DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 and 15-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,088,512 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are broad and all the limitations are included in the claims of the US Patens.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Di Benedetto et al. (US 9,444,723 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Di Benedetto discloses a method comprising: fragmenting a first packet into a plurality of fragments when a length of an encapsulated first packet is larger than a maximum transmission unit size (e.g. fig. 12, step 1204 and 1208; col. 22, lines 15-56, illustrating fragmenting a packet when the size exceeding maximum length); for each fragment in the plurality of fragments, generating fragmentation information (figs. 12-13; col. 22, lines 42-67; col. 23, lines 29-65; and so on, generating fragmentation field(s) for each of the fragments); encapsulating each fragment in the plurality of fragments with an outer header to form a plurality of encapsulated packets (figs. 12-13; col. 22, line 57-col. 23, line 6; col. 23, line 50-59; and etc., explaining the encapsulation of the fragments with outer header), wherein respective fragmentation information for each fragment is inserted in a particular portion of the outer header that forms at least part of an option portion of the outer header (figs. 11-14; col. 20, line 23-col. 21, line 67; col. 2, line 51-col. 3,line 25; col. 13, lines 4-33; col. 15, lines 28-56; col. 16, lines 23-31; and so on, describing the fragmentation field(s) include in a particular portion, within control plane 1008 of outer header 802); and sending the plurality of encapsulated packets via the overlay tunnel (figs. 6, 12, 14; col. 23, lines 1-28; col. 25,lines 3-53; and etc., illustrating the transmission of the encapsulated packets through the overlay tunnel).
Regarding claim 8 and 15, the claims include features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1. The claims are a mere reformation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding non-transitory computer-readable storage medium and a system, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 2, 9, and 16, Di Benedetto discloses wherein: the first packet is fragmented at a determined size to form each fragment, and an inner header is not included in each of the plurality of encapsulated packets (figs. 8, 11-14).
Regarding claim 3, 10, and 17, Di Benedetto discloses wherein a header of the first packet is included once in the plurality of encapsulated packets (fig. 13).
Regarding claim 4, 11, and 18, Di Benedetto discloses wherein: the fragmentation information is added to a field of the outer header that is defined for an endpoint to store information to indicate the encapsulated packet includes a fragment of the first packet, and the device does not process the field (figs. 11-14; col. 20, line 23-col. 21, line 67; col. 2, line 51-col. 3,line 25; col. 13, lines 4-33; col. 15, lines 28-56; col. 16, lines 23-31; and so on).
Regarding claim 5, 12, and 19, Di Benedetto discloses wherein the fragmentation information includes first information to identify each fragment is associated with the first packet and second information that allows the fragments to be reassembled into the first packet (figs. 11-12; col. 20, line 23-col. 21, line 67; col. 23, lines 1-28; and so on).
Regarding claim 6, 13, and 20, Di Benedetto discloses wherein the maximum transmission unit size is based on a first maximum transmission unit size in the path in which the packet will be sent or a second maximum transmission unit size of the endpoint (col. 20, line 30-col. 21, line 23; col. 22, lines 15-32; col. 26, lines 5-40).
Regarding claim 7 and 14, Di Benedetto discloses wherein: the fragments in the plurality of encapsulated packets are stored until all the fragments are received, and reassembled using the fragmentation information (col. 23, lines 7-28; col. 26, lines 54-50; col. 21, lines 24-35; col. 23, lines 1-28; and so on).
Conclusion
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461