DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figs. 1-2, 4-5, and 9 are objected to due to having grayscale images. Grayscale photographs are not permitted unless they meet one of the exceptions listed in 608.02(VII)(B).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a connectivity module for receiving the status information from the insert” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 7-8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3, 8 and 14, the phrase “the medical device is a video laryngoscope” in line 1 of each claim 1 is unclear whether applicant is requiring a video laryngoscope as part of the claimed invention or merely stating that the anesthesia machine is configured to be used (and thus interpreted as intended use) with a video laryngoscope. Independent claims 1 and 9 do not require a medical device (i.e. claim 1 recites “for receiving and charging the medical device”), however claims 3, 8 and 14 appear to require a medical device.
For the purpose of examination, claims 3, 8, and 14 have been interpreted to require a medical device in the claimed invention.
Claim limitation “connectivity module” in claim 7 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
The remaining claims are rejected due to dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Augustine (US 2019/0290524).
Regarding claim 1, Augustine discloses (Figs. 1-4) an anesthesia machine operable to deliver anesthesia to a patient and usable in concert with a medical device, the anesthesia machine comprising:
a main body (upper section 18 of model 10);
a display screen (screen 38A and 38B) mounted to the main body for presenting information to a user (paragraph [0131]); and
a medical device holder (lower section 14, which holds equipment such as one or more power supplies, the electro-surgical unit and monitor electronics, paragraph [0161]) associated with the main body for receiving and charging the medical device (receives electrosurgical unit/generator and provides power and thus charges, see paragraphs [0200] and [0429]-[0431], wherein status information related to the medical device is displayed on the display screen (paragraph [0155]).
Regarding claim 9, Augustine discloses (Figs. 1-4) a medical device holder for use with an anesthesia machine having a main body and a display screen, the medical device holder comprising:
a power connection (power sources, i.e. power supplies 212, to power electrosurgical generator, paragraph [0430]) to receive electrical power from the anesthesia machine; and
a device charging holder (lower section 14, which holds equipment such as one or more power supplies, the electro-surgical unit and monitor electronics, paragraph [0161]) configured to receive a medical device (i.e. an electrosurgical unit) and charge the medical device while the medical device is received by the device charging holder (paragraphs [0200] and [0429]-[0431]).
Regarding claim 11, Augustine discloses wherein the medical device holder is in communication with the anesthesia machine to communicate status information for display on the display screen (paragraph [0155]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Augustine (US 2019/0290524) in view of Elaz (US 2005/0133027).
Regarding claim 2, Augustine discloses status information on the display but does not disclose the status information includes at least state of battery charge and presence of the medical device at the anesthesia machine.
However, Elaz teaches (Figs. 1-3) a medical care system comprising a charging device (power bus 234) for charging a medical device (treatment modules 210, 212, 214, 250, 260) and a display (display generator 222) that displays status information includes at least state of battery charge and presence of the medical device at the anesthesia machine (paragraph [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the status information of Augustine to include at least state of battery charge and presence of the medical device at the anesthesia machine, as taught by Elaz, for the purpose of providing notification to user of status of the power level of the device so that treatment plan can be adjusted accordingly.
Regarding claim 12, Augustine discloses status information but does not disclose wherein the status information includes state of charge of the medical device and presence of the medical device.
However, Elaz teaches (Figs. 1-3) a medical care system comprising a charging device (power bus 234) for charging a medical device (treatment modules 210, 212, 214, 250, 260) and a display (display generator 222) that displays status information includes at least state of battery charge and presence of the medical device at the anesthesia machine (paragraph [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the status information of Augustine to include at least state of battery charge and presence of the medical device at the anesthesia machine, as taught by Elaz, for the purpose of providing notification to user of status of the power level of the device so that treatment plan can be adjusted accordingly.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Augustine (US 2019/0290524) in view of Elaz (US 2005/0133027), and further in view of Chen (US 2025/0176817).
Regarding claim 3, modified Augustine discloses a medical device and discloses the system is compatible with surgical scopes (paragraph [0137] and [0141] Augustine) but does not disclose the medical device is a video laryngoscope.
However, Chen teaches (Figs. 1-3A) a system comprising an anesthesia machine (100, paragraph [0028]) and a medical device in the form of a video laryngoscope (video laryngoscope 130).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the medical device of modified Augustine to include a video laryngoscope, as taught by Chen, for the purpose of allowing for allowing for gathering of data of user throat function and improve treatment outcome through use of displays.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Augustine (US 2019/0290524) in view Chen (US 2025/0176817).
Regarding claim 14, Augustine discloses a medical device and discloses the system is compatible with surgical scopes (paragraph [0137] and [0141] Augustine) but does not disclose the medical device is a video laryngoscope.
However, Chen teaches (Figs. 1-3A) a system comprising an anesthesia machine (100, paragraph [0028]) and a medical device in the form of a video laryngoscope (video laryngoscope 130).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the medical device of modified Augustine to include a video laryngoscope, as taught by Chen, for the purpose of allowing for allowing for gathering of data of user throat function and improve treatment outcome through use of displays.
Claim(s) 4-6, 10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Augustine (US 2019/0290524) in view of Al Jewad (US 20190380794).
Regarding claim 4, Augustine discloses a medical device holder, but does not disclose the main body includes at least one drawer that is movable into and out of the main body and the medical device holder is included within the at least one drawer.
However, Al Jewad teaches (Figs. 1-5) a main body (cabinet 316) that includes at least one drawer (tablet drawer 318) movable into and out of the main body and the medical device holder (tablet charging station 534) is included within the at least one drawer (paragraph [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the main body of Augustine to include at least one drawer that is movable into and out of the main body and the medical device holder is included within the at least one drawer, as taught by Al Jewad, for the purpose of providing a convenient area to store the medical device holder and/or the medical device when not in use.
Regarding claim 5, modified Augustine discloses wherein the medical device holder is an insert received within the at least one drawer (tablet charging station 534 inserted and received in tablet drawer 318 of Al Jewad), wherein the insert receives a supply of electrical power from the anesthesia machine (receives power from power source 548 of Al Jewad. While Al Jeward is not directed to an anesthesia machine, one of ordinary skill would recognize that the combination of this reference with that of Augustine, which discloses the system is for an anesthesia machine would provide for this feature and thus comprehends the claimed invention).
Regarding claim 6, modified Augustine discloses the insert includes a device charging holder for the medical device (tablet charging station 534 of Al Jewad that charges medical device in form of tablet 546, used for controlling a medical robot) and at least one battery charging receptacle (power distribution module 404) for receiving a replacement battery for the medical device (battery 402 which acts as replacement battery, paragraph [0062] Al Jewad).
Regarding claim 10, Augustin discloses a medical device holder but does not disclose the holder comprising at least one battery charging receptacle configured to receive and charge a replacement battery and for the medical device.
However, Al Jewad teaches (Figs. 1-5) a medical device holder (drawer 318 for storing of tablet 546, used for controlling a medical robot) comprising at least one battery charging receptacle (power distribution module 404 and charging station 534) for receiving a replacement battery for the medical device (battery 402 which acts as replacement battery, paragraph [0062] Al Jewad. Charging station 534 charges tablet, paragrah [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the medical device holder of Augustin to comprise at least one battery charging receptacle configured to receive and charge a replacement battery and for the medical device, as taught by Al Jewad, for the purpose of ensuring the portable medical devices are well powered during the course of therapy and are then repowered by the power chargers when not in use.
Regarding claim 13, Augustin discloses a medical device holder but does not disclose the medical device holder is configured to be received within a drawer of the anesthesia machine.
However, Al Jewad teaches (Figs. 1-5) a main body (cabinet 316) that includes at least one drawer (tablet drawer 318) movable into and out of a main body and the medical device holder (tablet charging station 534) is included within the at least one drawer (paragraph [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Augustine such that the medical device holder is configured to be received within a drawer of the anesthesia machine, as taught by Al Jewad, for the purpose of providing a convenient area to store the medical device holder and/or the medical device when not in use.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Augustine (US 2019/0290524) in view of Al Jewad (US 2019/0380794), and further in view of Elaz (US 2005/0133027).
Regarding claim 7, modified Augustine discloses an anesthesia machine, but does not disclose the anesthesia machine further comprises a connectivity module for receiving the status information from the insert, wherein the status information includes state of charge of the medical device, presence of the medical device and state of charge of the replacement battery.
However, Elaz teaches (Figs. 1-3) a medical care system comprising a connectivity module (connectors 240 and PAN 216) for receiving the status information from the insert (paragraph [0034]), wherein the status information includes state of charge of the medical device (“battery charging condition” of treatment module, paragraph [0034]), presence of the medical device (battery charging condition indicates presence of the medical device) and state of charge of the replacement battery (“battery charging condition” of batteries of other modules, which could be used as a replacement battery, paragraph [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the anesthesia machine of modified Augustine to further comprise a connectivity module for receiving the status information from the insert, wherein the status information includes state of charge of the medical device, presence of the medical device and state of charge of the replacement battery, as taught by Elaz, for the purpose of providing notification to user of status of the power level of the device and other battery levels so that treatment plan can be adjusted accordingly.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Augustine (US 2019/0290524) in view of Al Jewad (US 20190380794), and Elaz (US 2005/0133027), and further in view of Chen (US 2025/0176817).
Regarding claim 8, modified Augustine discloses a medical device and discloses the system is compatible with surgical scopes (paragraph [0137] and [0141] Augustine) but does not disclose the medical device is a video laryngoscope.
However, Chen teaches (Figs. 1-3A) a system comprising an anesthesia machine (100, paragraph [0028]) and a medical device in the form of a video laryngoscope (video laryngoscope 130).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the medical device of modified Augustine to include a video laryngoscope, as taught by Chen, for the purpose of allowing for allowing for gathering of data of user throat function and improve treatment outcome through use of displays.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Augustine (US 2019/0290524) in view of Al Jewad (US 20190380794), and further in view of Tamura (US 2004/0212344).
Regarding claim 15, modified Augustine discloses a device charging holder and a at least one battery charging receptacle, but does not disclose these components provide inductive charging.
However, Tamura teaches (Fig. 1-5) a device charging holder (docking station 66) that provides charging to a medical device (AED 64) via inductive charging (via inductors 100 and 104, see Fig. 5 and paragraph [0054]). While Tamura does not disclose a battery charging receptacle, this feature is already taught by the combined Augustine/Al Jewad and one of ordinary skill would have found it obvious for this component to also work via induction charged for the purpose of providing a charging mechanism that is easy to use and reliable for providing quick charging to a device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the type of charging of the device charging holder and at least one battery charging receptacle of modified Augustine to be induction charging, as taught by Tamura, for the purpose of providing a charging mechanism that is easy to use and reliable for providing quick charging to a device.
Claims 16-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Augustine (US 2019/0290524) in view of Elaz (US 2005/0133027).
Regarding claim 16, Augustine discloses (Figs. 1-5) a method of operating an anesthesia machine in concert with a medical device, the method comprising the steps of:
determining a presence status of the medical device relative to the anesthesia machine (display screens 120 display parameters and status of medical devices present in anesthesia machine and thus a presence status, paragraphs [0155]-[0157]); and
displaying the presence status of the medical device relative to the anesthesia machine (paragraphs [0155]-[0157]).
Augustine does not disclose the steps of determining a charge status of the medical device and displaying the charge status of the medical device.
However, Elaz teaches (Figs. 1-3) a method comprising steps of determining a charge status of the medical device (treatment modules 210, 212, 214, 250, 260, paragraph [0034]) and displaying the charge status of the medical device (via display generator 222, paragraph [0034])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Augustine to include the steps of determining a charge status of the medical device and displaying the charge status of the medical device, as taught by Elaz, for the purpose of providing notification to user of status of the power level of the device so that treatment plan can be adjusted accordingly.
Regarding claim 17, modified Augustin discloses the method further comprising the steps of: providing a medical device holder on or in a main body of the anesthesia machine (lower section 14, on main body 18, which holds equipment such as one or more power supplies, the electro-surgical unit and monitor electronics, paragraph [0161] Augustin), the medical device holder being configured to receive and charge the medical device (paragraph [0161] Augustin); and communicating the charge status and the presence status from the medical device holder to the anesthesia machine (paragraph [0155] Augustin).
Regarding claim 19, modified Augustin discloses the charge status and the presence status are determined automatically (determined by sensors and displayed on an electronic display, and thus automatically determined. See paragraphs [0155]-[0157] Augustin and paragraph [0034] Elaz).
Claim 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Augustine (US 2019/0290524) in view of Elaz (US 2005/0133027), and further in view of Al Jewad (US 20190380794).
Regarding claim 18, modified Augustin discloses wherein the medical device holder includes a device charging holder (lower section 14 receives electrosurgical unit/generator and provides power and thus charges, see paragraphs [0200] and [0429]-[0431] Augustin), but does not disclose at least one battery charging receptacle configured to receive and charge a replacement battery.
However, Al Jewad teaches (Figs. 1-5) a medical device holder (drawer 318 for storing of tablet 546, used for controlling a medical robot) comprising at least one battery charging receptacle (power distribution module 404 and charging station 534) for receiving a replacement battery for the medical device (battery 402 which acts as replacement battery, paragraph [0062] Al Jewad. Charging station 534 charges tablet, paragrah [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the medical device holder of Augustin to comprise at least one battery charging receptacle configured to receive and charge a replacement battery and for the medical device, as taught by Al Jewad, for the purpose of ensuring the portable medical devices are well powered during the course of therapy and are then repowered by the power chargers when not in use.
Claims 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Augustine (US 2019/0290524) in view of Elaz (US 2005/0133027), and further in view of Laufenberg (US 2021/0005372).
Regarding claim 20, modified Augustine discloses a method but does not disclose the method comprises the step of prompting the user to enter the presence status and the charge status as part of a checkout procedure for the anesthesia machine.
However, Laufenberg teaches (Fig. 1) a method including the step of prompting the user to enter the presence status (user inputs status information and operating status information, paragraph [0079]) and the charge status (charge status information, paragraph [0079]) as part of a checkout procedure (user could stop using device after inputting information and thus this comprehends a checkout procedure). Regarding this being for an anesthesia machine, while Laufenberg does not disclose an anesthesia machine, the modified invention discloses the method is directed for an anesthesia machine and thus combination of the Laufenberg reference with the invention of modified Augustine would provide for this feature and thus comprehends the claimed invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of modified Augustine to include the step of prompting the user to enter the presence status and the charge status as part of a checkout procedure for the anesthesia machine, as taught by Laufenberg, for the purpose of providing important information to the system so that operation of the system can be adjusted accordingly to optimize therapy to a user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Norman (US 2019/0105120) discloses a mobile medical cart with drawers containing medical devices.
Scott (US 5,083,076) discloses a portable battery booster having a cart with drawers having replacement batteries and chargers.
/MATTHEW R MOON/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785