DETAILED ACTION
Notice relating to Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s current amendment (dated 15 SEPTEMBER 2026), has been entered. The status of the claims is as follows: Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new reference(s) and/or citations being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunham et al., US 2018/0077420 in view of Muthiah, US 2022/0309194 and further in view of Hall, US 2020/0151035 and Milford, US 2022/0132177.
Regarding claim 1, Dunham discloses a computer-implemented method for storing media content data, the method comprising:
receiving first media content data (system can receive at least media asset for storage; Fig. 6, element 602, and page 7, paragraph 46);
a separate partition of a datastore, the separate partition being with one or more servers included in a first plurality of servers (storing with use of different, i.e. separate, partitions, and with plurality of servers/storage as part of a data store; Fig. 6, element 612, and page 6, paragraph 40, and page 7, paragraph 47, and page 8, paragraph 51); and
storing the first media content data in a corresponding partition of the datastore (storage of the content, wherein the storage includes in at least a same partition, and again with plurality of servers/storage as part of the data store; Fig. 6, element 612, and page 6, paragraph 40, and page 7, paragraph 47, and page 8, paragraph 51), wherein the first media content data is associated with a first live stream (can include at least live video content/stream; page 3, paragraph 24).
While Dunham does disclose allocation (with resource allocation(s); page 2, paragraph 18), as well as a corresponding partition included in a first set of partitions of the datastore (stored in various partitions of the storage system, i.e. at least a first set of partitions; page 1, paragraph 12, and page 6, paragraph 40, and page 7, paragraph 47, and with plurality of servers/storage as part of the data store; Fig. 6, element 612, and page 6, paragraph 40, and page 7, paragraph 47, and page 8, paragraph 51), in response to a determination, storage in a new set of partitions that is different from the first set of partitions (responsive to determinations about the content, it can also be stored, i.e. moved and stored, to different storage, wherein the storage also contains various partitions; page 1, paragraph 12, and page 5, paragraph 32, and page 8, paragraph 48), and the first live stream (can include at least live video content/stream; page 3, paragraph 24), Dunham does not explicitly disclose data that comprises a plurality of substreams;
allocating, for each substream included in the plurality of substreams, a location in a storage, and storing each substream in a corresponding location in the storage;
a partition being distributed across two or more servers; and
in response to determining that a first stream has been restarted, allocating, for the plurality of substreams, a storage.
In a related art, Muthiah does disclose data that comprises a plurality of substreams (plurality of sub-streams that are associated with content; page 8, paragraph 72, and page 9, paragraph 74);
allocating, for each substream included in the plurality of substreams, a location in a storage, and storing each substream in a corresponding location in the storage (allocation of memory for the data; page 4, paragraph 40, and storage of the sub-streams and content based on mapping/allocation, and stored in specific locations/portions of the storage; page 9, paragraph 75, and page 3, paragraphs 32-33, and with plurality of storage devices; page 3, paragraph 27, and including servers; pages 2-3, paragraph 26, and page 3, paragraph 28); and
in response to a determination, allocating, for the plurality of substreams, a storage (upon making determination for storage, can allocate memory; page 4, paragraph 40, and storage of the sub-streams and content based on mapping/allocation, and stored in specific locations/portions of the storage; page 9, paragraph 75, and page 3, paragraphs 32-33, and with plurality of storage devices; page 3, paragraph 27, and including servers; pages 2-3, paragraph 26, and page 3, paragraph 28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Dunham and Muthiah by allowing the particular storage strategies of Muthiah to be utilized with the already present storage operations of Dunham, in order to provide an improved system and method for generating a mapping indicating an association between a plurality of keys and a plurality of substream identifiers for encoded data stream portions, and store the portions in memory based on the mapping (Muthiah; page 1, paragraph 5).
Dunham in view of Muthiah does not explicitly disclose a partition being distributed across two or more servers; and
in response to determining that a first stream has been restarted, performing certain operations.
In a related art, Hall does disclose a partition being distributed across two or more servers (particular storage partition(s) can be distributed between a number of different servers in the system, i.e. at least two or more; page 2, paragraph 17, and page 3, paragraph 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Dunham, Muthiah, and Hall, by allowing the partitions already disclosed in Dunham in view of Muthiah to be distributed across a plurality of servers, as disclosed in Hall, in order to provide an improved system and method for distributed storage systems which has performance greatly improved while the hardware costs can be reduced (Hall; page 1, paragraph 1, and page 2, paragraph 15).
Dunham in view of Muthia and Hall does not explicitly disclose in response to determining that a first stream has been restarted, performing certain operations.
In a related art, Milford does disclose in response to determining that a first stream has been restarted, performing certain operations (certain operations can be performed in response to determining a stream has restarted; page 6, paragraphs 95, 97, and 102, and wherein for a live stream; page 5, paragraph 85).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Dunham, Muthia, Hall, and Milford by allowing the determinations related to restarting a stream to be utilized with the already performed determination(s) and storage operations described in Dunham, Muthia, and Hall, in order to provide an improved system and method for a video programming distributor controller for use with a stream provider, a code repository and a plurality of conversion engines (Milford; page 1, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 2, Dunham in view of Muthiah, Hall, and Milford discloses storing metadata associated with the first media content data in a second plurality of servers associated with a first partition of the datastore (Dunham; metadata can be stored in a data repository storage as part of the system; page 4, paragraph 31, and page 5, paragraphs 32 and 34, page 7, paragraph 46, and Fig. 6, element 606, and again, where the storage can include partitions, i.e. including at least a first, and with plurality of servers/storage as part of a data store; page 1, paragraph 12, and page 6, paragraph 40, and page 8, paragraph 51, and Hall; particular storage partition(s) can be distributed between a number of different servers in the system, i.e. at least two or more; page 2, paragraph 17, and page 3, paragraph 24).
Regarding claim 3, Dunham in view of Muthiah, Hall, and Milford discloses disabling access to the first media content data (Dunham; invalidating data to prevent, i.e. disable, access to it; page 4, paragraph 27); and
performing one or more background operations to delete the first media content data from the first plurality of servers (Dunham; content can be moved from one storage to another, i.e. deleted from one and moved to another and/or removed from a particular storage; page 4, paragraph 27, and page 5, paragraph 32, and page 6, paragraph 39, and page 7, paragraph 44, and wherein with operations being performed as part of back end/background operations; page 6, paragraph 37, and page 7, paragraph 43, and again with plurality of servers/storage as part of a data store; Fig. 6, element 612, and page 6, paragraph 40, and page 7, paragraph 47, and page 8, paragraph 51, and Hall; particular storage partition(s) can be distributed between a number of different servers in the system, i.e. at least two or more; page 2, paragraph 17, and page 3, paragraph 24).
Regarding claim 5, Dunham in view of Muthiah, Hall, and Milford discloses storing the first media content data in a second plurality of servers of a cache that are associated with a first partition (Dunham; with plurality of servers; page 3, paragraph 25, and page 8, paragraph 51, and page 9, paragraph 57, and wherein for caching particular content/segments, i.e. first content that is already stored in particular partition/storage; page 3, paragraph 26, and Hall; particular storage partition(s) can be distributed between a number of different servers in the system, i.e. at least two or more; page 2, paragraph 17, and page 3, paragraph 24).
Regarding claim 8, Dunham in view of Muthiah, Hall, and Milford discloses receiving second media content data that is encoded at a different bitrate than the first media content data (Dunham; system can receive at least media asset for storage; Fig. 6, element 602, and page 7, paragraph 46, and wherein with plurality of assets, i.e. at least a second; page 5, paragraph 35, and page 6, paragraph 42, and wherein with encoding/transcoding at particular bitrates/resolutions, which can be different; page 1, paragraph 12, and page 3, paragraph 24, and page 4, paragraphs 29-31); and
storing the second media content data in a plurality of servers associated with a first partition of the datastore (Dunham; storage of the content, wherein the storage includes in at least a same partition of multiple partitions, i.e. including at least a first, and with plurality of servers/storage, as part of a data store; Fig. 6, element 612, and page 6, paragraph 40, and page 7, paragraph 47, and page 8, paragraph 51, and Hall; particular storage partition(s) can be distributed between a number of different servers in the system, i.e. at least two or more; page 2, paragraph 17, and page 3, paragraph 24).
Regarding claim 10, Dunham in view of Muthiah, Hall, and Milford discloses the first media content data comprises one of video data or audio data (Dunham; asset can include at least audio/video; page 5, paragraph 35, and page 8, paragraph 51).
Claim 11, which discloses a non-transitory computer-readable media, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 1. The following additional limitations are also disclosed:
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (with non-transitory computer readable media containing code; page 9, paragraph 60).
Claim 12, which discloses a non-transitory computer-readable media, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 2.
Claim 13, which discloses a non-transitory computer-readable media, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 3.
Claim 14, which discloses a non-transitory computer-readable media, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 5.
Claim 20, which discloses a system, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claims 1 and 11.
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunham et al., US 2018/0077420 in view of Muthiah, US 2022/0309194, Hall, US 2020/0151035, and Milford, US 2022/0132177, and further in view of Farris et al., US 11,146,832.
Regarding claim 4, Dunham in view of Muthiah, Hall, and Milford discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1, as well as the first media content data is encoded based on at least one of a bitrate or resolution (Dunham; the content can be encoded with specific bitrate/resolution; page 3, paragraph 24).
Dunham in view of Muthiah, Hall, and Milford does not explicitly disclose a bitrate or resolution specified in a bitrate ladder.
In a related art, Farris does disclose a bitrate or resolution specified in a bitrate ladder (bitrate ladder can be used for specifying various particular bitrates/resolutions; col. 2, line 66 – col. 3, line 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Dunham, Muthiah, Hall, Milford, and Farris by allowing the bitrates/resolutions already disclosed in Dunham in view of Muthiah, Hall, and Milford to be specified via a bitrate ladder, in order to provide and improved system and method for distributed storage of files that represent video content across different storage tiers to reduce the amount of computing resources used to store the files, while maintaining a low latency when responding to user requests to stream the video content (Farris; col. 2, lines 13-18).
Claim 17, which discloses a non-transitory computer-readable media, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claims 4 and 8.
Claims 6-7 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunham et al., US 2018/0077420 in view of Muthiah, US 2022/0309194, Hall, US 2020/0151035, and Milford, US 2022/0132177, and further in view of Shribman et al., US 2016/0337426.
Regarding claim 6, Dunham in view of Muthiah, Hall, and Milford discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1, as well as transmitting, to a first server included in the first plurality of servers, a request to read the first media content data (Dunham; client can request particular content, wherein the request is issued and processed by at least a server, datastore or other component of the network environment; page 2, paragraph 21, and page 3, paragraph 22).
Dunham in view of Muthiah, Hall, and Milford does not explicitly disclose in response to not receiving a response from a first server for more than a threshold amount of time, transmitting, to a second server included in a first plurality of servers, a request to read first media content data.
In a related art, Shribman does disclose in response to not receiving a response from a first server for more than a threshold amount of time (issued request is not responded to for more than a particular threshold timeout period; page 60, paragraph 437), transmitting, to a second server included in a first plurality of servers, a request to read first media content data (request can be sent to different/alternative server; page 60, paragraph 437, and wherein of a plurality of servers; page 33, paragraph 227, and page 34, paragraphs 229 and 232).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Dunham, Muthiah, Hall, Milford, and Shribman by allowing request timeouts to be utilized with the already present request of Dunham in view of Muthiah, Hall, and Milford, in order to provide an improved system and method that is simple, secure, anonymous, and cost-effective, providing improved CAPEX (Capital Expenditure) or OPEX (Operational Expenditures) savings, load balanced, redundant, reliable, provides lower CPU and/or memory usage, enables pipelining of requests and responses, reduces network congestion, uses low delivery rate sources or servers, lower start-up time, easy to use, reduced latency, faster, has a minimum part count, minimum hardware, and/or uses existing and available components, protocols, programs and applications for providing better quality of service, overload avoidance, better or optimal resources allocation, better communication and additional functionalities, a better user experience, or improved QoE (Shribman; page 39, paragraph 259).
Regarding claim 7, Dunham in view of Muthiah, Hall, Milford, and Shribman discloses the threshold amount of time is an average time for responses from the first plurality of servers (Shribman; RTT based on average, with threshold relating to the RTT; page 43, paragraph 291, and with RTT for plurality of sources/servers; page 60, paragraph 438).
Claim 15, which discloses a non-transitory computer-readable media, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 6.
Claim 16, which discloses a non-transitory computer-readable media, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 7. The following additional limitations are also disclosed:
a maximum tolerated latency (Shribman; threshold based on and corresponding with RTT, i.e. considered a maximum determined/tolerated; page 60, paragraph 437, and wherein latency relating to the RTT; page 23, paragraphs 154 and 157, and page 59, paragraph 433).
Claims 9 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunham et al., US 2018/0077420 in view of Muthiah, US 2022/0309194, Hall, US 2020/0151035, and Milford, US 2022/0132177, and further in view of Neumeier et al., US 2019/0089999.
Regarding claim 9, Dunham in view of Muthiah, Hall, and Milford discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1, as well as assigning, to a second media content data, a first identifier (ID) that is different from a second ID that is assigned to the first media content data (Dunham; different IDs/names/hashes can be assigned to the various stored assets/portions; Fig. 6, elements 608 and 610, and page 5, paragraph 35, and page 6, paragraphs 40-41, and page 7, paragraph 47);
storing the second media content data in a plurality of servers associated with a first partition included in the new set of partitions of the datastore (Dunham; storage of the content, wherein the storage includes in at least a partition of multiple partitions, i.e. at least a first, and with plurality of servers/storage, as part of a data store; Fig. 6, element 612, and page 6, paragraph 40, and page 7, paragraph 47, and page 8, paragraph 51, and stored to different, i.e. new, storage, wherein the storage also contains various partitions, i.e. at least a first; page 1, paragraph 12, and page 5, paragraph 32, and page 8, paragraph 48, and Hall; particular storage partition(s) can be distributed between a number of different servers in the system, i.e. at least two or more; page 2, paragraph 17, and page 3, paragraph 24); and
restarting of a live stream (Milford; a stream has restarted; page 6, paragraphs 95, 97, and 102, and wherein for a live stream; page 5, paragraph 85).
Dunham in view of Muthiah, Hall, and Milford does not explicitly disclose receiving second media content data associated with a restarting of a live stream.
In a related art, Neumeier does disclose receiving second media content data associated with a restarting of a live stream (when user restarts live broadcast/stream, system will send a different, i.e. second media content/stream, to the user; page 4, paragraphs 47-48).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Dunham, Muthiah, Hall, Milford, and Neumeier by allowing restarting playback operations relating to a stream, such as the stream(s) already disclosed in Dunham in view of Muthiah, Hall, and Milford, in order to provide an improved system and method for identifying a video segment being displayed, and providing an option to switch to an alternative or related version of the video program that includes the video segment (Neumeier; page 1, paragraph 4).
Claim 18, which discloses a non-transitory computer-readable media, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 9.
Regarding claim 19, Dunham in view of Muthiah, Hall, Milford, and Neumeier discloses assigning, to the second media content data, the first ID (Dunham; different IDs/names/hashes can be assigned to the various stored assets/portions; Fig. 6, elements 608 and 610, and page 5, paragraph 35, and page 6, paragraphs 40-41, and page 7, paragraph 47) comprises computing the first ID based on the second ID and a random value (Dunham; based on naming of at least a particular asset/ID, and then including hash codes based on particular algorithms, i.e. SHA-256, which include unique/random number outputs/representations; page 6, paragraphs 40-41).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RANDY A FLYNN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424