DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
3. Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
MPEP 2106 III provides a flowchart for the subject matter eligibility test for product and processes. The claim analysis following the flowchart is as follows:
Regarding Claim 1:
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes. Claim 1 recites a method, which is a process.
Step 2A, Prong One: Does the claim recites an abstract idea, law of nature, or nature phenomenon?
Yes. Claim 1 recites A method of providing map enrichment with crowdsourced imagery and programmable functionality through a map services platform, the method comprising:
receiving imagery from a plurality of contributors;
generating one or more map layers utilizing the imagery; and
providing a map including the one or more map layers to a user interface.
Providing map enrichment with crowdsourced imagery and programmable functionality through a map services platform, receiving imagery from a plurality of contributors, generating one or more map layers utilizing the imagery are just mental processes and/or mathematical relationships and calculations. Merely generating a map from user contributed images is a mental process and using said map to provide a programmable functionality such as finding data within the map is also a mental process/mathematical relationship and calculation. Providing a map including the one or more map layers to a user interface is just simple data transmission.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No. Merely enriching/generating one or more map layers with user contributed imagery and providing the one or more map layers as a map to another user interface does not transform the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No. As discussed above providing the one or more map layers as a map to another user interface does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea since providing a map with one or more map layers is simple data transmission.
Therefore, claim 1 is not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Regarding claim 2, it depends from claim 1 with additional limitation
wherein the imagery includes still imagery and video imagery which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Therefore, claim 2 is not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Regarding claim 3, it depends from claim 1 with additional limitation wherein the one or more map layers include an aerial layer and a street-level map layer which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Therefore, claim 3 is not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Regarding Clam 4, it depends from claim 3 with additional limitation wherein the aerial map layer includes imagery captured by one or more drones of one or more contributors which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Therefore, claim 4 is not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Regarding Clam 5, it depends from claim 3 with additional limitation wherein the street-level map layer includes imagery captured by one or more dashboard cameras of one or more contributors which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Therefore, claim 5 is not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Regarding Clam 6, it depends from claim 5 with additional limitation wherein the street-level map layer includes imagery captured by a mobile device of one or more contributors which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Therefore, claim 6 is not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Regarding Clam 7, it depends from claim 1 with additional limitation wherein the imagery is associated with GPS coordinates, and wherein the one or more map layers are generated using the GPS coordinates of the imagery which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Therefore, claim 7 is not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Regarding Clam 8, it depends from claim 1 with additional limitation providing a script console for a map script execution engine; receiving a user-defined map script via the script console; and executing the user-defined script on a map
which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, as these are just additional mathematical concepts and calculations.
Therefore, claim 8 is not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Regarding clam 9, it depends from claim 1 with additional limitation receiving a natural language query via a user interface; generating a programmed map based on the natural language query; and providing a natural language response to the natural language query in association with a link to the programmed map which does amount to a practical application by responding in natural language to natural language queries and generating a link to a generated programmed map associated with the natural language query response. Therefore, claim 9 is eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim 10 depends from claim 9 and is eligible under 35 USC 101 as well.
Claims 11-20 recite similar limitations discussed above with respect to claims 1-10 respectively but with additional elements of system with servers and map databases. Using a system of servers to store the data for providing map enrichment with crowdsourced imagery and programmable functionality through a map service platform does not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application or amount to significantly more. (see MPEP 2106.05 (a), (b), and (f)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-3 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Decrop et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0099454 A1).
5. Regarding Claim 1, Decorp discloses A method (Abstract reciting “Embodiments of the present invention provide methods, computer program products, and systems. …”) of providing map enrichment with crowdsourced imagery (paragraph [0023] reciting “Finally, received information can also include user-generated content associated with the location as well as publicly available content. Specifically, received information can include one or more images associated with a location from one or more multiple perspectives and respective points in time. For example, user-generated content associated with a location can include multiple perspectives (e.g., different angles of the same location depicting multiple points of entry and multiple street views) at different points in time (e.g., during the day or night time).”) and programmable functionality (paragraph [0021] reciting “In this embodiment, received information refers generally to a received request to navigate to an intended location. …”) through a map services platform, (see FIG. 1 wherein server computer corresponds to a map service platform.) the method comprising:
receiving imagery from a plurality of contributors; (paragraph [0003] reciting “… In general, mapping services can offer a “top-down” or bird's-eye view and can include high-resolution imagery of cities that is collected by aerial photography taken from aircraft flying. …”;
paragraph [0024] reciting “Content can include one or more textual information, pictorial, audio, visual, and graphic information. Content can also include one or more files and extensions (e.g., file extensions such as .doc, .docx, .odt, .pdf, .rtf.txt, .wpd, etc. Content can further include audio (e.g., .m4a, .flac, .mp3, .mp4, .wave .wma, etc.) and visual/images (e.g., .jpeg, .tiff, .bmp, .pdf, .gif etc.).”; paragraph [0023] reciting “Finally, received information can also include user-generated content associated with the location as well as publicly available content. …” The imageries are collected by street view devices or from flying aircrafts and used to generate street view or top-down view.) generating one or more map layers utilizing the imagery; (paragraph [0003] reciting “… In general, mapping services can offer a “top-down” or bird's-eye view and can include high-resolution imagery of cities that is collected by aerial photography taken from aircraft flying. …”;
paragraph [0023] reciting “… For example, user-generated content associated with a location can include multiple perspectives (e.g., different angles of the same location depicting multiple points of entry and multiple street views) at different points in time (e.g., during the day or night time).
paragraph [0024] reciting “Content can include one or more textual information, pictorial, audio, visual, and graphic information. Content can also include one or more files and extensions (e.g., file extensions such as .doc, .docx, .odt, .pdf, .rtf.txt, .wpd, etc. Content can further include audio (e.g., .m4a, .flac, .mp3, .mp4, .wave .wma, etc.) and visual/images (e.g., .jpeg, .tiff, .bmp, .pdf, .gif etc.).” The one or more layers include an aerial top-down view layer and a street-view layer.)
The limitation and providing a map including the one or more map layers to a user interface is obvious in view of Decrop in combination with its Background teachings. Decrop discloses at FIG. 4B the street view layer and the top-down view both displayed simultaneously in the display device. However, nothing in the Specification of Decrop suggests that the top-down map in FIG. 4B is a layer generated using captured imagery. However, the embodiment of FIG. 4B can be modified by the Background of Decrop which discloses “In some instances, mapping services can include crowdsourced contributions. In general, mapping services can offer a “top-down” or bird's-eye view and can include high-resolution imagery of cities that is collected by aerial photography taken from aircraft flying.” The top-down view can be generated from photographs taken by flying aircrafts. To a person of ordinary skills in the art, this is an obvious modification since FIG. 4B can have the top-down map be generate from aircraft photographs since they show a more realistic top-down map.
6. Regarding Claim 2, Decrop further discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the imagery includes still imagery and video imagery. (paragraph [0024] reciting “Content can include one or more textual information, pictorial, audio, visual, and graphic information. Content can also include one or more files and extensions (e.g., file extensions such as .doc, .docx, .odt, .pdf, .rtf.txt, .wpd, etc. Content can further include audio (e.g., .m4a, .flac, .mp3, .mp4, .wave .wma, etc.) and visual/images (e.g., .jpeg, .tiff, .bmp, .pdf, .gif etc.).”
7. Regarding Claim 3, Decrop further discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more map layers include an aerial layer and a street-level map layer. (see FIG. 4B wherein the aerial map and street level maps are displayed together.)
8. Regarding Claim 11, Decorp discloses A system for (Abstract reciting “Embodiments of the present invention provide methods, computer program products, and systems. …”) providing map enrichment with crowdsourced imagery (paragraph [0023] reciting “Finally, received information can also include user-generated content associated with the location as well as publicly available content. Specifically, received information can include one or more images associated with a location from one or more multiple perspectives and respective points in time. For example, user-generated content associated with a location can include multiple perspectives (e.g., different angles of the same location depicting multiple points of entry and multiple street views) at different points in time (e.g., during the day or night time).”) and programmable functionality (paragraph [0021] reciting “In this embodiment, received information refers generally to a received request to navigate to an intended location. …”) through a map services platform, (see FIG. 1 wherein server computer corresponds to a map service platform.) the map services platform comprising:
one or more map servers; , (see FIG. 1 wherein server computer corresponds to a map service platform.) and one or more map databases; (paragraph [0031] reciting “Database 112 stores received information and can be representative of one or more databases that give permissioned access to navigation image generator 110 or publicly available databases. …”)
wherein the one or more servers are configured to: receive imagery from a plurality of contributors; (paragraph [0003] reciting “… In general, mapping services can offer a “top-down” or bird's-eye view and can include high-resolution imagery of cities that is collected by aerial photography taken from aircraft flying. …”;
paragraph [0024] reciting “Content can include one or more textual information, pictorial, audio, visual, and graphic information. Content can also include one or more files and extensions (e.g., file extensions such as .doc, .docx, .odt, .pdf, .rtf.txt, .wpd, etc. Content can further include audio (e.g., .m4a, .flac, .mp3, .mp4, .wave .wma, etc.) and visual/images (e.g., .jpeg, .tiff, .bmp, .pdf, .gif etc.).”; paragraph [0023] reciting “Finally, received information can also include user-generated content associated with the location as well as publicly available content. …” The imageries are collected by street view devices or from flying aircrafts and used to generate street view or top-down view.)
generate one or more map layers utilizing the imagery; (paragraph [0003] reciting “… In general, mapping services can offer a “top-down” or bird's-eye view and can include high-resolution imagery of cities that is collected by aerial photography taken from aircraft flying. …”;
paragraph [0023] reciting “… For example, user-generated content associated with a location can include multiple perspectives (e.g., different angles of the same location depicting multiple points of entry and multiple street views) at different points in time (e.g., during the day or night time).
paragraph [0024] reciting “Content can include one or more textual information, pictorial, audio, visual, and graphic information. Content can also include one or more files and extensions (e.g., file extensions such as .doc, .docx, .odt, .pdf, .rtf.txt, .wpd, etc. Content can further include audio (e.g., .m4a, .flac, .mp3, .mp4, .wave .wma, etc.) and visual/images (e.g., .jpeg, .tiff, .bmp, .pdf, .gif etc.).” The one or more layers include an aerial top-down view layer and a street-view layer.)
The limitation and provide a map including the one or more map layers to a user interface. is obvious in view of Decrop in combination with its Background teachings. Decrop discloses at FIG. 4B the street view layer and the top-down view both displayed simultaneously in the display device. However, nothing in the Specification of Decrop suggests that the top-down map in FIG. 4B is a layer generated using captured imagery. However, the embodiment of FIG. 4B can be modified by the Background of Decrop which discloses “In some instances, mapping services can include crowdsourced contributions. In general, mapping services can offer a “top-down” or bird's-eye view and can include high-resolution imagery of cities that is collected by aerial photography taken from aircraft flying.” The top-down view can be generated from photographs taken by flying aircrafts. To a person of ordinary skills in the art, this is an obvious modification since FIG. 4B can have the top-down map be generate from aircraft photographs since they show a more realistic top-down map.
9. Regarding Claim 12, Decrop further discloses The system of claim 11, wherein the imagery includes still imagery and video imagery. (paragraph [0024] reciting “Content can include one or more textual information, pictorial, audio, visual, and graphic information. Content can also include one or more files and extensions (e.g., file extensions such as .doc, .docx, .odt, .pdf, .rtf.txt, .wpd, etc. Content can further include audio (e.g., .m4a, .flac, .mp3, .mp4, .wave .wma, etc.) and visual/images (e.g., .jpeg, .tiff, .bmp, .pdf, .gif etc.).”
10. Regarding Claim 13, Decrop further discloses The system of claim 11, wherein the one or more map layers include an aerial layer and a street-level map layer. (see FIG. 4B wherein the aerial map and street level maps are displayed together.)
11. Claims 4-6 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Decrop in view of Ning Xia (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0301883 A1).
12. Regarding Claim 4, while Decrop does not explicitly disclose, Xia discloses The method of claim 3, wherein the aerial map layer includes imagery captured by one or more drones of one or more contributors. (paragraph [0020] reciting “The plurality of top view images stored in the image databases 250 are aerial images. The aerial images may be 2D images, 3D images or a combination thereof. The aerial images may be one or a combination of digital photographs captured with a digital camera, LIDAR images captured with a LIDAR unit, or SAR images captured with a SAR unit carried by the satellites, planes, aerial drones or other suitable means. The aerial images are images captured by satellites, planes, aerial drones or other suitable means, or a combination thereof. The image resources may be unconventional in that the images are captured inside parking garages, bridges, tunnels or other areas where planes and conventional equipment for acquiring aerial images cannot travel. Such images may be acquired by crowdsourcing to user's aerial drones or the like.”)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Decrop with Xia so that crowdsources images can be obtained from dashboard cameras. This is an obviously beneficial modification since Decrop already discloses users contributing images and videos and the dashboard camera is a convenient manner in which such images and videos can be captured and delivered to the crowdsourced map.
13. Regarding Claim 5, while Decrop does not explicitly disclose, Xia discloses The method of claim 3, wherein the street-level map layer includes imagery captured by one or more dashboard cameras of one or more contributors. (paragraph [0062] reciting “In some implementations, the map-service provider receives data from the one or more data collectors through crowdsourcing. In some implementations, each data collector is a member of the public or a member of a group. In some implementations, data collectors can use GPS, a car dashboard camera, mobile computing device, or a drone to collect the data.”)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Decrop with Xia so that crowdsources images can be obtained from dashboard cameras. This is an obviously beneficial modification since Decrop already discloses users contributing images and videos and the dashboard camera is a convenient manner in which such images and videos can be captured and delivered to the crowdsourced map.
14. Regarding Claim 6, Xia further discloses The method of claim 5, wherein the street-level map layer includes imagery captured by a mobile device of one or more contributors. (paragraph [0062] reciting “In some implementations, the map-service provider receives data from the one or more data collectors through crowdsourcing. In some implementations, each data collector is a member of the public or a member of a group. In some implementations, data collectors can use GPS, a car dashboard camera, mobile computing device, or a drone to collect the data.”)
15. Regarding Claim 14, while Decrop does not explicitly disclose, Xia discloses The system of claim 13, wherein the aerial map layer includes imagery captured by one or more drones of one or more contributors. (paragraph [0020] reciting “The plurality of top view images stored in the image databases 250 are aerial images. The aerial images may be 2D images, 3D images or a combination thereof. The aerial images may be one or a combination of digital photographs captured with a digital camera, LIDAR images captured with a LIDAR unit, or SAR images captured with a SAR unit carried by the satellites, planes, aerial drones or other suitable means. The aerial images are images captured by satellites, planes, aerial drones or other suitable means, or a combination thereof. The image resources may be unconventional in that the images are captured inside parking garages, bridges, tunnels or other areas where planes and conventional equipment for acquiring aerial images cannot travel. Such images may be acquired by crowdsourcing to user's aerial drones or the like.”)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Decrop with Xia so that crowdsources images can be obtained from dashboard cameras. This is an obviously beneficial modification since Decrop already discloses users contributing images and videos and the dashboard camera is a convenient manner in which such images and videos can be captured and delivered to the crowdsourced map.
16. Regarding Claim 15, while Decrop does not explicitly disclose, Xia discloses The system of claim 13, wherein the street-level map layer includes imagery captured by one or more dashboard cameras of one or more contributors. (paragraph [0062] reciting “In some implementations, the map-service provider receives data from the one or more data collectors through crowdsourcing. In some implementations, each data collector is a member of the public or a member of a group. In some implementations, data collectors can use GPS, a car dashboard camera, mobile computing device, or a drone to collect the data.”)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Decrop with Xia so that crowdsources images can be obtained from dashboard cameras. This is an obviously beneficial modification since Decrop already discloses users contributing images and videos and the dashboard camera is a convenient manner in which such images and videos can be captured and delivered to the crowdsourced map.
17. Regarding Claim 16, Xia further discloses The system of claim 15, wherein the street-level map layer includes imagery captured by a mobile device of one or more contributors. (paragraph [0062] reciting “In some implementations, the map-service provider receives data from the one or more data collectors through crowdsourcing. In some implementations, each data collector is a member of the public or a member of a group. In some implementations, data collectors can use GPS, a car dashboard camera, mobile computing device, or a drone to collect the data.”)
18. Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Decrop in view of Amos Cohen (US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0124293 A1).
19. Regarding Claim 7, while Decrop does not explicitly disclose, Cohen discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the imagery is associated with GPS coordinates, and wherein the one or more map layers are generated using the GPS coordinates of the imagery. (paragraph [0025] reciting “In accordance with another disclosed embodiment, a system for crowd-sourced generation of a street view map using image data aggregated from a plurality of image sensors embedded in edges of mobile phones is provided. The system may include at least one processor configured to: maintain a street view map of a geographical area, wherein GPS coordinates are associated with locations on the street view map; receive from the plurality of image sensors embedded in edges of a plurality mobile phones of a plurality of users, street view images; receive from each of the plurality of mobile phones a GPS location associated with each of the received street view images; and update the street view map with received street view images from the plurality of image sensors when GPS locations associated with received street view images correspond to GPS locations on the street view map.”)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Decrop with Cohen so that crowdsources street view images are generated from user captured images and pieced together using GPS coordinates. This is an obviously beneficial modification since it allows for the accurate generation of the crowdsourced maps by relying on the the GPS data associate with each image.
20. Regarding Claim 17, while Decrop does not explicitly disclose, Cohen discloses The system of claim 11, wherein the imagery is associated with GPS coordinates, and wherein the one or more map layers are generated using the GPS coordinates of the imagery. (paragraph [0025] reciting “In accordance with another disclosed embodiment, a system for crowd-sourced generation of a street view map using image data aggregated from a plurality of image sensors embedded in edges of mobile phones is provided. The system may include at least one processor configured to: maintain a street view map of a geographical area, wherein GPS coordinates are associated with locations on the street view map; receive from the plurality of image sensors embedded in edges of a plurality mobile phones of a plurality of users, street view images; receive from each of the plurality of mobile phones a GPS location associated with each of the received street view images; and update the street view map with received street view images from the plurality of image sensors when GPS locations associated with received street view images correspond to GPS locations on the street view map.”)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Decrop with Cohen so that crowdsources street view images are generated from user captured images and pieced together using GPS coordinates. This is an obviously beneficial modification since it allows for the accurate generation of the crowdsourced maps by relying on the the GPS data associate with each image.
21. Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Decrop in view of Kreisel et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0057969 A1).
22. Regarding Claim 8, while Decrop does not explicitly disclose, Kreisel discloses The method of claim 1 further comprising: providing a script console for a map script execution engine; receiving a user-defined map script via the script console; and executing the user-defined script on a map. (paragraph [0035] reciting “As described above, in some embodiments, customized rendering scripting code is also generated by the central host component and provided to the iframe of the client via the proxy in response to the client being authenticated. In some embodiments, the customized rendering script comprises code used to render the display of the iframe. As one example, the customized rendering code includes a combination of javascript and html as well as any licenses/keys that may be required to fetch the API (application programming interface) for a third party engine (e.g., API of mapping engine). In some embodiments, the customized rendering code is a mashup that includes custom code for combining and utilizing various API functions and elements (e.g., for making requests to a third party engine) to produce particular results. Thus, when the script is received by the iframe via the proxy and executed, an additional UI component can be rendered and initialized in the iframe of the client, allowing the client to interact with a custom service/application that is supported by a third party engine (e.g., mapping technology of Google Maps™ that is accessible via API calls). In some embodiments, the customized rendering script is obfuscated prior to being sent to the client to prevent the script from being read by an entity not authorized to receive and execute the script. In some embodiments, the customized rendering script includes the location of the hidden inbox/outbox of the parent frame from which the external service was invoked/requested, allowing for results from the third party engine to be communicated to the parent frame. …”)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Decrop with Kreisel so that the crowdsourced map can be accessed and modified using scripts. This allows the map to be manipulated using the script which automates and facilitates manipulation of the generated map thereby simplifying user usage.
23. Regarding Claim 18, while Decrop does not explicitly disclose, Kreisel discloses The system of claim 11, wherein the one or more servers are further configured to: provide a script console for a map script execution engine; receive a user-defined map script via the script console; and execute the user-defined script on a map. (paragraph [0035] reciting “As described above, in some embodiments, customized rendering scripting code is also generated by the central host component and provided to the iframe of the client via the proxy in response to the client being authenticated. In some embodiments, the customized rendering script comprises code used to render the display of the iframe. As one example, the customized rendering code includes a combination of javascript and html as well as any licenses/keys that may be required to fetch the API (application programming interface) for a third party engine (e.g., API of mapping engine). In some embodiments, the customized rendering code is a mashup that includes custom code for combining and utilizing various API functions and elements (e.g., for making requests to a third party engine) to produce particular results. Thus, when the script is received by the iframe via the proxy and executed, an additional UI component can be rendered and initialized in the iframe of the client, allowing the client to interact with a custom service/application that is supported by a third party engine (e.g., mapping technology of Google Maps™ that is accessible via API calls). In some embodiments, the customized rendering script is obfuscated prior to being sent to the client to prevent the script from being read by an entity not authorized to receive and execute the script. In some embodiments, the customized rendering script includes the location of the hidden inbox/outbox of the parent frame from which the external service was invoked/requested, allowing for results from the third party engine to be communicated to the parent frame. …”)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Decrop with Kreisel so that the crowdsourced map can be accessed and modified using scripts. This allows the map to be manipulated using the script which automates and facilitates manipulation of the generated map thereby simplifying user usage.
24. Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Decrop in view of Georgeta Popa et al. (US Patent No. 10,749,823 B1).
25. Regarding Claim 9, while Decrop does not explicitly disclose, Popa discloses The method of claim 1 further comprising: receiving a natural language query via a user interface; (see FIG. 7 wherein a chatbot in figure 700 requires natural languages via a user interface.) generating a programmed map based on the natural language query; (col. 7, lines 17-37 reciting “Processing begins at operation S255, where the end user at client sub-system 104 starts up the geospatial chatbot. In this example, the geospatial chatbot is speech based only, meaning that the chat text does not appear on the display. Alternatively or additionally, and as will be discussed in the following sub-section of this Detailed Description section, the geospatial chatbot can be text based (for example, the user would enter natural language text through a keyboard and the text of the geospatial chatbot chat would appear in a chat window. In this example, the initial map display, shown by screen shot 400 a of FIG. 4A, is the ancient city of Timbuktu in the nation of Mali, 20 kilometers north of the Niger River. In this example, this area shown by the first map display is a first geospatial area. More specifically, at operation S255, assemble/deliver map display data set module (“mod”) 310: (i) receives geographical data from geo info server 106 through communication network 114 (see FIG. 1; (ii) assembles a first map display data set (corresponding to the display of screen shot 400 a); and (iii) delivers the first map display data set to client sub-system 104 for display at client sub-system 104.” The assembly map corresponds to the programmed map that’s generated from the natural language query.)
and providing a natural language response to the natural language query (see FIG. 7 wherein a chatbot in figure 700 responds in natural language to the natural language query.) in association with a link to the programmed map. (col. 7, lines 17-37 reciting “Processing begins at operation S255, where the end user at client sub-system 104 starts up the geospatial chatbot. In this example, the geospatial chatbot is speech based only, meaning that the chat text does not appear on the display. Alternatively or additionally, and as will be discussed in the following sub-section of this Detailed Description section, the geospatial chatbot can be text based (for example, the user would enter natural language text through a keyboard and the text of the geospatial chatbot chat would appear in a chat window. In this example, the initial map display, shown by screen shot 400 a of FIG. 4A, is the ancient city of Timbuktu in the nation of Mali, 20 kilometers north of the Niger River. In this example, this area shown by the first map display is a first geospatial area. More specifically, at operation S255, assemble/deliver map display data set module (“mod”) 310: (i) receives geographical data from geo info server 106 through communication network 114 (see FIG. 1; (ii) assembles a first map display data set (corresponding to the display of screen shot 400 a); and (iii) delivers the first map display data set to client sub-system 104 for display at client sub-system 104.”
The delivery of the map data set to a client sub-system for display corresponds to a link to that programmed map.)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Decrop with Popa so that a map can be queried using natural language with responses in natural language and with map information relating to the query being assembled and delivered to the device for display. This is an obviously beneficial modification since Decrop is concerned with generating map for querying and Popa provides the details to carry out the querying.
26. Regarding Claim 19, while Decrop does not explicitly disclose, Popa discloses The system of claim 11, wherein the one or more servers are further configured to: receive a natural language query via a user interface; (see FIG. 7 wherein a chatbot in figure 700 requires natural languages via a user interface.) generate a programmed map based on the natural language query; (col. 7, lines 17-37 reciting “Processing begins at operation S255, where the end user at client sub-system 104 starts up the geospatial chatbot. In this example, the geospatial chatbot is speech based only, meaning that the chat text does not appear on the display. Alternatively or additionally, and as will be discussed in the following sub-section of this Detailed Description section, the geospatial chatbot can be text based (for example, the user would enter natural language text through a keyboard and the text of the geospatial chatbot chat would appear in a chat window. In this example, the initial map display, shown by screen shot 400 a of FIG. 4A, is the ancient city of Timbuktu in the nation of Mali, 20 kilometers north of the Niger River. In this example, this area shown by the first map display is a first geospatial area. More specifically, at operation S255, assemble/deliver map display data set module (“mod”) 310: (i) receives geographical data from geo info server 106 through communication network 114 (see FIG. 1; (ii) assembles a first map display data set (corresponding to the display of screen shot 400 a); and (iii) delivers the first map display data set to client sub-system 104 for display at client sub-system 104.” The assembly map corresponds to the programmed map that’s generated from the natural language query.)
and provide a natural language response to the natural language query in (see FIG. 7 wherein a chatbot in figure 700 responds in natural language to the natural language query.) association with a link to the programmed map. (col. 7, lines 17-37 reciting “Processing begins at operation S255, where the end user at client sub-system 104 starts up the geospatial chatbot. In this example, the geospatial chatbot is speech based only, meaning that the chat text does not appear on the display. Alternatively or additionally, and as will be discussed in the following sub-section of this Detailed Description section, the geospatial chatbot can be text based (for example, the user would enter natural language text through a keyboard and the text of the geospatial chatbot chat would appear in a chat window. In this example, the initial map display, shown by screen shot 400 a of FIG. 4A, is the ancient city of Timbuktu in the nation of Mali, 20 kilometers north of the Niger River. In this example, this area shown by the first map display is a first geospatial area. More specifically, at operation S255, assemble/deliver map display data set module (“mod”) 310: (i) receives geographical data from geo info server 106 through communication network 114 (see FIG. 1; (ii) assembles a first map display data set (corresponding to the display of screen shot 400 a); and (iii) delivers the first map display data set to client sub-system 104 for display at client sub-system 104.”
The delivery of the map data set to a client sub-system for display corresponds to a link to that programmed map.)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Decrop with Popa so that a map can be queried using natural language with responses in natural language and with map information relating to the query being assembled and delivered to the device for display. This is an obviously beneficial modification since Decrop is concerned with generating map for querying and Popa provides the details to carry out the querying.
Allowable Subject Matter
27. Claims 10 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including ALL of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
28. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 10 recites the limitation wherein the programmed map is generated by generating a structured query from the natural language query, generating a map script based on results of the structure query from map database, and executing the map script on a map which is neither disclosed nor suggested by the cited references, either singly or in combination.
29. Claim 20 recites the limitation wherein the programmed map is generated by generating a structured query from the natural language query, generating a map script based on results of the structure query from map database, and executing the map script on a map which is neither disclosed nor suggested by the cited references, either singly or in combination.
CONTACT
/FRANK S CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611