DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as based on a disclosure which is not enabling. The disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without partially-regenerated catalyst and fully-regenerated catalyst and , which is/are critical or essential to the practice of the invention but not included in the claim(s). See In re Mayhew, 527 F.2d 1229, 188 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1976). Claim 1 broadly recites a hydrocarbon cracking system comprising a multi-stage catalyst regenerator that provides "partially-regenerated catalyst and/or fully-regenerated catalyst" to the primary riser reactor. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim encompasses systems providing only partially regenerated catalyst or only fully regenerated catalyst.
The specification, however, consistently describes the invention as utilizing both partially regenerated catalyst and fully regenerated catalyst. The partially regenerated catalyst is supplied to the secondary riser reactor while the fully regenerated catalyst is supplied to the primary riser reactor in order to achieve the disclosed increase in olefin production.
Claims 11-13 recite “the recycle feed” or “recycle feed stream,”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "said spent catalyst" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 17, the word “if” in line 3 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the secondary riser" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 is indefinite because it recites: “A hydrocarbon cracking system … utilizing a method of method … said method comprising” and therefore does not clearly establish whether the claimed subject matter is a system, a method, or a system defined by method steps. The phrase “partially cracked” in step (e) also lacks a recited object.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Kukade et al. (US 2018/0223193 A1).
Kukade discloses an FCC apparatus including a first reactor, a second reactor, and a regenerator assembly connected to both reactors (¶¶ [0015]-[0025]). The regenerator vessel is divided by a partition into first and second subunits operated to generate fully regenerated catalyst and partially regenerated catalyst, which are directed through separate outlets to the respective reactors (¶¶ [0022]-[0032]; claims 6 and 10).
Kukade discloses a first reactor comprising an up-flow riser terminating in a dense-bed reactor located at the top of the riser (¶ [0016]; claim 12). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the dense-bed reactor constitutes the claimed bed cracking reaction zone because additional catalytic cracking occurs within the dense catalyst bed after discharge from the riser.
Kukade further teaches that the partition may comprise internal vessels or baffles, thereby providing separate regeneration zones (¶ [0030]; claim 6), meeting claims 2 and 5. Kukade teaches stripping the spent catalyst prior to regeneration (¶ [0029]) and directing the spent catalyst to the regenerator subunits (¶¶ [0030]-[0032]), meeting claims 15, 16 and 18.
Kukade further teaches first-reactor operating temperatures of about 550–600°C (¶ [0028]), corresponding to approximately 1022–1112°F, overlapping the claimed outlet temperature range of claim 14. It is reminded that claims 1-20 drawn to an apparatus system which includes a mannerof operating disclosed system, neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material orarticle worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiateapparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP §2114 and 2115. Further, process limitations do nothave a patentable weight in an apparatus claim. See Exparte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd.App. 1969) that states "Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and to an intendedoperation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kukade in view of Kerby et al. (US 5,447,622).
The process of Kukade is as discussed above.
Kukade does not expressly disclose two separate regenerator vessels operating in series or in parallel.
Kerby teaches staged regeneration utilizing a plurality of regenerators arranged in series or parallel (col. 5, lines 23-36; col. 6, lines 25-41).
It would have been obvious to provide Kukade’s partial- and full-regeneration zones as separate vessels arranged in series or parallel, as taught by Kerby, because both arrangements were known alternatives for independently controlling catalyst coke removal, catalyst residence time, regeneration severity, and catalyst delivery to different reactors. Selection between series and parallel arrangements would have constituted a predictable design choice based on the desired catalyst circulation and heat balance.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over Kukade in view of Leonard et al., (US 2011/0110825 A1), and Letzsch, (US 7,479,218 B2).
Kukade discloses separate partially and fully regenerated catalyst streams but does not expressly state the claimed catalyst temperatures.
Leonard discloses a multizone FCC regenerator in which the lower chamber operates at approximately 1100–1300°F, while the upper chamber operates at approximately 1200–1400°F. These ranges overlap the ranges of claims 7 and 8 and establish that catalyst associated with the lower or partial-regeneration zone is cooler than catalyst associated with the upper or more complete-regeneration zone.
Letzsch likewise discloses partial regeneration below approximately 1300°F followed by second-stage regeneration above approximately 1300°F to obtain substantially complete carbon removal.
It would have been obvious to operate Kukade’s partial- and full-regeneration subunits at the known overlapping temperature ranges because regeneration temperature is a recognized result-effective variable affecting coke combustion, catalyst activity, catalyst circulation, and FCC heat balance. Optimization within the disclosed overlapping ranges would have required no more than routine experimentation.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over Kukade (US 2018/0223193) in view of Leonard (US 2011/0110825 A1).
Kukade discloses a second reactor for contacting cracked hydrocarbon feedstock with partially regenerated catalyst to produce light olefins. Kukade does not expressly describe the precise termination arrangement of the second riser.
Leonard discloses a second riser reactor discharging upgraded products and catalyst into a second reactor vessel. The catalyst drops into a dense catalyst bed while gases pass through the dilute phase and cyclones for separation.
It would have been obvious to terminate Kukade’s secondary riser in a dense-bed reaction region or in the dilute phase above that bed, as taught by Leonard, because those were known alternative riser-termination arrangements for providing additional contact, disengaging catalyst from product vapors, and controlling secondary cracking severity.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over Kukade in view of Leonard and Kerby.
Kukade discloses:
a first riser reactor terminating in a dense-bed reaction zone;
a second reactor;
a shared multistage regenerator;
fully regenerated catalyst supplied to the first reactor;
partially regenerated catalyst supplied to the second reactor;
cracking hydrocarbon feed in the first reactor;
recracking cracked hydrocarbon feedstock in the second reactor;
stripping spent catalyst; and
returning spent catalyst to separate regeneration subunits.
Kukade does not expressly disclose that the recycle feed is a separated portion of the first-reactor product recovery system or that a portion of the partially regenerated catalyst is transferred to the full-regeneration stage.
Leonard discloses a first catalytic reactor and a second riser reactor in which the second hydrocarbon feed is preferably a fractionated portion of the first reactor’s cracked product, particularly a C4-C7 or light-naphtha fraction, for further conversion to ethylene and propylene. Leonard also discloses that the two reactors may share the same catalyst regenerator.
Kerby discloses a first-stage regenerator producing partially regenerated catalyst, directing one portion of that catalyst to a satellite reactor, and directing another portion to a second-stage regenerator for further coke removal and full catalyst reactivation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Kukade by:
separating and recycling a cracked-product fraction from the first reactor to the second riser, as taught by Leonard, to increase conversion of light naphtha or C4–C7 material to valuable light olefins; and
splitting Kukade’s partially regenerated catalyst so that one portion is supplied to the secondary reactor and another portion is further regenerated in the full-regeneration zone, as taught by Kerby, to provide catalyst having different activity and coke levels for the different cracking duties while maintaining overall catalyst activity and heat balance.
The resulting system would possess the conduits, separation equipment, risers, reactor vessel, regenerator zones, catalyst-transfer paths, and recycle-feed paths required by claim 20. The remaining recitations describing cracking, recovering products, and producing olefins state the intended operation or expected results of the structurally recited apparatus and do not patentably distinguish the system.
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771