CTNF 18/829,473 CTNF 76177 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 1 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 1: Line 7 is claiming “in the case that a print instruction to execute a printing….” but does not specify what will happen “in the case that a print instruction to execute a printing…….” . Appropriate correction is required. Regarding claim 6: Line 4 is claiming “in the case that the setting values is modified….” but does not specify what will happen “in the case that the setting values is modified …….”. Line 10 is claiming “in the case, in the storage process….” but does not specify what will happen “in the case, in the storage process…….”. Appropriate correction is required. Regarding claims 8: Line 4 is claiming “in the case in the settings modification process….” but does not specify what will happen “in the case in the settings modification process …….”. Appropriate correction is required. Regarding claims 9: Line 4 is claiming “in the case that the print instruction is issued….” but does not specify what will happen “in the case that the print instruction is issued …….”. Appropriate correction is required. Regarding claims 10: Line 13 is claiming “in the case that the print instruction is issued….” but does not specify what will happen “in the case that the print instruction is issued …….”. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada US 2020/0249882 in view of Natori US 2004/0049741 and Takanashi US 6,330,051 . Regarding claim 1: Yamada US 2020/0249882 teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (non-transitory medium, paragraph 0021) storing instructions of a support program (supporting program 42, paragraph 0025), the support program being a program corresponding to a printing device (printer 2, paragraph 0016) connected to an information processing device (PC1, paragraph 0016), the information processing device including a computer (personal computer, paragraph 0015), the information processing device having an operating system (OS21, paragraph 0022) installed thereon, the operating system including a general-purpose printing program (general use printing program 41, paragraph 0023), the instructions of the support program, when executed by the computer, causing the information processing device to perform: a print instruction (an instruction to execute printing, paragraph 0032) to execute a printing of a target image on the printing device is issued from an application program running on the information processing device to the general-purpose printing program (paragraph 0034) and intermediate data (intermediate image data, paragraph 0053) representing the target image is received from the general-purpose printing program (supporting program 42 obtains the print parameter and the intermediate image data from the general use printing program, paragraph 0037), a preview process (causes the supporting program 42 to execute the same processes as in the case where the print instruction is received, obtains a preview image and causes the UI20 to display the preview image) of displaying a preview image of the target image on a user interface of the information processing device (fig. 5), and a settings modification process of, while the preview image is displayed on the user interface (fig. 5), receiving a modification of a setting value for a parameter (re-edit, fig. 5) and modifying the setting value (change the print parameters, paragraph 0068); and the setting value is modified in the settings modification process (change the print parameters, paragraph 0068); a print control process (editing APP43 causes the generate use printing program 41 to execute a normal printing operation, paragraph 0081) of causing the printing device to print the target image. Yamada does not clearly teach: in the case that a print instruction is issued, generate the preview process; a settings modification process of, while the preview image is displayed on the user interface, receiving a modification of a setting value for a parameter related to color balance and modifying the setting value, and in a case that the setting value is modified in the settings modification process, a print control process of causing the printing device to print the target image according to the modified setting value. Natori US 2004/0049741 teaches in a case that print instruction is received, a print preview process is generated (paragraph 0015, in accordance with the print instruction and displaying a preview window representing the print image). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Yamada to include: in a case that print instruction is received, a print preview process is generated. The reason of doing so would have to automatically generate a preview for the user during printing to ensure high print quality, as desired by the user, can be obtained. Yamada as modified still does not teach: a settings modification process of, while the preview image is displayed on the user interface, receiving a modification of a setting value for a parameter related to color balance and modifying the setting value, and in a case that the setting value is modified in the settings modification process, a print control process of causing the printing device to print the target image according to the modified setting value. Takanashi US 6,330,051 teaches: a settings modification process of, while the preview image is displayed on the user interface (fig. 10), receiving a modification of a setting value for a parameter related to color balance (column 18, lines 1-7, when a correction condition of the color balance or the density of an entire image is inputted by the operator, in step 348, correction for the frame image to be tested is effected based on the inputted correction condition. In step 350, the corrected frame image is displayed as the test image 204 and also as print preview image 206) and modifying the setting value, and in a case that the setting value is modified in the settings modification process, a print control process of causing the printing device to print the target image according to the modified setting value (column 5, lines 35-41, the image processing section 16 effects image processing including various corrections and the like for the input image data and outputs the image data, as recording image data, to the laser printer section 18. Further, the image processing section 16 also can output the image data subjected to the image processing, as an image file). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Yamada to include: a settings modification process of, while the preview image is displayed on the user interface, receiving a modification of a setting value for a parameter related to color balance and modifying the setting value, and in a case that the setting value is modified in the settings modification process, a print control process of causing the printing device to print the target image according to the modified setting value. The reason of doing so would have allowed the print product to achieve realistic and accurate color and hence result in high print quality. Note: as shown in fig. 2, fig. 3A, fig. 6, fig. 7A, fig. 8, and paragraph 25; Yamada US 2020/0249882, the execution of the support program 41 is necessary to cause the information processing system to function as discussed above. Regarding claim 2: Yamada teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the instructions of the support program, when executed by the computer, causes the information processing device to further perform: in a case that the setting value is modified in the settings modification process (change the print parameters, paragraph 0068), Although it may be obvious for Yamada to preview modification process of updating the preview image on the user interface based on the modified setting value since Yamada teaches to preview image before the actual printing (display the preview, paragraph 0070). Takanashi teaches to preview modification process of updating the preview image on the user interface based on the modified setting value (column 18, lines 1-7, when a correction condition of the color balance or the density of an entire image is inputted by the operator, in step 348, correction for the frame image to be tested is effected based on the inputted correction condition. In step 350, the corrected frame image is displayed as the test image 204 and also as print preview image 206). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Yamada to include: to preview modification process of updating the preview image on the user interface based on the modified setting value. The reason of doing so would have allowed the print product to achieve realistic and accurate color at the same time as desired by the user and hence result in high print quality . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada US 2020/0249882 in view of Natori US 2004/0049741 and Takanashi US 6,330,051 and further in view of Nakami US 2003/0035127 . Regarding claim 3: Yamada does not teach: wherein, in the preview process, the setting value is displayed simultaneously with the preview image on the user interface. Nakami US 2003/0035127 teaches wherein, in the preview process, the setting value is displayed simultaneously with the preview image on the user interface (fig. 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Yamada to include: wherein, in the preview process, the setting value is displayed simultaneously with the preview image on the user interface. The reason of doing so would have provide convenient for the user to make adjustment to the image by being able to see all necessary information all at once. Regarding claim 5: Yamada does not teach: wherein, in the preview process, a fixed preview image of the target image is further displayed on the user interface based on the setting value, simultaneously with the preview image displayed on the user interface based on the modified setting value, wherein the fixed preview image is unchanged in the preview modification process. Nakami US 2003/0035127 teaches wherein, in the preview process, a fixed preview image of the target image is further displayed on the user interface (original 503, fig. 8 note: original image inherently must has original setting value that is not modified) based on the setting value, simultaneously with the preview image displayed on the user interface based on the modified setting value (color correction, 505 fig. 8, paragraph 0082, color converted image…..color corrected image), wherein the fixed preview image is unchanged in the preview modification process (original, fig. 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Yamada to include: wherein, in the preview process, a fixed preview image of the target image is further displayed on the user interface based on the setting value, simultaneously with the preview image displayed on the user interface based on the modified setting value, wherein the fixed preview image is unchanged in the preview modification process. The reason of doing so would have provide convenient for the user to make adjustment to the image by being able to see all necessary information all at once . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada US 2020/0249882 in view of Natori US 2004/0049741 and Takanashi US 6,330,051 and further in view of Graves US 2003/0103057 . Regarding claim 4: Yamada does not teach: wherein the settings modification process includes a reset process of receiving a reset instruction to reset the setting value and of updating the setting value to a default value. Graves US 2003/0103057 teaches wherein, wherein the settings modification process includes a reset process of receiving a reset instruction to reset the setting value and of updating the setting value to a default value. (paragraph 0070). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Yamada to include: wherein the settings modification process includes a reset process of receiving a reset instruction to reset the setting value and of updating the setting value to a default value. The reason of doing so would have provide convenient for the user to make adjustment to the image by being able to quickly return the color corrected image to its original state when the user does not like the color corrected image . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada US 2020/0249882 in view of Natori US 2004/0049741 and Takanashi US 6,330,051 and further in view of Frolik US 2003/0081019 . Regarding claim 6: Yamada teaches: the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the instructions of the support program, when executed by the computer, causes the information processing device to further perform: in a case that the setting value is modified in the settings modification process (editing APP 43 receives the processing settings through the setting screen paragraph 0090, receiving inputs to change the print parameters, paragraph 0068), a storage process of storing the modified setting value for the parameter in a memory included in the information processing device (may be stored in the storage area, paragraph 0090, note: in order to prevent lost of data, all data entered inherently/obviously must be stored in a memory), in a case that, in the storage process, the modified setting value for the parameter is stored in the memory, (may be stored in the storage area, paragraph 0090, note: in order to prevent lost of data, all data entered inherently/obviously must be stored in a memory), a reading process of reading the modified setting value stored in the memory for use in a next printing. (read out the intrinsic parameter from the storage area….may process the intermediate image data or print data, paragraph 0090; stored data must/inherently needs to be read out such that stored data can be used for other processing). Although it is obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, Yamada does not clearly teach wherein when a previous setting value that is the setting value before the settings modification process is performed is already stored for the parameter in the memory, in the storage process, the previous setting value is overwritten to the modified setting value. Frolik US 2003/0081019 teaches: wherein when a previous setting value that is the setting value before the settings modification process is performed is already stored for the parameter in the memory, in the storage process, the previous setting value is overwritten to the modified setting value (paragraph 0045, the document specific settings stored as part of the subscription process may be modified or overwritten later by the user through an appropriate interface generated by the application 179). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Yamada to include: wherein when a previous setting value that is the setting value before the settings modification process is performed is already stored for the parameter in the memory, in the storage process, the previous setting value is overwritten to the modified setting value. The reason of doing so would have save memory and reduce overall cost for the system which translate to cheaper print job for the end users . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada US 2020/0249882 in view of Natori US 2004/0049741 and Takanashi US 6,330,051 and further in view of Frolik US 2003/0081019 and Araki US 2011/0058205 . Regarding claim 7: Yamada does not teach: a storage instruction reception process of receiving a storage instruction to store the modified setting value for the parameter in the memory, wherein the storage process is performed when the storage instruction is received. Araki US 2011/0058205 teaches a storage instruction reception process of receiving a storage instruction to store the modified setting value for the parameter in the memory, wherein the storage process is performed when the storage instruction is received. (paragraph 0070 the OK button illustrated in fig. 4 is a button for storing the modified print settings). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the to have modified Yamada to include: a storage instruction reception process of receiving a storage instruction to store the modified setting value for the parameter in the memory, wherein the storage process is performed when the storage instruction is received. The reason of doing so would have prevent the modified setting value from being lost and hence saving valuable time for the user . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada US 2020/0249882 in view of Natori US 2004/0049741 and Takanashi US 6,330,051 and further in view of Mishima US 2006/0242579 . Regarding claim 8: Yamada does not teach wherein the instructions of the support program, when executed by the computer, causes the information processing device to further perform: in a case that, in the settings modification process, the setting value is modified to the modified setting value, a storage process of storing the modified setting value for the parameter in a memory included in the information processing device, wherein when one or more setting values are already stored in the memory for the parameter, in the storage process, the modified setting value for the parameter is stored in the memory while maintaining the one or more setting values in the memory so that two or more setting values including the modified setting value are stored in the memory for the parameter, wherein when the two or more setting values including the modified setting value are already stored in the memory for the parameter, in the settings modification process, a selection of one of the two or more setting values is received as a selected setting value, and the setting value for the parameter is updated to the selected setting value. Mishima US 2006/0242579 teaches in a case that, in the settings modification process, the setting value is modified to the modified setting value (processing mode previously set by the user, paragraph 0064; note: when used with Yamada, processing mode settings can be viewed as modified setting values; also see paragraph 65, if the user has changed part of the parameter value …… the post-change processing mode becomes the currently selected processing mode. This currently selected processing mode may be stored… ), a storage process of storing the modified setting value for the parameter in a memory included in the information processing device (paragraph 0034, stores at least one parameter mode that prescribe for each presentation processing mode a detailed setting for that mode), wherein when one or more setting values are already stored in the memory for the parameter (see fig. 6, there are 4 settings being stored note: obviously the 4 settings can be entered one at a time), in the storage process, the modified setting value for the parameter is stored in the memory while maintaining the one or more setting values in the memory so that two or more setting values including the modified setting value are stored in the memory for the parameter (fig. 6, 4 setting values set are stored in memory; note: obviously, the other 3 entered setting values will be maintained when the last setting values are entered), wherein when the two or more setting values including the modified setting value are already stored in the memory for the parameter, in the settings modification process, a selection of one of the two or more setting values is received as a selected setting value, (selection step that selects one parameter preview image from among at least one displayed parameter preview image, paragraph 0034) and the setting value for the parameter is updated to the selected setting value (parameter mode setting step that sets in the image processing apparatus the parameter mode corresponding to the selected parameter preview image, paragraph 0034, also see paragraph 76, the set processing mode….include parameter values….). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Yamada to include: wherein the instructions of the support program, when executed by the computer, causes the information processing device to further perform: in a case that, in the settings modification process, the setting value is modified to the modified setting value, a storage process of storing the modified setting value for the parameter in a memory included in the information processing device, wherein when one or more setting values are already stored in the memory for the parameter, in the storage process, the modified setting value for the parameter is stored in the memory while maintaining the one or more setting values in the memory so that two or more setting values including the modified setting value are stored in the memory for the parameter, wherein when the two or more setting values including the modified setting value are already stored in the memory for the parameter, in the settings modification process, a selection of one of the two or more setting values is received as a selected setting value, and the setting value for the parameter is updated to the selected setting value. The reason of doing so would have provided convenient for the user for saving all the work of a user for modifying the print image and be able to select any one of the previous work (modified setting of an image by the user) quickly without having to recreate the work . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada US 2020/0249882 in view of Natori US 2004/0049741 and Takanashi US 6,330,051 and further in view of Sato US 2014/0157115 . Regarding claim 9: Yamada does not teach: wherein the instructions of the support program, when executed by the computer, causes the information processing device to further perform: in a case that the print instruction is issued and the intermediate data is received, a rasterization process of rasterizing the intermediate data to generate raster data based on the intermediate data, wherein, in the preview process, the preview image is displayed based on the raster data. Natori US 2004/0049741 teaches in a case that print instruction is received, a print preview process is generated (paragraph 0015, in accordance with the print instruction and displaying a preview window representing the print image). Sato US 2014/0157115 teaches in order to preview a print image, intermediate data is received and a rasterization process for rasterizing the intermediate data to generate raster data based on the intermediate data, wherein, in the preview process, the preview image is displayed based on the raster data (paragraph 0073, the image data is converted to an intermediate code by the PDL analyzer 304, and is rasterized into bitmap data by the data rasterizer 311. Then, the preview image generator 305 generates preview images based on the bitmap data). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Yamada to include: wherein the instructions of the support program, when executed by the computer, causes the information processing device to further perform: in a case that the print instruction is issued, generate the preview process and receive the intermediate data, and to carry out a rasterization process of rasterizing the intermediate data to generate raster data based on the intermediate data, wherein, in the preview process, the preview image is displayed based on the raster data. The reason of doing so would have allowed the preview image to truly represent the printed image as printers print image represent by raster/bitmap images in the form of pixels . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada US 2020/0249882 in view of Natori US 2004/0049741 and Takanashi US 6,330,051 and further in view of Taguchi US 2021/0250465 . Regarding claim 10: Yamada does not teach wherein the instructions of the support program, when executed by the computer, causes the information processing device to further perform: a selection reception process of receiving a selection as to whether or not to perform the preview process), wherein in a case that the print instruction is issued and the intermediate data is received, the preview process and the settings modification process are performed, and subsequently the print control process is performed, wherein the instructions of the support program, when executed by the computer, causes the information processing device to further perform: in a case that the print instruction is issued and the intermediate data is received, and additionally the selection not to perform the preview process is received in the selection reception process, a second print control process of causing the printing device to print the target image on the printing device based on the setting value without performing the preview process and without performing the settings modification process. Taguchi US 2021/0250465 teaches: a selection reception process of receiving a selection as to whether or not to perform the preview process (fig. 7 and fig. 8, fig. 7 is the process that selection of preview process is not to be performed and fig. 8 is selection of preview process is to be performed; paragraph 42, Fig. 7 illustrates an example of screen transitions for a case where facsimile process is executed in accordance with setting changed such that the preview screen 170 is not displayed, also see paragraph 0052 setting has been made in advance to display a preview screen before execution of a process also for the scan process or the print process ) wherein in a case that the print instruction is issued (fig. 8, operation to instruct execution of the facsimile process is performed, paragraph 0042, also see paragraph 0052 setting has been made in advance to display a preview screen before execution of a process also for the scan process or the print process ) the preview process, and subsequently the print control process is performed (the preview screen 170 is displayed to allow confirmation of an image…..the image data are transmitted), in a case that the print instruction is issued, and additionally the selection not to perform the preview process is received in the selection reception process (fig. 7, display of conformation screen is not illustrated) a second print control process of causing the printing device to print the target image on the printing device based on the setting value without performing the preview process and without performing the settings modification process (step 155 and 165 is performed, fig. 7, also see paragraph 0052 setting has been made in advance to display a preview screen before execution of a process also for the scan process or the print process ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Yamada to include: a selection reception process of receiving a selection as to whether or not to perform the preview process (see rejection of claim 1), wherein in a case that the print instruction is issued and the intermediate data is received, (see rejection of claim 1, also see fig. 8 Yamada teaches that intermediate data is generated and received for the preview process) the preview process and the settings modification process are performed, and subsequently the print control process is performed (see rejection of claim 1, setting modification is part of the preview process), wherein the instructions of the support program, when executed by the computer, causes the information processing device to further perform: in a case that the print instruction is issued and the intermediate data is received (see rejection of claim 1, receiving of intermediate data is part of the print process, fig. 2 Yamada), and additionally the selection not to perform the preview process is received in the selection reception process, a second print control process of causing the printing device to print the target image on the printing device based on the setting value without performing the preview process and without performing the settings modification process (see fig. 2 Yamada, the setting value modification process is not performed without the preview process). The reason of doing so would have provide flexibility to the user and the printing process can be performed as user desires to increase user satisfaction. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KING Y POON whose telephone number is (571)270-0728. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Alexander Beck can be reached at 571-272-3750 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/829,473 Page 2 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/829,473 Page 3 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/829,473 Page 4 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/829,473 Page 5 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/829,473 Page 6 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/829,473 Page 7 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/829,473 Page 8 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/829,473 Page 9 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/829,473 Page 10 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/829,473 Page 11 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/829,473 Page 12 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/829,473 Page 13 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/829,473 Page 14 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/829,473 Page 15 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/829,473 Page 16 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/829,473 Page 17 Art Unit: 2617 Application/Control Number: 18/829,473 Page 18 Art Unit: 2617