuation of the device.
As to claim 10, with the device of Wright and Akerfeldt/Cantanese above, Wright discloses the at least one first cut and the at least one second cut extend only partially around the outer surface (figure 3e,g).
As to claim 11, with the device of Wright and Akerfeldt/Cantanese above, Wright discloses the first cuts and the second cut are separated by a portion of the outer surface (figure 3e,g).
As to claim 14, with the device of Wright and Akerfeldt/Cantanese above, Wright discloses the first cut and the second cut are slits (col. 6 ll. 30 to col. 7 ll. 2).
As to claim 15, with the device of Wright and Akerfeldt/Cantanese above, Wright discloses the first cut and the second cut are spiral cuts (figure 3g).
Double Patenting
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,089,828. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent claims a tamper (claim 1), comprising: a tamper body (claim 1) that is elongate along a longitudinal direction, the tamper body defining a distal end (claim 1), a proximal end (claim 1) opposite the distal end, and an outer surface (claim 1); a tamper channel (claim 1) that extends from the proximal end to the distal end along the longitudinal direction, the tamper channel configured to receive a suture assembly therethrough (claim 1, the suture assembly extends through the channel), at least one first cut (claim 1) at a distal portion and that extends from the outer surface toward the tamper channel (claim 1); at least one second cut (claim 1) at the distal portion opposite the first cut and that extends from the outer surface toward the tamper channel (claim 1), wherein the at least one first cut and the least one second cut are configured to permit the distal portion of the tamper to flex (claim 1), and a track portion (claim 4,5) comprising a series of gear teeth (claim 4,5, the track portion engages with a gear, so the track portion will have gear teeth).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER J ORKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771