Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group/Invention I, Claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 05/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
“a driving unit electrically connected with the control unit” in claim 16, line 3.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-4, and 13-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 14 of claim 1, lines 6 of claim 3, line 6 of claim 4, line 14 of claim 13, and line 5 of claim 14, “muff-coupled the” should read ---muff-coupled with the---.
In claim 4, lines 3-4, “muff-coupled the spline hole can be” should read ---muff-coupled with the spline hole---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“driving unit” in line 3 of claim 16.
“conducting unit” in line 3 of claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the planetary gear set" in line 12. How does the “the planetary gear set” in line 12 relate to the “input-side planetary gear set” in line 6 and the “output-side planetary gear set” in line 7? Is there an additional planetary gear set being claimed that differs from the input-side and output-side planetary gear sets? Or is the limitation referring to one of the input-side or output-side planetary gear sets? Applicant may want to change “the planetary gear set” to read ---the output-side planetary gear set---. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the input sun gear set" in line 4. How does the “input sun gear set” in line 4 relate to the “input sun gear” in line 2? Are there additional input sun gears being claimed to form the set? There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase “second electric telescopic unit” in line 2 renders the claim unclear because there is no mention of a first electric telescopic unit.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase “second telescopic shaft” in lines 4-5 renders the claim unclear because there is no mention of a first telescopic shaft.
Regarding claim 15, the phrase “second electromagnetic valve” in line 2 renders the claim unclear because there is no mention of a first electromagnetic valve.
Regarding claim 15, the phrase “second telescopic shaft” in line 2 renders the claim unclear because there is no mention of a first telescopic shaft.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “driving unit” in line 3 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No association between the structure and the function can be found in the specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-12 are rejected because they are dependents of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-9, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cao (CN205772991U).
Regarding claim 1, Cao discloses an electric winch for axial electric clutch, comprising a first motor (1), a bracket (B; see Cao annotated Figure 1 below), a winch drum (2) and a planetary gear reducer (3), wherein the first motor (1) and the planetary gear reducer (3) are respectively installed at two opposite ends of the bracket (B), and the winch drum (2) is rotatably arranged between the first motor (1) and the planetary gear reducer (3); and the planetary gear reducer (3) comprises an input-side planetary gear set (31) and an output-side planetary gear set (33) for driving the winch drum (2) to rotate, and a transmission shaft (7) passing through the winch drum (2) is arranged between the first motor (1) and the planetary gear reducer (3); and the winch drum (1) has an input end (IE), the output-side planetary gear set (33) has an output end (OE), and a connecting shaft (8) is arranged between the input end (IE) of the winch drum (2) and the output end (OE) of the planetary gear set (33); and wherein, one end of the connecting shaft (8) is muff-coupled with the input end (IE) and is axially slidable, and the other end of the connecting shaft (8) is muff-coupled the output end (OE) and is axially slidable; a clutch transmission connection (21, 8, 331) is realized between the input end (IE) and the output end (OE) through the axially slidable connection of the connecting shaft (8); and wherein, the connecting shaft (8) is muff-coupled with the transmission shaft (7), the transmission shaft (7) and the connecting shaft (8) can rotate relatively, and the connecting shaft (8) is driven to slide axially by the transmission shaft (8; page 3, ¶6) for clutch; and the transmission shaft (7) is connected with an electric device (4), and the electric device (4) is used for driving the transmission shaft (7) to move axially when clutch is needed (page 3, ¶6-7).
Cao, Annotated Figure 1
Regarding claim 3, Cao discloses wherein in a separated state, the connecting shaft (8) is separated from the output end (OE) through axial movement, while the connecting shaft (8) keeps muff-coupled with the input end (IE), and the input end (IE) plays a role in radially supporting and axially guiding the connecting shaft (8).
Regarding claim 7, Cao discloses wherein retaining rings (73, 74; Figure 1) are respectively arranged on both sides of the connecting shaft (8), and the retaining rings (73, 74) are connected with the transmission shaft (7); when the electric device (4) drives the transmission shaft (7) to move axially, the transmission shaft (7) pushes the connecting shaft (8) to move axially through the retaining rings (73, 74).
Regarding claim 8, Cao discloses wherein a braking device (6; Figure 1) is arranged between the first motor (1) and the transmission shaft (7), one end of the braking device (6) is connected with the first motor (1), and the other end of the braking device (6) is axially slidably muff-coupled with the transmission shaft (7).
Regarding claim 9, Cao discloses wherein a spring (71; Figure 1) is arranged between the braking device (6) and the transmission shaft (7); and during engagement and loading, the electric device (4) is released, the spring (71) pushes the transmission shaft (7) to one side of the planetary gear reducer (3), and the input end (IE) is engaged with the output end (OE).
Regarding claim 12, Cao discloses wherein the electric device (4) comprises a second electric telescopic unit (TU; See Cao annotated Figure 1 below), which is located at one end of the transmission shaft (7); and wherein, the second electric telescopic unit (TU) is provided with a second telescopic shaft (41), which is connected with one end of the transmission shaft (7), and the second electric telescopic unit (TU) drives the transmission shaft (7) to move axially through the second telescopic shaft (41).
Cao, Annotated Figure 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao.
Regarding claim 5, Cao discloses the above electric winch and further teaches wherein a transmission ring (21; Figure 1) is fixed to the input end (IE; page 3, ¶6), and the transmission ring (21) is configured as the input end (IE) and is axially and slidably connected with one end of the connecting shaft (8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric winch of Cao to include the transmission ring is welded to the input end in order to permanently fuse the parts together and provide improved strength and durability.
Cao, Annotated Figure 1
Regarding claim 6, Cao discloses wherein the output-side planetary gear set (33) further comprises an end plate (331; Figure 1), one side of the end plate (331) close to the input end is provided with a muff-coupling hole (central hole of 331), and the muff-coupling hole is set as the output end (OE).
Claim(s) 2 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao in view of Mao (CN104925688A).
Regarding claim 2, Cao discloses the above electric winch and further teaches wherein the transmission shaft (7) passes through the winch drum (2) to reach the input-side planetary gear set (31) of the planetary gear reducer (3), the input-side planetary gear set (31) is located on a side far from the bracket (B), and the output-side planetary gear set (33) is located on a side close to the bracket (B), but fails to teach the input-side planetary gear set comprises an input sun gear, and the transmission shaft is in transmission connection with the input sun gear set of the input-side planetary gear set.
Mao teaches a similar electric winch and further teaches the input-side planetary gear set (16; Figure 2) comprises an input sun gear (8), and the transmission shaft (6) is in transmission connection with the input sun gear set (8) of the input-side planetary gear set (16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric winch of Cao to include the input sun gear as taught by Mao in order to reduce wear on the transmission shaft and provide a cost-effective replaceable transmission part.
Regarding claim 13, Cao discloses an electric winch for axial electric clutch, comprising a bracket (B), a first motor (1) and a planetary gear reducer (3) respectively installed at opposite ends of the bracket (B), and a winch drum (2) rotatably installed between the first motor (1) and the planetary gear reducer (3); and wherein, the planetary gear reducer (3) comprises an output-side planetary gear set (33) for driving the winch drum (2) to rotate, and a transmission shaft (7) passing through the winch drum (2) is arranged between the first motor (1) and the planetary gear reducer (3); an electric clutch structure (4, 41, 8) is arranged between the output-side planetary gear set (33) and the winch drum (2), and the electric clutch structure (4, 41, 8) comprises an electric device (4) and a connecting shaft (8); and wherein, the connecting shaft (8) is positioned between the winch drum (2) and the output-side planetary gear set (33); and wherein, one end of the connecting shaft (8) is muff-coupled with the winch drum (2) and is axially slidable, and the other end of the connecting shaft (8) is muff-coupled the output-side planetary gear set (33) and is axially slidable; and wherein, the connecting shaft (8) is muff-coupled with the transmission shaft (7), the transmission shaft (7) and the connecting shaft (8) can rotate relatively, and the connecting shaft (8) is driven to slide axially by the transmission shaft (7; page 3, ¶6-7) during clutch, but fails to teach the electric clutch structure is correspondingly provided with a controller.
Mao teaches a similar electric winch and further teaches the electric clutch structure (13; Figure 6) is correspondingly provided with a controller (22, 231). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric winch of Cao to include the controller as taught by Mao in order to operate the electric device with precision and in a timely manner and further provide operation from a safe distance.
Regarding claim 14, Cao discloses wherein the winch drum (2) has an input end (IE), the output-side planetary gear set (33) has an output end (OE), and the connecting shaft (8) is arranged between the input end (IE) and the output end (OE); and wherein, one end of the connecting shaft (8) is muff-coupled with the input end (IE) and is axially slidable, and the other end of the connecting shaft (8) is muff-coupled the output end (OE) and is axially slidable; a clutch transmission connection (21, 8, 331) is realized between the input end (IE) and the output end (OE) through the axially slidable connection of the connecting shaft (8).
Cao, Annotated Figure 1
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao in view of Cui (US10807843B2).
Regarding claim 11, Cao discloses the above electric winch and further teaches wherein the electric device (4) comprises a first electric telescopic unit (10, 41), but fails to teach a lever; the first electric telescopic unit is located at one end of the lever, and a first telescopic shaft of the first electric telescopic unit is connected with one end of the lever; the transmission shaft is located at the other end of the lever and connected with the other end of the lever, and the first electric telescopic unit drives the transmission shaft to move axially through the lever.
Cui teaches a similar electric winch and further teaches a lever (1); the first electric telescopic unit (4) is located at one end of the lever (1), and a first telescopic shaft (TS; see Cui annotated Figure 3 below) of the first electric telescopic unit (4) is connected with one end of the lever (1); the transmission shaft (2) is located at the other end (protruding end 3) of the lever (1) and connected with the other end of the lever (1), and the first electric telescopic unit (4) drives the transmission shaft (2) to move axially through the lever (1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric winch of Cao to include the lever as taught by Cui in order to reduce the effort the telescopic unit and increase axial force acting on the transmission shaft for improved engagement or separation.
Cui, Annotated Figure 3
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao, in view of Mao, and in further view of Lanni (US20050093664A1).
Regarding claim 15, modified Cao discloses the above electric winch and further teaches wherein the electric device (4) comprises a second electromagnetic valve (electromagnetic/solenoid valve 4; Abstract), a second telescopic shaft (41); the second electromagnetic valve (electromagnetic /solenoid valve 4) is located at one end of the transmission shaft (7), the second telescopic shaft (41) is slidably installed in the second electromagnetic valve (electromagnetic/solenoid valve 4), but fails to teach a return spring and the return spring is installed between the second telescopic shaft and an inner wall of the second electromagnetic valve.
Lanni teaches a similar electromagnetic valve and further teaches a return spring (9; Figure 1) and the return spring (9) is installed between the second telescopic shaft (8) and an inner wall (inner wall of housing 20) of the second electromagnetic valve (30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric winch of Cao to include the electromagnetic valve return spring as taught by Lanni in order to assist with the retraction of the telescopic shaft to the initial position and prevent the telescopic shaft from accidentally extending when the valve is not operated.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao, in view of Mao, in view of Lanni, and in further view of Heravi (US9415981B2).
Regarding claim 16, Cao discloses the above electric winch, but fails to teach wherein the controller comprises a clutch button; the electric device further comprises a control unit which is in signal-connection with the controller, a driving unit and a conducting unit which are electrically connected with the control unit, and the control unit is electrically connected with the second electromagnetic valve.
Mao teaches a similar electric winch and further teaches wherein the controller (22, 231) comprises a clutch button (control button; operation interface 221; page 7, ¶8-9); the electric device further comprises a control unit (231, 232) which is in signal-connection with the controller (22, 231), a driving unit (driving unit consists of the coil pack 13 is energized by electricity to move push rod 121; page 7, ¶9 and page 8, ¶3) electrically connected with the control unit (231, 232), and the control unit (231, 232) is electrically connected with the second electromagnetic valve (13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric winch of Cao to include the controller as taught by Mao in order to operate the electric device with precision and in a timely manner and further provide operation from a safe distance.
Lanni teaches a similar electromagnetic valve, but fails to teach a conducting unit electrically connected with the control unit.
Heravi teaches a similar electric winch and further teaches a conducting unit (76; Figure 5) electrically connected with the control unit (30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric winch of Cao to include the conducting unit as taught by Heravi in order to close or open the electrical circuit to control the flow of electric communication directly to the electric device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 4 would be allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the entire combination of elements set forth including for disclosing the output end is provided with a regular polygon hole, the other end of the connecting shaft is provided with a regular polygon section, and the regular polygon section is axially slidably muff-coupled the regular polygon hole.
Cao is the closest prior art and further teaches wherein the input end (IE) is provided with a spline hole, one end of the connecting shaft (8) is provided with a spline section, and the spline section is axially slidably muff-coupled the spline hole can be, but fails to teach the output end is provided with a regular polygon hole, the other end of the connecting shaft is provided with a regular polygon section, and the regular polygon section is axially slidably muff-coupled the regular polygon hole.
Claim 10 would be allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the entire combination of elements set forth including for disclosing the second motor, the reducer and the rotating part are connected in transmission in sequence, the rotating part is mated with the mating part, and the mating part is arranged on the transmission shaft; the rotation of the rotating part can drive the mating part to move axially, so that the mating part axially moves to drive the transmission shaft to move axially.
Cao teaches wherein the electric device comprises a second motor (electromagnetic/solenoid valve 4) and a mating part (10; Figure 1), but fails to teach wherein the electric device comprises a reducer, a rotating part; the second motor, the reducer and the rotating part are connected in transmission in sequence, the rotating part is mated with the mating part, and the mating part is arranged on the transmission shaft; the rotation of the rotating part can drive the mating part to move axially, so that the mating part axially moves to drive the transmission shaft to move axially. Yu (CN110745724A) teaches a similar electric winch and further teaches a rotating part (25; Figure 5) and a mating part (26), the rotating part is mated with the mating part, and the mating part is arranged on the transmission shaft (8); the rotation of the rotating part can drive the mating part to move axially, so that the mating part axially moves to drive the transmission shaft to move axially, but fails to teach the second motor, the reducer and the rotating part are connected in transmission in sequence, the rotating part is mated with the mating part, and the mating part is arranged on the transmission shaft; the rotation of the rotating part can drive the mating part to move axially, so that the mating part axially moves to drive the transmission shaft to move axially.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/HENRIX SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3654