Claim Objections
Claims 12-14 objected to because of the following informalities. Claims 12-14 should be labeled as claims 2-23.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “and wherein the first and second fluids are moved in a coupled manner independent of gravitational orientation (emphasis added) such that introduction of one fluid into the chamber corresponds to withdrawal of the other fluid from the chamber and vice versa, maintaining a substantially constant combined volume of the first and second fluids within the chamber.”
There is no support for these limitations in light of the specification. Therefore, these deemed new matter.
The dependent claims 2-14 are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim 13 recites “further comprising at least a third fluid of a third color immiscible with the first and second fluids within the chamber, wherein the first, second, and third fluids are moved in the coupled manner maintaining the substantially constant combined volume.”
There is no support for these limitations in light of the specification. Therefore, these deemed new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards (WO 2008070048) in view of Fork (US 20070146238).
Regarding claim 1 Edwards teaches a fluid-based display device (fig. 1A) comprising:
a plurality of pixels, each pixel comprising a chamber (In one embodiment, one or more elements may independently comprise a fluidic chamber for containing a fluid selected to interact with light in a predetermined manner, at least one access channel in fluidic communication with the chamber for introducing fluid into or removing fluid from the chamber, and a device for controlling entry of fluid from access channels into fluidic chambers. In some cases, the fluidic elements, or a subset thereof, are together controllable as a series of visual pixels for display of an image resulting from interaction of light with a combination of the fluidic elements, and/or the fluidic elements);
a first fluid of a first color (a first channel such as a microfiuidic channel, in fluidic communication with the chamber, containing a first fluid having a first color) and a second fluid of a second color (second channel such as a microfiuidic channel, in fluidic communication with the chamber, containing a second fluid having a second color distinguishable from the first color) and immiscible with the first fluid, within the chamber (in Fig. 1C, a second fluidic droplet 15 has been added to a channel 14 containing a first fluidic droplet 16. In a microfluidic channel, the second fluidic droplet may not readily mix with the first fluidic droplet, e.g., due to the dominance of viscosity in the low Reynolds number regime of the microfluidic channel, or other surface effects); and
an actuator configured to move the first and second fluids within the chamber to display a desired color (Fig. 2B, a device 27, 28, 29 (e.g., a valve or a pump) is used to move fluid from each respective microfluidic channel into each respective fluidic chamber, resulting in visible coloration of the three fluidic chambers 21, 22, 23 (Fig. 2C). Thus, the fluidic element may be perceived as being colored. For example, the fluidic element may be perceived as black if the colored fluids contain dyes such as cyan, magenta, or yellow, or the fluidic element may be white if the colored fluids produce visible light (e.g., fluorescent dyes such as red, yellow, and blue dyes, or if the fluids are backlit)),
wherein the actuator is a fluidic actuator configured to control fluid movement and thereby control the first and second fluids within each pixel (EXAMPLE 1 This example illustrates a fluid applicator technique. In Fig. IA, a display device 10 comprises a plurality of substantially parallel channels, e.g., micro fluidic channels. An applicator 12 can be used to direct fluid into the substantially parallel channels. In Fig. IB, fluidic droplets are applied serially to the substantially parallel channels, which may define pixels of the display. The color of each of the droplets may be independently controlled, for example, by the use of one or more colored fluids in the applicator. In Fig. 1C, a second fluidic droplet 15 has been added to a channel 14 containing a first fluidic droplet 16.).
Edwards is silent on wherein the first and second fluids are moved in a coupled manner independent of gravitational orientation such that introduction of one fluid into the chamber corresponds to withdrawal of the other fluid from the chamber and vice versa, maintaining a substantially constant combined volume of the first and second fluids within the chamber.
However, Fork teaches wherein the first and second fluids are moved in a coupled manner independent of gravitational orientation such that introduction of one fluid into the chamber corresponds to withdrawal of the other fluid from the chamber and vice versa, maintaining a substantially constant combined volume of the first and second fluids within the chamber (fig. 3A, [0037] [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Edwards in light of Fork teaching so that it includes wherein the first and second fluids are moved in a coupled manner independent of gravitational orientation such that introduction of one fluid into the chamber corresponds to withdrawal of the other fluid from the chamber and vice versa, maintaining a substantially constant combined volume of the first and second fluids within the chamber.
The motivation is to provide a display device uses the presence or absence of a pigmented fluid in a pixel to indicate pixel state.
Regarding claim 2 Edwards teaches wherein the actuator comprises a micro-pump or other fluidic actuator associated with each pixel, configured to alternately move the first fluid and the second fluid in and out of the chamber EXAMPLE 1 This example illustrates a fluid applicator technique. In Fig. IA, a display device 10 comprises a plurality of substantially parallel channels, e.g., micro fluidic channels. An applicator 12 can be used to direct fluid into the substantially parallel channels. In Fig. IB, fluidic droplets are applied serially to the substantially parallel channels, which may define pixels of the display. The color of each of the droplets may be independently controlled, for example, by the use of one or more colored fluids in the applicator. In Fig. 1C, a second fluidic droplet 15 has been added to a channel 14 containing a first fluidic droplet 16.).
Regarding claim 3 Edwards teaches comprising a microprocessor programmed to control the actuator based on input data (fluid may be moved …electronics or a computer may be used to move or control fluid within the channels).
Regarding claim 4 Edwards in view of Fork teach a passive-matrix configuration, actuators positioned along microfluidic channels to enable selective activation of specific pixels through row and column control (Fork: fig. 4, [0042] [0044]).
Regarding claim 5 Edwards teaches comprising a sensor configured to detect a position of the first and second fluids within the chamber and adjust the actuator accordingly (the substrate may be used as a sesnor, e.g., to determine an external stimulus applied to the substrate, for example, temperature, pressure, weight, light, size, shape, or electrical and/or magnetic effects. The external stimulus can be determined by determining a property of the fluid. Interaction of the external stimulus with the substrate may cause a change in a property of the fluid, which may be determined to determine the external stimulus. As an example, heat applied to the substrate may cause a change in temperature of a fluid in a channel within the substrate, and the temperature of the fluid can be determined to determine the temperature of the substrate. As another example, a pressure applied to the substrate may cause a change in the flow of fluid (e.g., flow resistance or flowrate) through the substrate, which may be determined to determine the pressure).
Regarding claim 6 Edwards teaches wherein the device includes a flexible substrate (In one set of embodiments, a soft and/or a flexible substrate may be used, optionally including one or more valves that may be deformable, e.g., upon touch contact).
Regarding claim 7 Edwards teaches wherein the second fluid is transparent, and the movement of the first and second fluids is used to control shading (Another aspect of the invention is directed to a method. For example, in one set of embodiments, the method includes acts of providing a substrate having a substantially transparent region and a region that is not substantially transparent, and controllably altering the shape and/or position of the transparent region of the substrate. In another set of embodiments, the method includes acts of providing a substrate having a region that is not transparent, directing light through the substrate to produce a shadow, and controllably altering the shape and/or position of the shadow.) or grey-scale effects by modulating an amount of light passing through the pixel (In Figs. 3D-3F, color droplets are moved by the fluid flow without mixing within channels 30. Intersecting or overlapping channels (e.g., where the channels are physically separate, but overlap when viewed together) may be used to create new colors or shades of color. In Figs. 3G-3H, several looped channels are present, each containing a number of colored droplets. As previously discussed, the droplets do not readily mix, e.g., due to the dominance of viscosity in the low Reynolds number regime of the microfluidic channel, or other surface effects. By moving the fluid within each of the channels, various fluidic droplets can be moved to a specific location (e.g., defining a pixel), for example, location 35 (Fig. 3G), and in some cases, additional colors can be created by moving two colored droplets in overlapping channels into the location (e.g., Fig. 3H, showing the overlap of lighter and darker shaded droplets). In combination with polarizing components, additional flexibility in color brightness/darkness can also be achieved (see below). In addition, the colored droplets (or other species present in the channels) may be transferred from one channel to another to create additional visual effects.).
Regarding claim 8 Edwards teaches wherein one or more additives, such as surfactants, stabilizers, or particles (For example, a fluid may contain surfactants, solutes, particles, salts, ions, buffers, preservatives, solubilizers, stabilizers, dyes, fluorescent species, gases (e.g., as bubbles, or dissolved within the fluid), or the like), are added to at least one of the fluids to render the fluids immiscible, preventing coalescence and maintaining fluid separation (Fig. IA, a display device 10 comprises a plurality of substantially parallel channels, e.g., micro fluidic channels. An applicator 12 can be used to direct fluid into the substantially parallel channels. In Fig. IB, fluidic droplets are applied serially to the substantially parallel channels, which may define pixels of the display. The color of each of the droplets may be independently controlled, for example, by the use of one or more colored fluids in the applicator. In Fig. 1C, a second fluidic droplet 15 has been added to a channel 14 containing a first fluidic droplet 16. In a microfluidic channel, the second fluidic droplet may not readily mix with the first fluidic droplet, e.g., due to the dominance of viscosity in the low Reynolds number regime of the microfluidic channel, or other surface effects.).
Regarding claim 9 Edwards teaches further comprising a color filter positioned over the pixel to enable additional color combinations when displaying colors ( by introducing particles into a fluid contained within a substrate that are large enough to scatter ultraviolet light but do not substantially scatter visible light (for example, particles comprising ZnO, TiO.sub.2, octylmethoxycinnamate, benzophenone-3, or octocrylene), the substrate may be rendered substantially transparent to visible light but not to ultraviolet light. The particles, in some cases, may be able to scatter ultraviolet light, for example, on the basis of size, e.g., if the particles have a characteristic diameter (diameter of a perfect sphere having the same volume as the particle) substantially equal to, or of the same order of magnitude as, the wavelength of ultraviolet light. As another specific, non-limiting example, if the substrate contains a fluid containing colored dyes that absorb certain wavelengths but not other wavelengths, …light may be absorbed using other, non- fluid-based methods, for example, polarizing filters or films, and such methods may be used with or without the use of absorbing components described above. In addition, absorbance can also be controlled, in some embodiments, by varying the alignment of the polarizing components, and/or by varying the number of overlapping components, e.g., overlapping channels, some or all of which may contain absorbing components).
Regarding claim 10 Edwards teaches further comprising a backlight system (in some cases, the fluidic element may be able to emit light. In one embodiment, the fluidic elements are backlit with a light source) configured to modulate the amount of light passing through the pixel to enhance display visibility (the fluid may be selected such that the substrate is transparent or substantially transparent to visible light, infrared radiation, and/or ultraviolet light, or the substrate is opaque to visible light, infrared radiation, and/or ultraviolet light. A substantially transparent substrate allows light to be transmitted through the substrate without significant scattering. The substantially transparent substrate may be able to transmit electromagnetic radiation in some cases such that a majority of the radiation incident on the substrate passes through the substrate unaltered, and in some embodiments, at least about 50%, in other embodiments at least about 75%, in other embodiments at least about 80%, in still other embodiments at least about 90%, in still other embodiments at least about 95%, in still other embodiments at least about 97%, and in still other embodiments at least about 99% of the incident radiation is able to pass through the substrate unaltered. The amount of absorbance and/or transparency may be set to any desired level, depending on choice of the fluid and/or species contained within the fluid, and in some cases, the absorbance and/or transparency (and/or total absorbance and/or transparency) of the substrate, with respect to different wavelengths of light, may be set to any desired level. As a non-limiting example, a substrate may have a total absorbance of 80% with respect to a first wavelength of light (e.g., visible light, or light of a specific color) and 30% to a second wavelength of light (e.g., ultraviolet or infrared, a specific color, etc.). In some cases, the desired level may be one that is not pre-determined in advance, but can be arbitrarily chosen. For example, by selecting appropriate fluid and/or species within the fluid, the absorbance of the substrate to various wavelengths may be controlled as desired. As non-limiting examples, a substrate may be substantially transparent to visible light but not infrared radiation or ultraviolet light, substantially transparent to infrared radiation but not visible light or ultraviolet light, substantially transparent to ultraviolet light but not infrared radiation or visible light, etc., and/or the substrate may be substantially transparent to a specific color or range of colors within the visible light spectrum).
Regarding claim 11 Edwards teaches wherein the pixel includes a reflective or colored material positioned at a bottom of the chamber to enhance a brightness or provide color effects (n Figs. 3D-3F, color droplets are moved by the fluid flow without mixing within channels 30. Intersecting or overlapping channels (e.g., where the channels are physically separate, but overlap when viewed together) may be used to create new colors or shades of color. In Figs. 3G-3H, several looped channels are present, each containing a number of colored droplets. As previously discussed, the droplets do not readily mix, e.g., due to the dominance of viscosity in the low Reynolds number regime of the microfluidic channel, or other surface effects. By moving the fluid within each of the channels, various fluidic droplets can be moved to a specific location (e.g., defining a pixel), for example, location 35 (Fig. 3G), and in some cases, additional colors can be created by moving two colored droplets in overlapping channels into the location (e.g., Fig. 3H, showing the overlap of lighter and darker shaded droplets). In combination with polarizing components, additional flexibility in color brightness/darkness can also be achieved (see below). In addition, the colored droplets (or other species present in the channels) may be transferred from one channel to another to create additional visual effects).
Claim(s) 12-20 are canceled.
Regarding claim 12 Edwards in view of Fork teaches wherein the pixel regions are interconnected in a grid pattern by microfluidic channels, and wherein regions surrounding the interconnected pixels and channels are substantially void of substrate material, creating a flexible mesh structure that conforms to non-planar surfaces (Fork: fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14 Edwards in view of Fork teaches wherein the actuator (Fork: fig. 4) is configured to simultaneously apply introduction force to one fluid and withdrawal force to the other fluid (Fork: fig. 3A).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards (WO 2008070048) in view of Fork as claim 1 above and further in view of Feenstra (US 20140211291).
Regarding claim 13 Edwards in view of Fork teaches further comprising at least [[a third fluid of a third color immiscible with the first and second fluids]] within the chamber, wherein the first, second, and [[third fluids are moved]] in the coupled manner maintaining the substantially constant combined volume (Fork: fig. 3A also see ABSTRACT).
Edwards and Fork are silent on a third fluid of a third color immiscible with the first and second fluids.
However, Feenstra teaches a third fluid of a third color immiscible with the first and second fluids ([0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Edwards in light of Feenstra teaching so that it may include a third fluid of a third color immiscible with the first and second fluids.
The motivation is to provide an electrowetting display device includes a greyscale picture element layer having at least one first picture element having a first fluid configurable to provide a greyscale display state, and a color picture element layer having at least one second picture element having a second fluid configurable to provide a color display state.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any of the new reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Brown US 20120212792
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOWFIQ ELAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625