Notice of Priority
This applications claims priority for Korean application KR10-2023-0121927 filed 13 September 2023.
DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 10 September 2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Status
Claim(s) 1-13 are examined on the merits herein.
Claim Interpretation
Claim(s) 1 and its dependents, citing reference to “enhancing skin vitality” is interpreted inasmuch as it pertains to not worsening skin vitality, given the term enhancement is relative to a baseline not defined in the specification. Furthermore, “skin vitality” is interpreted as a perceived “brightening” effect as a proxy for skin health, as the term is not defined in the specification.
Claim 3, citing reference to “hydrocortisone” is interpreted inasmuch as it refers to cortisol, as defined by Clegg (Clegg B, Cortisol & Hydrocortisone, 15 June 2015, URL: https://www.chemistryworld.com/podcasts/cortisol-and-hydrocortisone/8647.article)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 details the composition to be applied to a subject whose mitochondrial activity is decreased. However, the scope of the claim is unclear as the metes and bounds of the “mitochondrial activity is decreased” are unclear. For example, it is uncertain which mitochondrial activity is decreased (ATP production, mitophagy, metabolite production, etc.), as decreases in certain activity (i.e. ATP production) may be observed as increases in other activity (i.e. mitophagy). Claim(s) 8 and 9 are similarly unclear. It also uncertain where in the subject the mentioned processes are decreased, as these processes are uniquely cellular and the subject is composed of multiple cells and in a variate matrix of the human body. Furthermore, “decreased” is a directional term, implying reference to an established baseline that is left undefined in the specification.
Therefore, Claim(s) 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rho et al (Published: 27 July 2006; US 2006/0167093 Al; henceforth Rho), in view of Butani (Published: 22 July 2023; Butani A, The Connection Between Stress & Hyperpigmentation, Anjali MD Skincare, BRIGHTBLOG) and Jeong et al (Filed: 29 July 2021; US 2022/0031648 Al; henceforth Jeong).
Rho teaches method of synthesis and application of trimethoxy cinnamate thymol ester compositions to whiten skin. In doing so, Rho addresses several limitations of the mentioned claims. Claim 1 details a method for enhancing skin vitality, comprising administration of 3,4,5-trimethoxycinnamate thymol ester, and Claim 5 details the compositional fraction of the compound to be within 0.0005 to 1 wt%. In regards to the mentioned claims, and given that “enhancing skin vitality” is interpreted as achieving a “brightening” effect of the skin, Rho meets this limitation by first teaching the Instantly disclosed compound, below:
where R1 is -CH=CH- and R2 is thymyl [pg. 3; [0031]]. Furthermore, Rho teaches the application of these compounds to human skin and measurement of an “increase of brightness of skin” thereafter by means of depigmentation of UV-induced spots [pg. 6; Experimental Example 2; [0081]]. Further still, Rho teaches an embodiment where the compound is used at 0.01-20.0 wt% [pg. 4; [0043]], and claims these facets in their invention [Cl. 1, Cl. 6], where Cl. 6 details a cosmetic composition as required by Claim 12. Additionally, in teaching Experimental Example 2, Rho also meets the limitation of external application of the composition, as required by Claim 10. Furthermore, in regards to ranges, it is noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). However, Rho does not make the connection between skin vitality and various causative factors, such as mitochondrial activity, mitophagy activity, ATP production, or stress hormone activity, nor does Rho teach the use-case formatting of the composition (i.e. food, pharmaceutical) and efficacious dosages.
Butani teaches the effects of stress on skin, with hyperpigmentation being a possible outcome. Claim 2 details the skin vitality enhancement pertaining to, at least, inhibition of stress hormone activity, with Claim 3 further limiting the stress hormone to be cortisol; Claim 6 details the composition to be applied to a subject whose skin vitality is reduced by stress. In regards to Claim 2-3 and 6, Butani teaches that hyperpigmentation can be caused by stress, mechanistically through the release of cortisol, which triggers a series of events that lead to an increase in melanin production, and eventually hyperpigmentation. Additionally, Butani teaches that stress can cause inflammation in the body, which can also contribute to the development of dark spots and uneven skin tone (i.e. decreased skin vitality) [How Stress Can Cause Hyperpigmentation; par. 2].
Jeong teaches similar trimethoxy cinnamate thymol compounds for use in relieving skin irritation, and in doing so, address several further limitation of the Instant invention. Claim 4 details the dosage of the compound to be within 0.001 - 1000 mg/kg. In regards to Claim 4, Jeong meets this limitation by teaching a daily dosage of the compound within 0.37-37 mg/kg [pg. 1; [0010]], and further claims this facet in their invention (Cl. 3). Furthermore, in regards to ranges, it is noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Additionally, Jeong teaches preferred embodiments where the composition is either a food composition or a pharmaceutical composition [pg. 1; [0015]], as required by Claim(s) 11 and 13.
A prima facie case of obviousness can be made for one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the compounds and methods of Rho in treating hyperpigmentation caused by the stress factors taught by Butani, to administer the compounds in dosages and forms taught by Jeong, to arrive at the disclosed invention before the priority date of the Instant application. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so provided the mechanistic rationale for hyperpigmentation taught by Butani and ample experimental evidence for both the depigmentation of human skin taught by Rho, and efficacious dosages for skin treatment taught by Jeong. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would be met with a high expectation of success for “enhancing skin vitality” when applying these teachings.
Therefore, Claim(s) 1-6 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, and 10-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the following reference claim(s) of the following U.S. Patent Applications and Patents:
A. Claim(s) 1 and 5-9 of U.S. Patent Applications No. 19/177888; henceforth ‘888
B. Claim(s) 1-2 and 12-16 of U.S. Patent Applications No. 18/990489; henceforth ‘489
C. Claim(s) 1 and 7-11 of U.S. Patent Applications No. 18/917401; henceforth ‘401
D. Claim(s) 1, 3-4, and 7-10 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,583,512 B2; henceforth ‘512
Claim 1 details a method for enhancing skin vitality via administration of 3,4,5-trimethoxycinnamate thymol ester. In regards to Claim 1, References A-D teach methods of improving skin health, whether through inhibiting sebum secretion [‘888; Claim 1], or protecting skin by inhibiting damage [‘489; Claim(s) 1-2], or preventing/improving skin aging [‘401; Claim 1], or relieving skin itch [‘512; Claim 1] – all via application of a trimethoxycinnamate thymol ester; in the case of ‘512 a reported trimethoxy cinnamate compound. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the universal treatment of separate deleterious symptoms by nature of applying the compound (i.e. trimethoxycinnamate thymol ester) will, even in its separate parts, contribute to enhancing skin vitality.
Claim 4 details an effective compositional constituency range of 0.001 – 1000 mg/kg for performing the method of Claim 1. In regards to Claim 4, References A-D teach ranges that overlap with the Instantly claimed range, from 0.01 – 10 mg/kg [‘888; Claim 9] to 0.01 – 30 mg/kg [‘489; Claim 16] to 0.37 – 37 mg/kg [‘512; Claim 3] to 0.1 – 1000 mg/kg [‘401; Claim 7]. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other given the overlapping ranges.
Claim 5 details an effective dosage range for 3,4,5-trimethoxycinnamate thymol ester to be 0.0005 - 1 wt%. In regards to Claim 5, References A and C-D teach ranges that overlap with the Instantly claimed range, such as 0.001-20 wt % [‘512; Claim 4], 0.1 – 10 wt% [‘401; Claim 8], and 0.01 - 5 wt% [‘888; Claim 5]. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other given the overlapping ranges.
Claim 10 details the composition of the method to be purposed for external application. In regards to Claim 10, References A-D each claim this same limitation, for example, as does ‘888 [Claim 6], ‘489 [Claim 12], ‘401 [Claim 10], and ‘512 [Claim 7].
Claim 11 details the composition to be a food composition. In regards to Claim 11, References B-D each claim this same limitation for methods, for example, as does ‘489 [Claim 14], ‘401 [Claim 11], and ‘512 [Claim 8].
Claim 12 details the composition to be a cosmetic composition. In regards to Claim 12, References A-D claim this same limitation for their methods as well, for example, as does ‘888 [Claim7], ‘489 [Claim 13], ‘401 [Claim 9], and ‘512 [Claim 9].
Claim 13 details the composition to be a pharmaceutical composition. In regards to Claim 13, References A-B, and D claim this same limitation for their methods, for example, as does ‘888 [Claim 8], ‘489 [Claim 15], and ‘512 [Claim 10].
The Instant invention, as it pertains to the mentioned claims, is thus found to be patentably indistinct from the mentioned co-pending applications and patents, as each disclosed method describes a similar operation of applying 3,4,5-trimethoxycinnamate thymol ester to a subject in need thereof, for the treatment of perceptibly unhealthy skin.
Therefore, Claim(s) 1, 4-5, and 10-13 are rejected as double patenting.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed in this action.
/STANLEY BRAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/RENEE CLAYTOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1691