DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, the specification fails to
Likewise, in claims 9 and 20, the specification fails to describe an adjuvant composition adapted to facilitate prevention of production of droplets or ultra-coarse droplets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (AU 2013206347) in view of Parrish (U.S. Patent No. 8,809,234).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Johnson et al. relates to spray droplet modifier compositions. See Title. The compositions reduce the drift of the sprayed liquid and comprises a viscosity-modifying agent such as guar gum. See page 5, line 16 – page 6, line 13. Suitable oils include vegetable oils such as soya bean oil. See page 17, lines 14-16.
Johnson et al. does not teach that the soya bean oil is methylated.
Parrish also relates to drift reduction compositions. See Title. “Embodiments also include a non-ionic surfactants selected from the group consisting of alkyl polyoxyethylene ether, polyoxypropylene glycol, an alkyl phenol ethoxylate, an alcohol ethoxylate, a sugar ether, a glucoside alkyl ether, a sucrose ester, a sorbitan ester ethoxylate, a crop oil concentrate, morpholine amide and a block copolymer”(current claims 2 and 11). Para. [0039]. Parrish also teaches that the drift reduction composition may include “10-50% by weight or volume methylated seed oil”. Para. [0039]. Specifically, Parrish teaches “methylated soybean oil” (current claim 18). Para. [0041].
Neither reference teaches the wherein clauses of claims 1 and 10. However, these wherein clauses are not construed as positive limitation because they indicate an intended use, i.e., to be tank-mixed to form an agricultural spray. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Further, since a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). This same applies to the wherein clauses of claims 4-9, 13-17 and 20, because they relate to the intended use as an agricultural spray.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teaches of the Johnson et al. and Parrish and arrive at the claimed invention. In this instance, one of ordinary skill in the art would find motivation to combine the references because they both teach adjuvant compositions comprising guar gum, non-ionic surfactants and oil that are useful for reducing drift of sprayed compositions. In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (“It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.”) Further, established precedent holds that it is generally obvious to add known ingredients to known compositions with the expectation of obtaining their known function. See, e.g., In re Linder, 457 F.2d 506, 507 (CCPA 1972); see also In re Dial, 326 F.2d 430,432 (CCPA 1964). In this instance, it would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate into a spray drift adjuvant formulation of Johnson et al. any of the components of a drift composition taught by Parrish so as to obtain the benefits or function that they provide.
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Johnson et al. teaches that “[t]he optimum hydration range [of guar gum] occurs between pH 5 and 8.” Page 14, line 13. Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the composition to have a pH within this range.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,612,164. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are directed to drift reduction adjuvant composition comprising guar gum, polyoxyethylene sorbitan emulsifier and methylated soybean oil in overlapping amounts.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,678,660. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are directed to drift reduction adjuvant composition differing only the indication of particular amounts of the claimed ingredients.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,171,221. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are directed to drift reduction adjuvant comprising the same ingredients and adapted to be tank-mixed to form an agricultural spray. That said, established precedent holds that it is generally obvious to add known ingredients to known compositions with the expectation of obtaining their known function. See, e.g., In re Linder, 457 F.2d 506, 507 (CCPA 1972); see also In re Dial, 326 F.2d 430,432 (CCPA 1964). Here, guar gum and polyacrylamide would be substitutable rheological modifiers.
Conclusion
/ROBERT S CABRAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614