DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicants application filing received on September 9, 2024. Claim(s) 21-40 is/are currently pending in the instant application.
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicants cancelation of claims 1-20 and the submission of new claims in the preliminary amendment on June 25, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicants filing of IDS references on September 9, 2024 and November 26, 2024. The references have been considered at this time. A copy of the annotated IDS sheet is included in this correspondence.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 120 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,217 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are claiming the same invention.
Claims 21 and 30 can be drawn to claims 1, 3, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,217 B2; specifically An interactive equipment element system, comprising: a sensor comprising a camera, wherein the sensor is associated with an individual attraction and is configured to detect movement;
a plurality of interactive equipment elements associated with the individual attraction, wherein an individual interactive equipment element of the plurality of interactive equipment elements is configured to: sense, via the sensor, interactions with individual interactive equipment element based on the detected movement;
read, via an RFID reader, an identification of a guest device in proximity to the individual interactive equipment element during the interactions; and
generate a signal indicative of the interactions that associates the guest device with the interactions; and
a central controller configured to: receive the signal indicative of the interactions from the individual interactive equipment element of the plurality of interactive equipment elements; and
generate instructions to change an interactive response of the individual interactive equipment element based on the signal.
Claim 3. The interactive equipment element system of claim 1, wherein the central controller is configured to determine one or more crowd metrics based on the signal from the sensor and to generate an activity command comprising one or more text commands or notifications transmitted to the guest device and providing information about an activity located away from an attraction area of the individual attraction.
Claim 17. The crowd management system of claim 16, wherein the instructions transmitted to the guest-associated devices comprise one or more text commands or notifications providing information about an activity located away from the plurality of interactive equipment elements based on the one or more crowd metrics being above a threshold.
Claim 22 can be drawn to claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,217 B2.
Claim 23 can be drawn to claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,217 B2.
Claim 24 can be drawn to claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,217 B2.
Claim 25 can be drawn to claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,217 B2.
Claim 26 can be drawn to claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,217 B2.
Claim 27 can be drawn to col. 7, lines 38-43 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,217 B2. [This bears the same determination as claim 26 where guests in a crowding is happening in an area or around an attraction above a threshold are mitigated by influencing guests to move towards low density or sparsely populated areas]
Claim 28 can be drawn to claims 3 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,217 B2.
Claim 29 can be drawn to claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,217 B2.
Claim 31 can be drawn to claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,217 B2.
Claim 32 can be drawn to claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,217 B2. [claim says to direct guest to another activity. Col. 5, lines 46-19 define that the activity can be “ride a different ride”.
Claim 33 can be drawn to claim 3 and of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,217 B2.
Claim 34 can be drawn to claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,217 B2.
Claim 35 can be drawn to claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,217 B2. [claim calls for determining one or more crowd metrics of the individual attraction. Col 7, lines 25-27 define that a crowd metric is “guest density”].
Claim 36 can be drawn to claims 16 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,217 B2.
Claim 37 can be drawn to claims 3 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,217 B2.
Claim 38 can be drawn to claims 3 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,217 B2. [claim calls for activity command to a guest device located away from an attraction area of the individual attraction. Col. 10, lines 41-47 defines the guest located within a first distance].
Claim 39 can be drawn to claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,217 B2.
Claim 40 can be drawn to claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,217 B2. [claim calls for guest associated device. Col. 4, lines 57-59 define a guest associated device may include guest mobile device (e.g. smartphone)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 21-40 are directed to one of the four statutory classes of invention (e.g. process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). The claims include a system or “apparatus”, method or “process”, or product or “article of manufacture” and is a method and system of crowd control which is a process (Step 1: YES).
The Examiner has identified independent method Claim 21 as the claim that represents the claimed invention for analysis and is similar to independent system Claim 30. Claim 21 recites the limitations of (abstract ideas highlighted in italics and additional elements highlighted in bold)
receiving signals from one or more sensors, the one or more sensors associated with an individual attraction;
estimating a number of guests in an area of the individual attraction based on the signals;
determining that an attraction crowd metric is above a threshold based on the estimated number of guests; and
transmitting a notification to one or more guest devices determined to be in the area of the individual attraction responsive to the attraction crowd metric being above the threshold, wherein the notification comprises an activity command associated with a different individual attraction.
These limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation as “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity”. Receiving signals associated with an attraction, estimating number of guests, determining a metric is above a threshold, and transmitting a notification instructing the crowd to a different location recites managing personal behavior ro relationships. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. The controller in Claim 30 is just applying generic computer components to the recited abstract limitations. Claim 30 are also abstract for similar reasons. (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES. The claims are abstract)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite one or more sensors and one or more guest devices (Claim 21) and/or a controller (claim 30). The computer hardware is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore claims 21 and 30 are directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer hardware amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. See Applicant’s specification para. [0036] about implementation using general purpose or special purpose computing devices [the remote central controller 102 and the local controller 107 may be accessed by an operator interface 620, e.g., a computer-based workstation or a mobile device, and/or may include an input/output interface 616.] and MPEP 2106.05(f) where applying a computer as a tool is not indicative of significantly more. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus claims 21 and 30 are not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more)
Dependent claims 22-29 and 31-40 further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims 21 and 30 and thus correspond to Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity and hence are abstract for the reasons presented above. The dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. The dependent claims include steps or processes which are similar to that disclosed in MPEP 2106.05(d), (f), (g), and/or (h) which include activities and functions the courts have determined to be well-understood, routine, and conventional when claimed in a generic manner, or as insignificant extra solution activity, or as merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply the judicial exception.
Claim 22 constitutes collecting information MPEP 2106.05(g)(3) iii. Selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354-55, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016);
Claims 23, 33, 36-38 relate to MPEP 2106.05(d)II. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362.
Claim 25 relates to directing or instruction guests similar to MPEP 2106.05(f)(2) vi. A method of assigning hair designs to balance head shape with a final step of using a tool (scissors) to cut the hair, In re Brown, 645 Fed. App'x 1014, 1017.
Claims 26-29, 34, and 35 are similar to MPEP 2106.05 (d)II. ii. Performing repetitive calculations, Flook, 437 U.S. at 594, 198 USPQ2d at 199.
Claim 39 is directed to MEPE 2106.05(f)(2) v. Requiring the use of software to tailor information and provide it to the user on a generic computer, Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1370-71, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1642.
Therefore, the claims 22-29 and 31-40 are directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the claims 21-40 are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schwartz et al. U.S. Publication 2013/0332509 A1 (hereafter Schwartz).
Regarding claim 21, Schwartz discloses receiving signals from one or more sensors, the one or more sensors associated with an individual attraction (see at least [0015] the attraction 116 includes a monitoring and/or data maintenance system 122 that may be utilized to monitor and/or provide information regarding operation of the associated attraction 116. These monitoring and/or data maintenance systems 122 may be referred to as attraction systems 122 and may include one or more of a computer, a control system, and monitoring features (e.g., sensors and cameras).);
estimating a number of guests in an area of the individual attraction based on the signals (see at least [0023] In addition to communications regarding reservations, communications between the system 100 and a guest may include other types of information or data, such as information related to crowd flow through the amusement park. For example, the system 100 may utilize location data from the PIFs 110 and other sources to assemble crowd flow data. This data may then be employed by the system 100 to encourage guest distribution throughout the amusement park, thus reducing crowds.);
determining that an attraction crowd metric is above a threshold based on the estimated number of guests (see at least [0060] the optimization algorithm may propose an itinerary that limits travel between attractions but accommodates a lack of availability of reservations at a particular time for a highly desired attraction. The algorithm may also direct guests throughout the park to avoid predicted overcrowding in particular areas based on established reservations and historic park data.); and
transmitting a notification to one or more guest devices determined to be in the area of the individual attraction responsive to the attraction crowd metric being above the threshold, wherein the notification comprises an activity command associated with a different individual attraction (see at least [0023] For example, an electronic coupon, which may be limited to certain guests by identification information, for a nearby attraction may be issued by the system 100 via the PIFs 110 or a notice may be distributed indicating that short waits are available at certain attractions. The system 100 is capable of pushing information (e.g., coupons, advertisements, and wait times) out to guests via a web portal or the like. Specifically, for example, the system 100 may send out a text message to all park patrons that have a PIF 110 with particular identification information that will allow these park patrons to receive a discount at a shop or restaurant. Further, the system 100 may track usage of these discounts such that the system 100 is aware of time and location of use, which can be used for crowd control (e.g., submission of additional notifications based on location, item purchased, and so forth). Additionally, the system 100 may automatically adjust reservations based on location and availability.).
Regarding claim 22, Schwartz discloses wherein the one or more sensors comprise a camera (see at least [0015] the attraction 116 includes a monitoring and/or data maintenance system 122 that may be utilized to monitor and/or provide information regarding operation of the associated attraction 116. These monitoring and/or data maintenance systems 122 may be referred to as attraction systems 122 and may include one or more of a computer, a control system, and monitoring features (e.g., sensors and cameras).).
Regarding claim 23, Schwartz discloses wherein the one or more sensors comprise a wireless reader, and wherein estimating the number of guests comprises: reading wireless signals from guest devices in the area of the attraction that are in range of the wireless reader; and using a number of the wireless signals to estimate the number of guests (see at least [0016] guest pass can be associated with a PIF 110 that is assigned to a particular guest, and the PIF 110 can then be used to confirm rights of the guest via the system 100. Depending on this information, an amusement park employee or system can grant or deny a guest access to certain attractions 116 or rights to make reservations. In some embodiments, the PIFs 110 are capable of wireless detection and provide access to identification information associated with the PIFs 110.).
Regarding claim 24, Schwartz discloses wherein the guest devices comprise one or more stylets (see at least [0016] guest pass can be associated with a PIF 110 that is assigned to a particular guest, and the PIF 110 can then be used to confirm rights of the guest via the system 100. Depending on this information, an amusement park employee or system can grant or deny a guest access to certain attractions 116 or rights to make reservations. In some embodiments, the PIFs 110 are capable of wireless detection and provide access to identification information associated with the PIFs 110.).
Regarding claim 25, Schwartz discloses wherein the activity command is associated with one or more interactive equipment elements at the different individual attraction (see at least [0023] an electronic coupon, which may be limited to certain guests by identification information, for a nearby attraction may be issued by the system 100 via the PIFs 110 or a notice may be distributed indicating that short waits are available at certain attractions.).
Regarding claim 26, Schwartz discloses wherein the different individual attraction has an attraction crowd metric below the threshold (see at least [0060] The algorithm may also direct guests throughout the park to avoid predicted overcrowding in particular areas based on established reservations and historic park data. The algorithm may also take into consideration that a break would be required around a mealtime and propose reservations at a restaurant attraction or simply suggest nearby restaurants. The algorithm may also take certain practical matters into consideration. For example, the algorithm may adjust the itinerary to exclude certain high intensity attractions for a certain time period after meals. The algorithm may also attempt to maximize utilization of the park by proposing reservations or visits to attractions that are underutilized at certain times.).
Regarding claim 27, Schwartz discloses wherein the different individual attraction has an attraction crowd metric associated with low guest density (see at least [0013] Present embodiments may also facilitate communication between the reservation system and guests to provide for dynamic updating of reservation times and to provide crowd control by encouraging guests to visit particular areas of the amusement park.).
Regarding claim 28, Schwartz discloses wherein the attraction crowd metric is related to guest density in the area of the individual attraction (see at least [0023] an electronic coupon, which may be limited to certain guests by identification information, for a nearby attraction may be issued by the system 100 via the PIFs 110 or a notice may be distributed indicating that short waits are available at certain attractions. The system 100 is capable of pushing information (e.g., coupons, advertisements, and wait times) out to guests via a web portal or the like. Specifically, for example, the system 100 may send out a text message to all park patrons that have a PIF 110 with particular identification information that will allow these park patrons to receive a discount at a shop or restaurant. Further, the system 100 may track usage of these discounts such that the system 100 is aware of time and location of use, which can be used for crowd control (e.g., submission of additional notifications based on location, item purchased, and so forth). Additionally, the system 100 may automatically adjust reservations based on location and availability. For example, a reservation may be adjusted because a patron is located too far away from the attraction (e.g., as determined by a purchase time of an item) to reach the associated attraction in time for the reservation or a guest's place in line may be adjusted because the guest was delayed in a restaurant due to slow service.).
Regarding claim 29, Schwartz discloses wherein the attraction crowd metric is related an estimated wait time for the individual attraction (see at least [0017] guest (or agent of the guest) may use present embodiments to obtain reservations to one or more attractions in order to avoid or limit wait time in attraction queues, such as a queue 126 for a particular ride 128.).
Claim 30 is substantially similar to claim 21 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 31, Schwartz discloses 0wherein the individual attraction is an interactive equipment element (see at least [0050] a determination may be made regarding associated delays or other issues with the reservations, as indicated by block 422. This may include periodically updating and continuously monitoring attraction information from monitoring systems (e.g., attraction systems 122) associated with the related attractions. If issues are identified that will cause changes in reservations, the guest may be notified via text message, voice message, email, or via a kiosk display of a new time window for the reservation, as represented by block 424. The notification may also include an indication of the nature of the delay or change. Further, any conflicting reservations may be automatically adjusted. For example, if the changed reservation time conflicts with an established reservation time, the established reservation time may be automatically changed or the guest may be prompted to define a desired result from a selection of available options. Kiosk is an interactive element which allows the guest to modify, adjust, or delay reservations for individual attractions).
Regarding claim 32, Schwartz discloses wherein the individual attraction is a ride (see at least [0017] a guest (or agent of the guest) may use present embodiments to obtain reservations to one or more attractions in order to avoid or limit wait time in attraction queues, such as a queue 126 for a particular ride 128.).
Regarding claim 33, Schwartz discloses wherein the controller is configured to: determine a location of the one or more guest devices in the area of the individual attraction (see at least [0022] the PIFs 110 may include global positioning systems (GPS), radio frequency identification (RFID) tags, or other detectable features that can be used to determine locations of the PIFs 110. Specifically, for example, if a PIF 110 is scanned as part of a purchase detected by a data reader 108, or detected by a device monitor 124 positioned in the amusement park, such information may be employed to determine a general location of the guest with which the system 100 has associated the PIF 110.); and
transmit the activity command based on the determined location (see at least [0023] communications between the system 100 and a guest may include other types of information or data, such as information related to crowd flow through the amusement park. For example, the system 100 may utilize location data from the PIFs 110 and other sources to assemble crowd flow data. This data may then be employed by the system 100 to encourage guest distribution throughout the amusement park, thus reducing crowds. For example, an electronic coupon, which may be limited to certain guests by identification information, for a nearby attraction may be issued by the system 100 via the PIFs 110 or a notice may be distributed indicating that short waits are available at certain attractions.).
Claim 34 is substantially similar to claim 29 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 35 is substantially similar to claim 28 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 36, Schwartz discloses wherein the guest density is determined to be above a threshold and wherein the controller is configured to: determine a location of the one or more guest devices in the area of the individual attraction (see at least [0022] the PIFs 110 may include global positioning systems (GPS), radio frequency identification (RFID) tags, or other detectable features that can be used to determine locations of the PIFs 110. Specifically, for example, if a PIF 110 is scanned as part of a purchase detected by a data reader 108, or detected by a device monitor 124 positioned in the amusement park, such information may be employed to determine a general location of the guest with which the system 100 has associated the PIF 110.); and
transmit the activity command based on the determined location, wherein the activity command comprises a notification to move to an area of a different attraction (see at least [0023] communications between the system 100 and a guest may include other types of information or data, such as information related to crowd flow through the amusement park. For example, the system 100 may utilize location data from the PIFs 110 and other sources to assemble crowd flow data. This data may then be employed by the system 100 to encourage guest distribution throughout the amusement park, thus reducing crowds. For example, an electronic coupon, which may be limited to certain guests by identification information, for a nearby attraction may be issued by the system 100 via the PIFs 110 or a notice may be distributed indicating that short waits are available at certain attractions.).
Regarding claim 37, Schwartz discloses wherein the guest density is determined to be below a threshold and wherein the controller is configured to: determine a location of the one or more guest devices not in the area of the individual attraction (see at least [0022] the PIFs 110 may include global positioning systems (GPS), radio frequency identification (RFID) tags, or other detectable features that can be used to determine locations of the PIFs 110. Specifically, for example, if a PIF 110 is scanned as part of a purchase detected by a data reader 108, or detected by a device monitor 124 positioned in the amusement park, such information may be employed to determine a general location of the guest with which the system 100 has associated the PIF 110.); and
transmit the activity command based on the determined location, wherein the activity command comprises a notification to move to the area of the individual attraction (see at least [0023] a reservation may be adjusted because a patron is located too far away from the attraction (e.g., as determined by a purchase time of an item) to reach the associated attraction in time for the reservation or a guest's place in line may be adjusted because the guest was delayed in a restaurant due to slow service.).
Regarding claim 38, Schwartz discloses wherein the guest density is determined to be below a threshold and wherein the controller is configured to: determine a location of an individual guest device of the one or more guest devices relative to the individual attraction (see at least [0022] the PIFs 110 may include global positioning systems (GPS), radio frequency identification (RFID) tags, or other detectable features that can be used to determine locations of the PIFs 110. Specifically, for example, if a PIF 110 is scanned as part of a purchase detected by a data reader 108, or detected by a device monitor 124 positioned in the amusement park, such information may be employed to determine a general location of the guest with which the system 100 has associated the PIF 110.); and
transmit the activity command to the individual guest device based on the determined location, wherein the activity command comprises a notification to move to the area of the individual attraction when the individual guest device is within a distance of the individual attraction (see at least [0023] The system 100 is capable of pushing information (e.g., coupons, advertisements, and wait times) out to guests via a web portal or the like. Specifically, for example, the system 100 may send out a text message to all park patrons that have a PIF 110 with particular identification information that will allow these park patrons to receive a discount at a shop or restaurant. Further, the system 100 may track usage of these discounts such that the system 100 is aware of time and location of use, which can be used for crowd control (e.g., submission of additional notifications based on location, item purchased, and so forth). Additionally, the system 100 may automatically adjust reservations based on location and availability.).
Regarding claim 39, Schwartz discloses wherein the activity command is associated with a task or reward (see at least [0030] Priority may be given to guests that pay extra, very important persons, or guests that perform special tasks.).
Regarding claim 40, Schwartz discloses wherein the one or more guest devices comprise a mobile device (see at least [0010] Present embodiments may facilitate communication with guests via portable communication devices, such as cellular tele Schwartz discloses phones, pagers, and other wireless devices. Such devices may be referred to as mobile devices.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art refers to crowd control management and related methods.
U.S. Publication 2018/0374003 A1 - Methods, systems, and computer-readable storage media for crowd control based on check-in time recommendations, including operations of receiving, from a plurality of users, travel information, the travel information including, for each of the plurality of users, a user identification, a departure location, and a departure time, determining a total number of passengers within a time interval associated to the departure time from the departure location, generating a recommended check-in time for each of the plurality of users based on the travel information and the total number of passengers, displaying for each of the plurality of users the recommended check-in time, and activating a setting of a ticket verification device to prevent access to a portion of the departure location for each of the plurality of users before the recommended check-in time.
U.S. Publication 2016/0092797 A1 - Methods and systems for improving access to an attraction are described. A user pays for a purchase using a service provider. The service provider generates a pass to an attraction associated with the purchase. The pass can designate a future time and an access code for accessing the attraction. When the user returns at the assigned future time, the right of the user to the attraction at the assigned time is validated with the pass, and the user is granted immediate access to the attraction.
U.S. Publication 2017/0228804 A1 - Methods select content to be delivered to a visitor to a real-world venue. One method identifies a visitor to a real-world venue based on tracked physical actions and a profile including previously collected visitor information associated with the venue. The method determines that members of a group are present at the venue with the visitor, where the determining is based at least in part on the previously collected visitor information. Based on determining that the visitor is at the venue with members of the group, content is selected for the visitor. Another method identifies a visitor to a venue as belonging to a group by identifying the visitor based on tracked physical actions and collected visitor information. The tracked actions and visitor information are used to determine whether the visitor is in the venue with members of the group. Tailored content is sent to the visitor based on the determination.
U.S. Patent 9,383,730 B2 - This disclosure relates to a system configured to trigger interactive experiences for guests. The system may be a zone based identification system that uses identification technology (e.g., RFID, image recognition, etc.) to detect and/or identify guests in zones prior to, during, and after an interactive experience. The zones may be physical areas where guests approach, participate in, and leave the interactive experience. The system may be configured such that as guests progress through zones prior to, during, and after the interactive experience, the system may access guest specific information before the interactive experience, present the guest specific information during the interactive experience, and then stop presenting the information responsive to the guest exiting the interactive experience. In some implementations, the system may comprise one or more objects associated with guests, one or more sensors, one or more processors, one or more host systems, and/or other components.
/DYLAN C WHITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625 January 23, 2026