DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Silver et al. (US PG Pub No. 20100267316).
In regards to claim 1, Silver discloses
a modular floor machine (floor grinder 100, fig. 1-8; [0039]) comprising:
a base (portion of the frame 112, see fig. 1- ann. 1; [0039]);
a rotary adaptor (at least housing plate 121, outer casing 122, and flexible skirt 123; fig. 1-2, 5-6; [0040], [0046]) removably coupled to the base (portion of the frame 112, see fig. 1- ann. 1; [0039]) and defining an interior space (see fig. 5 - ann. 1); and
a rotary attachment (secondary gearing assembly 150, fig. 3-6; [0046]) rotatably coupled to the base (portion of the frame 112, see fig. 1- ann. 1; [0039]) in the interior space (see fig. 5 - ann. 1).
In regards to claim 2, Silver discloses
the modular floor machine of claim 1, wherein a perimeter of the base (see fig. 1 – ann. 2) abuts an upper surface (see fig. 1 – ann. 2) of the rotary adaptor.
In regards to claim 3, Silver discloses
the modular floor machine of claim 1, wherein a transmission (drive shaft 119, fig. 3-6; [0039], [0041-0045]) of the base extends through an opening (see fig. 5 - ann. 2) defined in the rotary adaptor.
In regards to claim 4, Silver discloses
the modular floor machine of claim 1, wherein the rotary attachment (secondary gearing assembly 150, fig. 3-6; [0046]) is coupled to a transmission (drive shaft 119, fig. 3-6; [0039], [0041-0045]) of the base (see fig. 4).
In regards to claim 5, Silver discloses
the modular floor machine of claim 4, wherein a protrusion of the transmission (drive shaft 119, fig. 3-6; [0039], [0041-0045]) engages a groove (see fig. 5 – ann. 3) defined in the rotary attachment.
In regards to claim 6, Silver discloses
the modular floor machine of claim 4, wherein the transmission (drive shaft 119, fig. 3-6; [0039], [0041-0045]) engages a collar of the rotary attachment (the surrounding structure of the plate 132, as shown in fig. 5).
In regards to claim 10, Silver discloses
the modular floor machine of claim 1, wherein the rotary attachment (secondary gearing assembly 150, fig. 3-6; [0046]) is wider than the base (see fig. 1 – ann. 3).
In regards to claim 11, Silver discloses
the modular floor machine of claim 1, wherein the rotary adaptor (at least housing plate 121, outer casing 122, and flexible skirt 123; fig. 1-2, 5-6; [0040], [0046]) includes a ring gear (crown gear 154, fig. 3-6; [0045-0050]) and the rotary attachment (secondary gearing assembly 150, fig. 3-6; [0046]) includes a planet gear (secondary gears 152, fig. 3-6; [0045-0050]) enmeshed with the ring gear (crown gear 154, fig. 3-6; [0045-0050]).
In regards to claim 12, Silver discloses
the modular floor machine of claim 11, wherein a bottom surface (surface of gear 144, see fig. 4) is coupled (as the gear is connected to the planetary gear) to the planet gear (secondary gears 152, fig. 3-6; [0045-0050]).
In regards to claim 13, Silver discloses
the modular floor machine of claim 11, wherein
a body (structure (lower plates 132, fig. 3-6; [0041-0042], [0047])) of the rotary adaptor (at least housing plate 121, outer casing 122, and flexible skirt 123; fig. 1-2, 5-6; [0040], [0046]) is coupled to the base (portion of the frame 112, see fig. 1- ann. 1; [0039]) and rotatably supports the planet gear (secondary gears 152, fig. 3-6; [0045-0050]).
In regards to claim 14, Silver discloses
the modular floor machine of claim 11, wherein the body (structure (lower plates 132, fig. 3-6; [0041-0042], [0047]) includes a collar (see fig. 6 – ann. 1) extending from a planet carrier (carrier 131 which includes plates 132, fig. 3-6; [0041-0048]).
In regards to claim 15, Silver discloses
the modular floor machine of claim 1, wherein a transmission (drive shaft 119, fig. 3-6; [0039], [0041-0045]) of the base extends beyond a perimeter of the base (see fig. 5 – ann. 4).
In regards to claim 16, Silver discloses
a floor cleaner (floor grinder 100, fig. 1-8; [0001]: processing a surface; [0039]) comprising:
a rotary adaptor (at least housing plate 121, outer casing 122, and flexible skirt 123; fig. 1-2, 5-6; [0040], [0046]) removably coupled to
a base (portion of the frame 112, see fig. 1- ann. 1; [0039]); and
a rotary attachment (secondary gearing assembly 150, fig. 3-6; [0046]) partially covered by the rotary adaptor (at least housing plate 121, outer casing 122, and flexible skirt 123; fig. 1-2, 5-6; [0040], [0046]) and drivably coupled to the base (portion of the frame 112, see fig. 1- ann. 1; [0039]).
In regards to claim 17, Silver discloses
the floor cleaner of claim 16, wherein a ring gear (crown gear 154, fig. 3-6; [0045-0050]) of the rotary adaptor (at least housing plate 121, outer casing 122, and flexible skirt 123; fig. 1-2, 5-6; [0040], [0046]) enmeshes a planet gear (secondary gears 152, fig. 3-6; [0045-0050]) of the rotary attachment (secondary gearing assembly 150, fig. 3-6; [0046]).
In regards to claim 18, Silver discloses
the floor cleaner of claim 16, wherein a transmission (drive shaft 119, fig. 3-6; [0039], [0041-0045]) of the base extends through the rotary adaptor (at least housing plate 121, outer casing 122, and flexible skirt 123; fig. 1-2, 5-6; [0040], [0046]) and couples to the rotary attachment (secondary gearing assembly 150, fig. 3-6; [0046]).
In regards to claim 19, Silver discloses
a floor maintenance device (floor grinder 100, fig. 1-8; [0001]: processing a surface; [0039]) comprising:
a base (portion of the frame 112, see fig. 1- ann. 1; [0039]) having a perimeter and including an electric motor (electric motor 118, fig. 1; [0039]);
a rotary adaptor (at least housing plate 121, outer casing 122, and flexible skirt 123; fig. 1-2, 5-6; [0040], [0046]) defining an interior space (see fig. 5 - ann. 1) and abutting the perimeter; and
a rotary attachment (secondary gearing assembly 150, fig. 3-6; [0046]) drivably coupled to the electric motor (electric motor 118, fig. 1; [0039]) within the interior space (see fig. 5 - ann. 1).
In regards to claim 20, Silver discloses
the floor maintenance device of claim 19, wherein a transmission (drive shaft 119, fig. 3-6; [0039], [0041-0045]) of the base extends through the rotary adaptor (at least housing plate 121, outer casing 122, and flexible skirt 123; fig. 1-2, 5-6; [0040], [0046]) and couples to the rotary attachment (secondary gearing assembly 150, fig. 3-6; [0046]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silver in view of Anderson (US PG Pub No. 20090074511).
In regards to claim 7, Silver discloses
the modular floor machine of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose “a lug of the base secures” the rotary attachment (secondary gearing assembly 150, fig. 3-6; [0046]) to the base.
However, Silver does appear to show lugs (understood generally as a lug nut/bolt connection) within its figures, but does not provide a part number or describe the mounting/coupling elements within the specification:
Anderson, which discloses a planetary floor machine, teaches using connection bolts as a means for connecting parts within the housing and securing the surfacing component:
[0032] .... When bolts 63 are removed housing 20 and gear mounting plate 69 are quickly easily detached and the working mechanism is exposed for ease of repair and maintenance. The ease of maintenance and repair reduces downtime making the planetary grinder 10 more efficient.
Silver and Anderson are analogous to the claimed invention, as they are in the same field of endeavor, planetary floor surfacing machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Silver to incorporate the teachings of Anderson and provide bolts and fasteners as “lugs” to functionally drive the provide connection members within the planetary grinder, allotting for easier maintenance and repair, reducing down time (Anderson [0032]).
In regards to claim 8, Silver as modified discloses
the modular floor machine of claim 7, wherein the lug extends through a keyhole opening (hole that receives the lug/bolt structure) defined in the base (see fig. 5).
In regards to claim 9, Silver as modified discloses
the modular floor machine of claim 7, wherein the lug engages the rotary attachment (secondary gearing assembly 150, fig. 3-6; [0046]) via one or more of an interference fit, a friction fit, and a clip (bolt received by the nut creates a “clip” attachment) of the rotary attachment.
Conclusion
/JASON KHALIL HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3723