Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 of instant Application US 18/829,500 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory anticipatory type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-48 of US patent 12120107 & claims 1-33 of US Patent US 11128615. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims both in the present application and the US patent discloses a method and systems of providing authentication to an unregistered device/user.
The table below shows the comparison of claims of the instant application with that of the US patents 12120107 & US Patent 11128615 respectively.
Claim No.
Limitations of Instant Application US 18/829,500
Limitations of US Patent US 12120107.
Claim No.
1
1. A method, implemented by one or more computing devices, comprising: receiving, from a first computing device, an authentication request comprising: first authentication information associated with a credential; and second authentication information that is encrypted based on the credential; decrypting the second authentication information; and determining, based on the decrypted second authentication information and based on one or more communications with a second computing device to validate the credential, whether to grant the authentication request
1. A method comprising: receiving, from a computing device, an authentication request comprising first authentication information and second authentication information, wherein: the first authentication information is associated with a credential issued by a trusted authority; and the second authentication information is encrypted based on the credential; decrypting the second authentication information, based on a public key, to create a decrypted second authentication information; and determining, based on the decrypted second authentication information and a validity of the credential, whether to grant the authentication request.
1
9
9. An apparatus comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: receive, from a first computing device, an authentication request comprising: first authentication information associated with a credential; and second authentication information that is encrypted based on the credential; decrypt the second authentication information; and determine, based on the decrypted second authentication information and based on one or more communications with a second computing device to validate the credential, whether to grant the authentication request.
13. An apparatus comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: receive, from a computing device, an authentication request comprising first authentication information and second authentication information , wherein: the first authentication information is associated with a credential issued by a trusted authority; and the second authentication information is encrypted based on the credential; decrypt the second authentication information, based on a public key, to create a decrypted second authentication information; and determine, based on the decrypted second authentication information and a validity of the credential, whether to grant the authentication request.
13
16
16. A system comprising: a first computing device and a second computing device; wherein the first computing device comprises: one or more first processors; and memory storing first instructions that, when executed by the one or more first processors, cause the first computing device to: send an authentication request comprising: first authentication information associated with a credential; and second authentication information that is encrypted based on the credential; and wherein the second computing device comprises: one or more second processors; and memory storing second instructions that, when executed by the one or more second processors, cause the second computing device to: receive, from the first computing device, the authentication request; decrypt the second authentication information; and determine, based on the decrypted second authentication information and based on one or more communications with a third computing device to validate the credential, whether to grant the authentication request.
25. A system comprising: a first computing device and a second computing device; wherein the first computing device comprises: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the first computing device to: send an authentication request comprising first authentication information and second authentication information , wherein: the first authentication information is associated with a credential issued by a trusted authority; and the second authentication information is encrypted based on the credential; and wherein the second computing device comprises: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the second computing device to: receive, from the first computing device, the authentication request; decrypt the second authentication information, based on a public key, to create a decrypted second authentication information; and determine, based on the decrypted second authentication information and a validity of the credential, whether to grant the authentication request.
25
Claim No.
Limitations of Instant Application US 18/829,500
Limitations of US Patent US 11128615.
Claim No.
1
1. A method comprising: receiving, from a computing device, an authentication request comprising first authentication information and second authentication information, wherein: the first authentication information is associated with a credential issued by a trusted authority; and the second authentication information is encrypted based on the credential; decrypting the second authentication information, based on a public key, to create a decrypted second authentication information; and determining, based on the decrypted second authentication information and a validity of the credential, whether to grant the authentication request.
1. A method comprising: receiving, from a computing device, an authentication request comprising a user name and a password associated with the user name, wherein: the user name is based on a digital certificate issued by a trusted authority; and the password is encrypted based on the digital certificate; decrypting the password, based on a public key, to create a decrypted password; and determining, based on the decrypted password and a validity of the digital certificate, whether to grant the authentication request.
1
9
9. An apparatus comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: receive, from a first computing device, an authentication request comprising: first authentication information associated with a credential; and second authentication information that is encrypted based on the credential; decrypt the second authentication information; and determine, based on the decrypted second authentication information and based on one or more communications with a second computing device to validate the credential, whether to grant the authentication request.
12. An apparatus comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: receive, from a computing device, an authentication request comprising a user name and a password associated with the user name, wherein: the user name is based on a digital certificate issued by a trusted authority; and the password is encrypted based on the digital certificate; decrypt the password, based on a public key, to create a decrypted password; and determine, based on the decrypted password and a validity of the digital certificate, whether to grant the authentication request
12
16
16. A system comprising: a first computing device and a second computing device; wherein the first computing device comprises: one or more first processors; and memory storing first instructions that, when executed by the one or more first processors, cause the first computing device to: send an authentication request comprising: first authentication information associated with a credential; and second authentication information that is encrypted based on the credential; and wherein the second computing device comprises: one or more second processors; and memory storing second instructions that, when executed by the one or more second processors, cause the second computing device to: receive, from the first computing device, the authentication request; decrypt the second authentication information; and determine, based on the decrypted second authentication information and based on one or more communications with a third computing device to validate the credential, whether to grant the authentication request.
23. A system comprising: a first computing device and a second computing device; wherein the first computing device comprises: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the first computing device to: send an authentication request comprising a user name and a password associated with the user name, wherein: the user name is based on a digital certificate issued by a trusted authority; and the password is encrypted based on the digital certificate; and wherein the second computing device comprises: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the second computing device to: receive, from the first computing device, the authentication request; decrypt the password, based on a public key, to create a decrypted password; and determine, based on the decrypted password and a validity of the digital certificate, whether to grant the authentication request.
23
Additionally, claims 1-20 of instant Application US 18/829,500 are also rejected on the ground of nonstatutory anticipatory type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-37 of US Patent US 10484364. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims both in the present application and the US patent discloses a method and systems of providing authentication to an unregistered device/user.
Additionally, claims 1-20 instant Application US 18/829,500 are also rejected on the ground of nonstatutory anticipatory type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 8,11 & 14 of US Patent US 9787669. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims both in the present application and the US patent discloses a method and systems of providing authentication to an unregistered device/user.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 2, 5-6, 9, 12-13, 16 & 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102[a][1] as being anticipated by Matsumoto (US 20010034836 A1 as mentioned in IDS 9/10/2024)
Regarding claim 1, Matsumoto teaches a method, implemented by one or more computing devices, comprising: receiving, from a first computing device, an authentication request comprising: first authentication information associated with a credential; [0042] In the biometrics authentication station 20, to which the authentically request is sent from the resource providing server 80, the controller 28 requests a digital signature to the user terminal 60 (S10). In this case, data transmitted as the digital signature request includes a user ID as user information such as a name, address, or company, the serial number of the digital certificate 66, (values in the digital certificate- the credential received by the authentication station along with digital signature) and authentication information. The authentication information …., encrypts the digital certificate 66 with the private key 68, and generates a digital signature (S14). The user terminal 60 transmits this digital signature and the digital certificate 66 (credential) to the biometrics authentication station 20 (S16). [0042] In the biometrics authentication station 20, ….includes a user ID as user information such as a name, address, or company, the serial number of the digital certificate 66, and authentication information. The authentication …, encrypts the digital certificate 66 with the private key 68, and generates a digital signature (S14). The user terminal 60 transmits this digital signature and the digital certificate 66 to the biometrics authentication station 20 (S16).]
second authentication information that is encrypted based on the credential; [0043] The controller 28 in the biometrics authentication station 20 receives the digital signature (second authentication information) transmitted from the user terminal 60 (S18) and collates the digital signatures (S20). More specifically, the controller 28 decrypts the digital signature from the user terminal 60 with the user's public key (first authentication information) and compares the decrypted result with the digital certificate (credential) 66 transmitted together with the digital signature (second authentication information). If these signatures coincide with each other, it is authenticated that the user of the private key operates the user terminal 60.]
decrypting the second authentication information; and determining based on the decrypted second authentication information. and based on one or more communications with a second computing device to validate the credential, [0043] The controller 28 in the biometrics authentication station 20 receives the digital signature transmitted from the user terminal 60 (S18) and collates the digital signatures (S20). More specifically, the controller 28 decrypts the digital signature from the user terminal 60 with the user's public key and compares the decrypted result with the digital certificate 66 (credential) transmitted together with the digital signature. If these signatures coincide with each other, it is authenticated that the user of the private key operates the user terminal 60.[0044] The controller 28 transmits a CRL request to the directory server 24 (S22). Upon receiving the CRL request (S24), the directory server 24 (second computing device) acquires the CRL of the corresponding user from the digital certificate DB 26 (S26) and transmits it to the controller 28 (S28).[0045] The controller 28 receives the CRL from the directory server 24 (S30) and determines validity of the digital certificate 66 (credential) to check if the digital certificate 66 (credential) is invalidated or its valid dates expire (S32). According to this embodiment, information pertaining to the valid dates of biometrics data is stored in the CRL. The controller 28 refers to the CRL to determine whether the valid dates of the biometrics data expire (S32). If NO in step S32, a biometrics data request is transmitted to the user terminal 60 (S34)].
whether to grant authentication request; [0021] As described above, according to the authentication method of the present invention, the digital certificate and validity data representing the validity of the digital certificate, and the biometrics data of the user can be used at the time of issuance of the digital certificate stored in the user registration step when the authentication station authenticates the user, i.e., when the user validity determination step and biometrics collation step are performed. In this manner, when the digital certificate and biometrics data are checked, the third party who sets up for the authentic user can be discriminated, thereby performing highly reliable personal authentication. [ 0050] An accounting process (S5) performed between the biometrics authentication station 20 and the resource providing server 80 next to the authentication job (S3) will be described with reference to the flow chart in FIG. 6. When the authentication job (S3) is complete, the authentication result is transmitted from the biometrics authentication station 20 to the resource providing server 80 (S4) as described above. That is, the controller 28 in the biometrics authentication station 20 transmits the authentication result to the resource providing server 80 (S60), and the resource providing server 80 receives this (S62).]
Regarding claim 2, Matsumoto teaches wherein the credential comprises a value to authenticate the first computing device. [0042] In the biometrics authentication station 20, to which the authentically request is sent from the resource providing server 80, the controller 28 requests a digital signature to the user terminal 60 (S10). In this case, data transmitted as the digital signature request includes a user ID as user information such as a name, address, or company, the serial number of the digital certificate 66, (values in the digital certificate- the credential received by the authentication station along with digital signature) and authentication information. The authentication information …., encrypts the digital certificate 66 with the private key 68, and generates a digital signature (S14). The user terminal 60 transmits this digital signature and the digital certificate 66 (credential) to the biometrics authentication station 20 (S16). [0042] In the biometrics authentication station 20, ….includes a user ID as user information such as a name, address, or company, the serial number of the digital certificate 66, and authentication information. The authentication …, encrypts the digital certificate 66 with the private key 68, and generates a digital signature (S14). The user terminal 60 transmits this digital signature and the digital certificate 66 to the biometrics authentication station 20 (S16).]
Regarding claim 5, Matsumoto teaches verifying a validity of the credential by performing at least one of: determining whether the credential has been revoked; or inspecting one or more data fields of the credential. [0045] The controller 28 receives the CRL from the directory server 24 (S30) and determines validity of the digital certificate 66 (credential) to check if the digital certificate 66 (credential) is invalidated or its valid dates expire (S32). According to this embodiment, information pertaining to the valid dates of biometrics data is stored in the CRL. The controller 28 refers to the CRL to determine whether the valid dates of the biometrics data expire (S32). If NO in step S32, a biometrics data request is transmitted to the user terminal 60 (S34)].
Regarding claim 6, Matsumoto discloses wherein decrypting the second authentication information comprises: decrypting the second authentication information based on a public key associated with the first authentication information. [0043] The controller 28 in the biometrics authentication station 20 receives the digital signature transmitted from the user terminal 60 (S18) and collates the digital signatures (S20). More specifically, the controller 28 decrypts the digital signature from the user terminal 60 with the user's public key and compares the decrypted result with the digital certificate 66 (credential) transmitted together with the digital signature. If these signatures coincide with each other, it is authenticated that the user of the private key operates the user terminal 60.]
Regarding claims 12 & 18, these claims are interpreted to be similar to claim 5 and rejected for the same reasons as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claims 13 & 19, these claims are interpreted to be similar as claim 6 and rejected for the same reasons as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 9, these claims are interpreted to be similar as claim 1 and rejected for the same reasons as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Matsumoto discloses a system comprising: a first computing device and a second computing device; wherein the first computing device comprises: one or more first processors; and memory storing first instructions that, when executed by the one or more first processors, cause the first computing device to: send an authentication request comprising: first authentication information associated with a credential; [0043] The controller 28 (residing in the second computing device) in the biometrics authentication station 20 receives the digital signature transmitted from the user terminal 60 (S18) (first computing device) and collates the digital signatures (S20). More specifically, the controller 28 decrypts the digital signature from the user terminal 60 with the user's public key (first authentication information) and compares the decrypted result with the digital certificate (credential) 66 transmitted together with the digital signature (second authentication information). If these signatures coincide with each other, it is authenticated that the user of the private key operates the user terminal 60]
and second authentication information that is encrypted based on the credential; [0043] The controller 28 (second computing device) in the biometrics authentication station 20 receives the digital signature (second authentication information) transmitted from the user terminal 60 (S18) and collates the digital signatures (S20). More specifically, the controller 28 decrypts the digital signature from the user terminal 60 with the user's public key (first authentication information) and compares the decrypted result with the digital certificate (credential) 66 transmitted together with the digital signature (second authentication information). If these signatures coincide with each other, it is authenticated that the user of the private key operates the user terminal 60]
and wherein the second computing device comprises: one or more second processors; and memory storing second instructions that, when executed by the one or more second processors, cause the second computing device to: receive, from the first computing device, the authentication request; [0043] The controller 28 (second computing device) in the biometrics authentication station 20 receives the digital signature transmitted from the user terminal 60 (S18) and collates the digital signatures (S20). More specifically, the controller 28 decrypts the digital signature from the user terminal 60 with the user's public key and compares the decrypted result with the digital certificate 66 (credential) transmitted together with the digital signature. If these signatures coincide with each other, it is authenticated that the user of the private key operates the user terminal 60
decrypt the second authentication information; and determine, based on the decrypted second authentication information and based on one or more communications with a third computing device to validate the credential, [0043] The controller 28 in the biometrics authentication station 20 receives the digital signature transmitted from the user terminal 60 (S18) and collates the digital signatures (S20). More specifically, the controller 28 decrypts the digital signature from the user terminal 60 with the user's public key and compares the decrypted result with the digital certificate 66 (credential) transmitted together with the digital signature. If these signatures coincide with each other, it is authenticated that the user of the private key operates the user terminal 60. [0044] The controller 28 transmits a CRL request to the directory server 24 (S22) (third computing device). Upon receiving the CRL request (S24), the directory server 24 (second computing device) acquires the CRL of the corresponding user from the digital certificate DB 26 (S26) and transmits it to the controller 28 (S28). [0045] The controller 28 receives the CRL from the directory server 24 (S30) and determines validity of the digital certificate 66 (credential) to check if the digital certificate 66 (credential) is invalidated or its valid dates expire (S32). According to this embodiment, information pertaining to the valid dates of biometrics data is stored in the CRL. The controller 28 refers to the CRL to determine whether the valid dates of the biometrics data expire (S32). If NO in step S32, a biometrics data request is transmitted to the user terminal 60 (S34)].
whether to grant the authentication request. [0021] As described above, according to the authentication method of the present invention, the digital certificate and validity data representing the validity of the digital certificate, and the biometrics data of the user can be used at the time of issuance of the digital certificate stored in the user registration step when the authentication station authenticates the user, i.e., when the user validity determination step and biometrics collation step are performed. In this manner, when the digital certificate and biometrics data are checked, the third party who sets up for the authentic user can be discriminated, thereby performing highly reliable personal authentication. [ 0050] An accounting process (S5) performed between the biometrics authentication station 20 and the resource providing server 80 next to the authentication job (S3) will be described with reference to the flow chart in FIG. 6. When the authentication job (S3) is complete, the authentication result is transmitted from the biometrics authentication station 20 to the resource providing server 80 (S4) as described above. That is, the controller 28 in the biometrics authentication station 20 transmits the authentication result to the resource providing server 80 (S60), and the resource providing server 80 receives this (S62).]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 10, 11 & 17 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto (US 20010034836 A1) in view of Sherman (US20060059346 as mentioned in IDS dated 9/10/2024)
Regarding claim 3, although, Matsumoto teaches credential, he does not teach explicitly, however, Sherman teaches wherein the credential is used by a trusted authority, and wherein the second computing device is associated with the trusted authority. [0035] At step 204, the registration/authentication system 102 may enable a digital certification authority (trusted authority) to issue a digital certificate (credential) to the client 124. A digital certification authority is an entity that is established to issue digital certificates 232. In certain embodiments, the registration/authentication system 102 may include a digital certification authority to issue digital certificates 232 for clients 124. The registration/authentication system 102 may also rely on a third party digital certification authority 122 such as those offered by "Verisign" or "Thawte", for example, to issue digital certificates 232 for clients 124. Thus, in the case of a third party certification authority 122, step 204 involves notifying the third party digital certification authority 122 that a digital certificate 232 should be issued to the client 124. The registration/authentication system 102 and client access device 112 may communicate with the third-party digital certification authority 122 via the network 114, for example.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Matsumoto with the disclosure of Sherman. The motivation or suggestion would have been to implement a system that will provide efficient and improved techniques to authenticate remote access clients with enhanced convenience while maintaining an acceptable level of security. (abstract, para 0001-0005, Sherman).
Regarding claim 4, although, Matsumoto teaches credential, he does not teach explicitly, however, Sherman teaches verifying a path for the credential; and validating, based on the verifying the path, the credential. [0050] According to various embodiments, the system 102 may verify that a digital certificate 232 has been issued successfully. The system 102 may prompt an administrative user to contact the client 124 by telephone, for example, to inquire whether the client 124 is able to log into the client service system 110 using the digital certificate 232. Screen 604, as shown in FIG. 6C, is an exemplary communication to an administrative user prompting contact with the client 124 to verify that an issued digital certificate 232 operates correctly. The registration/authentication system 102 may automatically check the status of the client's digital certificate 232 by requesting the digital certificate 232 from the client 124 and verifying its validity and its binding 228 to the client representation 230.]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wheeler with the disclosure of Sherman. The motivation or suggestion would have been to implement a system that will provide efficient and improved techniques to authenticate remote access clients with enhanced convenience while maintaining an acceptable level of security. (abstract, para 0001-0005, Sherman)
Regarding claim 10, this claim is interpreted to be similar as claim 3 and rejected for the same reasons set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claims 11 & 17, this claim is interpreted to be similar as claim 4 and rejected for the same reasons set forth for claim 4.
Claims 7-8, 14-15 & 20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto (US 20010034836 A1) in view of Buch (US 20030217165 A1 as mentioned in IDS dated 9/10/2024).
Regarding claim 7, Matsumoto teaches wherein the second authentication information comprises a digital signature of the first authentication information, as shown above in mapping of claim 1, however, Matsumoto does not teach explicitly, however, Buch teaches wherein the digital signature comprises a hash output associated with the credential. [0028] When the callee SIP client 86 receives the SIP request message 82 containing the signature 100, it uses a certificate 102 of the sender associated with the private-public key pair of the sender to verify the digital signature 100 that came with the SIP request. Typically, the authentication process involves using the public key 110 of the sender 76 to decrypt the digital signature of the sender into a first hash value, generating a second hash value from those portions of the SIP message used by the sender to generate the digital signature, and comparing the two hash values. If they match, the recipient knows that the public key provided by the sender matches the private key used to generate the signature. If the request message includes a portion encrypted with the public key of the user 80, the SIP client 86 uses the private key 118 of the user to decrypt the encrypted data 120.]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Matsumoto with the disclosure of Buch. The motivation or suggestion would have been to implement a system that will provide efficient and improved techniques to authenticate received digital signature based on certificate. (abstract, para 0005-0007, Buch)
Regarding claim 8, although Matsumoto teaches decrypted second authentication information as shown above in the mapping of claim1, they do not teach explicitly, however, Buch teaches wherein the determining whether to grant the authentication request comprises: determining whether the decrypted second authentication information corresponds to the hash output. [[0028] When the callee SIP client 86 receives the SIP request message 82 containing the signature 100, it uses a certificate 102 of the sender associated with the private-public key pair of the sender to verify the digital signature 100 that came with the SIP request. Typically, the authentication process involves using the public key 110 of the sender 76 to decrypt the digital signature of the sender into a first hash value, generating a second hash value from those portions of the SIP message used by the sender to generate the digital signature, and comparing the two hash values. If they match, the recipient knows that the public key provided by the sender matches the private key used to generate the signature. If the request message includes a portion encrypted with the public key of the user 80, the SIP client 86 uses the private key 118 of the user to decrypt the encrypted data 120.]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Matsumoto with the disclosure of Buch. The motivation or suggestion would have been to implement a system that will provide efficient and improved techniques to authenticate received digital signature based on certificate. (abstract, para 0005-0007, Buch)
Regarding claims 14 & 20, these claims are interpreted to be similar as claim 7 and rejected for the same reasons set forth for claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, this claim is interpreted to be similar as claim 8 and rejected for the same reasons set forth for claim 8.
Examiner’s Note: The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are followings:
Bisbee (US 20010002485 A1) discloses digital signatures are not valid
indefinitely but only during the validity periods of their authentication certificates, which themselves are not indefinite but typically expire in order to limit the chances for compromise of the digital signatures. This poses a problem for electronic information objects that are intended to have legal weight for periods longer than the remaining validity period of a signature. There are thus provided methods of handling stored electronic original objects that have been created by signing information objects by respective transfer agents, submitting signed information objects to a trusted custodial utility, validating the submitted signed information objects by at least testing the integrity of the contents of each signed information object and the validity of the signature of the respective transfer agent, and applying to each validated information object a date-time stamp and a digital signature and authentication certificate of the trusted custodial utility. One method includes re-validating an electronic original object by verifying the digital signature of the trusted custodial utility applied to the object and applying to the re-validated object a current date-time stamp and a digital signature and current authentication certificate of the trusted custodial utility. Another method includes the step of creating an object-inventory from at least one stored electronic original object, where the object-inventory includes an object identifier and a signature block for each object from which the object-inventory is created. A date-time stamp and a digital signature and authentication certificate of the trusted custodial utility is applied to the object-inventory. Other methods involve handling information objects that are transferable records according to specified business rules, which avoids problems that can arise if copies of the transferable records can be mistaken for originals.
Collins (US 20020038420 A1) teaches a method for transmitting a document.
Generally, the document is digitally signed. An information string is encrypted with a private key to create a signature wherein the private key is related to a public key in a certificate, wherein the certificate comprises a first public key and a second public key, wherein the public key related to the private key is the second public key, and where the information string contains the document. The signature is attached to the information string to create a digitally signed document.
3. Wilson (US 8392712 as mentioned in IDS) discloses a method for controlling access to a network comprises a first operation of determining one or more device characteristics of an electronic device seeking to join the network. Then, one or more unique device credentials are generated for the electronic device. The format of the unique device credentials are based on the one or more device characteristics of the electronic device.
4. Benantar (US 20020144108 as mentioned in IDS), teaches method, a system, an apparatus, and a computer program product are presented for an authentication process. A host application or system within a distributed data processing system supports one or more controlled resources, such as a legacy application, that requires the receipt of authentication data prior to allowing a user to have access to the controlled resource. The required authentication data is encrypted using the public key of the host system, and an attribute certificate containing the encrypted authentication data is generated by an attribute-certificate-issuing authority. When a user of a client application or system requires access to the controlled resource, the attribute certificate is sent to the host, which decrypts the authentication data with its private key prior to forwarding the authentication data to the controlled resource. The controlled resource then authenticates a user based on the provided authentication data.
5. Bender (US 20090222657 as mentioned in IDS) discloses illustrative scenario, a mobile device receives configuration information which includes information for use in constructing a request message for obtaining a digital certificate from a certificate authority (CA). After receipt of the configuration information, the mobile device constructs the request message for the digital certificate and causes it to be sent to a host server of a communication network. In response, the host server requests and obtains the digital certificate from the CA on behalf of the mobile device, and thereafter "pushes" the received digital certificate to the mobile device. The mobile device receives the digital certificate and stores it for use in subsequent communications. The host server may be part of a local area network (LAN) which includes a wireless LAN (WLAN) adapted to authenticate the mobile device based on the digital certificate, so that the mobile device may obtain access to the WLAN.
6. Yoneda (US 20120036364 as mentioned in IDS) In a system where a communication device performs secure communication by using a digital certificate, to enable a device of a communication party to verify that a self certificate is certainly generated by a device indicated on the self certificate even if the self certificate is not delivered offline in advance. Based on a master key and a public parameter, a communication device generates an ID-based encryption private key for which a device unique ID is used as a public key. Then, the communication device generates the digital signature of an RSA public key as a ID-based encryption signature by using the ID-based encryption private key. Then, the communication device generates an RSA self signature for the RSA public key, an expiration date, a host name, the device unique ID, and the ID-based encryption signature as the target. Then, the communication device generates a self-signed certificate to include the ID-based encryption signature and the RSA self-signature.
7. Wheeler (US 20020016913 A1) teaches a method of generating a digital signature within a computer chip includes receiving data representing a message, and generating a digital signature for the message by modifying the message data with additional data, calculating a hash value of the modified message, and encrypting the hash value using a private key of a public-private key pair. The additional data includes data prestored within content searchable memory of the computer chip and a verification status of the computer chip. The verification status is identified out of a plurality of predefined verification statuses as a function of verification data input into the computer chip and data prestored within the computer chip. An identified verification status is used by one entity in determining risk regarding an electronic communication from another entity, especially where the electronic communication comprises a request and a digital signature generated by the computer chip.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SHER KHAN whose telephone number is (571)272-8574. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday-8:00am - 5:00pm (EST).If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Eleni Shiferaw can be reached on 571-272-3867. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SHER A KHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497