DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: appears to be a grammatical error “potion” appears to be intended as “portion”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 9-10, 12, & 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kimura et al. (JP 2003318407A) [Hereinafter Kimura].
Regarding claim 1, Kimura teaches A semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate [fig. 2c, layers 17/18, para 30; wherein layer 17/18 provide a functional substrate for any layers/circuits built on top of it] comprising a first step structure [fig. 2c, step portion 12, para 30],
wherein the first step structure comprises a first step portion [annotated fig. 2c],
a connecting portion and a second step portion arranged sequentially along a direction [annotated fig. 2c], and
the second step portion is higher than the first step portion [annotated fig. 2c];
a gate structure [fig. 2c, gate electrode 16/ gate insulating film 15, para 36] disposed on the connecting portion [annotated fig. 2c];
a drain region [fig. 2c, source/drain region 13, para 34] disposed in the first step portion [annotated fig. 2c]; and
a source region [fig. 2c, source/drain region 14, para 34] disposed in the second step portion [annotated fig. 2c].
ANNOTATED FIG. 2C
Regarding claim 6, Kimura teaches The semiconductor device of claim 1,
wherein the gate structure (fig. 2c, 15/16) comprises an asymmetric profile (fig. 2c).
Regarding claim 7, Kimura teaches The semiconductor device of claim 1,
wherein the first step portion comprises a first portion [annotated fig. 2c] located below the gate structure (fig. 2c, 15/16), and
the second step portion comprises a second portion [annotated fig. 2c] located below the gate structure (fig. 2c, 15/16).
Regarding claim 9, Kimura teaches The semiconductor device of claim 7,
wherein a length of the first portion in the direction is greater than or equal to a length of the connecting portion in the direction [annotated fig. 2c].
Regarding claim 10, Kimura teaches The semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising:
a gate insulating layer [fig. 2c, gate insulating film 15, para 23] disposed between the gate structure (fig. 2c 15/16; wherein the gate insulating layer is disposed between the gate electrode portion of the gate structure and the substrate] and the substrate (fig. 2c, 17/18),
wherein the gate insulating layer (fig. 2c, 15) comprises a second step structure [fig. 2c, 15; wherein the gate insulating also has a step structure].
Regarding claim 12, Kimura teaches A method for fabricating a semiconductor device, comprising:
providing a substrate [fig. 2c, layers 17/18, para 30; wherein layer 17/18 provide a functional substrate for any layers/circuits built on top of it],
wherein the substrate (fig. 2c, 17/18) comprises a first step structure [annotated fig. 2c],
the first step structure comprises a first step portion [annotated fig. 2c], a connecting portion [annotated fig. 2c] and a second step portion arranged sequentially along a direction [annotated fig. 2c], and
the second step portion is higher than the first step portion [annotated fig. 2c];
forming a gate structure [fig. 2c, gate electrode 16/ gate insulating film 15, para 36] on the connecting portion [annotated fig. 2c];
forming a drain region [fig. 2c, source/drain region 13, para 34] in the first step portion [annotated fig. 2c]; and
forming a source region [fig. 2c, source/drain region 14, para 34] in the second step portion [annotated fig. 2c].
Regarding claim 17 Kimura teaches The method of claim 12, further comprising:
providing an initial substrate (fig. 2c, 17),
wherein the initial substrate (fig. 2c, 17) comprises a flat top surface (fig. 2c);
forming a mask layer (fig. 2c, 18, para 25) to partially cover the flat top surface (fig. 2c, 17);
oxidizing a portion of the initial substrate exposed from the mask layer to obtain an oxide layer (para 25, “the surface of the water-repellent thin film 18 is surface-treated with oxygen plasma to be lyophilic (FIG. 2 (a)). Then, the thin film is selectively removed from the substrate 17 by photolithography and dry etching to form a step 12 having a height equivalent to the thickness of the thin film 18.” ; and
removing the oxide layer to form the first step structure [para 25, “Then, the thin film is selectively removed from the substrate 17 by photolithography and dry etching to form a step 12 having a height equivalent to the thickness of the thin film 18.”].
Regarding claim 18, Kimura teaches The method of claim 12, further comprising:
forming a gate insulating layer (fig. 2c, 15) between the substrate (fig. 2c, 17/18) and
the gate structure (fig. 2c, 15/16),
wherein the gate insulating layer (fig. 2c, 15) comprises a second step structure (fig. 2c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 & 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura as applied to claims 1, 6-7, 9-10, 12, & 17-18 and further in view of itself.
Regarding claim 3, Kimura teaches The semiconductor device of claim 1,
wherein the connecting portion comprises an inclined surface [annotated fig. 2c], and
an inclined angle of the inclined surface is greater than or equal to 16 degrees and less than or equal to 24 degrees [para 23 “The step is formed so that . . . if the height is 1 nm to 100 nm and the inclination is 120 degrees or less, the object of the present invention is not hindered.” Thereby one of ordinary skill would understand that the invention is not hindered if the angle is between 16 to 24 degrees].
Regarding claim 4, Kimura teaches The semiconductor device of claim 1,
wherein there is a step difference between the first step portion and the second step portion [annotated fig. 2c], and
the step difference is greater than 0 angstrom and less than or equal to 250 angstroms [para 23, “The step is formed so that the height is 1 nm to 100 nm and the inclination is 120 degrees or less, the object of the present invention is not hindered.”; 0 angstrom (0nm) and 250 angstroms (25nm) Therefore the prior teaches an overlapping range].
Regarding claim 14, Kimura teaches The method of claim 12,
wherein the connecting portion comprises an inclined surface [annotated fig. 2c], and
an inclined angle of the inclined surface is greater than or equal to 16 degrees and less than or equal to 24 degrees [para 23 “The step is formed so that . . . if the height is 1 nm to 100 nm and the inclination is 120 degrees or less, the object of the present invention is not hindered.” Thereby one of ordinary skill would understand the invention is not hindered if the angle is between 16 to 24 degrees]..
Regarding claim 15, Kimura teaches The method of claim 12,
wherein there is a step difference between the first step portion and the second step portion [annotated fig. 2c], and
the step difference is greater than 0 angstrom and less than or equal to 250 angstroms [para 23, “The step is formed so that the height is 1 nm to 100 nm and the inclination is 120 degrees or less, the object of the present invention is not hindered.”; 0 angstrom (0nm) and 250 angstroms (25nm) Therefore the prior teaches an overlapping range].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura as applied to claims 1, 6-7, 9-10, 12, & 17-18 and further in view of Kajiyama et al. (WO 2019013043A1).
Regarding claim 13, Kimura teaches The method of claim 12,
While Kimura notes the connecting portion of the substrate to have an inclination of varying degrees.
Kimura fails to explicitly disclose the connection portion comprising an arc shape profile.
Kajiyama teaches a thin film substrate which comprises a step structure wherein the connection portion comprises an arc-shaped profile (fig. 4, 23b; wherein Kajiyama states it’s possible to prevent cracking or the like in the substrate.
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the substrate to comprise a connection portion with an arc-shaped profile to prevent cracking or the like in the device thereby enhancing reliability of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 11, 16, & 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, Kimura teaches The semiconductor device of claim 1,
wherein the gate structure (fig. 2c, 15/16) has a first height [annotated fig. 2c] closer to the drain region (fig. 2c, 13) and
a second height [annotated fig. 2c] closer to the source region (fig. 2c, 14).
The prior art fails to explicitly disclose the first height is greater than the second height.
Thereby claim 5 contains allowable subject matter in light of the additional limitations recited therein and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, Kimura teaches The semiconductor device of claim 7.
The prior art of record fails to explicitly wherein a length of the first potion in the direction is the same as a length of the second portion in the direction.
Thereby claim 8 contains allowable subject matter in light of the additional limitations recited therein and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 11, Kimura teaches The semiconductor device of claim 1.
The prior art of record fails to explicitly to disclose a fin structure disposed in a first region of the substrate,
wherein the first step structure is disposed in a second region of the substrate, and
a top surface of the fin structure is higher than a top surface of the second step portion.
Thereby claim 11 contains allowable subject matter in light of the additional limitations recited therein and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 16, Kimura teaches The method of claim 12,
wherein the gate structure has a first height closer to the drain region and a second height closer to the source region.
The prior art of record fails to explicitly disclose the first height is greater than the second height.
Thereby claim 16 contains allowable subject matter in light of the additional limitations recited therein and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 19, Kimura teaches The method of claim 18, further comprising:
oxidizing the first step structure to form a gate insulating material layer;
forming the gate structure (fig. 2c, 15/16) on the gate insulating material layer (fig. 2c, 15; wherein the electrode portion of the structure is formed on the gate insulating layer).
The prior art fails to explicitly disclose removing a portion of the gate insulating material layer not covered by the gate structure to form the gate insulating layer.
Thereby claim 19 contains allowable subject matter in light of the additional limitations recited therein and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 20, Kimura teaches The method of claim 11.
The prior art of record fails to explicitly state
forming a fin structure in a first region of the substrate,
wherein the first step structure is disposed in a second region of the substrate, and
a top surface of the fin structure is higher than a top surface of the second step portion.
Thereby claim 20 contains allowable subject matter in light of the additional limitations recited therein and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/FELIX B ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812