Detailed Action
The instant application having Application No. 18/829,569 has a total of 20 claims pending in the application; there is 1 independent claim and 19 dependent claims, all of which are ready for examination by the examiner. This Office action is in response to the claims filed 6/17/26. Claims 1-20 are pending.
NOTICE OF PRE-AIA OR AIA STATUS
REJECTIONS NOT BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant points to para. 120-127 in the specification for support of “store a first value indicating that the first data is the prefetch data corresponding to the first prefetch request in the first field of the first entry.” Looking at those paragraphs and drawings 5-8, it appears that a first value could be a field F1, which indicates whether the data is valid or empty. That does not appear to indicate whether the data is prefetch data corresponding to a specific prefetch request. The F2 field is a lock flag and the F3 field is a logical address. Neither of these fields is a first value that both indicates that the first data is prefetch data and indicates that it corresponds to a specific prefetch request. Para. 120-127 also do not state that the fields indicate that data is specifically prefetch data, nor that the fields tie that prefetch data to a specific request.
REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khalili et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0034061), herein referred to as Khalil et al. in view of Roberts (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0003659), herein referred to as Roberts.
Referring to claim 1, Khalili et al. disclose as claimed, a memory system comprising: a nonvolatile memory (see fig. 1, showing a memory device 120 and see para. 24, where it may be a nonvolatile memory) ; and a memory controller that includes: a first cache including a first memory unit and a first control unit controlling the first memory unit (see fig. 1, showing circuit 140 with a prefetch cache 128. See para. 25, where different media controllers may exist that separately control access to each storage media), and storing prefetch data and read data from the nonvolatile memory (see para. 44, where in mode 2, data is first accessed and placed in a prefetch cache), the first cache being connectable to a host (see fig. 1, showing prefetch cache being connectable to host 110); a second cache including a second memory unit and a second control unit controlling the second memory unit (see fig. 1, showing a I/O buffer), and storing the read data and write data from the host (see para. 43-44 and 75, where I/O buffer is for sending data to host, and the queue may buffer both read and write commands), the second cache being connected to the first cache (see fig. 1, where I/O buffer and prefetch cache are connected together); and a first controller being configured to control the nonvolatile memory (see fig. 1, showing circuit 140 with media controller 130. See para. 25, where different media controllers may exist that separately control access to each storage media), , in a case where the first control unit receives a first prefetch request for first data of a first logical address, the first control unit is configured to store the prefetched first data in the cache line of a first entry included in the first memory unit (see para. 44, where data is accessed and placed in the prefetch buffer in response to a request from host), and the first control unit is configured to maintain the first entry until receiving a read request or a write request for the first logical address from the host (see para. 90, where a write to a corresponding address invalidates the data in the prefetch buffer, and it is evicted).
Khalili et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the first memory unit includes a plurality of entries each having tag information of the index and having a cache tag including a first field and a cache line; the first memory unit having an SRAM as a memory element and the second memory unit having a DRAM as a memory element; wherein each of a plurality of logical addresses designated by the host is mapped to the first memory unit by an index; and store a first value indicating that the first data is the prefetch data corresponding to the received first prefetch request in the first field of the first entry.
However, Roberts discloses the first memory unit includes a plurality of entries each having tag information of the index and having a cache tag including a first field and a cache line (see para. 65, where cache lines may include prefetch bits along with pointers to blocks of metadata); the first memory unit having an SRAM as a memory element and the second memory unit having a DRAM as a memory element (see para. 16 and 23, where a memory/cache may be SRAM or DRAM); wherein each of a plurality of logical addresses designated by the host is mapped to the first memory unit by an index (see para. 31-32, where a logical to physical mapping table is used to map logical addresses to data); and store a first value indicating that the first data is the prefetch data corresponding to the received first prefetch request in the first field of the first entry (see para. 65, where cache lines may include a prefetched bit to indicate whether data of the cache line was prefetched to the cache. In addition, the prefetched bit is also stored along with a pointer to a block of metadata used to prefetch the data. See para. 45, which explains that the metadata 286 supports prefetch operations and indicates a history of previous accesses, as well as mapping. Therefore the prefetch bit is tied to and corresponds to the first prefetch request).
Khalili et al. and Roberts are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of memory systems (see Khalili et al., abstract and Roberts, abstract, regarding memory systems).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khalili et al. to comprise the first memory unit includes a plurality of entries each having tag information of the index and having a cache tag including a first field and a cache line; the first memory unit having an SRAM as a memory element and the second memory unit having a DRAM as a memory element; wherein each of a plurality of logical addresses designated by the host is mapped to the first memory unit by an index; and store a first value indicating that the first data is the prefetch data corresponding to the received first prefetch request in the first field of the first entry., as taught by Roberts, in order to determine whether prefetched data is used to determine future likelihoods of prefetched data in similar situations being used. This would result in a higher cache hit rate and increased performance.
As to claim 2, Khalili et al. and Roberts also disclose the memory system according to claim 1, wherein when the first control unit receives the first prefetch request, in a case where data is not stored in the cache line of the first entry, the first control unit is configured to store the first data read from the second cache or the nonvolatile memory in the cache line of the first entry, and store the first value in the first field of the first entry (see Roberts, para. 65, where cache lines may include a prefetched bit to indicate whether data of the cache line was prefetched to the cache).
As to claim 3, Khalili et al. and Roberts also disclose the memory system according to claim 1, wherein when the first control unit receives the first prefetch request, in a case where the first data is stored in the cache line of the first entry and the first value is not stored in the first field of the first entry, the first control unit is configured to update the first field of the first entry to the first value (see Roberts, para. 65, where cache lines may include a prefetched bit to indicate whether data of the cache line was prefetched to the cache. Therefore, if the data was prefetched, then the prefetched bit would be updated).
As to claim 5, Khalili et al. and Roberts also disclose the memory system according to claim 1, wherein when the first control unit receives the first prefetch request, in a case where second data of a second logical address different from the first logical address is stored in the cache line of the first entry, the first control unit is configured to evict the second data from the first entry (see Roberts, para. 63, where data may be evicted from the cache using a cache replacement policy, such as an LRU cache replacement policy. In which case if the second data was the least recently used, it would be evicted), store the first data read from the second cache or the nonvolatile memory in the cache line of the first entry (see Roberts, para. 49, where the controller may receive access requests and determine if a cache includes the data. If it doesn’t, the data may be transferred both to the cache and to the processor core 205 from the memory device), and store the first value in the first field of the first entry (see Roberts, para. 65, where cache lines may include a prefetched bit to indicate whether data of the cache line was prefetched to the cache). ).
As to claim 6, Khalili et al. and Roberts also disclose the memory system according to claim 1, wherein when the first control unit receives a read request for the first data of the first logical address from the host, in a case where data is not stored in the cache line of the first entry, the first control unit is configured to transmit the first data read from the second cache or the nonvolatile memory to the host (see Roberts, para. 49, where the controller may receive access requests and determine if a cache includes the data. If it doesn’t, the data may be transferred both to the cache and to the processor core 205 from the memory device), store the first data in the cache line of the first entry, and store a second value indicating that the first data is not the prefetch data in the first field of the first entry (see Roberts, para. 65, where cache lines may include a prefetched bit to indicate whether data of the cache line was prefetched to the cache, and therefore would be a second value to indicate that the data in the cache line was not prefetched).
As to claim 8, Khalili et al. and Roberts also disclose the memory system according to claim 1, wherein when the first control unit receives a read request for the first data of the first logical address from the host, in a case where the first data is stored in the cache line of the first entry and the first value is stored in the first field of the first entry, the first control unit is configured to transmit the first data of the first entry to the host and clear the cache line and the first field of the first entry (see Khalili et al., para. 44 and 56, where if there is a cache hit in the prefetch buffer, the data may be moved to the I/O buffer and other data may remain in the cache until requested. As the first field of the first entry signifies a prefetched bit, that would also be cleared as there is no longer prefetched data in that entry).
As to claim 9, Khalili et al. and Roberts also disclose the memory system according to claim 1, wherein when the first control unit receives a read request for the first data of the first logical address from the host, in a case where second data of a second logical address different from the first logical address is stored in the cache line of the first entry and the first value is not stored in the first field of the first entry, the first control unit is configured to evict the second data from the first entry (see Roberts, para. 63, where any cache replacement / eviction policy may be used. See Khalili et al., para. 90, where if the prefetch buffer is full, then prefetched data will be evicted according to a cache replacement policy. Therefore, the second data from the first entry would be evicted if it is next on the list per the replacement policy.), transmit the first data read from the second cache or the nonvolatile memory to the host, store the first data in the cache line of the first entry (See Khalili et al., para. 44, where if there is a cache miss, then the requested data is sent to the host while the other data remains cached. Also see Roberts, para. 23, where data stored in memory may be read from or written or updated. Therefore, data that is not being directly overwritten would stay in the cache unless it was being evicted), and store a second value indicating that the first data is not the prefetch data in the first field of the first entry (See Roberts, para. 65, where cache lines may include a prefetched bit to indicate whether data of the cache line was prefetched to the cache. Therefore, if the data was prefetched, then the prefetched bit would be updated).
As to claim 10, Khalili et al. and Roberts also disclose the memory system according to claim 1, wherein when the first control unit receives a read request for the first data of the first logical address from the host, in a case where second data of a second logical address different from the first logical address is stored in the cache line of the first entry and the first value is stored in the first field of the first entry, the first control unit is configured to transmit the first data read from the second cache or the nonvolatile memory to the host and maintain the first entry (see Khalili et al., para. 90, where data is marked invalid only when a write occurs to a corresponding address. Therefore, if the write is not directed at the data in the first entry, then the first entry would be maintained. Also see Roberts, para. 23, where data stored in memory may be read from or written or updated. Therefore, data that is not being directly overwritten would stay in the cache unless it was being evicted. See Khalili et al., para. 44, where if there is a cache miss, then the requested data is sent to the host while the other data remains cached).
As to claim 11, Khalili et al. and Roberts also disclose the memory system according to claim 1, wherein when the first control unit receives a write request for the first logical address from the host, in a case where data is not stored in the cache line of the first entry, the first control unit is configured to maintain the first entry (see Khalili et al., para. 90, where data is marked invalid only when a write occurs to a corresponding address. Therefore, if the write is not directed at the data in the first entry, then the first entry would be maintained. Also see Roberts, para. 23, where data stored in memory may be read from or written or updated. Therefore, data that is not being directly overwritten would stay in the cache unless it was being evicted).
As to claim 12, Khalili et al. and Roberts also disclose the memory system according to claim 1, wherein when the first control unit receives a write request for the first logical address from the host, in a case where the first data is stored in the cache line of the first entry, the first control unit is configured to clear the cache line and the first field of the first entry (see Khalili et al., para. 90, where when a write to a corresponding prefetch buffer data in the cache is received, that data is marked as invalid. See Roberts, para. 33, where invalid data is garbage collected and erased).
As to claim 13, Khalili et al. and Roberts also disclose the memory system according to claim 1, wherein when the first control unit receives a write request for the first logical address from the host, in a case where second data of a second logical address different from the first logical address is stored in the cache line of the first entry, the first control unit is configured to maintain the first entry (see Khalili et al., para. 90, where data is marked invalid only when a write occurs to a corresponding address. Therefore, if the write is not directed at the data in the first entry, then the first entry would be maintained. Also see Roberts, para. 23, where data stored in memory may be read from or written or updated. Therefore, data that is not being directly overwritten would stay in the cache unless it was being evicted).
As to claim 14, Khalili et al. and Roberts also disclose the memory system according to claim 1, wherein the memory controller further includes a second controller being configured to control a prefetch process, and the first prefetch request is transmitted to the first control unit by the second controller based on designation of the prefetch process by a user (see Roberts, fig 1, showing a general memory system controller 140 that would transmit requests to controllers 145 and 150. See para. 14-15 where the memory system controller 140 receives read and write requests directed to memory device 155 or memory device 170, and would need to transmit those requests to the separate memory controllers).
As to claim 15, Khalili et al. and Roberts also disclose the memory system according to claim 1, wherein the memory controller further includes a second controller being configured control a prefetch process, and the first prefetch request is transmitted to the first control unit by the second controller (see Roberts, fig 1, showing a general memory system controller 140 that would transmit requests to controllers 145 and 150. See para. 14-15 where the memory system controller 140 receives read and write requests directed to memory device 155 or memory device 170, and would need to transmit those requests to the separate memory controllers).
As to claim 16, Khalili et al. and Roberts also disclose the memory system according to claim 1, wherein the first prefetch request is transmitted to the first control unit by the host (see Khalili et al., para. 44, where prefetch requests are received from the host).
As to claim 19, Khalili et al. and Roberts also disclose the memory system according to claim 1, wherein the second memory unit does not have a copy of data stored in the first memory unit (see Khalili et al., para. 44, where the controller first looks in prefetch cache for the requested data and if there is a cache hit, it is moved to I/O buffer. So initially, I/O buffer did not have a copy of the data).
Claims 4, 7, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khalili et al. in view of Roberts and in view of Lai et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,664,403), herein referred to as Lai et al.
As to claim 4, Khalili et al. and Roberts disclose the claimed invention except for the memory system according to claim 1, wherein when the first control unit receives the first prefetch request, in a case where the first data is stored in the cache line of the first entry and the first value is stored in the first field of the first entry, the first control unit is configured to maintain the first entry.
However, Lai et al. disclose wherein when the first control unit receives the first prefetch request, in a case where the first data is stored in the cache line of the first entry and the first value is stored in the first field of the first entry, the first control unit is configured to maintain the first entry (see col. 7, lines 16-35, where prefetched data is evicted or invalidated from a cache based on a duration of a timer. See col. 6, lines 8-39, where if there is a prefetch request for blocks that the cache already stores, then the request is ignored and the entry is therefore maintained)
Khalili et al. and Lai et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of memory systems (see Khalili et al., abstract and Lai et al., abstract, regarding memory systems).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khalili et al. to comprise wherein when the first control unit receives the first prefetch request, in a case where the first data is stored in the cache line of the first entry and the first value is stored in the first field of the first entry, the first control unit is configured to maintain the first entry, as taught by Lai et al., in order to avoid unnecessary traffic and increase efficiency (see Lai et al., col. 6, lines 25-30)
As to claim 7, Khalili et al. and Roberts disclose the claimed invention except for the memory system according to claim 1, wherein when the first control unit receives a read request for the first data of the first logical address from the host, in a case where the first data is stored in the cache line of the first entry and the first value is not stored in the first field of the first entry, the first control unit is configured to transmit the first data of the first entry to the host (see Roberts, para. 49, where the controller may receive access requests and determine if a cache includes the data. If it doesn’t, the data may be transferred both to the cache and to the processor core 205).
Khalili et al. and Roberts disclose the claimed invention except for maintaining the first entry.
However, Lai et al. disclose maintaining the first entry. (see col. 7, lines 16-35, where prefetched data is evicted or invalidated from a cache based on a duration of a timer. See col. 6, lines 8-39, where if there is a prefetch request for blocks that the cache already stores, then the request is ignored and the entry is therefore maintained).
Khalili et al. and Lai et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of memory systems (see Khalili et al., abstract and Lai et al., abstract, regarding memory systems).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khalili et al. to comprise maintaining the first entry, as taught by Lai et al., in order to avoid unnecessary traffic and increase efficiency (see Lai et al., col. 6, lines 25-30)
As to claim 17, Khalili et al. and Roberts also disclose the memory system according to claim 1, wherein the first cache further includes a measurement unit being configured to measure an elapsed time from a time at which the first value is stored in the first field of the first entry to a current time (see Roberts, para. 140-141, where a time of eviction of data from the cache is used to calculate a duration of time that a value was stored and a counter is updated).
Khalili et al. and Roberts disclose the claimed invention except for in a case where the result measured by the measurement unit exceeds a constant time, the first control unit is configured to update the first field of the first entry to a second value indicating that the first data is not the prefetch data.
However, Lai et al. disclose where the result measured by the measurement unit exceeds a constant time, the first control unit is configured to update the first field of the first entry to a second value indicating that the first data is not the prefetch data (see col. 7, lines 15-35, where a timer indicates the amount of time that the data may stay resident in the cache that it was prefetched to, and would be evicted after. Therefore, the entry would indicate the data is not prefetched data when it is evicted as taught by Roberts. Also see col. 6, lines 40-64, where prefetch tracking data is used to mark whether data has been prefetched and in the cache, and therefore would not be marked if the entry has been evicted).
Khalili et al. and Lai et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of memory systems (see Khalili et al., abstract and Lai et al., abstract, regarding memory systems).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khalili et al. to comprise wherein when the first control unit receives the first prefetch request, in a case where the first data is stored in the cache line of the first entry and the first value is stored in the first field of the first entry, the first control unit is configured to maintain the first entry, as taught by Lai et al., in order to avoid unnecessary traffic and increase efficiency (see Lai et al., col. 6, lines 25-30).
As to claim 20, Khalili et al. and Roberts disclose the claimed invention except for the memory system according to claim 1, wherein the second memory unit has a copy of data stored in the first memory unit.
However, Lai et al. disclose wherein the second memory unit has a copy of data stored in the first memory unit (see col. 5, lines 38-42, where the backing memory may be part of the cache hierarchy and see col. 6, lines 30-40, where the backing memory reads blocks into the cache and therefore both the backing memory and the cache would have those blocks. Also see Roberts, para. 50, where when prefetching data, the other memory retains a copy of the data. Retaining copies of data in different parts of a cache hierarchy is well known in the art).
Khalili et al. and Lai et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of memory systems (see Khalili et al., abstract and Lai et al., abstract, regarding memory systems).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khalili et al. to comprise wherein the second memory unit has a copy of data stored in the first memory unit, as taught by Lai et al., in order to improve performance and efficiency, Inclusive caching and its advantages are well known in the art and would be obvious to implement.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khalili et al. in view of Roberts and in view of Kaburaki et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0235681), herein referred to as Kaburaki et al.
As to claim 18, Khalili et al. and Roberts disclose the claimed invention except for the memory system according to claim 1, wherein the memory controller further includes a table for translating the logical address to a physical address of the nonvolatile memory, and a line size of the cache line of the first memory unit is a same as a management size of the table.
However, Kaburaki et al. disclose wherein the memory controller further includes a table for translating the logical address to a physical address of the nonvolatile memory (see fig .1 and para. 52, showing a memory controller containing RAM, storing an L2P table cache), and a line size of the cache line of the first memory unit is a same as a management size of the table (see para. 43, where a management size of the table may be a page size of 4096 bytes. See para. 89, where a cache line size may also be 4096 bytes).
Khalili et al. and Lai et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of memory systems (see Khalili et al., abstract and Kaburaki et al., abstract, regarding memory systems).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khalili et al. to comprise wherein the memory controller further includes a table for translating the logical address to a physical address of the nonvolatile memory, and a line size of the cache line of the first memory unit is a same as a management size of the table, as taught by Kaburaki et al., in order to allow for faster translation and processing speed. It is well known in the art to store a translation table in a faster and closer memory like SRAM that Kaburaki teaches, to allow for faster translation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Roberts has a prefetch bit, but it does not disclose or suggest that the cited prefetch data is data based on a “first prefetch request.” However, see para. 65, where cache lines may include a prefetched bit to indicate whether data of the cache line was prefetched to the cache. In addition, the prefetched bit is also stored along with a pointer to a block of metadata used to prefetch the data. See para. 45, which explains that the metadata 286 supports prefetch operations and indicates a history of previous accesses, as well as mapping. Therefore the prefetch bit is tied to and corresponds to the first prefetch request.
In addition, applicant points to para. 120-127 in the specification for support of “store a first value indicating that the first data is the prefetch data corresponding to the first prefetch request in the first field of the first entry.” Looking at those paragraphs and drawings 5-8, it appears that a first value could be a field F1, which indicates whether the data is valid or empty. That does not appear to indicate whether the data is prefetch data corresponding to a specific prefetch request. The F2 field is a lock flag and the F3 field is a logical address. Neither of these fields is a first value that both indicates that the first data is prefetch data and indicates that it corresponds to a specific prefetch request. Para. 120-127 also do not state that the fields indicate that data is specifically prefetch data, nor that the fields tie that prefetch data to a specific request.
CLOSING COMMENTS
Conclusion
a. STATUS OF CLAIMS IN THE APPLICATION
The following is a summary of the treatment and status of all claims in the application as recommended by M.P.E.P. 707.07(i):
a(1) CLAIMS REJECTED IN THE APPLICATION
Per the instant office action, claims 1-20 stand rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
b. DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
/A.O/Examiner, Art Unit 2132
/HOSAIN T ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2132