Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 9/9/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (US Publication 2008/0286736 A1 to Browne-Wilkinson) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 102 (US Publication 2008/0286736 A1 to Browne-Wilkinson in view of US Patent 4850877 A to Mason et al.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the at least one first hole". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
As claim 8 depends on rejected claim 7, it is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 2008/0286736 A1 to Browne-Wilkinson (hereinafter Browne-Wilkinson) in view of US Patent 4850877 A to Mason et al. (hereinafter Mason).
Concerning claim 1,
Browne-Wilkinson discloses a joint dislocation simulation apparatus comprising:
a first articular element including a hole through a body of the first articular element (0023, 0032, Figure 1, Figure 6-7);
a second articular element (0023, 0032, Figure 1, Figure 6-7); and
connector element (element 14) configured to couple the first articular element to the second articular element (0023, 0032, Figure 1, Figure 6-7), and wherein the connector element is inserted through the hole and received in or rests on the channel (0023, Figure 1).
Mason teaches a channel (element 46) formed in or on a surface of the first articular element and the channel is configured to guide the connector element (element 44) to keep the first articular element and the second articular element aligned (Col. 6; ln 45-56, Col. 7; ln 18-41, Figure 5-6).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the orthopedic aid apparatus in Browne-Wilkinson with the leg model of Mason as both are medical models of a human leg. Incorporating the ligament channels of Mason with the orthopedic aid apparatus in Browne-Wilkinson would allow for better management of the cables in the anatomical model.
Concerning claim 2,
Browne-Wilkinson discloses the first articular element (element 3) and the second articular element (element 2) simulate different bones (element 12 and 11 respectively) that make up a joint (0023, Figure 1).
Concerning claim 3,
Browne-Wilkinson discloses the connector element (element 14) simulates at least one of one or more ligaments, one or more tendons, one or more muscles, one or more cartilage, or one or more binding tissues (0023, Figure 1).
Concerning claim 5,
Browne-Wilkinson discloses the first articular element (element 3) includes at least one hole through a body of the first articular element (0023, Figure 1).
Mason teaches wherein the first articular element includes a plurality of first holes (element 56) through the body of the first articular element, and the plurality of first holes includes the at least one hole (Col. 6; ln 45-56, Col. 7; ln 18-41, Figure 5-6, wherein Figure 5-6 show more than one cable and therefore a plurality of holes in both the first and second articular element).
Concerning claim 6,
Browne-Wilkinson discloses the second articular element (element 2) includes at least one hole through a body of the second articular element (0023, Figure 1).
Mason teaches wherein the second articular element includes a plurality of second holes (element 56) through a body of the second articular element (Col. 6; ln 45-56, Col. 7; ln 18-41, Figure 5-6, wherein Figure 5-6 show more than one cable and therefore a plurality of holes in both the first and second articular element).
Concerning claim 7,
Browne-Wilkinson discloses wherein the connector element is configured to be inserted or threaded into the at least one first hole and at least one second hole (0023, Figure 1).
Mason teaches a plurality of first and second holes (Col. 6; ln 45-56, Col. 7; ln 18-41, Figure 5-6).
Concerning claim 18,
Browne-Wilkinson discloses the first articular element (element 60) and the second articular element (element 2) are configured to be pulled away from one another, and the connector element (element 62) is configured to resist a distorting influence caused by the first and second articular elements being pulled apart (0030-0032, Figure 5-7).
Concerning claim 19,
Browne-Wilkinson discloses the connector element is formed from at least one elastic material (0030-0032, Figure 5-7).
Concerning claim 20,
Browne-Wilkinson discloses joint dislocation simulation apparatus, comprising: at least two articular elements connected by at least one connector element (element 14) (0023, 0032, Figure 1, Figure 6-7), wherein:
at least one articular element of the at least two articular elements includes a hole through a body of the at least one articular element (0023, 0032, Figure 1, Figure 6-7),
a first articular element of the at least two articular elements includes a socket, a second articular element of the at least two articular elements includes an articulation surface configured to be inserted into the socket, wherein the articulation surface is to rest outside of the socket to simulate a dislocated joint and the articulation surface is to rest inside the socket to simulate a reduced joint (0030-0032, Figure 5-7), and
the at least one articular element is the first articular element or the second articular element (0030-0032, Figure 5-7).
Mason teaches a channel (element 46) formed in or on a surface of the at least one articular element and the at least one connector element (element 44) is inserted through the hole and received in or rests on the channel such that the channel guides the at least one connector element to keep the at least two articular elements aligned (Col. 6; ln 45-56, Col. 7; ln 18-41, Figure 5-6).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 2008/0286736 A1 to Browne-Wilkinson in view of US Patent 4850877 A to Mason et al. and further in view of Anatomy, Joints by Juneja (hereinafter Juneja).
Concerning claim 4,
Browne-Wilkinson discloses the joint dislocation simulation apparatus is configured to simulate multiple types of joints, wherein the multiple types of joints include plane joints, ball and socket joints, hinge joints, pivot joints, condyloid joints, and saddle joints (0060).
Juneja teaches that plane joints, ball and socket joints, hinge joints, pivot joints, condyloid joints, and saddle joints are types of synovial joint (Section: Structure and Function, Subsection: Synovial). Browne-Wilkinson discloses additional configurations for the orthopedic aid apparatus for different bones. It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the additional configurations for the orthopedic aid apparatus for different bones disclosed in Browne-Wilkinson and configuring them to be different types of synovial joints as taught by Juneja. The aforementioned configuration would improve physiological fidelity of the orthopedic aid apparatus disclosed in Browne-Wilkinson.
Claim(s) 9-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 2008/0286736 A1 to Browne-Wilkinson in view of US Patent 4850877 A to Mason et al. and further in view of US Patent 4235025 A to Kortge (hereinafter Kortge).
Concerning claim 9,
Browne-Wilkinson does not disclose the second articular element (element 2) comprises at least one socket.
Kortge teaches the second articular element (element 11) comprises at least one socket (element 14) (Col. 2; ln 12-27, Figure 1, Figure 3).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the orthopedic aid apparatus in Browne-Wilkinson with the leg model of Kortge as both are medical models of a human leg. Incorporating the connection methodology of Kortge with the orthopedic aid apparatus in Browne-Wilkinson would allow for the anatomical model to be easier to produce in a more cost-effective manner.
Concerning claim 10,
Browne-Wilkinson does not disclose the first articular element comprises at least one articulation surface configured to fit into the at least one socket of the second articular element when the joint dislocation simulation apparatus simulates a reduced joint.
Kortge teaches the first articular element (element 10) comprises at least one articulation surface configured to fit into the at least one socket of the second articular element when the joint dislocation simulation apparatus simulates a reduced joint (Col. 2; ln 12-27, Figure 1, Figure 3, Based on applicant’s specifications, a reduced joint is a joint which is in its normal configuration and is not dislocated. The model shown is not dislocated, and therefore meets the limitation claimed).
Concerning claim 11,
Browne-Wilkinson does not disclose the at least one socket is a concave surface.
Kortge teaches the at least one socket is a concave surface (Col. 2; ln 12-27, Figure 1, Figure 3).
Concerning claim 12,
Browne-Wilkinson does not disclose the concave surface is formed between at least two articulation surfaces of the second articular element.
Kortge teaches the concave surface is formed between at least two articulation surfaces of the second articular element (Col. 2; ln 12-27, Figure 1, Figure 3, The socket in Kortge is cylindrical. As such, it has two surfaces on the sides of the concave surface, meeting the limitation claimed).
Concerning claim 13,
Browne-Wilkinson does not disclose the at least one articulation surface extends laterally away from a body of the first articular element.
Kortge teaches the at least one articulation surface extends laterally away from a body of the first articular element (Col. 2; ln 12-27, Figure 1, Figure 3, The socket in Kortge is cylindrical. As such, it has two surfaces on the sides of the concave surface extending laterally away from the first articular element, meeting the limitation claimed).
Concerning claim 14,
Browne-Wilkinson does not disclose at least one articulation surface extends longitudinally away from a body of the first articular element.
Kortge teaches at least one articulation surface extends longitudinally away from a body of the first articular element (element 10) (Col. 2; ln 12-27, Figure 1, Figure 3, The straight portion of the socket extends longitudinally away from the first articular element, meeting the limitation claimed).
Concerning claim 15,
Browne-Wilkinson does not disclose the at least one articulation surface of the first articular element is a first articulation surface, the first articular element comprises a second articulation surface configured to rest on an articulation surface of the second articular element when the joint dislocation simulation apparatus simulates a reduced joint.
Kortge teaches the at least one articulation surface of the first articular element is a first articulation surface, the first articular element comprises a second articulation surface configured to rest on an articulation surface of the second articular element when the joint dislocation simulation apparatus simulates a reduced joint (Col. 2; ln 12-27, Figure 1, Figure 3).
Concerning claim 16,
Browne-Wilkinson does not disclose the first articular element (element 2) comprises at least one socket.
Kortge teaches the first articular element (element 11) comprises at least one socket (element 14) (Col. 2; ln 12-27, Figure 1, Figure 3).
Concerning claim 17,
Browne-Wilkinson does not disclose the second articular element comprises at least one articulation surface configured to fit into the at least one socket of the first articular element.
Kortge teaches the second articular element (element 10) comprises at least one articulation surface configured to fit into the at least one socket of the first articular element (Col. 2; ln 12-27, Figure 1, Figure 3).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/I.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/DMITRY SUHOL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715