DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Species II, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 8 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8 July 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a locking mechanism” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 6 recites “a locking sleeve comprising a sleeve retention device and a plug”, as if the sleeve retention device and plug are two separate items in the claim. However, the specification discloses that the plug is the sleeve retention device, such that claiming the two items separately is new matter not disclosed in the specification.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “a locking sleeve comprising a sleeve retention device and a plug”. However, the specification discloses that the plug is the sleeve retention device, such that claiming the two items separately makes it unclear whether these are the same item or two separate items. For the purposes of examination, it has been assumed that these are the same item.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beaulieu (US 1,225,209).
Regarding claim 1, Beaulieu discloses a tool holder (figure 1), comprising: a main body 8 defining a body axis (rotational axis, not labeled) and comprising a witness hole (not labeled, for screw 11); an extension 5 within the main body along the body axis; and a locking mechanism 11 configured to lock the extension along the body axis relative to the main body when the extension is visible through the witness hole.
Regarding claim 2, Beaulieu discloses wherein the main body 8 comprises a mounting end (top end of sleeve 8 in figure 1) and a mounting collar 18 defining a pair of parallel flats 19.
Claims 1, 3, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O (US 5,154,104).
Regarding claim 1, O discloses a tool holder 10, comprising: a main body 14 defining a body axis (not labeled, rotation axis) and comprising a witness hole 32; an extension 16/22 within the main body along the body axis; and a locking mechanism 34 configured to lock the extension along the body axis relative to the main body when the extension is visible through the witness hole.
Regarding claim 3, O discloses wherein the extension 16/22 further comprises a tool head 22 comprising a pilot bore configured to receive a tool and defining internal pilot threading (for receiving thread 70 on rod hanger bolt B).
Regarding claim 8, O discloses wherein the witness hole 32 is a first witness hole, and the main body 14 comprises a second witness hole 32 and the tool holder can vary between a first length when the extension is locked at the first witness hole and a second length when the extension is locked at the second witness hole.
Regarding claim 9, O discloses wherein the main body 14 further comprises a third witness hole 32 and a fourth witness hole 32.
Regarding claim 10, O discloses wherein the first witness hole 32 and the second witness hole 32 define a first opposing pair of witness holes (upper set of holes in figure 2) and the third witness hole 32 and the fourth witness hole 32 define a second opposing pair of witness holes (lower set of holes in figure 2), and wherein a positive stop 36 extends through at least one of the opposing pairs of witness holes (U-shaped bolt 36 may extend through one of the pairs of holes and another pair of holes).
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weissman (US 3,576,076).
Regarding claim 1, Weissman discloses a tool holder 12/14, comprising: a main body 14 defining a body axis (not labeled, rotation axis) and comprising a witness hole 42; an extension 12 within the main body along the body axis; and a locking mechanism 36 configured to lock the extension along the body axis relative to the main body when the extension is visible through the witness hole (the extension 12 is visible through the witness hole 42 through the hole for screw 54, see figures 4-5).
Regarding claim 4, Weissman discloses further comprising a locking sleeve 32 comprising a sleeve bore (inner surface of sleeve) and a guide structure 36, and wherein the main body 14 comprises a complimentary guide structure (outer surface of main body 14) configured to translate the locking sleeve (axially translate during assembly) relative to the main body when the main body is inserted into the sleeve bore of the locking sleeve.
Regarding claim 5, Weissman discloses further comprising a locking sleeve 32 extending over the witness hole 42 in the main body 14.
Regarding claim 6, Weissman discloses further comprising a locking sleeve 32 comprising a sleeve retention device/plug 54, and wherein the plug is inserted into the witness hole 42 of the main body 14 to prevent the locking sleeve from translating relative to the main body (screw 54 prevents axial and rotational translation of the locking sleeve relative to the main body).
Regarding claim 7, Weissman discloses further comprising a locking sleeve 32 comprising a locking lug 36, and wherein the extension 12 defines a locking notch 24 configured to receive the locking lug when the extension is locked relative to the main body 14.
Conclusion
/ERIC A. GATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 3 August 2026