DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9, line 2 cites “the second slide movement”. Appropriate correction is required to “the slide movement”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 13, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al (US 20220287193; “Chun” hereinafter), in view of Kwon et al (WO 2015068901; “Kwon” hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Chun teaches: an electronic device comprising:
a first housing (210, fig. 2b);
a second housing (220, fig. 2b) configured to slide with respect to the first housing (¶[0150]);
a flexible display (230) including a first display area (230c, fig. 2) and a second display area (230a, fig. 2) extending from the first display area, and wherein at least a portion of the second display area is configured to be exposable based on a slide movement of the second housing (see fig. 2, ¶[0129], [0156]);
Chun does not explicitly teach:
a first housing including a first support member and a second support member;
a first circuit board disposed on the first support member; and
a second circuit board disposed on the second support member,
wherein the second circuit board is electrically connected to the first circuit board through a hole formed on one surface of the second support member.
However, Kwon discloses: an electronic device comprising:
a first housing (210, 201, 290, fig. 5) including a first support member (201) and a second support member (290);
a second housing (202, 291) configured to slide with respect to the first housing (¶[107]);
a flexible display (220, fig. 5);
a first circuit board (230) disposed on the first support member (201, ¶[119]); and
a second circuit board (260) disposed on the second support member (290, fig. 12a),
wherein the second circuit board is electrically connected to the first circuit board through a hole (250a) formed on one surface of the second support member (fig. 5, ¶[119]-[120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include modify Chun’s electronic device and include Kwon’s first support member, and second support member adapted to Chun’s housing architecture, such that a first circuit board is disposed on the first support member, and a second circuit board disposed on the second support member, wherein the second circuit board is electrically connected to the first circuit board through a hole formed on one surface of the second support member, in order to provide electronic functionality to the flexible display panel and other electronic components, and support / connection means between the two circuit boards. The claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Kwon. Moreover, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of a plurality of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (MPEP 2143).
Regarding Claim 2, Chun in view of Kwon teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Kwon further teaches: wherein at least a portion of the first circuit board is disposed to face an inner surface of the second support member (fig. 12a), and
wherein at least a portion of the second circuit board is disposed on an outer surface of the second support member (fig. 12a).
Regarding Claim 13, Chun in view of Kwon teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Kwon further teaches: wherein when viewed toward the one surface of the second support member (290), at least a portion of the first circuit board (230) disposed in the hole is formed to be exposed (as disclosed upon examination of figures 5 and 12a, where an S-shaped portion of first circuit board (230) is exposed through the hole).
Regarding Claim 16, Chun in view of Kwon teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Chun further teaches: further comprising a motor (244, fig. 5B) configured to generate a driving force for the slide movement of the second housing (¶[0175]).
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al (US 20220287193; “Chun” hereinafter), in view of Kwon et al (WO 2015068901; “Kwon” hereinafter) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Baek et al (US 20190268455; “Baek” hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 3, Chun in view of Kwon teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose: wherein the first housing further includes a first rear plate to cover the one surface of the second support member, and wherein the second circuit board is disposed between the second support member and the first rear plate.
However, Baek teaches:
a first housing (410, fig. 4) includes a first rear plate (supporting cover413, fig. 4) to cover one surface (4112 fig. 4, ¶[0074]) of a second support member (411, fig. 4), and wherein a second circuit board (412, ¶[0074]) is disposed between the second support member and the first rear plate (¶[0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include modify Chun in view of Kwon, and include Baek’s first rear plate, such that the first housing further includes a first rear plate to cover the one surface of the second support member, and wherein the second circuit board is disposed between the second support member and the first rear plate, in order to provide a protection means to the second circuit board (¶[0074]).
Regarding Claim 8, Chun in view of Kwon teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose: further comprising a battery disposed in the first housing and electrically connected to the first circuit board, wherein the battery is disposed to overlap the second circuit board with the one surface of the second support member interposed therebetween.
However, Baek teaches:
a battery (418, fig. 11C) disposed in a first housing (410, fig. 11C) and electrically connected to a first circuit board (447, fig. 4, ¶[0077], [0113]), wherein the battery is disposed to overlap a second circuit board (412, fig. 11C, ¶[0112]) with one surface (4112, fig. 11C) of a second support member (411, fig. 11C) interposed therebetween (fig. 11C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide an arbitrary location of the battery relative to the second circuit board within the housing, such that battery is disposed in the first housing and electrically connected to the first circuit board, wherein the battery is disposed to overlap the second circuit board with the one surface of the second support member interposed therebetween, as taught by Baek, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al (US 20220287193; “Chun” hereinafter), in view of Kwon et al (WO 2015068901; “Kwon” hereinafter) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Son et al (US 20190261515; “Son” hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 4, Chun in view of Kwon teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Kwon further teaches:
wherein at least a portion of the second circuit board is seated on a recess (portion 250, fig. 12a) formed on the one surface of the second support member (290),
Chun in view of Kwon does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a second circuit board is electrically connected to a conductive portion formed at one end of the first housing.
However, Son teaches:
wherein a second circuit board (either 120 or 130, fig. 1A) is electrically connected to a conductive support member (110, fig. 1C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include modify Chun in view of Kwon, and include Son’s conductive portion capacitor, ground arrangement, and metal as housing material, such that second circuit board is electrically connected to a conductive portion formed at one end of the first housing, In order to prevent a short circuit of a leakage current (¶[0032]). Furthermore, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al (US 20220287193; “Chun” hereinafter), in view of Kwon et al (WO 2015068901; “Kwon” hereinafter) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Bae et al (US 20170142239; “Bae” hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 5, Chun in view of Kwon teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose: further comprising an antenna module disposed on the one surface of the second support member and including a coil for wireless charging.
However, Bae teaches:
an antenna module (520, figs. 5 and 7) disposed on a support member (rear surface of 330, ¶[0106]) and including a coil (526) for wireless charging (¶[0107]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include modify Chun in view of Kwon, and include Bae’s antenna module, and metal as housing material, such that an antenna module disposed on the one surface of the second support member and including a coil for wireless charging, In order to transmit and receive data to and from another electronic device (¶[0007]). Furthermore, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al (US 20220287193; “Chun” hereinafter), in view of Kwon et al (WO 2015068901; “Kwon” hereinafter) and Bae et al (US 20170142239; Bae” hereinafter), as applied to claim 5, and further in view of Choi et al (US 20230231298; “Choi” hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 6, Chun in view of Kwon and Bae teaches the limitations of claim 5, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein at least a portion of the antenna module is electrically connected to the second circuit board, and the antenna module is seated on a recess formed on the one surface of the second support member.
However, Choi teaches:
at least a portion of an antenna module (100) is electrically connected to a second circuit board (350), and the antenna module is disposed on a peripheral area (420) of an electronic device (400) housing (¶[0121]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply Choi’s teaching into Chun in view of Kwon and Bae, such that at least a portion of the antenna module is electrically connected to the second circuit board, and the antenna module is seated on a recess formed on the one surface of the second support member, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Choi. Moreover, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of a plurality of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (MPEP 2143).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al (US 20220287193; “Chun” hereinafter), in view of Kwon et al (WO 2015068901; “Kwon” hereinafter), and Bae et al (US 20170142239; Bae” hereinafter) as applied to claim 5, and further in view of Park et al (US 20190082536; “Park” hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 7, Chun in view of Kwon and Bae teaches the limitations of claim 5, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the second circuit board and the antenna module are formed as an integrated structure, and wherein at least a portion of the antenna module extends from the second circuit board, and a signal provided from a signal line of the second circuit board is transmittable to the antenna module.
However, Park teaches:
wherein a circuit board (240, fig. 5) and an antenna module (275, fig. 5) are formed as an integrated structure (¶[0081]), and wherein at least a portion of the antenna module extends from the second circuit board (fig. 5), and a signal provided from a signal line of the second circuit board is transmittable to the antenna module (¶[0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply Park’s teaching into Chun in view of Kwon and Bae, such that the second circuit board and the antenna module are formed as an integrated structure, and wherein at least a portion of the antenna module extends from the second circuit board, and a signal provided from a signal line of the second circuit board is transmittable to the antenna module, in order to for transmit/receive a signal or power to/from an outside or a connection terminal connected to the antenna (¶[0081]).
Claims 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al (US 20220287193; “Chun” hereinafter), in view of Kwon et al (WO 2015068901; “Kwon” hereinafter) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kim et al (US 20200371558; “Kim” hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 9, , Chun in view of Kwon teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach: further comprising a main circuit board disposed in the second housing and moving according to the second slide movement of the second housing, wherein the first circuit board is electrically connected to the main circuit board.
However, Kim teaches:
a main circuit board (441, fig. 4) disposed in a second housing (410, ¶[0099]) and moving according to the second slide movement of the second housing (“the first structure 410, which is to be open or closed in a sliding manner with respect to the second structure 420, in a direction of being open or closed based on a specific inflection point”, ¶[0083]), wherein a first circuit board (484, fig. 4) is electrically connected to the main circuit board (“the coaxial cable 485 of which both ends are coupled respectively to the sub PCB 484 and the PCB 441”, ¶[0117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include Kim’s main circuit board into Chun in view of Kwon, such that a main circuit board disposed in the second housing and moving according to the second slide movement of the second housing, wherein the first circuit board is electrically connected to the main circuit board, in order to provide electric connection means to electrical components connected to the firs circuit board such as a wireless communication element (¶[0084]). Moreover, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of a plurality of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (MPEP 2143).
Regarding Claim 14, Chun in view of Kwon teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach: wherein in a closed state of the electronic device, one end portion of the second display area of the display is disposed adjacent to the at least portion of the second circuit board, and
wherein in an opened state of the electronic device, the one end portion of the second display area of the display is disposed spaced apart from the at least portion of the second circuit board by sliding.
However, Kim teaches:
wherein in a closed state of the electronic device, one end portion of a second display area (4323, fig. 9B) of a display (430) is disposed adjacent to the at least portion of a second circuit board (484, see annotated fig. 13 below, ¶[0117]), and
wherein in an opened state of the electronic device (see annotated fig. 13 below), the one end portion of the second display area of the display is disposed spaced apart from the at least portion of the second circuit board by sliding (figs. 12C-13, ¶[0117])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Chun in view of Son, and meet the limitations of claim 14, as taught by Kim, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al (US 20220287193; “Chun” hereinafter), in view of Kwon et al (WO 2015068901; “Kwon” hereinafter) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Song et al (US 20210405703; “Song” hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 17, Chun in view of Kwon teaches the limitations of claim 16, and Chun further teaches: wherein the motor interacts with a rack (243, fig.5B) that is connected to the first housing (fig. 5B).
Chun in view of Kwon does not explicitly teach:
further wherein the motor is affixed to the second housing.
However, Song teaches:
further wherein a motor (500, fig. 4) is affixed to the second housing (200a) and wherein the motor interacts with a rack (550, fig. 4, ¶[0357]) that is connected to the first housing (200b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include replace Chun’s motor and rack assembly with Song’s motor and rack assembly, such that a motor is affixed to the second housing and wherein the motor interacts with a rack that is connected to the first housing, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique (rack and driving motors for slidable devices) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Song. Moreover, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of a plurality of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (MPEP 2143).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 10, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that teach: wherein the second circuit board includes a first portion disposed at an edge of the one surface of the second support member, and a second portion extending from the first portion toward the hole, and wherein the second portion includes a plurality of connection portions which are bendable. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claims 11-12 are objected to by virtue of dependency to claim 10.
Regarding Claim 15, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claims 1 and 5, a combination of limitations that teach: wherein the second circuit board and the antenna module are spaced apart from each other, wherein at least a portion of the antenna module is electrically connected to the first circuit board through the hole formed on the second support member, wherein the second circuit board includes a first portion disposed at an edge of the one surface of the second support member, and a second portion extending from the first portion toward the hole, and wherein the second portion includes a plurality of connection portions which are bendable. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is:
US 8306586 B2 Handheld Electronic Device. This invention relates generally to handheld electronic device includes first, second and third bodies, a rod, and an elevating mechanism disposed on the first body. The rod has a first end, a second end, and a pivot portion pivotably mounted to the first body. The second body is slidably disposed on the first body and coupled to the first end. The second body is stacked between the first body and the third body..
US 8532696 B2 Mobile Terminal Having Flexible Printed Circuit Board. This invention generally relates to a mobile terminal having a flexible printed circuit board and problems associated with their manufacture.
/P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/SAGAR SHRESTHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841