Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/5/24, 11/25/24, 1/15/25 and 9/30/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6-8, 11 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jarvis et al., United States Patent Publication 2014/0093085 (hereinafter “Jarvis”).
Claim 1:
Jarvis discloses:
A system comprising:
an embedded computing device configured to:
cause a user interface to be displayed on a mobile device via a mobile application, the user interface showing a list of a plurality of zones and a list of a plurality of audio inputs (see paragraphs [0058] and [0060]). Jarvis teaches Controller is provided with a screen and an input interface that allows a user to interact with the controller, for example, to navigate a playlist of many multimedia items and to control operations of one or more zone players. Jarvis also teaches an IPHONE®, IPAD® or any other smart phone or network-enabled device (e.g., a networked computer such as a PC or MAC®) can also be used as a controller to interact or control zone players in a particular environment.; and
obtain a user input via the user interface, the user input indicating relationships between the plurality of audio inputs and the plurality of zones, the plurality of zones representing a plurality of physical locations, each physical location having a speaker configured to play sound (see paragraph [0058]). Jarvis teaches an application module is configured to facilitate grouping a number of selected zone players into a zone group and synchronizing the zone players for audio play back. In some embodiments, an application module is configured to control the audio sounds (e.g., volume) of the zone players in a zone group. In operation, when the microcontroller executes one or more of the application modules, the screen driver generates control signals to drive the screen to display an application specific user interface accordingly;
map the relationships between the plurality of audio inputs and the plurality of zones based on the user input (see paragraphs [0089], [0092] and [0104]). Jarvis teaches assigning audio to different zones and speakers; and
a plurality of amplifiers coupled to the embedded computing device, each amplifier of the plurality of amplifiers coupled to a different speaker (see paragraphs [0029], [0030], [0042]). Jarvis teaches speakers with built-in amplifiers being assigned to an audio source, each amplifier of the plurality of amplifiers being configured to:
obtain a portion of the plurality of audio inputs based on the relationships (see paragraph [0024]). Jarvis teaches obtain audio from an audio source based on the assigned speaker; and
provide the portion of the plurality of audio inputs to the speaker (see paragraph [0024]). Jarvis teaches providing the audio input to the speaker.
Claim 2:
Jarvis discloses:
wherein the mobile device and the embedded computing device are communicatively coupled to a server that acts as a proxy between the embedded computing device and the mobile device (see paragraphs [0036]-[0040] and [0060]). Jarvis teaches an IPHONE®, IPAD® or any other smart phone or network-enabled device (e.g., a networked computer such as a PC or MAC®) can also be used as a controller to interact or control zone players in a particular environment. The mobile device and embedded computing device are coupled and are communicatively couple to a server/network.
Claim 3:
Jarvis discloses:
wherein the server comprises one of a HyperText Transfer Protocol (HTTP) server, HyperText Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS) server, or a Websocket server (see paragraph [0039], [0040], [0048]). Jarvis teaches an internet server.
Claim 4:
Jarvis discloses:
wherein the mobile device is authorized to access the server based on an association process, wherein the association process includes the mobile device recording relationship between the embedded computing device and the mobile device in a database (see paragraphs [0039] and [0040]). Jarvis teaches the mobile device being authorized to access the server and receive audio input.
Claim 6:
Jarvis discloses:
wherein each zone of the plurality of zones is shown in the user interface according to a location of a corresponding zone of the plurality of zones (see paragraphs [0026]). Jarvis teaches the system configuration represents a home with multiple zones, though the home could have been configured with only one zone. Each zone, for example, may represent a different room or space, such as an office, bathroom, bedroom, kitchen, dining room, family room, home theater room, utility or laundry room, and patio. A zone may also include an area inside a home, building, or vehicle or outside and as such may include any spatial area.
Claim 7:
Jarvis discloses:
wherein the list of the plurality of zones includes a group of two or more zones. (see paragraphs [0026]). Jarvis teaches the system configuration represents a home with multiple zones, though the home could have been configured with only one zone. Each zone, for example, may represent a different room or space, such as an office, bathroom, bedroom, kitchen, dining room, family room, home theater room, utility or laundry room, and patio.
Claim 8:
Jarvis discloses:
wherein the embedded computing device and the mobile device are communicatively coupled to each other via a local network (see paragraph [0051] and [0060]). Jarvis teaches the embedded computing device and mobile device are couples via a local network.
Claim 11:
Jarvis discloses:
A method comprising:
displaying a user interface of a mobile application via a mobile device, the user interface showing an multi-zone audio amplifier to be associated with the mobile device (see paragraphs [0058] and [0060]). Jarvis teaches Controller is provided with a screen and an input interface that allows a user to interact with the controller, for example, to navigate a playlist of many multimedia items and to control operations of one or more zone players. Jarvis also teaches an IPHONE®, IPAD® or any other smart phone or network-enabled device (e.g., a networked computer such as a PC or MAC®) can also be used as a controller to interact or control zone players in a particular environment;
obtaining a first user input via the user interface, indicating a connection between the mobile device and the multi-zone audio amplifier is to be established (see paragraphs [0057] and [0058]). Jarvis teaches an input indicating a connection with the device and the speakers;
sending a request to connect to the multi-zone audio amplifier (see paragraphs [0057] and [0058]). Jarvis teaches an input indicating a connection with the device and the speakers;
establishing the connection between the mobile device and an embedded computing device of the multi-zone audio amplifier based on the first user input (see paragraphs [0057] and [0058]). Jarvis teaches an input connecting the device and the speakers;
displaying, on the user interface, a plurality of zones associated with the embedded computing device, the zones representing physical areas each having at least one speaker to play an output audio (see paragraph [0058]). Jarvis teaches an application module is configured to display and facilitate grouping a number of selected zone players in locations;
displaying, on the user interface, a list of available audio inputs (see paragraph [0058]). Jarvis teaches Controller 500 is provided with a screen 502 and an input interface 514 that allows a user to interact with the controller 500, for example, to navigate a playlist of many multimedia items and to control operations of one or more zone players;
obtaining a second user input, via the user interface, indicating relationships between the available audio inputs and the plurality of zones (see paragraph [0058]). Jarvis teaches an application module 512 is configured to control the audio sounds (e.g., volume) of the zone players in a zone group and playing the different audio at the particular speaker; and
mapping, based on the second user input, an audio input of the available audio inputs to a corresponding zone of the plurality of zones (see paragraph [0058]). Jarvis teaches an application module 512 is configured to control the audio sounds and mapping the outputs playing the different audio at the particular speaker.
Claim 15:
Jarvis discloses:
obtaining a third user input via the user interface to control a particular zone of the plurality of zones (see paragraph [0058]). Jarvis teaches Controller 500 is provided with a screen 502 and an input interface 514 that allows a user to interact with the controller 500, for example, to navigate a playlist of many multimedia items and to control operations of one or more zone players; and
displaying, via the user interface, a status of the particular zone, the status including one or more of: a name of the particular zone, active audio inputs associated with the particular zone, inactive audio inputs associated with the particular zone, a particular audio input from the active audio inputs being played at the particular zone, or a volume level at which the particular audio input is being played (see paragraph [0058]). Jarvis teaches an application module 512 is configured to control the audio sounds (e.g., volume) of the zone players in a zone group.
Claim 16:
Jarvis discloses:
obtaining a fourth user input via the user interface selecting a different audio input from the active audio inputs to be played at the particular zone (see paragraph [0058]). Jarvis teaches Controller 500 is provided with a screen 502 and an input interface 514 that allows a user to interact with the controller 500, for example, to navigate a playlist of many multimedia items and to control operations of one or more zone players; and
playing the different audio input at the particular zone via a particular speaker associated with the particular zone (see paragraph [0058]). Jarvis teaches an application module 512 is configured to control the audio sounds (e.g., volume) of the zone players in a zone group and playing the different audio at the particular speaker.
Claim 17:
Jarvis discloses:
obtaining a fifth user input via the user interface indicating that two zones of the plurality of zones are to be grouped (see paragraph [0058]). Jarvis teaches an application module 512 is configured to facilitate grouping a number of selected zone players into a zone group and synchronizing the zone players for audio play back;
grouping the two zones as an audio group (see paragraph [0058]). Jarvis teaches an application module 512 is configured to facilitate grouping a number of selected zone players into a zone group and synchronizing the zone players for audio play back;
displaying a status of the audio group, the status including a list of the two zones (see paragraph [0058]). Jarvis teaches an application module 512 is configured to display and control the audio sounds (e.g., volume) of the zone players in a zone group; and
a general audio input available to the audio group, wherein the general audio input is able to be mapped to either of the two zones of the audio group (see paragraph [0058]). Jarvis teaches In some embodiments, an application module 512 is configured to facilitate grouping a number of selected zone players into a zone group and synchronizing the zone players for audio play back. In some embodiments, an application module 512 is configured to control the audio sounds (e.g., volume) of the zone players in a zone group;
obtaining a sixth user input via the user interface assigning the general audio input to one or both of the two zones of the audio group (see paragraph [0058]). Jarvis teaches In some embodiments, an application module is able to navigate a playlist of many multimedia items and to control operations of one or more zone players and synchronizing the zone players for audio play back. In some embodiments, an application module 512 is configured to control the audio sounds (e.g., volume) of the zone players in a zone group; and
assigning the general audio input to the one or both of the two zones of the audio group based on the sixth user input (see paragraph [0058]). Jarvis teaches In some embodiments, an application module is able to navigate a playlist of many multimedia items and to control operations of one or more zone players and synchronizing the zone players for audio play back. In some embodiments, an application module 512 is configured to control the audio sounds (e.g., volume) of the zone players in a zone group.
Claim 18:
Jarvis discloses:
A method comprising:
obtaining, at an embedded computing device of a multi-zone amplifier, a request to connect to the multi-zone amplifier from a mobile device, the request for a connection generated based on a first user input obtained via a user interface of a mobile application via the mobile device (see paragraphs [0057]-[0060]). Jarvis teaches an input indicating a connection with the device and the speakers. Jarvis teaches Controller is provided with a screen and an input interface that allows a user to interact with the controller, for example, to navigate a playlist of many multimedia items and to control operations of one or more zone players. Jarvis also teaches an IPHONE®, IPAD® or any other smart phone or network-enabled device (e.g., a networked computer such as a PC or MAC®) can also be used as a controller to interact or control zone players in a particular environment;
establishing the connection between the mobile device and the embedded computing device (see paragraphs [0057] and [0058]). Jarvis teaches an input connecting the device and the speakers;
causing to display, on the user interface, a list of a plurality of zones associated with the embedded computing system, the zones representing physical areas each having at least one speaker to play an output audio (see paragraph [0058]). Jarvis teaches an application module is configured to display and facilitate grouping a number of selected zone players in locations;
causing to display, on the user interface, a list of available audio inputs, the available audio inputs representing audio data obtained from an audio source (see paragraph [0058]). Jarvis teaches Controller 500 is provided with a screen 502 and an input interface 514 that allows a user to interact with the controller 500, for example, to navigate a playlist of many multimedia items and to control operations of one or more zone players;
obtaining a second user input, via the user interface of the mobile application, indicating relationships between the available audio inputs and the plurality of zones (see paragraph [0058]). Jarvis teaches an application module 512 is configured to control the audio sounds (e.g., volume) of the zone players in a zone group and playing the different audio at the particular speaker; and
mapping, based on the second user input, an audio input of the available audio inputs to a corresponding zone of the plurality of zones (see paragraph [0058]). Jarvis teaches an application module 512 is configured to control the audio sounds and mapping the outputs playing the different audio at the particular speaker.
Claim 19:
Jarvis discloses:
obtaining a third user input via the user interface to control a particular zone of the plurality of zones (see paragraph [0058]). Jarvis teaches Controller 500 is provided with a screen 502 and an input interface 514 that allows a user to interact with the controller 500, for example, to navigate a playlist of many multimedia items and to control operations of one or more zone players; and
causing to display, via the user interface, a status of the particular zone, the status including one or more of: a name of the particular zone, active audio inputs associated with the particular zone, inactive audio inputs associated with the particular zone, a particular audio input from the active audio inputs being played at the particular zone, or a volume level at which the particular audio input is being played (see paragraph [0058]). Jarvis teaches an application module 512 is configured to control the audio sounds (e.g., volume) of the zone players in a zone group.
Claim 20:
Jarvis discloses:
obtaining a fourth user input via the user interface selecting a different audio input from the active audio inputs to be played at the particular zone (see paragraph [0058]). Jarvis teaches Controller 500 is provided with a screen 502 and an input interface 514 that allows a user to interact with the controller 500, for example, to navigate a playlist of many multimedia items and to control operations of one or more zone players; and
playing the different audio input at the particular zone via a particular speaker associated with the particular zone (see paragraph [0058]). Jarvis teaches an application module 512 is configured to control the audio sounds (e.g., volume) of the zone players in a zone group and playing the different audio at the particular speaker.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarvis, in view of Baldwin et al., United States Patent Publication 2017/0180915 (hereinafter “Adhikari”).
Claim 5:
Jarvis fails to expressly disclose a threshold number of mobile device to be paired with.
Baldwin discloses:
wherein the embedded computing device is configured to be associated with a threshold number of mobile devices (see paragraph [0105]). Baldwin teaches the embedded computing device is associated with a threshold number of mobile devices to avoid misuse.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Jarvis to include pairing with a threshold number of mobile devices for the purpose of avoiding connection misuse, as taught by Baldwin.
Claims 9, 10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarvis, in view of Adhikari et al., United States Patent Publication 2017/0180915 (hereinafter “Adhikari”).
Claim 9:
Jarvis fails to expressly disclose Bluetooth connection and security credentials.
Adhikari discloses:
wherein the mobile device provides security credentials for the local network to the embedded computing device via a Bluetooth network (see paragraphs [0014] and [0021]). Adhikari teaches providing security credentials for the local network via Bluetooth.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Jarvis to include providing credentials for the purpose of providing efficiently providing a secure connection, as taught by Adhikari.
Claim 10:
Jarvis discloses:
wherein the mobile device and the embedded computing device establish an initial connection with the embedded computing device as a Wi-Fi access point (see paragraphs [0039], [0040] and [0052]). Jarvis teaches establishing a wireless connection through wi-fi.
Jarvis fails to expressly disclose security credentials.
Adhikari discloses:
wherein the mobile device and the embedded computing device establish an initial connection with the embedded computing device as a Wi-Fi access point, wherein the mobile device provides security credentials for the local network to the embedded computing device via the initial connection (see paragraphs [0014] and [0021]). Adhikari teaches providing security credentials for the local network via Wi-Fi.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Jarvis to include providing credentials for the purpose of providing efficiently providing a secure connection, as taught by Adhikari.
Claim 12:
Jarvis fails to expressly disclose security credentials.
Adhikari discloses:
wherein the connection between the mobile device and the embedded computing device is established over a local network using network credentials sent from the mobile device to the embedded computing device (see paragraphs [0014] and [0021]). Adhikari teaches providing security credentials for the local network.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Jarvis to include providing credentials for the purpose of providing efficiently providing a secure connection, as taught by Adhikari.
Claim 13, 14:
Jarvis fails to expressly disclose Bluetooth/ connection.
Adhikari discloses:
wherein the establishing the connection between the mobile device and the multi-zone audio amplifier comprises:
establishing an initial connection between the mobile device and the embedded computing device via a Bluetooth/Wi-Fi connection (see paragraphs [0014] and [0021]). Adhikari teaches establishing a connection;
sending, to the embedded computing device via the initial connection, a first message including an identifier of the local network for the connection; and providing, by the mobile device, a second message to the embedded computing device including the network credentials for the local network (see paragraph [0021]). Adhikari teaches Once in contact with or in close proximity to the NFC case 14 or NFC-capable mobile device 12, the Connector Pad 16 uses NFC technology to connect to the mobile device, pairing each with the other. Once paired, which happens automatically and very quickly, the Connector Pad 16 immediately uses its Bluetooth mode to communicate wirelessly with the associated speaker or speakers 18. The Connector Pad 16 thus facilitates the handshake between the mobile device and the associated speaker(s) 18, makes sure all past memory information is purged, and assures the ongoing communication between the two devices 10 or 12 and 18. .
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Jarvis to include providing credentials for the purpose of providing efficiently providing a secure connection, as taught by Adhikari.
Pertinent Art
20180077491 – teaches the assigning of audio inputs to speakers but not the user in a user interface.
Conclusion
/TIONNA M BURKE/Examiner, Art Unit 2178 9/28/26