Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20180345848 A1, hereinafter “Orisich”).
Regarding claim 1, Orisich discloses a method for controlling headlights of a motor vehicle, the method comprising:
operating the headlights in a low beam mode so that a low beam distribution is emitted by the headlights ([0008]);
detecting an object in front of the motor vehicle during operation in the low beam mode ([0009]); and
triggering, upon detection of the object, an automatic reduction of a light intensity distribution solely in a region of the low beam distribution, a size and position of which are a function of a distance of the motor vehicle from the object, from a position of the object, and from a width of the object ([0023], [0038], [0028]).
Regarding claim 2, Orisich discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the reduction of the light intensity distribution is triggered only when the distance of the object from the motor vehicle is less than a distance threshold value ([0039]).
Regarding claim 4, Orisich discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the light intensity of the low beam distribution outside the region is maintained substantially simultaneously with the reduction of the light intensity distribution in the region ([0033]).
Regarding claim 5, Orisich discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the reduction of the light intensity distribution is triggered only when the motor vehicle is traveling at a speed below a speed threshold or is stationary ([0032]).
Regarding claim 6, Orisich discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the low beam distribution is designed as a city low beam distribution ([0022]).
Regarding claim 7, Orisich discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein during the reduction of the light intensity distribution, the light intensity is set to a fixed value ([0009]).
Regarding claim 8, Orisich discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein during the reduction of the light intensity distribution, the light intensity in the region is controlled as a function of a brightness that is determined in the region ([0039], [0043]).
Regarding claim 11, Orisich discloses a motor vehicle that comprising at least one headlight and the control unit according to claim 10 (at least [0003]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 being unpatentable over Orisich.
Regarding claim 3, Orisich discloses the method of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose a distance threshold value.
However, determining a distance threshold for performing the method constitutes a result-effective variable, as such a parameter would have been adjusted to achieve a desired level of proximity sensitivity or operational accuracy.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select a distance threshold value, including 10 meters or less, through routine optimization.
Regarding claim 9, Orisich discloses the method according to claim 1, while not explicit with stating wherein the object includes a group of multiple motor vehicles, wherein the region includes multiple sections that are separate from one another, and one motor vehicle from the group is situated in each of the sections, similar understanding were provided ([0003]: Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) No. 108 specifies various maximum and minimum photometric intensity values (based on angle) for headlights on vehicles operated within the Unites States. In addition to these requirements, the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) has its own set of tests and ratings (Headlight Test and Rating Protocol) for headlight performance. The IIHS tests and ratings seek to encourage manufacturers to improve the illumination performance in actual on-road use. IIHS evaluations have shown that the on-road illumination provided by vehicle headlights varies widely. And the majority of headlights that IIHS has rated are poor (insufficient illumination, cause excessive glare, etc.).
However, implementing such a method using a control unit comprising memory and a processor to execute instructions constitutes well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in the field of vehicle control systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the method of Orisich using such a group of multiple motor vehicles, wherein the region includes multiple sections that are separate from one another.
Regarding claim 10, Orisich discloses controlling headlights according to the method of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose a control unit comprising a memory medium and a digital signal processing unit configured to execute stored instructions.
However, implementing such a method using a control unit comprising memory and a processor to execute instructions constitutes well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in the field of vehicle control systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the method of Orisich using such a control unit.
Conclusion
/MONICA C KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844
3/21/2026