DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/09/2024 is being considered by the examiner. A signed IDS is hereby attached.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 4-5, 10-13, and 16-17 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/19/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation " the joint body" in the last 2 lines of the claim 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokuda et al. U.S. Patent Publication Number US20200305280A1(hereinafter Tokuda) in view of Printed Circuits Handbook 6th Edition by Clyde Coombs (Author), Happy Holden (Author) September 19, 2007 ISBN-10, 9780071467346 (hereinafter Coombs).
Regarding Claim 1, Tokuda discloses A disk device comprising: an electronic component (Fig.i.e., flexure 41; para. [0038] i.e., flexure 41); a flexible printed circuit board having a first surface facing the electronic component (Fig. 2, i.e., FPC unit 50, a portion of the FPC unit facing the flexure; para. [0041] i.e., the FPC unit 50 ), a second surface located opposite to the first surface (Fig. 2, i.e., FPC unit 50, the surface opposite the first surface), and a pad provided on the first surface (Fig. 9 i.e., connection pads 61) and connected to the electronic component by a conductive adhesive (Fig. 7 i.e., solder 44; para. [0040] i.e., …the plurality of wirings of the flexure 41 extend over substantially the entire length of the flexure 41. One end of the wiring is electrically connected … is connected to the connection terminal (connection pad) 43… A solder 44 is formed on the connection terminal 43.; para. [0051] i.e., The flexible printed wiring board further includes a second conductive layer …by an adhesive layer 68 ); a first adhesive provided on the second surface (para. [0041] The flexible printed wiring board (FPC) is configured as a multilayer…); a plate having a third surface facing the second surface (Fig. 2, i.e., reinforcing plate 54, The portion of the reinforcing plate 54 facing opposite the flexure; para. [0042] i.e., reinforcing plate 54 ) but Tokuda fails to explicitly disclose the specific configuration in which a first adhesive provided on the second surface and a first bonding layer provided on the third surface, entering a recess of the third surface, and fixed to the second surface by the first adhesive.
In an analogous art, Coombs teaches a first adhesive provided on the second surface (pages 61.7-61.8, 61.3.2 Applications, i.e., … specially developed high-density flexible circuits can provide highly reliable connections at a low cost for new tiny magnetic heads of hard disk drives with a vertical recording system; pages 61.8, 61.4.1 Traditional Flexible Circuit Materials, i.e., adhesive layer); a first bonding layer provided on the third surface (page G.1 i.e., bonding layer and page 65.1-65.5, Table 65.1 i.e., Bonding sheets), entering a recess of the third surface (page. 11.3, 11.2.2.2 Oxide and Oxide Alternative Processes. i.e., During PCB fabrication, the internal copper surfaces are generally chemically treated to improve the adhesion between the resin system and the copper layer. … These processes generally use etching chemistries, which also roughen the copper surface to provide greater surface area for resin bonding, and often use proprietary chemistries designed to further enhance adhesion and chemical resistance.; pages 65.1-65.5, FIGURE 65.6 i.e., Pattern Etching of Outer Layers), and fixed to the second surface by the first adhesive (page. 61.8, 61.4.1 Traditional Flexible Circuit Materials, i.e., adhesive layer).
Although Coombs does not teach explicitly the specific configuration of the multiple adhesive layers and bonding layers arranged in a chosen order, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try various orders, including the claimed order, using well-known and conventional adhesive and bonding techniques. A person of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading the Coombs Reference, would also have recognized the desirability of improved methods of bonding a plate to a flexible printed circuit board. Coombs teaches various flexible circuit board designs having a finite number of adhesive layers and bonding layers suitable for use in a hard disk drive. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have pursued the known options within his or her technical grasp and thus bond a plate reliably to a flexible printed circuit board as claimed.
Regarding Claim 2, Tokuda as modified by Coombs discloses the disk device as discussed in claim 1. Tokuda further comprising :
a housing (Fig. 1 i.e., housing 10) that houses the electronic component, the flexible printed circuit board, the first adhesive, the plate, and the first bonding layer (Fig. 1 ; para. [0025] The housing includes a flexure, a FPC unit, and a reinforcing plate and a FPC unit includes a first adhesive and a first bonding layer.); a magnetic disk housed in the housing (Fig. 1 i.e., magnetic disks 21);
a magnetic head configured to read and write information from and to the magnetic disk (para. [0027] i.e., A plurality of magnetic heads 31 which record and read information on and from the magnetic disks 21…) ; and a carriage configured to rotate to move the magnetic head (para. [0027] i.e., actuator assembly (carriage assembly) 32 which movably supports these magnetic heads 31 with respect to the magnetic disks 21 are provided in the housing 10. In addition, a voice coil motor (hereinafter referred to as a VCM) 33 which rotates and positions the actuator assembly 32…), wherein the electronic component has a flexure that is connected to the pad by the joint body (Fig. 2 and Fig. 3, A flexure is connected to a pad 61.; para. [0040] i.e., A plurality of connection terminals (connection pads) 43 are provided in the connection end portion 42. The connection terminals 43 are respectively connected to the wirings of the flexure 41 ) and electrically connects the flexible printed circuit board and the magnetic head (Fig. 2 and Fig. 3; para. [0029] i.e., The printed circuit board constitutes a control unit, and the control unit controls the operation of the spindle motor 22 and also controls the operations of the VCM 33 and the magnetic head 31 via the FPC unit 50; para. [0049] i.e., the bonding portion 53 of the FPC includes fourteen connection pad groups corresponding to the connection end portions 42 of the suspension assembly…), and the plate is attached to the carriage (Fig. 2 and Fig. 3, The relay portion 52 of FPC and the bonding portion 53 of FPC are attached to an actuator assembly 32. ; para. [0044] The bonding portion 53 is electrically connected to the connection end portion 42 of the flexure 41; para. [0046] i.e., The fourteen magnetic heads 31 of the actuator assembly 32 are electrically connected to the base portions 51 through the wirings of the flexure 41, the connection end portions 42, the bonding portions 53 of the FPC unit 50, and the relay portions 52, respectively. ).
Regarding Claim 3, Tokuda as modified by Coombs discloses the disk device as discussed in claim 2 but fails to disclose the disk device further comprising a second bonding layer, wherein the plate has a fourth surface that is located opposite to the third surface and faces the carriage, and the second bonding layer is provided on the fourth surface and enters a recess of the fourth surface.
Coombs teaches the disk device further comprising a second bonding layer (page 65.1-65.5, Table 65.1 i.e., Bonding sheets), wherein the plate has a fourth surface that is located opposite to the third surface and faces the carriage (page 65.1-65.5, FIGURE 65.6), and the second bonding layer is provided on the fourth surface and enters a recess of the fourth surface (page 65.1-65.5, FIGURE 65.6 i.e., Pattern Etching of Outer Layers).
Although Coombs does not teach explicitly the specific configuration of the multiple adhesive layers and bonding layers arranged in a chosen order, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try various orders, including the claimed order, using well-known and conventional adhesive and bonding techniques. A person of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading the Coombs Reference, would also have recognized the desirability of improved methods of bonding a plate to a flexible printed circuit board. Coombs teaches various flexible circuit board designs having a finite number of adhesive layers and bonding layers suitable for use in a hard disk drive. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have pursued the known options within his or her technical grasp and thus bond a plate reliably to a flexible printed circuit board as claimed.
Regarding Claim 6, Tokuda as modified by Coombs discloses the disk device as discussed in claim 1 but fails to disclose the disk device wherein the first bonding layer is provided over an entire area of the third surface. Coombs teaches the disk device wherein the first bonding layer is provided over an entire area of the third surface (pages 65.1-65.5, FIGURE 65.1, FIGURE 65.5 and FIGURE 65.6).
Although Coombs does not teach explicitly the specific configuration of the multiple adhesive layers and the area of bonding layers arranged in a chosen order, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try various orders, including the claimed order, using well-known and conventional adhesive and bonding techniques. A person of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading the Coombs Reference, would also have recognized the desirability of improved methods of bonding a plate to a flexible printed circuit board. Coombs teaches various flexible circuit board designs having a finite number of adhesive layers and bonding layers suitable for use in a hard disk drive. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have pursued the known options within his or her technical grasp and thus bond a plate reliably to a flexible printed circuit board as claimed.
Regarding Claim 7, Tokuda as modified by Coombs discloses the disk device as discussed in claim 6 but fails to disclose the disk device wherein the first bonding layer has a fifth surface adhering to the third surface and a sixth surface located opposite to the fifth surface, and the first adhesive adheres to an entire area of the sixth surface. Coombs teaches the disk device wherein the first bonding layer has a fifth surface adhering to the third surface and a sixth surface located opposite to the fifth surface, and the first adhesive adheres to an entire area of the sixth surface (pages 65.1-65.5, FIGURE 65.1 i.e., Adhesive Layer, FIGURE 65.5 and FIGURE 65.6).
Although Coombs does not teach explicitly the specific configuration of the multiple adhesive layers and bonding layers arranged in a chosen order, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try various orders, including the claimed order, using well-known and conventional adhesive and bonding techniques. A person of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading the Coombs Reference, would also have recognized the desirability of improved methods of bonding a plate to a flexible printed circuit board. Coombs teaches various flexible circuit board designs having a finite number of adhesive layers and bonding layers suitable for use in a hard disk drive. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have pursued the known options within his or her technical grasp and thus bond a plate reliably to a flexible printed circuit board as claimed.
Regarding Claim 8, Tokuda as modified by Coombs discloses the disk device as discussed in claim 7 but fails to disclose the disk device wherein the first adhesive fixes the entire area of the sixth surface and the flexible printed circuit board to each other. Coombs teaches the disk device wherein the first adhesive fixes the entire area of the sixth surface and the flexible printed circuit board to each other (page. 61.8, 61.4.1 Traditional Flexible Circuit Materials, i.e., adhesive layer; (pages 65.1-65.5, FIGURE 65.1 i.e., Adhesive Layer, FIGURE 65.1 and FIGURE 65.6)).
Although Coombs does not teach explicitly the specific configuration of the multiple adhesive layers and bonding layers arranged in a chosen order, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try various orders, including the claimed order, using well-known and conventional adhesive and bonding techniques. A person of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading the Coombs Reference, would also have recognized the desirability of improved methods of bonding a plate to a flexible printed circuit board. Coombs teaches various flexible circuit board designs having a finite number of adhesive layers and bonding layers suitable for use in a hard disk drive. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have pursued the known options within his or her technical grasp and thus bond a plate reliably to a flexible printed circuit board as claimed.
Regarding Claim 9, Tokuda as modified by Coombs discloses the disk device as discussed in claim 8. Tokuda further discloses the disk device wherein the third surface has a plane and a curve continuous from the plane, the flexible printed circuit board has a ground plane (Fig. 5 i.e., ground pad 71), and a part of the ground plane is provided in a part of the flexible printed circuit board fixed to the curve via the first adhesive and the first bonding layer (para. [0051] i.e., The flexible printed wiring board further includes a second conductive layer attached to the other surface of the insulating layer 62 by an adhesive layer 68 … The second conductive layer is patterned to constitute … ground pad 71; para. [0052] i.e., the pair of pads 66 are electrically connected to the ground pad 71 provided in the bonding portion 53 via a ground pattern 71 a.).
Regarding Claim 14, Tokuda as modified by Coombs discloses the disk device as discussed in claim 1 but fails to disclose the disk device wherein the first bonding layer has an organic compound and directly adheres to the third surface. Coombs teaches the disk device wherein the first bonding layer has an organic compound and directly adheres to the third surface (page 65.3,TABLE 65.1 i.e., "Bonding sheets", "Acrylic resin film", "Epoxy resin films", and "Polyimide films coated with acrylic adhesives on both sides" ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the material into the bonding layer in order to have high heat resistance and high dimensional stability to survive during several high-temperature processes(Coombs , page. 65.3).
Regarding Claim 15, Tokuda as modified by Coombs discloses the disk device as discussed in claim 1. Tokuda further discloses the disk device wherein the electronic component is a chip (para. [0043] i.e., The head IC 57 (semiconductor element) is mounted on the bonding portion 53, and the head IC 57 is connected to the connection end portion 42 and the base portion 51 via the wiring of the FPC).
Conclusion
/MICHELLE J. KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2688
/STEVEN LIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2688