DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, 13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2016/0099575 (Velderman).
Regarding claim 1, Velderman teaches a portable power supply (Fig. 40 shows carrier 200 i.e. portable power supply) [0183, 0187], comprising:
an input port for receiving an AC input power signal from an AC power supply (Fig. 40 shows AC power input connector 212 for receiving an AC input power signal from an AC mains line power supply) [0186, 0195];
a charging system for charging at least one battery pack using the AC input power signal from the input port (charging system for charging at least one battery pack 300 using the AC input power signal from the input connector 212) [0189, 0191];
an output port for providing an AC output power signal to an electrical device (Fig. 40 shows power output connector 218 for providing AC output power signal to an electrical device) [0186, 0190];
an inverter for providing the AC output power signal derived from the at least one battery pack to the output port (Fig. 40 shows inverter 266 for providing AC output power signal derived from the at least one battery pack 300) [0190, 0199]; and
a switch circuit (Fig. 40 shows switch 222) configured to (1) if the inverter is providing the AC output power signal to the output port (if inverter 266 is on and providing the AC output power signal to the output port 218) [0192] and the AC power supply is coupled to the input port (AC input port 212 is coupled to AC main power supply to 262) [0195] (a) prevent the charging system from charging the at least one battery pack (switches 258 is opened to disconnect battery packs 300 from being charged by power supply 262) [0192] and continue operating the inverter to provide the AC output power signal to the output port (continue operating inverter 266 to provide the AC output power signal to the output port 218) [0192] or (b) stop the inverter from operating and allow the charging system to charge the at least one battery pack, and
(2) if the charging system is charging the at least one battery pack (if charging system is charging at least one battery pack 300) [0191] and a user attempts to activate the inverter (user attempts to activate the inverter by switching 222 to discharging) [0058] (a) prevent the inverter from providing the AC output power signal to the output port and continue to operate the charging system to charge the at least one battery pack or (b) stop the charging system from operating and activate the inverter to provide the AC output power signal to the output port (when switch 222 is in discharge mode the battery charging system is stopped by switches 258 turning off and activating inverter to provide the AC output power signal to the output port 218) [0192, 0195].
Regarding claim 2, Velderman teaches further comprising at least one battery pack receptacle (Fig .41 shows battery pack receptacle 256) [0188], each at least one battery pack receptacle configured to mechanically and electrically mate with one of the at least one battery pack (battery pack receptacle 256 is configured to mechanically and electrically mate with one of the battery pack 300) [0188] and wherein the charging system includes at least one charger (Fig. 40 shows charge/discharge control module 252 for each battery pack 300), each of the at least one charger coupled with at least one of the at least one battery pack receptacle (Fig. 40 shows charge/discharge control module 252 for each battery pack 300 receptacle 256) [0187-0188].
Regarding claim 3, Velderman teaches wherein the switch circuit comprises an inverter microcontroller circuit that monitors and controls the inverter (switch 222 connected to SMU 250 that monitors and controls inverter 266) [0191-192], a charger microcontroller circuit coupled to the inverter microcontroller circuit (SMU 250 comprises charger microcontroller circuit and inverter microcontroller circuit coupled in the printed circuitry board) [0187-0190], the charging system and a first of the at least one battery pack receptacle, the charger microcontroller circuit monitors the first of the at least one battery pack receptacle and the inverter microcontroller circuit and controls the charging system (charging system and a first of the at least one battery pack 300 receptacle 256 and the SMU 250 monitors battery SOC and controls the charging system) [0185, 0188, 0198].
Regarding claim 4, Velderman teaches wherein the switch circuit comprises an inverter microcontroller circuit that controls the inverter (Fig. 40-41 shows switch 222 and SMU 250 controls inverter 266) [0191-0192] and a controllable switch coupled to the input port (Fig. 40 shows switch 258 coupled to input port 218), the controllable switch (a) connects the at least one battery pack receptacle to the inverter microcontroller circuit and the inverter to activate the inverter (switches 258 connects the at least one battery pack 300 with receptacle 256 to the SMU 250 and the inverter 266 to activate the inverter 266) [0188, 0192, 0198] and (b) disconnects the at least one battery pack receptacle from the inverter microcontroller circuit and the inverter to deactivate the inverter (switch 258 disconnects the at least one battery pack 300 receptacle 258 from SMU 250 and the inverter 266 to deactivate the inverter 266) [0188, 0191].
Regarding claim 5, Velderman teaches wherein the switch circuit comprises a controllable switch coupled to the input port (carrier 200 operate as a power supply pass through by employing a switch bypassing the internal power supply 262 and inverter 266) and upon the input port receiving the AC input power signal from the AC power supply the controllable switch is prevented from coupling the at least one battery pack receptacle from the inverter microcontroller circuit and the inverter to prevent the inverter from operating (switch connecting AC input power source to AC output connector 218 bypassing inverter 266 i.e. prevent the inverter from operating) [0200].
Regarding claim 6, Velderman teaches wherein the switch circuit comprises a charger microcontroller circuit coupled to the charging system (Fig. 40 shows SMU 250 coupled to the charging system), an inverter activation switch (inverter 266 comprising inverter activation switch) [0192], a controllable switch coupled to the inverter activation switch (Fig. 40 shows switch 268 connected to inverter 266 comprising inverter activation switch) [0192], an inverter microcontroller circuit coupled to the charger microcontroller circuit (SMU 250 comprising inverter microcontroller and charger microcontroller circuit) [0187, 0190-192], the controllable switch connecting the at least one battery pack receptacle to the inverter microcontroller circuit upon activation of the inverter activation switch (when inverter 266 is turned on, the switch 268 connecting at least one battery pack 300 receptacle 256 to the SMU 250) [0192, 0206] waking the inverter microcontroller circuit and upon the inverter microcontroller circuit waking, the inverter microcontroller circuit communicating with the charger microcontroller circuit to deactivate the charging system and the charger microcontroller circuit deactivating the charging system (SMU 250 wakes the inverter 266 communicating with the charger 252 to deactivate the charging system by opening switch 258) [0192-193, 0198, 0206].
Regarding claim 7, Velderman teaches a method of operating a portable power supply (method of operating carrier 200 i.e. portable power supply) [0183, 0187], the portable power supply including an input port for receiving an AC input power signal from an AC power supply (Fig. 40 shows AC power input connector 212 for receiving an AC input power signal from an AC mains line power supply) [0186, 0195];
a charging system for charging at least one battery pack using the AC input power signal from the input port (charging system for charging at least one battery pack 300 using the AC input power signal from the input connector 212) [0189, 0191];
an output port for providing an AC output power signal to an electrical device (Fig. 40 shows power output connector 218 for providing AC output power signal to an electrical device) [0186, 0190];
an inverter for providing the AC output power signal derived from the at least one battery pack to the output port (Fig. 40 shows inverter 266 for providing AC output power signal derived from the at least one battery pack 300) [0190, 0199]; and
a switch circuit (Fig. 40 shows switch 222); the method comprising the steps of:
(1) if the inverter is providing the AC output power signal to the output port (if inverter 266 is on and providing the AC output power signal to the output port 218) [0192] and the AC power supply is coupled to the input port (AC input port 212 is coupled to AC main power supply to 262) [0195] (a) preventing the charging system from charging the at least one battery pack (switches 258 is opened to disconnect battery packs 300 from being charged by power supply 262) [0192] and continuing to operate the inverter to provide the AC output power signal to the output port (continue operating inverter 266 to provide the AC output power signal to the output port 218) [0192] or (b) deactivating the inverter and activating the charging system to charge the at least one battery pack, and
(2) if the charging system is charging the at least one battery pack (if charging system is charging at least one battery pack 300 when switch 222 is in charging mode) [0191] and the electrical device is coupled to the output port (electrical device coupled to output port 218 during the switch 222 being in charging mode won’t receive any power) (a) preventing the inverter from providing the AC output power signal to the output port (inverter 266 is turned off thereby preventing the inverter 266 from providing AC output power signal) [0191] and continuing to operate the charging system to charge the at least one battery pack (while switch 222 is in charging mode, battery packs 300 are continued to be charged) [0191] or (b) deactivating the charging system and activating the inverter to provide the AC output power signal to the output port.
Regarding claim 8, Velderman teaches further comprising at least one battery pack receptacle (Fig .41 shows battery pack receptacle 256) [0188], each at least one battery pack receptacle configured to mechanically and electrically mate with one of the at least one battery pack (battery pack receptacle 256 is configured to mechanically and electrically mate with one of the battery pack 300) [0188] and wherein the charging system includes at least one charger (Fig. 40 shows charge/discharge control module 252 for each battery pack 300), each of the at least one charger coupled with at least one of the at least one battery pack receptacle (Fig. 40 shows charge/discharge control module 252 for each battery pack 300) [0187-0188].
Regarding claim 9, Velderman teaches wherein the switch circuit comprises an inverter microcontroller circuit that monitors and controls the inverter (switch 222 connected to SMU 250 that monitors and controls inverter 266) [0191-192], a charger microcontroller circuit coupled to the inverter microcontroller circuit (SMU 250 comprises charger microcontroller circuit and inverter microcontroller circuit coupled in the printed circuitry board) [0187-0190], the charging system and a first of the at least one battery pack receptacle, the charger microcontroller circuit monitors the first of the at least one battery pack receptacle and the inverter microcontroller circuit and controls the charging system (charging system and a first of the at least one battery pack 300 receptacle 256 and the SMU 250 monitors battery SOC and controls the charging system) [0185, 0188, 0198].
Regarding claim 10, Velderman teaches further comprising the steps of coupling the charger microcontroller circuit to the at least one receptacle (Fig. 40 shows switch 258 coupling charger 252 to receptacle 256), presenting a signal to the charger microcontroller circuit that AC power has been coupled to the input port (presenting a signal to charger 252 that AC power is coupled to 262) [0189], the inverter microcontroller circuit sending a signal to the charger microcontroller circuit that the inverter is providing the AC output power signal to the output port (SMU 250 sending signal to charger 252 that inverter 266 is providing AC output power to output port 218) [0190], the charger microcontroller circuit sending a signal to the charger system to prevent the charger system from charging any of the at least one battery pack coupled to the at least one receptacle (charger 252 sending a signal to charger system to prevent charging any of the at least one battery pack 300 coupled to the at least one receptacle 256) [0192].
Regarding claim 11, Velderman teaches wherein the switch circuit comprises an inverter microcontroller circuit that controls the inverter (Fig. 40-41 shows switch 222 and SMU 250 controls inverter 266) [0191-0192] and a controllable switch coupled to the input port (Fig. 40 shows switch 258 coupled to input port 218), the controllable switch (a) connects the at least one battery pack receptacle to the inverter microcontroller circuit and the inverter to activate the inverter (switches 258 connects the at least one battery pack 300 with receptacle 256 to the SMU 250 and the inverter 266 to activate the inverter 266) [0188, 0192, 0198] and (b) disconnects the at least one battery pack receptacle from the inverter microcontroller circuit and the inverter to deactivate the inverter (switch 258 disconnects the at least one battery pack 300 receptacle 258 from SMU 250 and the inverter 266 to deactivate the inverter 266) [0188, 0191].
Regarding claim 13, Velderman teaches wherein the switch circuit comprises a controllable switch coupled to the input port (carrier 200 operate as a power supply pass through by employing a switch bypassing the internal power supply 262 and inverter 266) and upon the input port receiving the AC input power signal from the AC power supply the controllable switch is prevented from coupling the at least one battery pack receptacle from the inverter microcontroller circuit and the inverter to prevent the inverter from operating (switch connecting AC input power source to AC output connector 218 bypassing inverter 266 i.e. prevent the inverter from operating) [0200].
Regarding claim 15, Velderman teaches wherein the switch circuit comprises a charger microcontroller circuit coupled to the charging system (Fig. 40 shows SMU 250 coupled to the charging system), an inverter activation switch (inverter 266 comprising inverter activation switch) [0192], a controllable switch coupled to the inverter activation switch (Fig. 40 shows switch 268 connected to inverter 266 comprising inverter activation switch) [0192], an inverter microcontroller circuit coupled to the charger microcontroller circuit (SMU 250 comprising inverter microcontroller and charger microcontroller circuit) [0187, 0190-192], the controllable switch connecting the at least one battery pack receptacle to the inverter microcontroller circuit upon activation of the inverter activation switch (when inverter 266 is turned on, the switch 268 connecting at least one battery pack 300 receptacle 256 to the SMU 250) [0192, 0206] thereby waking the inverter microcontroller circuit and upon the inverter microcontroller circuit waking, the inverter microcontroller circuit communicating with the charger microcontroller circuit to deactivate the charging system and the charger microcontroller circuit deactivating the charging system (SMU 250 wakes the inverter 266 communicating with the charger 252 to deactivate the charging system by opening switch 258) [0192-193, 0198, 0206].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0099575 (Velderman) in view of US 2019/0103750 (Kristensen).
Regarding claim 12, Velderman teaches further comprising the steps of providing an inverter microcontroller circuit for operating the inverter (SMU 250 operates inverter 266) [0190], providing the AC input power signal at the AC input port, inputting the AC input power signal from the AC input port (providing AC input port 212 inputting the AC input power signal) [0186], in response to receiving the AC input power signal (when AC input power signal is received by SMU 250) [0189], overriding a signal from the inverter microcontroller circuit to close the controllable switch and instead opening the controllable switch, the inverter microcontroller circuit being disconnected to the at least one battery pack thereby stopping operation of the inverter (when the switch 222 is in charge mode, switches 258 i.e. controllable switches are turned on and SMU 250 turns off the inverter 266 disconnected from at least one battery pack 300 thereby stopping operation of the inverter) [0190-0192].
However, Velderman does not teach providing a latch coupled to the AC input port, providing a controllable switch coupled to the latch,
However, Kristensen teaches a latch coupled to the AC input port, providing a controllable switch coupled to the latch, the latch overriding a signal to close the controllable switch and instead opening the controllable switch (configuration switches comprising programmable latches to allow the power switches to default to a desired output configuration) [0143, 0188].
It would have been obvious to one with the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a latch coupled to the AC input port, providing a controllable switch coupled to the latch, the latch overriding a signal to close the controllable switch and instead opening the controllable switch in order to protect the circuitry from damages and prioritizing the charging/discharging of the battery pack as intended by the user.
Regarding claim 14, Velderman teaches further comprising the steps of providing an inverter microcontroller circuit for operating the inverter, providing the AC input power signal at the AC input port, inputting the AC input power signal from the AC input port, not closing in response to receiving the AC input power signal, the controllable switch not closing in response, the inverter microcontroller circuit not be coupled to the at least one battery pack thereby preventing the inverter from operating (when the switch 222 is in charge mode, switches 258 i.e. controllable switches are turned on and SMU 250 turns off the inverter 266 disconnected from at least one battery pack 300 thereby stopping operation of the inverter) [0190-0192].
However, Velderman does not teach providing a latch coupled to the AC input port, providing a controllable switch coupled to the latch.
However, Kristensen teaches a latch coupled to the AC input port, providing a controllable switch coupled to the latch, the latch overriding a signal to close the controllable switch and instead opening the controllable switch (configuration switches comprising programmable latches to allow the power switches to default to a desired output configuration) [0143, 0188].
It would have been obvious to one with the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a latch coupled to the AC input port, providing a controllable switch coupled to the latch, the latch overriding a signal to close the controllable switch and instead opening the controllable switch in order to protect the circuitry from damages and prioritizing the charging/discharging of the battery pack as intended by the user.
Conclusion
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836 /S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836