DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/23/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner has considered the information disclosure statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paatero (US Patent Application Publication # 2016/0366781).
Regarding Claim 1, Paatero discloses a prefabricated alternating-current integrated power module (i.e. UPS system 10), comprising: a modular low-voltage input and bus coupling device (i.e. input/output I/O module 12), a low-voltage compensation device (i.e. battery), a maintenance bypass device (i.e. control bus provided for maintenance of the UPS module w/ bypasses & static bypasses), an uninterruptable power supply power module device (i.e. uninterrupted power supply modules 18), and an uninterruptable power supply feed device (i.e. bus connection means 38 & power connectors 40), wherein the low-voltage input and bus coupling device, the low-voltage compensation device, the maintenance bypass device, the uninterruptable power supply power module device and the uninterruptable power supply feed device are detachably connected along a horizontal direction (i.e. horizontal arrangement as shown in Fig. 1) (Fig. 1-7, 9-13; Abstract; Paragraphs 0052-0074).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paatero (US Patent Application Publication # 2016/0366781) in view of Falk (WIPO Publication # WO2022218590A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Paatero does not explicitly disclose a modular transformer device, wherein the transformer device is detachably connected with the low-voltage input and bus coupling device, the low-voltage compensation device, the maintenance bypass device, the uninterruptable power supply power module device and the uninterruptable power supply feed device along the horizontal direction.
Falk teaches a modular transformer device (i.e. one or more transformers 36), wherein the transformer device is detachably connected with the low-voltage input and bus coupling device, the low-voltage compensation device, the maintenance bypass device, the uninterruptable power supply power module device and the uninterruptable power supply feed device along the horizontal direction (Fig. 5; Paragraphs 0031, 0033, 0066, 0075; Claim 13).
Falk teaches a modular uninterruptable power supply system similar to the one disclosed by Paatero, but with a transformer included in order to step-up or step-down the voltage supplied or received while also isolating the system. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide a transformer device in the UPS system of Paatero, as taught by Falk, in order to add further functionality to the system and expanding the applications in which it could be used.
Regarding Claim 3, Paatero discloses a modular medium-voltage input switch device (i.e. switch gears), wherein the medium-voltage input switch device is detachably connected with the transformer device, the low-voltage input and bus coupling device, the low-voltage compensation device, the maintenance bypass device, the uninterruptable power supply power module device and the uninterruptable power supply feed device along the horizontal direction (Paragraphs 0013-0017, 0021-0023, 0049, 0051, 0061). Paatero teaches that the I/O frame can comprise system level hardware which may comprise switch gears and system can be configures for different voltage requirements.
Regarding Claim 4, Paatero discloses that a cabinet connection hole (i.e. connection brackets 56 and ends 32/36 are provided with holes for being connected by means of screws or bolts) is disposed on a side wall of a framework (i.e. docking frames 14/16) of each of the medium-voltage input switch device, the transformer device, the low-voltage input and bus coupling device, the low-voltage compensation device, the maintenance bypass device, the uninterruptable power supply power module device and the uninterruptable power supply feed device, for detachably connecting the medium-voltage input switch device, the transformer device, the low-voltage input and bus coupling device, the low-voltage compensation device, the maintenance bypass device, the uninterruptable power supply power module device and the uninterruptable power supply feed device with each other (Fig. 1-2, 9-11; Paragraphs 0050-0068).
Regarding Claim 5, Paatero discloses that an independent bus room (i.e. housing 34 w/ horizontal bus bars 30) is arranged in each of the medium-voltage input switch device, the transformer device, the low-voltage input and bus coupling device, the low-voltage compensation device, the maintenance bypass device, the uninterruptable power supply power module device and the uninterruptable power supply feed device, and a plurality of the bus rooms are communicated (i.e. through bus connection means 38) with each other after detachable connection (Fig. 4-7, 9-11; Paragraphs 0050-0068).
Regarding Claim 6, Paatero discloses that wherein, for the bus room (12) in which a plurality groups of buses (i.e. horizontal bus bars 30) are placed, a partition plate (i.e. removable covers 22) is arranged in the bus room for dividing the bus room into independent compartments, each for accommodating a respective one group of the plurality groups of buses (Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 0052). Frames 14/16 are internally provided with removable covers 22
Regarding Claim 7, Paatero discloses that an independent secondary circuit compartment (i.e. area below horizontal bus bars 30 where cables 42 & internal plugs 44 are located) is arranged in each of the medium-voltage input switch device, the transformer device, the low-voltage input and bus coupling device, the low-voltage compensation device, the maintenance bypass device, the uninterruptable power supply power module device and the uninterruptable power supply feed device, the secondary circuit compartment is arranged below the bus room, and a plurality of the secondary circuit compartments are communicated with each other after the detachable connection (Fig. 3-6, 9-11; Paragraphs 0058).
Regarding Claim 8, Paatero discloses an integrated module base (i.e. foot 58 & wheels 50 of docking frames 14,16), wherein more than one of the modular medium-voltage input switch device, the transformer device, the low-voltage input and bus coupling device, the low-voltage compensation device, the maintenance bypass device, the uninterruptable power supply power module device and the uninterruptable power supply feed device are detachably installed on the integrated module base (Fig. 7, 13; Paragraph 0063, 0070).
Regarding Claim 9, Paatero discloses that a bottom fixing hole (i.e. lever assembly 46 w/ guiding means) is disposed on a bottom plate of a framework of each of the medium-voltage input switch device, the transformer device, the low-voltage input and bus coupling device, the low-voltage compensation device , the maintenance bypass device, the uninterruptable power supply power module device and the uninterruptable power supply feed device, for detachably connecting the medium-voltage input switch device, the transformer device, the low-voltage input and bus coupling device, the low-voltage compensation device, the maintenance bypass device, the uninterruptable power supply power module device and the uninterruptable power supply feed device to the integrated module base (Fig. 3-4, 6, 9-11; Paragraph 0059, 0063).
Regarding Claim 10, Paatero discloses that the medium-voltage input switch device, the transformer device, the low-voltage input and bus coupling device, the low-voltage compensation device, the maintenance bypass device, the uninterruptable power supply power module device and the uninterruptable power supply feed device are arranged in sequence along the horizontal direction (Fig. 1-3).
Regarding Claim 11, Paatero does not explicitly disclose discloses that each of the medium-voltage input switch device, the transformer device, the low-voltage input and bus coupling device, the low-voltage compensation device, the maintenance bypass device, the uninterruptable power supply power module device and the uninterruptable power supply feed device is arranged with a grounding component at bottom, and a plurality of the grounding components are communicated with each other to form a grounding system after detachable connection.
Falk teaches that each of the medium-voltage input switch device, the transformer device, the low-voltage input and bus coupling device, the low-voltage compensation device, the maintenance bypass device, the uninterruptable power supply power module device and the uninterruptable power supply feed device is arranged with a grounding component (i.e. metallic cladding or metal mesh connected to ground/earth potential) at bottom, and a plurality of the grounding components are communicated with each other to form a grounding system after detachable connection (Fig 5, 8; Paragraphs 0038-0039, 0082).
Falk teaches a modular uninterruptable power supply system similar to the one disclosed by Paatero and shows that a connection to ground/earth potential. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide such a grounding component in the UPS system of Paatero, as taught by Falk, in order to properly ground the system to ensure proper functionality of said system.
Regarding Claim 12, Paatero discloses that the uninterruptable power supply feed device is arranged with an independent cable compartment (i.e. cable landings & cables 42) for cable entry and exit (Paragraph 0017, 0020, 0025, 0049, 0058).
Relevant Cited Art
The cited art in PTO-892 was found during the examiner's search, but was not relied upon for this office action. However, it is still considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure.
Conclusion
/RJA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847