DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 2 recites “driving unit disposed to be spaced apart from the all-solid-state battery” which is understood to mean that the driving unit is spaced apart from electrode and electrolyte layers (which form battery 10), but may still be located within the housing (housing 20, see driving unit 41 or 42, Fig. 2).
Claim 10 recites “in which the one inner surface and the constraining pad are connected to each other” and the specification does not appear to provide further explanation for this limitation beyond the figures. This is interpreted to mean that the one inner surface (surface 21) and the constraining pad (pad 30) may be connected to each other indirectly (e.g. via the drive unit 41, Fig. 2 or Fig. 4).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification recites “a differenced value” (para. [0030]) and it seems this should be changed to “a difference value”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 recites “measures, determines or acquire” in line 3 and it seems this should be changed to “measures, determines or acquires”.
Claim 20 recites “a differenced value” (line 2) and it seems this should be changed to “a difference value”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “a change in length thereof” in line 4, but it is unclear what “thereof” is in reference to. It is unclear if “thereof” is in reference to the drive unit, the constraining pad, the battery or something else.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the measured thickness" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 15 from which claim 16 depends refers to “a change in thickness” (which is measured), but not explicitly a measured thickness.
Claim 17 recites “the preset indicator value” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites “the initial thickness” multiple times (lines 3-4) which lacks explicit antecedent basis. It is unclear if this is the preset initial thickness recited in claim 16 or another initial thickness.
Claim 18 recites “the preset indicator value” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites “the initial thickness” multiple times (lines 3-4) which lacks explicit antecedent basis. It is unclear if this is the preset initial thickness recited in claim 16 or another initial thickness.
Claim 19 recites “the pressure of the all-solid-state battery” in line 4 which lacks explicit antecedent basis. Claim 2 and claim 13 from which claim 19 depends both recite “a pressure applied”. The recitation of claim 19 could be changed to “the pressure applied to [[of]] the all-solid-state battery”.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the measured thickness" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masato et al. (attached translation of JP 2010205479A) in view of Katsuyuki et al. (attached translation of JP 2010032492A) and/or Yoon et al. (US 20170074634).
Regarding claim 1, Masato et al. discloses an all-solid-state battery assembly (Abstract) shown below:
Masato et al. discloses the all-solid-state battery assembly comprises an all-solid-state battery (battery 100) comprising a plurality of electrode layers (laminates 40 comprise a positive electrode 10, solid electrolyte layer 20, negative electrode 30) and a plurality of solid-electrolyte layers laminated in a lamination direction (as shown above); a housing (battery case 90) accommodating the all-solid-state battery; a pressure adjusting part (comprising piston device 80, pars. [0011]-[0012]) configured to adjust a pressure applied to the all-solid-state battery (para. [0030]).
Insomuch as Masato et al. does not expressly disclose a displacement acquisition unit; Katsuyuki et al. discloses a battery which may be an all-solid-state battery (solid polymer secondary
battery, page 7, lines 16-17) and Katsuyuki et al. discloses a displacement acquisition unit (thickness measuring device, Abstract, having displacement sensors 74, page 16, line 19) and/or Yoon et al. discloses a battery (para. [0003]) and a displacement acquisition unit (distance measuring sensor 51) configured to measure, determine or acquire a change in a thickness in the lamination direction (pars. [0043] and [0046]-[0047], Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Masato et al. wherein the assembly comprises a displacement acquisition unit configured to measure, determine or acquire a change in a thickness of the all-solid-state battery in the lamination direction.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a displacement acquisition unit in order to detect local volume changes in the battery (Katsuyuki et al., page 5, lines 19-20) or to determine how much pressure to apply to the battery (Yoon et al., pars. [0051]-[0053]) such as in order to increase contact area in the battery after shrinkage has occurred (Masato et al., para. [0012]).
Claims 2, 8-9, 11 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masato et al. (attached translation of JP 2010205479A) in view of Katsuyuki et al. (attached translation of JP 2010032492A) and/or Yoon et al. (US 20170074634) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Rothenberger et al. (US 20220367903) and/or Ogata et al. (US 20210091403).
Regarding claim 2, Masato et al. does not expressly disclose a constraining pad disposed in an interior of the housing and overlapping the all-solid-state battery in the lamination direction to press the all-solid-state battery.
However, Rothenburger et al. discloses a battery (para. [0042]) and Rothenburger et al. teaches a constraining pad (elastic element or tensioning mat, pars. [0032] and [0073]) disposed in an interior of the housing and overlapping the all-solid-state battery in the lamination direction to press the battery (located between pressure plate 32 and battery cells 14, pars. [0032] and [0073], Fig. 5) and/or Ogata et al. discloses a battery (Abstract) having a constraining pad (pressure homogenizing mediums 620-624, Fig. 6A) disposed in an interior of the housing and overlapping the all-solid-state battery in the lamination direction to press the all-solid-state battery (para. [0001], Fig. 6A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Masato et al. wherein the pressure adjusting part comprises: a constraining pad disposed in an interior of the housing and overlapping the all-solid-state battery in the lamination direction to press the all-solid-state battery.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a constraining pad in order to facilitate even pressurization of the battery (Ogata et al., para. [0001]).
The combined teaching of the above-cited references further discloses at least one driving unit (Masato et al., piston device 80) disposed to be spaced apart from the all-solid-state battery (located above the battery, Fig. 1) and connected to the constraining pad to control a pressure applied to the all-solid-state battery by the constraining pad (the constraining pad would be located between Masato et al. piston 80 and laminates 40, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, in the combined teaching of the above-cited references for claim 2, the driving unit (Masato et al., piston 80) is configured to adjust a distance between one inner surface of the housing (Masato et al., the bottom surface of battery case 90, Fig. 1), which overlaps the all-solid-state battery in the lamination direction (Masato et al., Fig. 1), and is configured to support the all-solid-state battery when being pressed by the constraining pad, and the constraining pad disposed to be spaced apart from the one inner surface in the lamination direction (the constraining pad, Rothenburger et al., elastic element or tensioning mat, pars. [0032] and [0073], Ogata et al., pressure homogenizing mediums 620-624, Fig. 6A, being located between the piston 80 and the laminates 40 of Masato et al. as discussed for claim 2 above).
Regarding claim 9, in the combined teaching of the above-cited references for claim 2, the constraining pad (Rothenburger et al., elastic element or tensioning mat, pars. [0032] and [0073], Ogata et al., pressure homogenizing mediums 620-624, Fig. 6A) is configured to overlap the all-solid-state battery in the lamination direction (Masato et al., Fig. 1, the pad being located between the piston 80 and the laminates 40 as discussed for claim 2 above), and is disposed to be spaced apart from one inner surface of the housing (Masato et al., the bottom surface of battery case 90, Fig. 1), which is configured to support the all-solid-state battery when being pressed by the constraining pad, in the lamination direction.
Regarding claim 11, Masato et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one driving unit is a pair of driving units.
However, Rothenburger et al. further teaches wherein the at least one driving unit is a pair of driving units (motors 56 with spindles 58, Fig. 5), and wherein the pair of driving units are provided on one side and an opposite side of the battery (packet 42 with cells 14, Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Masato et al. wherein
the at least one driving unit is a pair of driving units, and wherein the pair of driving units are provided on one side and an opposite side of the all-solid-state battery.
The person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use multiple driving units in order to ensure pressure distribution on both sides of the battery.
Regarding claim 15, Masato et al. discloses the driving unit is controlled by voltage (para. [0011]) which changes due to a change in volume (para. [0012]), but does not expressly disclose a processor configured to control driving of the driving unit based on a change in the thickness.
However, the volume change could be detected by a change in thickness and Yoon et al. further teaches a distance measuring sensor (sensor 51) for measuring the thickness of the battery (para. [0051]) and a processor (controller 60 with microprocessor, para. [0059]) configured to control driving of the driving unit based on a change in the thickness (para. [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Masato et al. to include a processor configured to control driving of the driving unit based on a change in the thickness of the all-solid-state battery in the lamination direction, which is measured, determined or acquired by the displacement acquisition unit.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute a voltmeter for a displacement acquisition unit or to use a voltmeter and a displacement acquisition unit to determine a change in volume has occurred requiring an increase in pressure (Masato et al., pars. [0011]-[0012]) or to confirm the decrease in voltage (from the voltmeter) is due to a change in volume such that an increase in pressure is required.
Regarding claim 16, the combined teaching of the above-cited references for claim 15 discloses wherein the processor (Yoon et al., controller 60) is configured to control driving of the driving unit (Yoon et al., para. [0054]) based on a difference value between a preset initial thickness (Yoon et al., such as t1, para. [0072]) of the all-solid-state battery and the measured thickness (Yoon et al., such as t2, para. [0075]) of the all-solid-state battery.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masato et al. (attached translation of JP 2010205479A) in view of Katsuyuki et al. (attached translation of JP 2010032492A) and/or Yoon et al. (US 20170074634) and in further view of Rothenberger et al. (US 20220367903) and/or Ogata et al. (US 20210091403) as applied to claim 2 above and in further view of Park et al. (attached translation of KR 20170041538A) and Choi et al. (US 20220252676).
Regarding claim 3, the above-cited references for claim 2 do not expressly disclose the displacement acquisition unit is configured to contact one surface of the all-solid-state battery on an outermost side in the lamination direction.
However, Park et al. discloses a measuring device for a battery (battery cell 10) which includes a displacement acquisition unit (thickness measuring unit) which is configured to measure one surface of the all-solid-state battery on an outermost side in the lamination direction (sensors 7 pass through plate 2 via holes 2b, Fig. 6) and measures, determines or acquires the change in the thickness (pars. [0004]-[0005]) of the all-solid-state battery by measuring a distance, by which the one surface of the all-solid-state battery is moved along the lamination direction (para. [0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Masato et al. wherein the displacement acquisition unit is configured to measure one surface of the all-solid-state battery on an outermost side in the lamination direction and measures, determines or acquires the change in the thickness of the all-solid-state battery by measuring a distance, by which the one surface of the all-solid-state battery is moved along the lamination direction.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use sensors for measuring a change in thickness which determines the change in the thickness by measuring a distance, by which the one surface of the all-solid-state battery is moved along the lamination direction as a known configuration to achieve the predictable result of determining a change in thickness or volume has occurred.
The above-cited references do not expressly disclose the displacement acquisition unit is configured to contact one surface of the all-solid-state battery.
However, Choi et al. discloses a battery (having cells 20, Fig. 2) and Choi et al. teaches the displacement acquisition unit is configured to contact one surface of the all-solid-state battery on an outermost side in the lamination direction (para. [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Masato et al. wherein the displacement acquisition unit is configured to contact one surface of the all-solid-state battery on an outermost side in the lamination direction.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a contacting displacement acquisition unit as a known alternative to a contactless displacement acquisition unit (Choi et al., para. [0056]).
Regarding claim 4, Masato et al. does not disclose a displacement acquisition unit is configured to contact one surface of the all-solid-state battery, which contacts the constraining pad.
However, Park et al. discloses a measuring device for a battery (battery cell 10) which includes a displacement acquisition unit (thickness measuring unit) which measures the change in thickness by passing through a plate by utilizing holes in the plate (sensors 7 pass through plate 2 via holes 2b, Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of the above-cited references for claim 2 wherein the constraining pad includes holes to allow the sensor to pass through.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize holes for a sensor in order to ensure the battery thickness is being measured directly (rather than via the flexible constraining pad whose thickness measurement may give incorrect measurements in that it may not reflect the actual battery thickness).
The above-cited references do not expressly disclose the displacement acquisition unit is configured to contact one surface of the all-solid-state battery.
However, Choi et al. discloses a battery (having cells 20, Fig. 2) and Choi et al. teaches the displacement acquisition unit is configured to contact one surface of the all-solid-state battery on an outermost side in the lamination direction (para. [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Masato et al. wherein the displacement acquisition unit is configured to contact one surface of the all-solid-state battery, which contacts the constraining pad.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a contacting displacement acquisition unit as a known alternative to a contactless displacement acquisition unit (Choi et al., para. [0056]).
Regarding claim 5, Masato et al. does not disclose wherein the displacement acquisition unit is configured to pass through the constraining pad.
However, Park et al. discloses a measuring device for a battery (battery cell 10) which includes a displacement acquisition unit (thickness measuring unit) which measures the change in thickness by passing through a plate by utilizing holes in the plate (sensors 7 pass through plate 2 via holes 2b, Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of the above-cited references for claim 2 such that displacement sensors pass through holes in the pressure plate and the constraining pad to measure the battery directly such that wherein the displacement acquisition unit is configured to pass through the constraining pad.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize holes for a sensor in order to ensure the battery thickness is being measured directly (rather than via the flexible constraining pad whose thickness measurement may give incorrect measurements in that it may not reflect the actual battery thickness).
The above-cited references do not expressly disclose the displacement acquisition unit is configured to contact one surface of the all-solid-state battery.
However, Choi et al. discloses a battery (having cells 20, Fig. 2) and Choi et al. teaches the displacement acquisition unit is configured to contact one surface of the all-solid-state battery on an outermost side in the lamination direction (para. [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of the above-cited references for claim 2 wherein the displacement acquisition unit is configured to pass through the constraining pad to contact one surface of the all-solid-state battery, which contacts the constraining pad.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a contacting displacement acquisition unit as a known alternative to a contactless displacement acquisition unit (Choi et al., para. [0056]).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masato et al. (attached translation of JP 2010205479A) in view of Katsuyuki et al. (attached translation of JP 2010032492A) and Yoon et al. (US 20170074634) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Park et al. (attached translation of KR 20170041538A).
Regarding claim 6, Masato et al. does not expressly disclose first and second displacement acquisition units.
However, Katsuyuki et al. further teaches wherein the displacement acquisition unit comprises a first displacement acquisition unit (such as sensor 74c, Fig. 8 and Fig. 9) and a second displacement acquisition unit disposed (such as sensor 74a) to be spaced apart from each other (at least 3 sensors are spaced apart from each other, Fig. 8).
Likewise, Park et al. discloses a measuring device for a battery (battery cell 10) which includes a displacement acquisition unit (thickness measuring unit) having a first displacement acquisition unit and a second displacement acquisition unit disposed to be spaced apart from each other (sensors 7, Fig. 6 and Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Masato et al. wherein the displacement acquisition unit comprises a first displacement acquisition unit and a second displacement acquisition unit disposed to be spaced apart from each other.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use multiple sensors spaced apart in order to detect a partial thickness variation (Park et al., [para. [0019], Katsuyuki et al., Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 7, Masato et al. does not expressly disclose first and second displacement acquisition units.
However, Katsuyuki et al. further teaches wherein the displacement acquisition unit comprises a first displacement acquisition unit (such as sensor 74c, Fig. 8 and Fig. 9) and a second displacement acquisition unit (such as sensor 74a) located at the same distance from a central axis passing through a center of the all-solid-state battery in the lamination direction (Fig. 8).
Likewise, Park et al. discloses a measuring device for a battery (battery cell 10) which includes a displacement acquisition unit (thickness measuring unit) having a first displacement acquisition unit (such as sensor 7d) and a second displacement acquisition unit (such as sensor 7e, Fig. 7) located at the same distance from a central axis passing through a center of the all-solid-state battery in the lamination direction (Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Masato et al. wherein the displacement acquisition unit comprises a first displacement acquisition unit and a second displacement acquisition unit located at the same distance from a central axis passing through a center of the all-solid-state battery in the lamination direction.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use multiple sensors spaced apart in order to detect a partial thickness variation (Park et al., [para. [0019], Katsuyuki et al., Fig. 9).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masato et al. (attached translation of JP 2010205479A) in view of Katsuyuki et al. (attached translation of JP 2010032492A) and/or Yoon et al. (US 20170074634) and in further view of Rothenberger et al. (US 20220367903) and/or Ogata et al. (US 20210091403) as applied to claim 2 above and in further view of Kim (US 20220393284).
Regarding claim 10, Masato et al. does not expressly disclose the driving unit is located between one inner surface of the housing and the constraining pad.
However, Kim discloses a battery assembly (Fig, 2) wherein the driving unit (tube 130 and what appears to be a pressure plate located below the tube 130, Fig. 2, pressurizes the battery, para. [0067]) is located between one inner surface of the housing (shown below), which is configured to support the battery (the surface shown below is part of the housing and supports the battery via the driving unit) when being pressed by the constraining pad (compression pads 170 are located along the electrode layer, para. [0070]), and the constraining pad (Fig. 2, such as the constraining pad in contact with the drive unit as shown below), to control a pressure applied to the battery by the constraining pad through a change in a length thereof (para. [0047]) in a state, in which the one inner surface and the constraining pad are connected to each other (via the drive unit, see the Claim Interpretation section above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Masato et al. wherein a driving unit is located between one inner surface of the housing, which is configured to support the all-solid-state battery when being pressed by the constraining pad, and the constraining pad, to control a pressure applied to the all-solid-state battery by the constraining pad through a change in a length thereof in a state, in which the one inner surface and the constraining pad are connected to each other.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use known configurations for applying pressure onto a battery (it is also noted that the surface of the piston 80 of Masato et al. could be operated using the tube 130 of Kim).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masato et al. (attached translation of JP 2010205479A) in view of Katsuyuki et al. (attached translation of JP 2010032492A) and/or Yoon et al. (US 20170074634) and in further view of Rothenberger et al. (US 20220367903) and/or Ogata et al. (US 20210091403) as applied to claim 2 above and in further view of Pak et al. (attached translation of KR 20160064871A).
Regarding claim 12, Masato et al. does not expressly disclose the driving unit comprises: a fixing part, a coupling part and a driving part.
However, Pak et al. discloses a battery (Abstract) where a driving unit (comprising motor 100, member 92 and member 96) comprises: a fixing part (member 96) protruding from one inner surface configured to support the battery (plate 70 supports the battery at least indirectly via rails 112 or members 92 and 96, Fig. 1) a coupling part (member 92) coupled to the fixing part to be moved relative to the fixing part in the lamination direction (moved between positions of Fig. 1 and Fig. 3); and
a driving part connected to the coupling part (motor 100 connected via member 96), and configured to drive the coupling part such that the coupling part is moved with respect to the fixing part (as indicated in Fig. 1 and Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Masato et al. wherein the driving unit comprises: a fixing part protruding from one inner surface configured to support the all-solid-state battery when being pressed by the constraining pad, in the lamination direction; a coupling part coupled to the fixing part to be moved relative to the fixing part in the lamination direction; and a driving part connected to the coupling part, and configured to drive the coupling part such that the coupling part is moved with respect to the fixing part.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize known configurations for pressing electrode layers in batteries.
Claims 13-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masato et al. (attached translation of JP 2010205479A) in view of Katsuyuki et al. (attached translation of JP 2010032492A) and/or Yoon et al. (US 20170074634) and in further view of Rothenberger et al. (US 20220367903) and/or Ogata et al. (US 20210091403) as applied to claim 2 above and in further view of Park et al. (attached translation of KR 20170041538A) and Pak et al. (attached translation of KR 20160064871A).
Regarding claim 13, insomuch as Masato et al. does not disclose a pressure acquisition unit; Park et al. discloses a measuring device for a battery (battery cell 10) which includes a pressure acquisition unit (pressure measuring unit 6) configured to measure, determine or acquire a pressure applied to the battery in the lamination direction (Fig. 6).
Likewise, Pak et al. discloses a battery (Abstract) which includes a pressure acquisition unit (pressure sensor 40) overlapping the battery (Fig. 1) and configured to measure, determine or acquire a pressure applied to the battery in the lamination direction (para. [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Masato et al. wherein the assembly further comprises a pressure acquisition unit overlapping the all-solid-state battery in the lamination direction, and configured to measure, determine or acquire a pressure applied to the all-solid-state battery in the lamination direction.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a pressure sensor in order to measure the pressure applied such that the desired amount of pressure may be applied to the battery.
Regarding claim 14, insomuch as Masato et al. does not disclose a pressure acquisition unit; Park et al. discloses a measuring device for a battery (battery cell 10) which includes a pressure acquisition unit (pressure measuring unit 6) disposed between one inner surface of the housing (plate 4, Fig. 6), which is configured to support the battery (cell 10) and the battery (cell 10, Fig. 6).
Likewise, Pak et al. discloses a pressure acquisition unit (pressure sensor 40) disposed between a surface and the battery in the lamination direction (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Masato et al. wherein the assembly further comprises a pressure acquisition unit disposed between one inner surface of the housing, which is configured to support the all-solid-state battery when being pressed by the constraining pad (Rothenburger et al., elastic element or tensioning mat, pars. [0032] and [0073], Ogata et al., pressure homogenizing mediums 620-624, Fig. 6A), and the all-solid-state battery.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a pressure sensor in order to measure the pressure applied such that the desired amount of pressure may be applied to the battery.
Regarding claim 19, Masato et al. discloses the driving unit is controlled by voltage (para. [0011]) which changes due to a change in volume (para. [0012]), but does not expressly disclose a processor configured to control driving of the driving unit based on a change in the thickness.
However, the volume change could be detected by a change in thickness and Yoon et al. further teaches a distance measuring sensor (sensor 51) for measuring the thickness of the battery (para. [0051]) and a processor (controller 60 with microprocessor, para. [0059]) configured to control driving of the driving unit based on a change in the thickness (para. [0052]), and the pressure of the all-solid-state battery, which is measured, determined or acquired by the pressure acquisition unit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Masato et al. to include a processor configured to control driving of the driving unit based on a change in the thickness of the all-solid-state battery in the lamination direction, which is measured, determined or acquired by the displacement acquisition unit.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute a voltmeter for a displacement acquisition unit or to use a voltmeter and a displacement acquisition unit to determine a change in volume has occurred requiring an increase in pressure (Masato et al., pars. [0011]-[0012]) or to confirm the decrease in voltage (from the voltmeter) is due to a change in volume such that an increase in pressure is required.
Masato et al. does not expressly disclose a pressure acquisition unit.
However, Park et al. discloses a measuring device for a battery (battery cell 10) which includes a pressure acquisition unit (pressure measuring unit 6) to measure, determine or acquire a pressure applied to the battery (Fig. 6).
Likewise, Pak et al. discloses a battery (Abstract) which includes a pressure acquisition unit (pressure sensor 40) to measure, determine or acquire a pressure applied to the battery in the lamination direction (para. [0029]).
Furthermore, Yoon et al. further teaches a pressure acquisition unit (piezoelectric sensor 53 generates a signal based on a pressure, para. [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Masato et al. wherein the processor is configured to drive the driving unit based on the change in the thickness and the pressure of the all-solid-state battery, which is measured, determined or acquired by the pressure acquisition unit.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a pressure measurement to confirm the desired amount of pressure is being applied or to verify the length measurement (Yoon et al., para. [0048]).
Regarding claim 20, the combined teaching of the above-cited references for claim 19 discloses wherein the processor (Yoon et al., controller 60) is configured to control driving of the driving unit (Yoon et al., para. [0054]) based on a differenced value between a preset initial thickness (such as t1, para. [0072]) of the all-solid-state battery and the measured thickness (Yoon et al., such as t2, para. [0075]) of the all-solid-state battery and readjust the driving of the driving unit by identifying a pressure (Park et al., pressure measuring unit 6, Pak et al., pressure sensor 40, and Yoon et al., para. [0048], both the thickness from distance measuring means 51 and the pressure from measurement means 53, para. [0048], may be used to control the driving unit, para. [0052]) of the all-solid-state battery caused by the driving of the driving unit.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masato et al. (attached translation of JP 2010205479A) in view of Katsuyuki et al. (attached translation of JP 2010032492A) and/or Yoon et al. (US 20170074634) and in further view of Rothenberger et al. (US 20220367903) and/or Ogata et al. (US 20210091403) as applied to claim 16 above and in further view of Xi et al. (US 20240105982).
Regarding claim 17, the above-cited references for claim 16 do not expressly disclose decreasing pressure applied when the ratio of the difference value to the initial thickness is more than the preset indicator value and the measured thickness of the all-solid-state battery is smaller than the initial thickness.
However, Xi et al. teaches a solid-state battery (para. [0041]) where the pressure is decreased when the battery is in a minimum volume state (para. [0049]) while more force is exerted when the battery is in a maximum volume state (para. [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Masato et al. wherein the processor is configured to control a driving direction of the driving unit such that a pressure applied to the all-solid-state battery decreases when the battery has contracted from the initial state such that a ratio of the difference value to the initial thickness is more than the preset indicator value (to indicate contraction away from the initial state) and the measured thickness of the all-solid-state battery is smaller than the initial thickness.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to increase pressure when the volume expands away from an initial state and decrease pressure when the volume contracts away from an initial state in order to improve performance and lifespan (Xi et al., para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 18, the above-cited references for claim 16 do not expressly disclose increasing pressure applied when the ratio of the difference value to the initial thickness is more than the preset indicator value and the measured thickness of the all-solid-state battery is larger than the initial thickness.
However, Xi et al. teaches a solid-state battery (para. [0041]) where the pressure is decreased when the battery is in a minimum volume state (para. [0049]) while more force is exerted when the battery is in a maximum volume state (para. [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Masato et al. wherein the processor is configured to control a driving direction of the driving unit such that a pressure applied to the all-solid-state battery increases when the ratio of the difference value to the initial thickness is more than the preset indicator value (to indicate expansion away from the initial state) and the measured thickness of the all-solid-state battery is larger than the initial thickness.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to increase pressure when the volume expands away from an initial state and decrease pressure when the volume contracts away from an initial state in order to improve performance and lifespan (Xi et al., para. [0036]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 8-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-15 and 20 of copending Application No. 18/829066 hereinafter “’066” in view of Yoon et al. (US 20170074634).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 8-14, ‘066 claims the subject matter of the claims except that ‘066 does not claim a displacement acquisition unit. However, Yoon et al. discloses a displacement acquisition unit (distance measuring sensor 51) configured to measure, determine or acquire a change in a thickness in the lamination direction (pars. [0043] and [0046]-[0047], Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the claimed invention of ‘066 by including a displacement acquisition unit.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 3-7 and 15-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-15 and 20 of copending Application No. 18/829066 hereinafter “’066” in view of Yoon et al. (US 20170074634) as applied to claims 1-2 and 13 above and in further view of Park et al. (attached translation of KR 20170041538A), Choi et al. (US 20220252676) and Xi et al. (US 20240105982).
Regarding claims 3-7 and 15-20, ‘066 does not claim the displacement acquisition unit contacts one surface of the battery which contacts the constraining pad and is configured to pass through the constraining pad and comprises a first displacement acquisition unit and a second displacement acquisition unit and ‘066 does not claim the processor is configured to control driving of the driving unit based on a change in the thickness which is measured, determined or acquired by the displacement acquisition unit based on a difference value between a preset initial thickness and a measured thickness of the battery and is configured to control a driving direction of the driving unit such that a pressure applied to the battery decreases when the ratio of the difference value to the initial thickness is more than the preset indicator value and the measured thickness of the all-solid-state battery is smaller than the initial thickness and that a pressure applied to the battery increases when the ratio of the difference value to the initial thickness is more than the preset indicator value and the measured thickness of the all-solid-state battery is larger than the initial thickness.
However, Park et al. teaches a displacement acquisition unit (thickness measuring unit) which is configured to measure one surface of the battery on an outermost side in the lamination direction (sensors 7 pass through plate 2 via holes 2b, Fig. 6) and measures, determines or acquires a change in the thickness (pars. [0004]-[0005]) of the battery by measuring a distance, by which the one surface of the all-solid-state battery is moved along the lamination direction (para. [0065]). Park et al. teaches the displacement acquisition unit (thickness measuring unit) has a first displacement acquisition unit and a second displacement acquisition unit disposed to be spaced apart from each other (sensors 7, Fig. 6 and Fig. 8) and located at the same distance from a central axis passing through a center of the battery in the lamination direction (Fig. 7).
Choi et al. teaches the displacement acquisition unit is configured to contact one surface of the all-solid-state battery on an outermost side in the lamination direction (para. [0056]).
Yoon et al. further teaches a distance measuring sensor (sensor 51) for measuring the thickness of the battery (para. [0051]) and a processor (controller 60 with microprocessor, para. [0059]) configured to control driving of the driving unit based on a change in the thickness (para. [0052]). Yoon et al. teaches the processor (controller 60) is configured to control driving of the driving unit (para. [0054]) based on a difference value between a preset initial thickness (such as t1, para. [0072]) of the all-solid-state battery and the measured thickness (such as t2, para. [0075]) of the all-solid-state battery. Yoon et al. further teaches a distance measuring sensor (sensor 51) for measuring the thickness of the battery (para. [0051]) and the processor (controller 60 with microprocessor, para. [0059]) is configured to control driving of the driving unit based on a change in the thickness (para. [0052]), and the pressure of the all-solid-state battery, which is measured, determined or acquired by the pressure acquisition unit. Yoon et al. teaches both the thickness (from distance measuring means 51) and the pressure (from measurement means 53, para. [0048]) may be used to control the driving unit (para. [0052]).
Xi et al. teaches an solid-state battery (para. [0041]) where the pressure is decreased when the battery is in a minimum volume state (para. [0049]) while more force is exerted when the battery is in a maximum volume state (para. [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have modified the teachings of the claimed invention of ‘066 wherein the displacement acquisition unit contacts one surface of the battery which contacts the constraining pad and is configured to pass through the constraining pad and comprises a first displacement acquisition unit and a second displacement acquisition unit and the processor is configured to control driving of the driving unit based on a change in the thickness which is measured, determined or acquired by the displacement acquisition unit based on a difference value between a preset initial thickness and a measured thickness of the battery and is configured to control a driving direction of the driving unit such that a pressure applied to the battery decreases when the ratio of the difference value to the initial thickness is more than the preset indicator value and the measured thickness of the all-solid-state battery is smaller than the initial thickness and that a pressure applied to the battery increases when the ratio of the difference value to the initial thickness is more than the preset indicator value and the measured thickness of the all-solid-state battery is larger than the initial thickness.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/P.M.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1774
/CLAIRE X WANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1774