DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged that application is a continuation application of PCT PCT/CN2022/082406. Priority to PCT/CN2022/082406 with a priority date of 03/23/2022 is acknowledged under 35 USC 119(e) and 37 CFR 1.78.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS dated 01/06/2025 and 04/22/2025 have been considered and placed in the application file.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: "Image Processing Method and Apparatus for Distortion Correction in YUV Images".
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 10, and 18 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2, 10, and 18 are objected to because they specifically claim converting the YUV image to a RGB image, which is directly at odds with the specification which states that the purpose of the invention is perform distortion correction process without converting the image “an distortion operation can be directly performed on the first YUV image based on the YUV mapping relationship, and there is no need to convert the first YUV image into a red, green, and blue (RGB) image at first and then undistort the RGB image based on the RGB mapping relationship. Therefore, time for the undistortion process can be reduced” ¶0008. Based on the claim language and specification it in unclear what the purpose and goal of the invention is. Claims 3-4, 6 and 8 depend on Claim 2, Claims 11-12, 14 and 16 depend on Claim 10, and Claims 19-20 depend on Claim 18 therefore they are also objected to.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 6, 8, 14, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 6, 8, 14, and 16 are objected to because the variables used in the claimed equations are not clearly defined in the claims or specification. Claim 6 , 8, 14, and 16 define temp 1 as “temp1 represents a first sum of a third horizontal coordinate value, of the fifth pixel in the initial RGB image, a fourth horizontal coordinate value, of a sixth pixel in the initial RGB image, a fifth horizontal coordinate value, of a seventh pixel in the initial RGB image, and a sixth horizontal coordinate value, of an eighth pixel in the initial RGB image, and wherein the sixth pixel, the seventh pixel, and the eighth pixel are adjacent to the fifth pixel” and “temp2 represents a second sum of a third vertical coordinate value, of the fifth pixel in the initial RGB image, a fourth vertical coordinate value, of the sixth pixel in the initial RGB image, a fifth vertical coordinate value, of the seventh pixel in the initial RGB image, and a sixth vertical coordinate value, of the eighth pixel in the initial RGB image”, when referencing the specification ¶0121- ¶0126 and drawings including Fig 6A and Fig 6B or Table 1 and Table 2 it is not clear how to determine the “fifth pixel” “sixth pixel” “seventh pixel” or “eight pixel” in the initial image to complete the sum calculation. Based on the claim language and specification it is unclear what the input and output of the calculation is and a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to perform the calculations to obtain the coordinates based on the information presented in the claims and specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pei (CN 109712087 A using machine translation from espcae.net and google translated images).
Regarding Claim 1, Pei teaches a method (Pei Pg 1 ¶03 and Pg 2 ¶04 and Pg 6 ¶05 discloses a distortion correction algorithm) comprising:
obtaining a first luma, blue projection, and red projection (YUV) image (Pei Fig 1, Pg 1 ¶09, Pg 2 ¶04, and Pg 3 ¶08 discloses acquiring YUV format data from a camera);
undistorting the first YUV image to obtain a target YUV image (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 and discloses perform image distortion correction on the YUV format);
obtaining a YUV mapping relationship (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 discloses performing a mapping calculation on the YUV format data) indicating a first location mapping relationship (Pei Pg 4 ¶03-¶04 and discloses a coordinate mapping relationship between each pixel point in Y and Y') between a first pixel in the first YUV image and each second pixel in the target YUV image (Pei Pg 1 ¶10, Fig 1, and Pg 3 ¶08 discloses performing pixel point mapping of each coordinate to obtain an YUV image with distortion correction); and
obtaining, based on the YUV mapping relationship (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 discloses performing a mapping calculation on the YUV format data) and the first YUV image, a second YUV image (Pei Pg 4 ¶03-¶04 and Pg 4 ¶06 and discloses a coordinate mapping relationship between each pixel point in Y which is the original images and Y' which is the new image).
Regarding Claim 9, Pei teaches an apparatus (Pei Pg 1 ¶03 and Pg 1 ¶9 discloses the method being implemented on device such as a mobile device) comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions (Pei Pg 6 ¶5 and Fig 2 discloses a program instructing hardware including memory); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions (Pei Pg 6 ¶5 and Fig 2 discloses a program instructing hardware including memory and a processor) to cause the apparatus to:
obtain a first luma, blue projection, and red projection (YUV) image (Pei Fig 1, Pg 1 ¶09, Pg 2 ¶04, and Pg 3 ¶08 discloses acquiring YUV format data from a camera);
undistort the first YUV image to obtain a target YUV image (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 and discloses perform image distortion correction on the YUV format);
obtain a YUV mapping relationship (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 discloses performing a mapping calculation on the YUV format data) indicating a first location mapping relationship (Pei Pg 4 ¶03-¶04 and discloses a coordinate mapping relationship between each pixel point in Y and Y') between a first pixel in the first YUV image and each second pixel in the target YUV image (Pei Pg 1 ¶10, Fig 1, and Pg 3 ¶08 discloses performing pixel point mapping of each coordinate to obtain an YUV image with distortion correction); and
obtain, based on the YUV mapping relationship (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 discloses performing a mapping calculation on the YUV format data) and the first YUV image, a second YUV image (Pei Pg 4 ¶03-¶04 and Pg 4 ¶06 and discloses a coordinate mapping relationship between each pixel point in Y which is the original images and Y' which is the new image).
Regarding Claim 17, Pei teaches a computer program product (Pei Pg 6 ¶5 and Fig 2 discloses a program instructing hardware) comprising computer-executable instructions (Pei Pg 6 ¶5 and Fig 2 discloses a program instructing hardware including memory and a processor) that are stored on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Pei Pg 6 ¶5 and Fig 2 discloses a program instructing hardware including ROM and RAM storage mediums which the examiner is interpreting as synonymous with a non-transitory computer readable medium) and that, when executed by at least one processor (Pei Pg 6 ¶5 and Fig 2 discloses a program instructing hardware including memory and a processor), cause an apparatus to:
obtain a first luma, blue projection, and red projection (YUV) image (Pei Fig 1, Pg 1 ¶09, Pg 2 ¶04, and Pg 3 ¶08 discloses acquiring YUV format data from a camera);
undistort the first YUV image to obtain a target YUV image (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 and discloses perform image distortion correction on the YUV format);
obtain a YUV mapping relationship (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 discloses performing a mapping calculation on the YUV format data) indicating a first location mapping relationship (Pei Pg 4 ¶03-¶04 and discloses a coordinate mapping relationship between each pixel point in Y and Y') between a first pixel in the first YUV image and each second pixel in the target YUV image (Pei Pg 1 ¶10, Fig 1, and Pg 3 ¶08 discloses performing pixel point mapping of each coordinate to obtain an YUV image with distortion correction); and
obtain a second YUV image (Pei Pg 4 ¶03-¶04 and Pg 4 ¶06 discloses a coordinate mapping relationship between each pixel point in Y which is the original images and Y' which is the new image) based on the YUV mapping relationship (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 discloses performing a mapping calculation on the YUV format data) and the first YUV image (Pei Pg 4 ¶03-¶04 and Pg 4 ¶06 discloses a coordinate mapping relationship between each pixel point in Y which is the original images and Y' which is the new image).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 -4, 10-12, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Pei (CN 109712087 A using machine translation from espcae.net and google translated images, hereafter referred to as Pei) in view of Guerin et al (US Patent Publication US 2022/0053153 A1, hereafter referred to as Guerin).
Regarding Claim 2, Pei teaches the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the YUV mapping relationship (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 discloses performing a mapping calculation on the YUV format data) comprises:
Converting the first YUV (Pei Fig 1, Pg 1 ¶09, Pg 2 ¶04, and Pg 3 ¶08 discloses acquiring YUV format data from a camera)
indicating a second location mapping relationship between a third pixel (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 and Fig 1 and Pg 3 ¶08 discloses obtain each pixel point mapping coordinate)
and each fourth pixel (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 and Fig 1 and Pg 3 ¶08 discloses obtain each pixel point mapping coordinate)
wherein a first size of the target RGB image is equal to a second size of the target YUV image (Pei Pg 4 ¶07 discloses the mapping calculation is performed according to the set images size); and
Obtaining, based on the RGB mapping relationship, the YUV mapping relationship (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 discloses performing a mapping calculation on the YUV format data).
Pei does not explicitly disclose image into a red, green, and blue (RGB) image to obtain an initial RGB image;
Undistorting the initial RGB image to obtain a target RGB image;
Obtaining an RGB mapping relationship in the initial RGB image in the target RGB image.
Guerin is in the same field of correcting image distortion. Further, Guerin teaches image into a red, green, and blue (RGB) image to obtain an initial RGB image (Guerin ¶0228 discloses a conversion from YUV to RGB to obtain an RGB image);
Undistorting the initial RGB image (Guerin Fig 10, 1050 discloses performing image correction in an RGB image) to obtain a target RGB image (Guerin ¶0187 and ¶0216 discloses a corrected RGB image);
Obtaining an RGB mapping relationship (Guerin ¶0220-0222 discloses mapping relationship in the form of a flare profile of the RGB),
in the initial RGB image (Guerin ¶0228 discloses a conversion from YUV to RGB to obtain an RGB image)
in the target RGB image (Guerin ¶0187 and ¶0216 discloses a corrected RGB image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pei by incorporating the RGB image for distortion, and conversion to obtain the mapping relationship as taught by Guerin; to make an invention that can quickly undistort images with high accuracy; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to improve the accuracy, efficiency, or both of generating a combined image (Guerin ¶0073, ¶0180).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 3, Pei in view of Guerin teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising:
obtaining a first target mapping relationship (Pei Fig 2 discloses a mapping relationship) based on the RGB mapping relationship (Guerin ¶0220-0222 discloses mapping relationship in the form of a flare profile of the RGB), wherein the first target mapping relationship indicates a first location, in a Y-channel image corresponding to the first YUV image (Pei Fig 2 discloses Y4 as an example of a first location in the YUV image), of each second pixel (Pei Fig 2 discloses Y4 corresponding to Y0 as an example of a first location in the YUV image);
Obtaining a second target mapping relationship (Pei Fig 2 discloses second a mapping relationship) based on the RGB mapping relationship (Guerin ¶0220-0222 discloses mapping relationship in the form of a flare profile of the RGB), wherein the second target mapping relationship (Pei Fig 2 discloses second a mapping relationship) indicates a second location, in a U- channel image corresponding to the first YUV image (Pei Fig 2 discloses U1 as an example of a U channels location in the YUV image), of each second pixel (Pei Fig 2 discloses U1 corresponding to U0 as an example of a second location in a YUV image);
Obtaining a third target mapping relationship (Pei Fig 2 discloses a third mapping relationship) based on the RGB mapping relationship (Guerin ¶0220-0222 discloses mapping relationship in the form of a flare profile of the RGB), wherein the third target mapping relationship (Pei Fig 2 discloses a third mapping relationship) indicates a third location, in a V-channel image corresponding to the first YUV image (Pei Fig 2 discloses V1 as an example of a V channels location in the YUV image), of each second pixel (Pei Fig 2 discloses V1 corresponding to V0 as an example of a second location in a YUV image); and
obtaining, based on a second pixel value of each first pixel at the first location (Pei Fig 2 discloses the second pixel value being Y0 based on the Y4 location in the first mapping), a first pixel value of each second pixel (Pei Fig 2 discloses the second pixel value being Y1 based on the Y6 location in the first mapping), a third pixel value of each first pixel at the second location (Pei Fig 2 discloses the third pixel value being U0 based on the U1 location in the second mapping), and a fourth pixel value of each first pixel at the third location (Pei Fig 2 discloses the fourth pixel value being V0 based on the V1 location in the third mapping). See Claim 2 for rationale, its parent claim.
Regarding Claim 4, Pei in view of Guerin teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the first target mapping relationship (Pei Fig 2 discloses a mapping relationship) is the same as the RGB mapping relationship (Guerin ¶0220-0222 discloses mapping relationship in the form of a flare profile of the RGB), and wherein the method further comprises:
obtaining a first horizontal coordinate value and a first vertical coordinate value (Pei Pg 2 ¶02 and Pg 2 ¶07 and Pg 4 ¶02-¶03 discloses obtaining the coordinate value based on the height and width), in the U-channel image (Pei Fig 2 discloses U1 as an example of a U channels location in the YUV image), of a fifth pixel (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 and Fig 1 and Pg 3 ¶08 discloses obtain each pixel point mapping coordinate)in the second YUV image (Pei Pg 4 ¶03-¶04 and Pg 4 ¶06 and Fig 2 discloses a coordinate mapping relationship between each pixel point in Y which is the original images and Y' which is the new image), and based on the RGB mapping relationship (Guerin ¶0220-0222 discloses mapping relationship in the form of a flare profile of the RGB); and
obtaining a second horizontal coordinate value and a second vertical coordinate value (Pei Pg 2 ¶02 and Pg 2 ¶07 and Pg 4 ¶02-¶03 discloses obtaining the coordinate value based on the height and width) , of the fifth pixel (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 and Fig 1 and Pg 3 ¶08 discloses obtain each pixel point mapping coordinate), in the V-channel image (Pei Fig 2 discloses V1 as an example of a V channels location in the YUV image), and based on the RGB mapping relationship (Guerin ¶0220-0222 discloses mapping relationship in the form of a flare profile of the RGB). See Claim 2 for rationale, its parent claim.
Regarding Claim 10, Pei teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions (Pei Pg 6 ¶5 and Fig 2 discloses a program instructing hardware including memory and a processor) to cause the apparatus to:
convert the first YUV (Pei Fig 1, Pg 1 ¶09, Pg 2 ¶04, and Pg 3 ¶08 discloses acquiring YUV format data from a camera)
indicating a second location mapping relationship between a third pixel (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 and Fig 1 and Pg 3 ¶08 discloses obtain each pixel point mapping coordinate)
and each fourth pixel (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 and Fig 1 and Pg 3 ¶08 discloses obtain each pixel point mapping coordinate)
wherein a first size of the target RGB image is equal to a second size of the target YUV image (Pei Pg 4 ¶07 discloses the mapping calculation is performed according to the set images size); and
obtain, based on the RGB mapping relationship, the YUV mapping relationship (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 discloses performing a mapping calculation on the YUV format data).
Pei does not explicitly disclose image into a red, green, and blue (RGB) image to obtain an initial RGB image;
undistort the initial RGB image;
to obtain a target RGB image, obtain an RGB mapping relationship, in the target RGB image.
Guerin is in the same field of correcting image distortion. Further, Guerin teaches image into a red, green, and blue (RGB) image to obtain an initial RGB image (Guerin ¶0228 discloses a conversion from YUV to RGB to obtain an RGB image);
undistort the initial RGB image (Guerin Fig 10, 1050 discloses performing image correction in an RGB image) to obtain a target RGB image (Guerin ¶0187 and ¶0216 discloses a corrected RGB image)
obtain an RGB mapping relationship (Guerin ¶0220-0222 discloses mapping relationship in the form of a flare profile of the RGB),
in the target RGB image (Guerin ¶0187 and ¶0216 discloses a corrected RGB image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pei by incorporating the RGB image for distortion, and conversion to obtain the mapping relationship as taught by Guerin; to make an invention that can quickly undistort images with high accuracy; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to improve the accuracy, efficiency, or both of generating a combined image (Guerin ¶0073, ¶0180).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 11, Pei in view of Guerin teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions (Pei Pg 6 ¶5 and Fig 2 discloses a program instructing hardware including memory and a processor) to cause the apparatus to:
obtain, based on the RGB mapping relationship (Guerin ¶0220-0222 discloses mapping relationship in the form of a flare profile of the RGB), a first target mapping relationship (Pei Fig 2 discloses a mapping relationship), wherein the first target mapping relationship indicates a first location, in a Y-channel image corresponding to the first YUV image (Pei Fig 2 discloses Y4 as an example of a first location in the YUV image), of each second pixel (Pei Fig 2 discloses Y4 corresponding to Y0 as an example of a first location in the YUV image)
obtain, based on the RGB mapping relationship(Guerin ¶0220-0222 discloses mapping relationship in the form of a flare profile of the RGB), a third target mapping relationship (Pei Fig 2 discloses a third mapping relationship), wherein the third target mapping relationship (Pei Fig 2 discloses a third mapping relationship) indicates a third location, in a V-channel image corresponding to the first YUV image (Pei Fig 2 discloses V1 as an example of a V channels location in the YUV image), of each second pixel (Pei Fig 2 discloses V1 corresponding to V0 as an example of a second location in a YUV image); and
obtain, based on a second pixel value of each first pixel at the first location (Pei Fig 2 discloses the second pixel value being Y0 based on the Y4 location in the first mapping), a first pixel value of each second pixel (Pei Fig 2 discloses the second pixel value being Y1 based on the Y6 location in the first mapping), a third pixel value of each first pixel at the second location (Pei Fig 2 discloses the third pixel value being U0 based on the U1 location in the second mapping), and a fourth pixel value of each first pixel at the third location (Pei Fig 2 discloses the fourth pixel value being V0 based on the V1 location in the third mapping). See Claim 10 for rationale, its parent claim.
Regarding Claim 12, Pei in view of Guerin teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first target mapping relationship (Pei Fig 2 discloses a mapping relationship) is the same as the RGB mapping relationship (Guerin ¶0220-0222 discloses mapping relationship in the form of a flare profile of the RGB), and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions (Pei Pg 6 ¶5 and Fig 2 discloses a program instructing hardware including memory and a processor) to cause the apparatus to:
obtain a first horizontal coordinate value and a first vertical coordinate value (Pei Pg 2 ¶02 and Pg 2 ¶07 and Pg 4 ¶02-¶03 discloses obtaining the coordinate value based on the height and width), in the U-channel image (Pei Fig 2 discloses U1 as an example of a U channels location in the YUV image), of a fifth pixel (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 and Fig 1 and Pg 3 ¶08 discloses obtain each pixel point mapping coordinate)in the second YUV image (Pei Pg 4 ¶03-¶04 and Pg 4 ¶06 and Fig 2 discloses a coordinate mapping relationship between each pixel point in Y which is the original images and Y' which is the new image), and based on the RGB mapping relationship (Guerin ¶0220-0222 discloses mapping relationship in the form of a flare profile of the RGB); and
obtain, based on the RGB mapping relationship (Guerin ¶0220-0222 discloses mapping relationship in the form of a flare profile of the RGB), a second horizontal coordinate value and a second vertical coordinate value (Pei Pg 2 ¶02 and Pg 2 ¶07 and Pg 4 ¶02-¶03 discloses obtaining the coordinate value based on the height and width), of the fifth pixel (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 and Fig 1 and Pg 3 ¶08 discloses obtain each pixel point mapping coordinate), in the V-channel image (Pei Fig 2 discloses V1 as an example of a V channels location in the YUV image). See Claim 10 for rationale, its parent claim.
Regarding Claim 18, Pei teaches the computer program product (Pei Pg 6 ¶5 and Fig 2 discloses a program instructing hardware) of claim 17, wherein when executed by the at least one processor (Pei Pg 6 ¶5 and Fig 2 discloses a program instructing hardware including memory and a processor), the computer-executable instructions (Pei Pg 6 ¶5 and Fig 2 discloses a program instructing hardware including memory and a processor) further cause the apparatus to:
convert the first YUV (Pei Fig 1, Pg 1 ¶09, Pg 2 ¶04, and Pg 3 ¶08 discloses acquiring YUV format data from a camera)
indicating a second location mapping relationship between a third pixel (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 and Fig 1 and Pg 3 ¶08 discloses obtain each pixel point mapping coordinate)
and each fourth pixel (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 and Fig 1 and Pg 3 ¶08 discloses obtain each pixel point mapping coordinate)
wherein a first size of the target RGB image is equal to a second size of the target YUV image (Pei Pg 4 ¶07 discloses the mapping calculation is performed according to the set images size); and
obtain the YUV mapping relationship based on the RGB mapping relationship (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 discloses performing a mapping calculation on the YUV format data).
Pei does not explicitly disclose image into a red, green, and blue (RGB) image to obtain an initial RGB image;
undistort the initial RGB image to obtain a target RGB image;
obtain an RGB mapping relationship, in the initial RGB image in the target RGB image.
Guerin is in the same field of correcting image distortion. Further, Guerin teaches image into a red, green, and blue (RGB) image to obtain an initial RGB image (Guerin ¶0228 discloses a conversion from YUV to RGB to obtain an RGB image);
undistort the initial RGB image (Guerin Fig 10, 1050 discloses performing image correction in an RGB image) to obtain a target RGB image (Guerin ¶0187 and ¶0216 discloses a corrected RGB image);
obtain an RGB mapping relationship (Guerin ¶0220-0222 discloses mapping relationship in the form of a flare profile of the RGB),
in the initial RGB image (Guerin ¶0228 discloses a conversion from YUV to RGB to obtain an RGB image)
in the target RGB image (Guerin ¶0187 and ¶0216 discloses a corrected RGB image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pei by incorporating the RGB image for distortion, and conversion to obtain the mapping relationship as taught by Guerin; to make an invention that can quickly undistort images with high accuracy; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to improve the accuracy, efficiency, or both of generating a combined image (Guerin ¶0073, ¶0180).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 19, Pei in view of Guerin teaches the computer program product (Pei Pg 6 ¶5 and Fig 2 discloses a program instructing hardware) of claim 18, wherein when executed by the at least one processor (Pei Pg 6 ¶5 and Fig 2 discloses a program instructing hardware including memory and a processor), the computer-executable instructions (Pei Pg 6 ¶5 and Fig 2 discloses a program instructing hardware including memory and a processor) further cause the apparatus to:
obtain a first target mapping relationship (Pei Fig 2 discloses a mapping relationship) based on the RGB mapping relationship (Guerin ¶0220-0222 discloses mapping relationship in the form of a flare profile of the RGB), wherein the first target mapping relationship indicates a first location, in a Y-channel image corresponding to the first YUV image (Pei Fig 2 discloses Y4 as an example of a first location in the YUV image), of each second pixel (Pei Fig 2 discloses Y4 corresponding to Y0 as an example of a first location in the YUV image);
obtain a second target mapping relationship (Pei Fig 2 discloses second a mapping relationship) based on the RGB mapping relationship (Guerin ¶0220-0222 discloses mapping relationship in the form of a flare profile of the RGB), wherein the second target mapping relationship (Pei Fig 2 discloses second a mapping relationship) indicates a second location, in a U- channel image corresponding to the first YUV image (Pei Fig 2 discloses U1 as an example of a U channels location in the YUV image), of each second pixel (Pei Fig 2 discloses U1 corresponding to U0 as an example of a second location in a YUV image);
obtain a third target mapping relationship (Pei Fig 2 discloses a third mapping relationship) based on the RGB mapping relationship (Guerin ¶0220-0222 discloses mapping relationship in the form of a flare profile of the RGB), wherein the third target mapping relationship (Pei Fig 2 discloses a third mapping relationship) indicates a third location, in a V-channel image corresponding to the first YUV image (Pei Fig 2 discloses V1 as an example of a V channels location in the YUV image), of each second pixel (Pei Fig 2 discloses V1 corresponding to V0 as an example of a second location in a YUV image); and
obtain a first pixel value of each second pixel (Pei Fig 2 discloses the second pixel value being Y1 based on the Y6 location in the first mapping) based on a second pixel value of each first pixel at the first location(Pei Fig 2 discloses the second pixel value being Y0 based on the Y4 location in the first mapping) , a third pixel value of each first pixel at the second location,(Pei Fig 2 discloses the third pixel value being U0 based on the U1 location in the second mapping), and a fourth pixel value of each first pixel at the third location (Pei Fig 2 discloses the fourth pixel value being V0 based on the V1 location in the third mapping). See Claim 18 for rationale, its parent claim.
Regarding Claim 20, Pei in view of Guerin teaches the computer program product (Pei Pg 6 ¶5 and Fig 2 discloses a program instructing hardware) of claim 19, wherein the first target mapping relationship (Pei Fig 2 discloses a mapping relationship) is the same as the RGB mapping relationship (Guerin ¶0220-0222 discloses mapping relationship in the form of a flare profile of the RGB), and wherein when executed by the at least one processor (Pei Pg 6 ¶5 and Fig 2 discloses a program instructing hardware including memory and a processor), the computer-executable instructions (Pei Pg 6 ¶5 and Fig 2 discloses a program instructing hardware including memory and a processor) further cause the apparatus to:
obtain a first horizontal coordinate value and a first vertical coordinate value (Pei Pg 2 ¶02 and Pg 2 ¶07 and Pg 4 ¶02-¶03 discloses obtaining the coordinate value based on the height and width), in the U-channel image (Pei Fig 2 discloses U1 as an example of a U channels location in the YUV image), of a fifth pixel (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 and Fig 1 and Pg 3 ¶08 discloses obtain each pixel point mapping coordinate)in the second YUV image (Pei Pg 4 ¶03-¶04 and Pg 4 ¶06 and Fig 2 discloses a coordinate mapping relationship between each pixel point in Y which is the original images and Y' which is the new image), and based on the RGB mapping relationship (Guerin ¶0220-0222 discloses mapping relationship in the form of a flare profile of the RGB); and
obtain, based on the RGB mapping relationship (Guerin ¶0220-0222 discloses mapping relationship in the form of a flare profile of the RGB), a second horizontal coordinate value and a second vertical coordinate value (Pei Pg 2 ¶02 and Pg 2 ¶07 and Pg 4 ¶02-¶03 discloses obtaining the coordinate value based on the height and width), of the fifth pixel (Pei Pg 1 ¶10 and Fig 1 and Pg 3 ¶08 discloses obtain each pixel point mapping coordinate), in the V-channel image (Pei Fig 2 discloses V1 as an example of a V channels location in the YUV image). See Claim 18 for rationale, its parent claim.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Pei in view of Guerin in further view of Dumic (Dumic, Emil, et al. "Image quality of 4∶ 2∶ 2 and 4∶ 2∶ 0 chroma subsampling formats." 2009 international symposium ELMAR. IEEE, 2009).
Regarding Claim 5, Pei teaches the method of claim 1.
Pei does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises storing the first YUV image in a planar storage manner.
Guerin is in the same field of correcting image distortion. Further, Guerin teaches wherein the method further comprises storing the first YUV image (Guerin ¶0179, ¶0246, ¶0251 discloses storing the processed image) in a planar storage manner (Guerin ¶0076 discloses the images being planer images).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pei by incorporating the RGB image for distortion, and conversion to obtain the mapping relationship as taught by Guerin; to make an invention that can quickly undistort images with high accuracy; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to improve the accuracy, efficiency, or both of generating a combined image (Guerin ¶0073, ¶0180).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Pei and Guerin in combination do not explicitly disclose wherein a first sampling frequency of a Y-component, a second sampling frequency of a U-component, and a third sampling frequency of a V-component, that are of the first YUV image satisfy a relationship of 4:2:0.
Dumic is in the same field of image distortion in chroma based images. Further, Dumic teaches wherein a first sampling frequency of a Y-component (Dumic Introduction discloses sampling of the yuv Chroma components Fig 6 discloses 4:2:0 sampling), a second sampling frequency of a U-component (Dumic Introduction discloses sampling of the yuv Chroma components Fig 6 discloses 4:2:0 sampling), and a third sampling frequency of a V-component (Dumic Introduction discloses sampling of the yuv Chroma components Fig 6 discloses 4:2:0 sampling) that are of the first YUV image satisfy a relationship of 4:2:0 (Dumic Fig 3 and Table 1 discloses 4:2:0 sampling for the YUV components of the image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pei in view of Guerin by incorporating a 4:2:0 sampling format as taught by Dumic; to make an invention that can quickly undistort images to output a high quality undistorted image; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to start with a higher grade start image which objective measures give higher grades for 4:2:0 subsampling/main profile than for 4:2:2 subsampling (Dumic, Conclusion).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 13, Pei teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions (Pei Pg 6 ¶5 and Fig 2 discloses a program instructing hardware including memory and a processor).
Pei does not explicitly disclose to cause the apparatus to store the first YUV image in a planar storage manner.
Guerin is in the same field of correcting image distortion. Further, Guerin teaches to cause the apparatus to store the first YUV image (Guerin ¶0179, ¶0246, ¶0251 discloses storing the processed image) in a planar storage manner (Guerin ¶0076 discloses the images being planer images).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pei by incorporating the RGB image for distortion, and conversion to obtain the mapping relationship as taught by Guerin; to make an invention that can quickly undistort images with high accuracy; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to improve the accuracy, efficiency, or both of generating a combined image (Guerin ¶0073, ¶0180).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Pei and Guerin in combination do not explicitly disclose wherein a first sampling frequency of a Y-component, a second sampling frequency of a U-component, and a third sampling frequency of a V-component, that are of the first YUV image satisfy a relationship of 4:2:0.
Dumic is in the same field of image distortion in chroma based images. Further, Dumic teaches wherein a first sampling frequency of a Y-component (Dumic Introduction discloses sampling of the yuv Chroma components Fig 6 discloses 4:2:0 sampling), a second sampling frequency of a U-component (Dumic Introduction discloses sampling of the yuv Chroma components Fig 6 discloses 4:2:0 sampling), and a third sampling frequency of a V-component (Dumic Introduction discloses sampling of the yuv Chroma components Fig 6 discloses 4:2:0 sampling) that are of the first YUV image satisfy a relationship of 4:2:0 (Dumic Fig 3 and Table 1 discloses 4:2:0 sampling for the YUV components of the image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pei in view of Guerin by incorporating a 4:2:0 sampling format as taught by Dumic; to make an invention that can quickly undistort images to output a high quality undistorted image; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to start with a higher grade start image which objective measures give higher grades for 4:2:0 subsampling/main profile than for 4:2:2 subsampling (Dumic, Conclusion).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Pei in view of Dumic (Dumic, Emil, et al. "Image quality of 4∶ 2∶ 2 and 4∶ 2∶ 0 chroma subsampling formats." 2009 international symposium ELMAR. IEEE, 2009).
Regarding Claim 7, Pei teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises storing the first YUV image in a packed storage manner (Pei Pg 1 ¶06 discloses the images being stored in a lookup table which is a common packed storage structure).
Pei does not explicitly disclose wherein a first sampling frequency of a Y-component, a second sampling frequency of a U-component, and a third sampling frequency of a V-component of the first YUV image satisfy a relationship of 4:2:0.
Dumic is in the same field of image distortion in chroma based images. Further, Dumic teaches wherein a first sampling frequency of a Y-component (Dumic Introduction discloses sampling of the yuv Chroma components Fig 6 discloses 4:2:0 sampling), a second sampling frequency of a U-component(Dumic Introduction discloses sampling of the yuv Chroma components Fig 6 discloses 4:2:0 sampling) , and a third sampling frequency of a V-component (Dumic Introduction discloses sampling of the yuv Chroma components Fig 6 discloses 4:2:0 sampling) of the first YUV image satisfy a relationship of 4:2:0 (Dumic Fig 3 and Table 1 discloses 4:2:0 sampling relationship for the YUV components of the image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pei by incorporating a 4:2:0 sampling format as taught by Dumic; to make an invention that can quickly undistort images to output a high quality undistorted image; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to start with a higher grade start image which objective measures give higher grades for 4:2:0 subsampling/main profile than for 4:2:2 subsampling (Dumic, Conclusion).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 15, Pei teaches the apparatus of claim 9 wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions (Pei Pg 6 ¶5 and Fig 2 discloses a program instructing hardware including memory and a processor) to cause the apparatus to store the first YUV image in a packed storage manner (Pei Pg 1 ¶06 discloses the images being stored in a lookup table which is a common packed storage structure).
Pei does not explicitly disclose wherein a first sampling frequency of a Y-component, a second sampling frequency of a U-component, and a third sampling frequency of a V-component, of the first YUV image satisfy a relationship of 4:2:0.
Dumic is in the same field of image distortion in chroma based images. Further, Dumic teaches wherein a first sampling frequency of a Y-component (Dumic Introduction discloses sampling of the yuv Chroma components Fig 6 discloses 4:2:0 sampling), a second sampling frequency of a U-component(Dumic Introduction discloses sampling of the yuv Chroma components Fig 6 discloses 4:2:0 sampling) , and a third sampling frequency of a V-component (Dumic Introduction discloses sampling of the yuv Chroma components Fig 6 discloses 4:2:0 sampling) of the first YUV image satisfy a relationship of 4:2:0 (Dumic Fig 3 and Table 1 discloses 4:2:0 sampling relationship for the YUV components of the image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pei by incorporating a 4:2:0 sampling format as taught by Dumic; to make an invention that can quickly undistort images to output a high quality undistorted image; thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since there is a need to start with a higher grade start image which objective measures give higher grades for 4:2:0 subsampling/main profile than for 4:2:2 subsampling (Dumic, Conclusion).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8, 14, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form and overcoming the claim objections written above including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Although Pei and Guerin disclose obtaining horizontal and vertical coordinate values none of the prior art discloses or fairly suggests obtaining the horizontal and vertical coordinate values using the following method “obtaining the first horizontal coordinate value according to a formula
U
X
=
t
e
m
p
1
4
, wherein temp1 represents a first sum of a third horizontal coordinate value, of the fifth pixel in the initial RGB image, a fourth horizontal coordinate value, of a sixth pixel in the initial RGB image, a fifth horizontal coordinate value, of a seventh pixel in the initial RGB image, and a sixth horizontal coordinate value, of an eighth pixel in the initial RGB image, and wherein the Sixth pixel, the seventh pixel, and the eighth pixel are adjacent to the fifth pixel
obtaining the first vertical coordinate value, according to a formula Uy = srch +
s
r
c
h
4
* k, wherein srch represents a height of the first YUV image, wherein k =
t
e
m
p
2
4
s
r
c
h
, and wherein temp2 represents a second sum of a third vertical coordinate value, of the fifth pixel in the initial RGB image, a
fourth vertical coordinate value, of the sixth pixel in the initial RGB image, a fifth vertical coordinate value, of the seventh pixel in the initial RGB image, and a sixth vertical coordinate value, of the eighth pixel in the initial RGB image;”.
Reference Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
CN 110599427 A to Wang et al. discloses a fisheye correcting method, device and terminal device.
Conclusion
/RACHEL L ROBERTS/Examiner, Art Unit 2674
/ONEAL R MISTRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2674