DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species B in the reply filed on 02/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-7, 9 and 15-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/09/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “sealing member” in claim 1.
Para. [0076] of the instant spec. describes the “sealing member” as fabric. “Sealing member” uses the generic placeholder “member” coupled with the term “sealing”, which is functional in that the limitation alternatively recites a member for sealing, and the term “member” is not preceded by a structural modifier since the term “sealing” does not imply any structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Khairkhahan (US 2006/0281965 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Khairkhahan discloses (see abstract; paras. [0040]-[0063]; figs. 1-18) an occlusive implant (10, fig. 1), comprising:
an expandable framework (13, para. [0040]; fig. 1) configured to shift between a collapsed configuration and an expanded configuration (para. [0040]; figs. 11a-e), the expandable framework includes a plurality of anchor members (27, para. [0045]; figs. 2 and 7) extending radially outward from the expandable framework (figs. 2-3);
an occlusive member (inner layer of membrane 11, para. [0041]; figs. 7 and 18) disposed along at least a portion of the expandable framework (figs. 1-2 and 17); and
a sealing member (outer layer of membrane 11) disposed along the occlusive member (figs. 7 and 17-18),
wherein at least a portion of the plurality of anchor members extend through an aperture formed in the occlusive member (aperture depicted in fig. 7, see also strand 19 sealing periphery of membrane, paras. [0041] and [0045]; figs. 2-3 and 7).
Regarding claim 2, Khairkhahan discloses the occlusive implant of claim 1. Khairkhahan further discloses wherein the sealing member extends radially outward from the occlusive member (figs. 7 and 18).
Regarding claim 3, Khairkhahan discloses the occlusive implant of claim 1. Khairkhahan further discloses wherein the occlusive member, the sealing member or both the occlusive member and the sealing member are formed from a fabric (para. [0015]).
Regarding claim 4, Khairkhahan discloses the occlusive implant of claim 1. Khairkhahan further discloses wherein the sealing member extends around only a portion of the outer surface of the occlusive member (considered to extend only around portions of inner layer of membrane 11 due to presence of ribs 14 and swellable bodies 70 located in between layers, figs. 2-3, 7 and 18).
Regarding claim 5, Khairkhahan discloses the occlusive implant of claim 1. Khairkhahan further discloses wherein the sealing member extends circumferentially around the outer surface of the occlusive member (figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 8, Khairkhahan discloses the occlusive implant of claim 1. Khairkhahan further discloses wherein the sealing member includes an expandable element (70, para. [0060]; figs. 17-18) disposed along a portion of the sealing member (fig. 18).
Regarding claim 10, Khairkhahan discloses the occlusive implant of claim 1. Khairkhahan further discloses wherein the expandable framework and the plurality of anchor members are formed from a unitary tubular member (considered to be consisting of a single base unit/element formed in a tubular shape similar to figs. 5-6 of the instant spec., note the limitation “formed from a unitary tubular member” is treated as a product by process limitation, in which determination of patentability is based on the product itself; since Khairkhahan discloses frame 13 and ribs 14 formed of a unitary structure, the limitation is considered to be met, see MPEP 2113).
Regarding claim 11, Khairkhahan discloses (see abstract; paras. [0040]-[0063]; figs. 1-18) a medical implant (10, fig. 1) for occluding a left atrial appendage (considered to be capable of occluding a left atrial appendage, since the device of Khairkhahan divides portions of the heart, para. [0054]), comprising:
an expandable framework (13, para. [0040]; fig. 1) configured to shift between a collapsed configuration and an expanded configuration (para. [0040]; figs. 11a-e);
a plurality of anchor members (27, para. [0045]; figs. 2 and 7) disposed along the expandable framework (figs. 2-3);
a covering (inner layer of membrane 11, para. [0041]; figs. 7 and 18) disposed along an outer surface of the expandable framework (figs. 1-2 and 17); and
a protrusion portion (outer layer of membrane 11) extending outward from the covering (figs. 7 and 17-18).
Regarding claim 12, Khairkhahan discloses the medical implant of claim 11. Khairkhahan further discloses wherein the covering is formed from a fabric (para. [0015]).
Regarding claim 13, Khairkhahan discloses the medical implant of claim 11. Khairkhahan further discloses wherein the covering extends along only a portion of the expandable framework (see figs. 5 and 7 depicting proximal and distal ends of ribs 14 not covered by membrane).
Regarding claim 14, Khairkhahan discloses the medical implant of claim 11. Khairkhahan further discloses wherein the protrusion portion extends circumferentially around an outer surface of the covering (figs. 1-3).
Double Patenting
Claims 11-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,082,794 B2 to Onushko. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 11-13 would anticipate current claims 11-14.
18,829,096 claims
Corresponding U.S. 12,082,764 B2 claims
11
11
12
12
13
11
14
13
Claims 1-5, 8 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,082,794 B2 to Onushko in view of Khairkhahan.
Regarding claim 1, Onushko claims the implant of claim 1 (claim 8), but fails to claim wherein at least a portion of the plurality of anchor members extend through an aperture formed in the occlusive member.
Khairkhahan teaches wherein at least a portion of the plurality of anchor members (27) extend through an aperture formed in the occlusive member (aperture depicted in fig. 7, see also strand 19 sealing periphery of membrane, paras. [0041] and [0045]; figs. 2-3 and 7), for the purpose of engaging tissue to hold the device in a deployed position (paras. [0045] and [0050]-[0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim wherein at least a portion of the plurality of anchor members extend through an aperture formed in the occlusive member, in order to engage tissue to hold the device in a deployed position, based on the teachings of Khairkhahan (paras. [0045] and [0050]-[0051]).
Regarding claim 2, Onushko (as modified) claims the implant of claim 2 (claim 8).
Regarding claim 3, Onushko (as modified) claims the implant of claim 3 (claim 8), but fails to claim wherein the occlusive member, the sealing member or both the occlusive member and the sealing member are formed from a fabric.
Khairkhahan teaches wherein the occlusive member, the sealing member or both the occlusive member and the sealing member are formed from a fabric (para. [0015]), for the purpose of forming the membrane of an appropriate flexible material (para. [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim wherein the occlusive member, the sealing member or both the occlusive member and the sealing member are formed from a fabric, in order to form the membrane of an appropriate flexible material, based on the teachings of Khairkhahan (para. [0015]).
Regarding claim 4, Onushko (as modified) claims the implant of claim 4 (claim 8), but fails to claim wherein the sealing member extends around only a portion of the outer surface of the occlusive member.
Khairkhahan teaches wherein the sealing member extends around only a portion of the outer surface of the occlusive member (considered to extend only around portions of inner layer of membrane 11 due to presence of ribs 14 and swellable bodies 70 located in between layers, figs. 2-3, 7 and 18), for the purpose of providing swellable bodies to seal the peripheral portion of the membrane against the patient’s heart wall (para. [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim wherein the sealing member extends around only a portion of the outer surface of the occlusive member, in order to provide swellable bodies to seal the peripheral portion of the membrane against the patient’s heart wall, based on the teachings of Khairkhahan (para. [0060]).
Regarding claim 5, Onushko (as modified) claims the implant of claim 5 (claim 8), but fails to claim wherein the sealing member extends circumferentially around the outer surface of the occlusive member.
Khairkhahan teaches wherein the sealing member extends circumferentially around the outer surface of the occlusive member (figs. 1-3), for the purpose of sealing the peripheral portion of the membrane against a patient’s heart circumferentially around the implant (para. [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim wherein the sealing member extends circumferentially around the outer surface of the occlusive member, in order to seal the peripheral portion of the membrane against a patient’s heart circumferentially around the implant, based on the teachings of Khairkhahan (para. [0060]).
Regarding claim 8, Onushko (as modified) claims the implant of claim 8 (claim 8), but fails to claim wherein the sealing member includes an expandable element disposed along a portion of the sealing member.
Khairkhahan teaches wherein the sealing member includes an expandable element (70, para. [0060]; figs. 17-18) disposed along a portion of the sealing member (fig. 18), for the purpose of sealing the peripheral portion of the membrane against a patient’s heart circumferentially around the implant (para. [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim wherein the sealing member includes an expandable element disposed along a portion of the sealing member, in order to seal the peripheral portion of the membrane against a patient’s heart circumferentially around the implant, based on the teachings of Khairkhahan (para. [0060]).
Regarding claim 10, Onushko (as modified) claims the implant of claim 10 (claim 9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 7780725 B2 to Haug, disclosing an everting heart valve including sacs filled with a hydrogel.
US 2014/0114402 A1 to Ahlberg, disclosing a valve prosthesis including a sealing element.
/BRIGID K BYRD/Examiner, Art Unit 3771