DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9 and 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Status of Claims
Claims were filed on 9/10/2024. Claims 1-18 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Position-limiting member and elastic member is configured to be moved along an axial direction in claims 1 and 10. The Specification para 0048 states “movable member 131 comprises a positioning plate 1311 and a Y-shaped sealing ring 1312, which are sleeved outside the switching shaft 22. Due to the water pressure, the positioning plate 1311 will move relative to the switching shaft 22. The position-limiting member 222 does not move relative to the switching shaft 22.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 4 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yean US 6155729 (“Yean”).
Regarding Claim 1, Yean discloses a water outlet device with a light switching force (ann. fig. 2 and figs. 1, 3, and 4), comprising: a water outlet device body (40), and a water outlet mode switching assembly (ann. fig. 1), wherein: the water outlet device body (40) has a water inlet channel (506), a first water outlet channel (60), and a second water outlet channel (72), the water outlet mode switching assembly comprises a first operating member (403) and a switching shaft (51), the first operating member (403) is configured to drive (col. 3 lines 25-40) the switching shaft (51) to move to a first position (fig. 4), when the switching shaft (51) is in the first position (fig. 4), the first water outlet channel (60) is in communication with the water inlet channel (506), when the switching shaft (51) is in the second position (fig. 3), the second water outlet channel (72) is in communication with the water inlet channel (506), a movable member (514) is disposed in the second water outlet channel (72), the movable member (514) is configured to be moved along an axial direction (ann. fig. 2) of the switching shaft (514) due to water pressure (col. 2 lines 51-57 and col. 4 lines 7-12), the switching shaft (51) is disposed with a position-limiting member (limiting plates and C retaining rings, col. 2 lines 51-57) and an elastic member (513), a movable end of the elastic member (end of elastic member 513 adjacent to movable member 514) is located between the position-limiting member (limiting plates and C retaining rings) and the movable member (514), when the movable member (514) moves due to the water pressure (col. 4 lines 7-12) to be in contact with the movable end of the elastic member (513), the water pressure acting on the movable member (514) is counteracted by an elastic resetting force of the elastic member (513), and when the movable member (514) moves due to the water pressure to be in contact with the position-limiting member (limiting plates and C retaining rings), the water pressure acting on the movable member (514) is transmitted to the switching shaft (51) through the position-limiting member (limiting plates and C retaining rings).
YEAN – ANNOTATED FIGURE 2, ENLARGED FIGURE 3 and ENLARGED FIGURE 4
Regarding Claims 2 and 11, Yean discloses the movable member (514) comprises a positioning plate (limiting plates located between movable member 514 and C retaining rings, see col. 2 lines 51-57)) sleeved outside the switching shaft (51).
Regarding Claims 3 and 12, Yean discloses a sidewall of the switching shaft (51) comprises a buckling groove extending along a circumferential direction of the switching shaft, and the position-limiting member (C retaining rings, see col. 2 lines 51-57, not illustrated) is a retaining ring that is buckled to the buckling groove.
Regarding Claims 4 and 13, Yean discloses the first operating member (403, col. 3 lines 25-40) is a rocker switch, and a distal end of the switching shaft (51) has a spherical head (511, col. 2 lines 51-52) that cooperates with the rocker switch in a linkage manner.
Regarding Claim 10, Yean discloses a water outlet device with a light switching force (ann. fig. 2 and figs. 1, 3, and 4), comprising: a water outlet device body (40), and a water outlet mode switching assembly (ann. fig. 1), wherein: the water outlet device body (40) has a water inlet channel (506), a first water outlet channel (60), and a second water outlet channel (72), the water outlet mode switching assembly comprises a first operating member (403) and a switching shaft (51), the first operating member (403) is configured to drive (col. 3 lines 25-40) the switching shaft (51) to move to a first position (fig. 4), when the switching shaft (51) is in the first position (fig. 4), the first water outlet channel (60) is in communication with the water inlet channel (506), when the switching shaft (51) is in the second position (fig. 3), the second water outlet channel (72) is in communication with the water inlet channel (506), a movable member (514) is disposed in the second water outlet channel (72), the movable member (514) is configured to be moved along an axial direction (ann. fig. 2) of the switching shaft (514) due to water pressure (col. 2 lines 51-57 and col. 4 lines 7-12), the switching shaft (51) is disposed with a position-limiting member (limiting plates and C retaining rings, col. 2 lines 51-57) and an elastic member (513), a movable end of the elastic member (end of elastic member 513 adjacent to movable member 514) is located between the position-limiting member (limiting plates and C retaining rings) and the movable member (514), a difference in wetted areas at two ends of the switching shaft (511) is S1I , when the movable member (514) moves due to the water pressure to be in contact with the position-limiting member, the difference in the wetted areas at the two ends of the switching shaft is S2, and the S1 > the S2 (see ann. enlarged figs. 3 and 4 for the first end and second end of movable member).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Erickson et al. US 10625278, Wang et al. US 10610874, Erickson et al. US 10124349, Rosko et al. US 8424781, and Benstead et al. US PG PUB 20020185553.
/DAPHNE M BARRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753