DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9,11,15,17 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9,17,18 recite the limitation “optionally” preceding with addition limitations defining a structure of the dispenser. It is unclear whether the limitations following “optionally” are part of the claim. It is suggested the Applicant positively recite the claimed structure of the invention. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the insects" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the hub" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the base wall" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4,7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Jang (US 10,986,771).
Referring to claim 1. Jang discloses an apparatus (20; Figure 1) for dispensing biological control agents (granule), the apparatus comprising:
a hopper (20; Figure 3) for containing biological control agents (granule), the hopper (20) comprising an orifice (301a; Figure 7) arranged to allow the dispensation of the biological control agents (granule) therethrough; and
a valve wheel (303) arranged outside the hopper (20) and adjacent to the orifice (301a), the valve wheel (303) being arranged to rotate about a valve wheel axis (center axis of 404) to move the biological control agents (granule) away from the orifice (301a).
Referring to claim 2. Jang discloses an apparatus (20; Figure 1) for dispensing biological control agents (granule), the apparatus comprising:
wherein the valve wheel axis (center axis of 404) is parallel to a plane of the orifice (see plane of 301 and axis of 404; see Figure 7).
Referring to claim 3. Jang discloses an apparatus (20; Figure 1) for dispensing biological control agents (granule), the apparatus comprising:
wherein the orifice (301a) has a width (width of 301a) in a direction parallel to the valve wheel axis (center axis of 404) and the valve wheel (303) has a width along the valve wheel axis (see Figure 7), the width of the valve wheel (width of 301a) being the same as or greater than the width of orifice (see Figure 7).
Referring to claim 4. Jang discloses an apparatus (20; Figure 1) for dispensing biological control agents (granule), the apparatus comprising:
wherein the hopper (20; Figure 3) comprises a base wall (301) and wherein the orifice (301a) is formed in the base wall (301).
Referring to claim 7. Jang discloses an apparatus (20; Figure 1) for dispensing biological control agents (granule), the apparatus comprising:
wherein the base wall (301) has a substantially flat upper surface (see Figure 7).
Referring to claim 17. Jang discloses an apparatus (20; Figure 1)
further comprising a curtain (housing of 30) that at least partially surrounds the valve wheel (303), the curtain (housing of 30) extending downwardly from the hopper (20), optionally, wherein the curtain surrounds at least 270° of the valve wheel, further optionally 360° (surrounds 360 around the valve wheel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5,6,8,11-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Jang (US 10,986,771) and further in view of Calverley (US 2,979,230).
Referring to claim 5. Jang does not disclose wherein an upper surface of the base wall is chamfered around the orifice.
Calverley discloses a tablet dispenser (Figure 1) wherein an upper surface of the base wall (16; Figure 3) is chamfered (29) around the orifice (18).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Jang to include wherein an upper surface of the base wall is chamfered around the orifice as taught by Calverley because a chamfered upper surface of the base wall would allow for easier insertion of articles into the orifice.
Referring to claim 6. Calverley further discloses a tablet dispenser (Figure 1) wherein a lower surface of the base wall (lower surface of 16) has an arcuate shape (30) adjacent the orifice (18), the arcuate shape extending around the valve wheel (see Figure 5).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Jang to include wherein a lower surface of the base wall has an arcuate shape adjacent the orifice as taught by Calverley because an arcuate shape lower surface of the base wall would allow for easier exit of articles out of the orifice.
Referring to claim 8. Jang discloses an apparatus (20; Figure 1) for dispensing biological control agents (granule), the apparatus comprising:
wherein a radius of the valve wheel (303) is at least twice (more than) a length of the orifice (301a), the length of the orifice being in a direction perpendicular to the valve wheel axis, and/or, wherein the hopper has a substantially cylindrical inner volume (see cylindrical hopper member 34, Figure 1; Calverly).
Referring to claims 11-13,15 and 19. Calverley discloses a tablet dispenser (Figure 1)
further comprising an agitator (25; Figure 2) comprising a plurality of bars (left and right sides of 25) arranged within the hopper (34), the agitator (25) being rotatable about an agitator axis (15) to disturb the insects in the hopper (disturb articles).
Referring to claim 14. Calverley discloses a tablet dispenser (Figure 1)
wherein the bars (right sides of 25) have a circular cross section (see member 32).
Referring to claim 16. Calverley discloses a tablet dispenser (Figure 1)
comprising an agitator drive unit (member 34 is rotated), the agitator drive unit being arranged to rotate the agitator (25) at a rotational speed of less than 60 rpm (hand operated).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Jang (US 10,986,771) and further in view of Cheng (US 7,922,038).
Referring to claim 9. Jang does not disclose wherein the valve wheel has a grooved outer circumferential surface, optionally, wherein grooves of the grooved outer circumferential surface have a depth less than 5% of the radius of the valve wheel.
Cheng discloses a valve wheel (3; Figure 2) has a grooved outer circumferential surface (see grooves on surface of 3), optionally, wherein grooves of the grooved outer circumferential surface have a depth less than 5% of the radius of the valve wheel (see Figure 2 and 7).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Jang to include the valve wheel has a grooved outer circumferential surface, optionally, wherein grooves of the grooved outer circumferential surface have a depth less than 5% of the radius of the valve wheel as taught by Cheng because the grooved outer circumferential surface would provide for an improved friction surface to help remove the articles in the hopper.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Jang (US 10,986,771) and further in view of Bird (US 1,993,587).
Referring to claim 10. Jang does not disclose wherein the hopper has an inner wall and an outer wall, the outer wall being spaced from the inner wall and surrounding the inner wall.
Bird discloses a can salting machine (Figure 3) wherein the hopper (20) has an inner wall (22) and an outer wall (20), the outer wall (22) being spaced (23) from the inner wall and surrounding the inner wall (see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Jang to include the hopper has an inner wall and an outer wall, the outer wall being spaced from the inner wall and surrounding the inner wall as taught by Bird because the hopper can he made stronger.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Jang (US 10,986,771) and further in view of Alexandrou (US 2010/0307986).
Referring to claim 18. Jang does not disclose wherein the hopper has ventilation holes arranged to allow airflow between an interior volume of the hopper and an external environment, optionally, further comprising a cover extending over the ventilation holes, the cover being arranged to prevent objects falling into the ventilation holes.
Alexandrou discloses a percolation filtering system (Figure 5) wherein the hopper (2; Figure 5) has ventilation holes (45) arranged to allow airflow between an interior volume of the hopper and an external environment (see Figure 5), optionally, further comprising a cover (44) extending over the ventilation holes (45), the cover being arranged to prevent objects falling into the ventilation holes (see Figure 5).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Jang to include the hopper has ventilation holes arranged to allow airflow between an interior volume of the hopper and an external environment, optionally, further comprising a cover extending over the ventilation holes, the cover being arranged to prevent objects falling into the ventilation holes as taught by Alexandrou because the hopper would not comprise a negative pressure as the volume of articles decreases via dispensing.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Jang (US 10,986,771) and further in view of Judson (US 2,547,867).
Referring to claim 20. Jang discloses a biological control agent dispenser as claimed (see claim 1 above).
Jang does not disclose wherein biological control agent dispensing system comprising a plurality of biological control agent dispensers and further wherein a boom arranged to support the first and second apparatuses, the first and second apparatuses being spaced apart along the boom; and a propulsion unit arranged to propel the boom.
Judson discloses a planting machine (Figure 1) wherein a plurality of biological control agent dispensing system (Figure 1) comprising a plurality of biological control agent dispensers (10) and further wherein a boom (12) arranged to support the first and second apparatuses (10), the first and second apparatuses (10) being spaced apart along the boom (12); and a propulsion unit arranged to propel the boom (16 as shown in Figure 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Jang to include wherein biological control agent dispensing system comprising a plurality of biological control agent dispensers and further wherein a boom arranged to support the first and second apparatuses, the first and second apparatuses being spaced apart along the boom; and a propulsion unit arranged to propel the boom as taught by Judson because the dispensing system comprising a plurality of dispensers can be easily moved to dispense articles.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/RAKESH KUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651