DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending in this application.
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 11, 13, 15, and 19 are amended as filed on 03/12/2026.
Prosecution has been reopened in order to address arguments that were presented on 03/12/2026 (also 07/27/2026). As there is no new grounds of rejection being presented, the rejection is considered final.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,628 B2, hereinafter 628. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
18/829627
628
Claims 1, 11, and 19:
A system comprising: at least one hardware processor; and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions, which, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the system to: receive an indication of a performance issue affecting a user equipment communicating on a telecommunications network,
wherein the indication is reported from the user equipment at a point in time in response to a user-input to a mobile application executing on the user equipment;
in response to the indication of the performance issue, receive data from a user domain and data from a network domain related to the performance issue, wherein the data from user domain includes test data from a diagnostic test performed at the user equipment in response to reporting the indication of the performance issue, wherein the data from the network domain includes data related to a state of the telecommunications network collected by one or more first network nodes of the telecommunications network during a time period that includes the point in time;
correlate the data from the user domain and the data from the network domain with a call detail record (CDR) recorded by a second network node of the telecommunications network during the time period to generate an enhanced CDR; and cause a machine learning model to generate a prediction of a cause of the performance issue based on the enhanced CDR, wherein the machine learning model is trained to diagnose performance issues of the telecommunications network or the user equipment based on a set of unique datapoint signatures labeled with respective causes of previous performance issues,
wherein correlating the data from the user domain and the data from the network domain with the CDR includes: identifying, within the data from the network domain, network information that indicates one or more states of one or more network nodes during an action initiated by the user equipment on the telecommunications network, identifying, within the CDR, a CDR entry that indicates the action initiated by the user equipment on the telecommunications network, identifying, within the data from the user domain, a performance metric of the user equipment that is relevant to performance the action initiated by the user equipment on the telecommunications network, and generating the enhanced CDR to include the network information and the performance metric of the wireless device in correlation with the CDR entry;
wherein each of the unique datapoint signatures associated with a respective previous performance issue includes at least a previous enhanced CDR generated from previous user domain data related to the respective previous performance issue, previous network domain data related to the respective previous performance issue, and a previous CDR related to the respective previous performance issue
Claim 1:
A system for diagnosing issues in a telecommunications network comprising: at least one hardware processor; and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions, which, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the system to: receive an indication of a performance issue affecting a user equipment,
wherein the indication is reported from the user equipment at a point in time in response to a user-input to a mobile application executing on the user equipment;
in response to the indication of the performance issue, cause the user equipment to perform a diagnostic test; receive test result data of the diagnostic test performed at the user equipment;
&
correlate the test result data with a call detail record (CDR) recorded by a core network node of the telecommunications network that spans a time period including the point in time when the indication of the performance issue was reported;
correlate the test result data with a call detail record (CDR) recorded by a core network node of the telecommunications network that spans a time period including the point in time when the indication of the performance issue was reported; cause a machine learning model to generate a prediction of a cause of the performance issue based on the CDR correlated with the test result data, wherein the machine learning model is trained to diagnose performance issues of the telecommunications network or the user equipment based on a set of unique datapoint signatures labeled with respective causes of respective performance issues,
correlate the test result data with a call detail record (CDR) recorded by a core network node of the telecommunications network that spans a time period including the point in time when the indication of the performance issue was reported; cause a machine learning model to generate a prediction of a cause of the performance issue based on the CDR correlated with the test result data, wherein the machine learning model is trained to diagnose performance issues of the telecommunications network or the user equipment based on a set of unique datapoint signatures labeled with respective causes of respective performance issues,
wherein each of the unique datapoint signatures correspond to a respective user equipment experiencing the respective performance issue, wherein each of the unique datapoint signatures comprise a device log collected from a diagnostic test of the respective user equipment performed by a third-party service and correlated, based on a network identifier of the respective user equipment, with a respective CDR of the respective user equipment, wherein the network identifier is included within the device log, wherein the respective CDR of the respective user equipment is contemporaneous with a respective time period that includes a time in which the respective user equipment experienced the respective performance issue
As for claims 2-10, 12-18, and 20 they are rejected, at least, based on their respective dependencies on claims 1, 11, and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 11-13, 15-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babu Balasubramani et al. (Patent No. US 11,252,052 B1), hereinafter Babu, in view of Tapia et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2020/0304364 A1), hereinafter Tapia, and in further view of O’Reilly et al. (Patent No. US 5,825,769), hereinafter O’Reilly.
2. With respect to claims 1, 11, and 19, Babu taught a system comprising: at least one hardware processor (4:3-18); and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions (4:3-18), which, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the system to: receive an indication of a performance issue affecting a user equipment communicating on a telecommunications network (6:32-40), in response to the indication of the performance issue, receive data from a user domain and data from a network domain related to the performance issue (2:19-38 & 6:32-40), wherein the data from user domain includes test data indicating operation of the user equipment captured from a diagnostic test performed at the user equipment in response to reporting the indication of the performance issue (29:18-33), wherein the data from the network domain includes data related to a state of the telecommunications network collected by one or more first network nodes of the telecommunications network during a time period that includes the point in time (4:47-61 & 4:62-5:12); correlate the data from the user domain and the data from the network domain with a record recorded by a second network node of the telecommunications network during the time period to generate an enhanced record (2:1-20, the analytical records); and cause a machine learning model to generate a prediction of a cause of the performance issue based on the enhanced record (2:1-20), wherein the machine learning model is trained to diagnose performance issues of the telecommunications network or the user equipment based on a set of unique datapoint signatures labeled with respective causes of previous performance issues (10:16-47, where the patterns, classifications, and types of failures combine to form unique datapoint signature labels for a particular type of issue under broadest reasonable interpretation), wherein each of the unique datapoint signatures associated with a respective previous performance issue includes at least a previous enhanced record generated from previous user domain data related to the respective previous performance issue, previous network domain data related to the respective previous performance issue, and a previous record related to the respective previous performance issue (10:16-47, where the NAR reflects the enhanced records, the data associated with the historical patterns reflects the previous performance issues, and the historical data is stored in the previous records).
However, Babu did not explicitly state that the data records were call data records and wherein the indication is reported from the user equipment at a point in time in response to a user-input to a mobile application executing on the user equipment. On the other hand, Tapia did teach that the data records were call data records (0055) and wherein the indication is reported from the user equipment at a point in time in response to a user-input to a mobile application executing on the user equipment (0063). Both of the systems of Babu and Tapia are directed towards telecommunication fault mitigation and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Babu, to utilize CDRs and customer feedback, as taught by Tapia, in order to better effectuate fault mitigation by receiving a higher volume of relevant data.
However, Babu did not explicitly state wherein correlating the data from the user domain and the data from the network domain with the CDR includes: identifying, within the data from the network domain, network information that indicates one or more states of one or more network nodes during an action initiated by the user equipment on the telecommunications network, identifying, within the CDR, a CDR entry that indicates the action initiated by the user equipment on the telecommunications network, identifying, within the data from the user domain, a performance metric of the user equipment that is relevant to performance the action initiated by the user equipment on the telecommunications network, and generating the enhanced CDR to include the network information and the performance metric of the wireless device in correlation with the CDR entry. On the other hand, O’Reilly did teach wherein correlating the data from the user domain and the data from the network domain with the CDR includes: identifying, within the data from the network domain, network information that indicates one or more states of one or more network nodes during an action initiated by the user equipment on the telecommunications network, identifying, within the CDR, a CDR entry that indicates the action initiated by the user equipment on the telecommunications network, identifying, within the data from the user domain, a performance metric of the user equipment that is relevant to performance the action initiated by the user equipment on the telecommunications network, and generating the enhanced CDR to include the network information and the performance metric of the wireless device in correlation with the CDR entry (2:13-25 & 15:17-35). Both of the systems of Babu and O’Reilly are directed towards managing telecommunications and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Babu, to utilize specific ECDRs, as taught by Babu, in order to for effectively handle telecommunication faults.
3. As for claim 2, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 1. In addition, Tapia taught to receive, from the user equipment, feedback from the mobile application relating to the generated prediction; provide the feedback to the machine learning model; and update a configuration of the machine learning model based on the feedback and the prediction (0056).
4. As for claim 3, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 1. In addition, Babu taught to correct the performance issue or generate a support ticket based on the prediction of the cause of the performance issue (19:63-67, where this, at least, teaches the support ticket limitation).
5. As for claim 4, 12, and 20, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 11, and 19 (respectively). In addition, Babu taught wherein the indication of the performance issue comprises a report of a slow network speed, a report of a lack of network coverage, a report of a dropped voice call, a report of low audio quality during a completed voice call, or a report of video playback errors (12:43-61, where this, at least, teaches the network speed limitation).
6. As for claim 5 and 13, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 11 (respectively). In addition, Babu taught wherein the data from the user domain comprises voice quality data relating to a voice call at the user equipment (12:43-61, the voice connectivity performance).
7. As for claim 7 and 15, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 11 (respectively). In addition, Babu taught wherein the data from the user domain comprises communication speed data from a communication speed test between the user equipment and the telecommunications network (19:3-27, where the KPIs including speed can be seen in 12:43-61).
8. As for claim 8 and 16, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 11 (respectively). In addition, Babu taught wherein the data from the network domain comprises a Key Performance Indicator collected by the one or more first network nodes of the telecommunications network (22:41-60, where the KPIs can be seen in 8:4-22).
9. As for claim 9 and 17, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 11 (respectively). In addition, Tapia taught wherein the data from the network domain comprises a network trace collected by the one or more first network nodes of the telecommunications network (0026).
Claim(s) 6, 10, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babu, in view of Tapia, in view of O’Reilly, and in further view of SCOBBIE (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2011/0170433 A1), hereinafter Scobbie.
10. As for claim 6 and 14, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 11 (respectively). In addition, However, Babu did not explicitly state wherein the data from the user domain comprises short-message service connectivity data from an SMS connectivity test. On the other hand, Scobbie did teach wherein the data from the user domain comprises short-message service connectivity data from an SMS connectivity test (0005 & 0054). Both of the systems of Babu and Scobbie are directed towards managing network performance and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Babu, to utilize performing an SMS connectivity test, as taught by Scobbie, as an SMS system was a standard service that was widely utilized at the time of the invention.
11. As for claim 10 and 18, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 11 (respectively). However, Babu did not explicitly state wherein the data from the network domain comprises a packet capture collected by the one or more first network nodes of the telecommunications network. On the other hand, Scobbie did teach wherein the data from the network domain comprises a packet capture collected by the one or more first network nodes of the telecommunications network (0005). Both of the systems of Babu and Scobbie are directed towards managing network performance and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Babu, to utilize performing a packet capture, as taught by Scobbie, as packet captures was a commonly used method of diagnosing an issue that was contemporary to the time of the invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
12. The applicant argues on pages 12-13 (presented in its totality) that “Babu fails to disclose, teach, or suggest "receiving data from a user domain wherein , the data from the user domain includes test data indicating operation of the user equipment captured from a diagnostic test performed at the user equipment in response to reporting the indication of the performance issue," as recited in amended claim 1. As the rejections stands, Applicant is unsure as to what element is being mapped to the data from the user domain. The Office references the "fault mitigation device" at Babu, 2:19-38 and the "ticket assignment module" at Babu, 29:23-25 when mapping the rejection with respect to the "data from the user domain," as recited in claim 1. See Office Action, 8. However, neither the fault mitigation device nor the ticket assignment module relate to "test data indicating operation of the user equipment captured from a diagnostic test performed at the user equipment," as recited in claim 1 (emphasis added).”
”First, discussing the fault mitigation device, this device "analyzes historical tickets to derive information that may be used to create a dictionary that may be used to predict actions to mitigate or resolve predicted faults." Babu, 2:21-24. These historical tickets do not include "test data indicating operation of the user equipment captured from a diagnostic test performed at the user equipment." Instead, as discussed in Babu at 2:2-20, the historical tickets are "predicted faults" generated from evaluated "network analytical records (NARs)" that themselves do not include "test data indicating operation of the user equipment captured from a diagnostic test performed at the user equipment," as recited in claim 1. Rather, the NARs only include "the status of network nodes and devices," as recited in Babu at 2:4-5 (emphasis added). Thus, neither the fault mitigation device nor any element it acts on, nor any element from which these elements are derived include "test data indicating operation of the user equipment captured from a diagnostic test performed at the user equipment," as recited in claim 1.
Similarly, the ticket assignment module discussed at Babu, 29:23-33 operates to "assign tickets to a user (e.g., a network technician, IT personnel, etc) that may perform an action," such as "an action that simply requires a node of the network to be rebooted." Thus, while these tickets are assigned to a user, they are not "test data indicating operation of the user equipment captured from a diagnostic test performed at the user equipment," as recited in claim 1.
Moreover, to the extent that additional mappings of the "data from the user domain" discussed with respect to the dependent claims reference "the diagnostic module 250" of Babu 19- 9-11, see Office Action, 11, this diagnostic module is "configured to request information from a node associated with a failure prediction." Babu, 19:9-11 (emphasis added). Similarly, to the extent it references the "device performance data 514" of Babu 12:43, see Office Action, 10-11, this data includes "snapshots associated with performance of nodes of a network (e.g., the nodes 172, 174, 176 of the one or more networks 170 of FIG. 1)." Babu 12:43-45 (emphasis added). Thus, neither the diagnostic module nor the device performance data of Babu relates to "test data indicating operation of the user equipment captured from a diagnostic test performed at the user equipment," as recited in claim 1.”
It is to be noted that the cited portions, for the applicants above argument, were 2:19-38, 29:18-33, & 6:32-40. The citation respectively state:
“The fault mitigation device may generate tickets associated with the predicted faults and store the tickets at a database (e.g., a local database or a database of a ticket management system). The fault mitigation device may also be configured to analyze historical tickets to derive information that may be used to create a dictionary that may be used to predict actions to mitigate or resolve predicted faults. The analysis of the historical tickets may include generating tokens based on the ticket data, determining a frequency of the tokens, and identifying verb-noun dependencies within the tickets. The tokens, token frequency, and verb-noun dependency information may be used to construct the dictionary, which may include information that may then be used to extract actions from historical tickets. For example, using the information recorded in the dictionary, fuzzy logic may be used to extract actions from historical tickets and tag the historical tickets based on the characteristics of the extracted actions. The ability to extract action data from the historical tickets and tag the historical tickets may enable a model to be trained to analyze tickets (e.g., live or open tickets associated with predicted failure events).”
“The confidence threshold scale 1150 (or exemplary scale 1160) may be used by the orchestration module of a ticket analysis module (e.g., the ticket analysis module 150 of FIG. 1) to route action predictions for further processing. For example, action predictions associated with confidence scores within the HCP range 1162 may be routed to a ticket assignment module (e.g., the ticket assignment module 360 of FIG. 3) that automatically assigns tickets (e.g., as shown at arrow 304 of FIG. 3) to a user (e.g., a network technician, IT personnel, etc.) that may perform the action. It is noted that in some instances the actions may not be assigned to a user and instead may be assigned for automated execution by a software agent or an action execution device configured to execute predicted actions without human intervention. To illustrate, an action that simply requires a node of the network to be rebooted may not require a user to be” the remainder of the paragraph stating “performed and the ticket may be assigned to the software agent or the action execution device that may then transmit instructions or commands to the node. Upon receiving the instructions or commands, the node may be rebooted and the action may be completed. Action predictions associated with confidence scores within the MCP range 1162 may be routed to a validation module (e.g., the ticket validation module 340 of FIG. 2) where the predicted action may be further analyzed and validated prior to ticket assignment (e.g., via the ticket assignment module 360 of FIG. 3). Action predictions associated with confidence scores within the LCP range 1166 may be routed to a validation module (e.g., the ticket diagnostic module 350 of FIG. 3) where the predicted action may be further analyzed via manual or automated diagnostic testing or other processes prior to ticket creation (e.g., via the ticket creation module 260 of FIG. 2). Action predictions associated with confidence scores within the RCP range 1168 may be rejected (i.e., no further analysis or processing may be performed) and tickets associated with the rejections may be closed.”
“The fault mitigation device 110 is configured to utilize the compiled information to predict and mitigate failures, faults, and other types of negative performance issues (i.e., network traffic congestion, etc.) associated with the one or more networks 170 and the nodes 172, 174, 176. As described in more detail below, the fault mitigation device 110 includes a network analysis module 130, a ticket management module 140, and a ticket analysis module 150.”
More importantly, it can be seen that the system, in response to a performance issues, performs fault mitigation based on historical data. The fault mitigation is predictive, indicating that the system would have determined, based on received performance data, the a fault may occur. Likewise, It could also be seen that the test data is received from the user equipment to perform the historical analysis as the prediction is based on the saved type of user equipment that has reported the issue. Thus, the data is received from the same user equipment under broadest reasonable interpretation. Even assuming arguendo that the saved user equipment, which is tantamount to the same equipment by type (under BRI) cannot be considered the same specific device (i.e. as if stating an indication reported from a specific MAC address for example), it can still be seen that the device does perform the aforementioned diagnostic testing on the specific device. For example, 19-5-62 shows that the diagnostic test is performed on the specific user device and is part of the ticket creation system (referenced in column 29). That received test diagnostic data is both used to handle/validate the current issue as well as build historical references for future issues, which reads on the limitation to “receive data from a user domain and data from a network domain related to the performance issue, where the data from the user domain includes test data indicating operation of the user equipment captured from a diagnostic test performed at the user equipment in response to reporting the indication of the performance issue”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH L GREENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443