Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments, filed April 10th, 2026, with respect to the independent claim rejections have been fully considered but are not persuasive. As Applicant’s arguments are directed toward limitations of the claims added via amendment, they will be addressed in the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-11, 13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grisenthwaite et al (US 2019/0205140, herein Grisenthwaite, cited in previous Office Action).
Regarding claim 1, Grisenthwaite discloses an apparatus, comprising:
processing circuitry configured to perform data processing (abstract); and
instruction decoding circuitry configured to decode instructions to control the processing circuitry to perform the data processing ([0052], decode stage); in which:
the instruction decoding circuitry is responsive to a speculation barrier variant of a conditional instruction having an instruction outcome depending on a condition ([0079], [0113], [0119], conditional speculation barrier instruction) for which evaluating the condition comprises testing whether at least one condition code in a status register satisfies the condition (paragraph 0055; conditions are stored in registers and are used to determine outcomes of instructions), to control the processing circuitry to:
while the condition is not yet resolved, impose a speculation barrier requirement to restrict speculative handling of a subsequent operation appearing in program order after the speculation barrier variant of the conditional instruction ([0029], [0040-0042], [0050]; while the conditional branch is unresolved, speculation beyond the branch is not allowed & [0113], conditional barrier instruction); and
in response to resolution of the condition and regardless of an outcome of the condition, relax the speculation barrier requirement imposed by the speculation barrier variant of the conditional instruction (paragraphs 0029, 0040-0042, 0050; when the conditional branch is resolved, speculation may continue);
wherein the speculation barrier requirement prevents the subsequent operation from being speculatively executed (claims 1, 7, 8, [0029], [0113], prevent speculative execution of a subsequent operation).
Regarding claim 2, Grisenthwaite teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to relax the speculation barrier requirement to permit speculative handling of the subsequent operation which would have been restricted by the speculation barrier requirement [paragraphs 0040-0041; the restriction on speculation is relaxed based on the branch prediction], even if an earlier instruction preceding the speculation barrier variant of the conditional instruction in program order has not yet been architecturally resolved [paragraph 0033].
Regarding claim 4, Grisenthwaite teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the instruction decoding circuitry is configured to determine whether a given conditional instruction is the speculation barrier variant based on an encoding of the given conditional instruction [paragraph 0043; the system uses an instruction encoding to indicate the instruction type].
Regarding claim 6, Grisenthwaite teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the speculation barrier requirement prevents the subsequent operation from speculatively influencing allocation of entries in a cache, at least where said allocation could be indicative of a data value in memory or a register [paragraphs 0029-0031].
Regarding claim 7, Grisenthwaite teaches the apparatus according to claim 6, wherein said cache is at least one of: a data cache; an instruction cache; an address translation cache; and a branch prediction cache [paragraph 0028].
Regarding claim 8, Grisenthwaite teaches the apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the speculation barrier requirement permits speculative execution of the subsequent operation [paragraphs 0040-0042; speculative execution is allowed only along a predicted path].
Regarding claim 10, Grisenthwaite teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the speculation barrier requirement prevents speculative execution of a given subsequent operation using any of: a predicted data value; a predicted condition code for an unresolved earlier instruction, other than a conditional branch instruction, preceding the speculation barrier variant of the conditional instruction in program order; and a prediction of predicate information indicative of which data elements of a vector value are active elements for a vector processing instruction [paragraphs 0040-0042; speculative execution is prevented based on a prediction of the conditional branch].
Regarding claim 11, Grisenthwaite teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the speculation barrier requirement prevents speculative execution of any subsequent operation appearing in program order after the speculation barrier variant of the conditional instruction [paragraph 0050; the system prevents speculative execution of operations subsequent to the conditional branch].
Regarding claim 13, Grisenthwaite teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the conditional instruction comprises a conditional branch instruction having a branch outcome depending on the condition [paragraphs 0040-0042].
Regarding claim 15, Grisenthwaite teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, comprising prediction circuitry to predict an outcome of a given instruction in advance of execution of the given instruction [paragraph 0054; the system includes a branch predictor], wherein the prediction circuitry is configured to not incur prediction resource for predicting the instruction outcome of the speculation barrier variant of the conditional instruction [paragraph 0050; the system does not act speculatively on a prediction made for an instruction designated as a speculation-restricted variant; paragraph 0139; alternatively, the branch can be designated as never being predicted].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grisenthwaite in view of Chappell et al (US 2019/0324756, herein Chappell).
Regarding claim 5, Grisenthwaite does not explicitly disclose using a prefix instruction to indicate a conditional instruction should restrict speculation. However, Chappell discloses [paragraph 0036] a system similar to that of Grisenthwaite in which speculation is disabled for the purpose of preventing side-channel attacks and further using a prefix instruction for this purpose. Such use allows a programmer to protect against side-channel attacks without the need to modify existing instructions, making such an implementation simpler and potentially more efficient. Such operation would therefore have been obvious in the system of Grisenthwaite.
5. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grisenthwaite in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 14, Grisenthwaite does not explicitly disclose that the conditional branch instruction is a compare-and-branch instruction. However, the examiner takes official notice that the practice and benefits of using such instructions in systems such as Grisenthwaite were notoriously well known at the time of the effective filing date of the application. Such branch instructions were ubiquitous in modern processing systems and a person having skill in the art would have recognized that the benefits of Grisenthwaite apply equally to such instructions. Such application would therefore have been obvious.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bouzgarrou (US 2023/0385066) discloses a processor that uses a speculative barrier instruction to prevent subsequent instruction execution.
Chappell (US 2023/0350687) discloses a processor that uses different types of fence instructions to prevent speculative instruction execution.
Horsnell (US 2021/0342152) discloses a processor that uses a barrier to prevent speculative subsequent memory operations.
Okazaki (US 2019/0354368) discloses a processor that uses a barrier instruction with different conditions to prevent speculative execution.
Fukuyama (US 2018/0225208) discloses a processor that prevent subsequent speculative execution with a load fence instruction.
/MICHAEL J METZGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183