DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young, Jr. (US Pat. No. 3,915,097) in view of Burgess (US Pat. No. 6,112,918).
In regards to claim 1, Young teaches a foldable seasoning rack, comprising a rear plate (12), a first side guardrail (13), a second side guardrail (14), an upper supporting plate (upper 26), a middle supporting plate (middle 26), a lower supporting plate (lower 26), wherein the first side guardrail, the second side guardrail, and the rear plate are all connected by two first movable hinges (16) (Col 2, Lines 13-21); two sides of the upper supporting plate, two sides of the middle supporting plate, and two sides of the lower supporting plate are respectively connected to the rear plate by two second movable hinges (36) in a hinged manner (Col 3, Lines 7-24); each of the first side guardrail, the second side guardrail, and the rear plate comprises at least three cross rods (15, 19) and at least three vertical rods (17, 18, 23) intersecting with the at least three cross rods respectively to form a lattice patten, the first upper supporting plate (upper 26) is inclined; and upper hooks (21) are fixedly arranged at front positions of upper sides of opposite side end surfaces of the first side guardrail and the second side guardrail; middle hooks (21) are fixedly arranged at front positions, close to the middle, of the opposite side end surfaces of the first side guardrail and the second side guardrail; and lower hooks (21) are fixedly arranged at front positions of lower sides of the opposite side end surfaces of the first side guardrail and the second side guardrail.
Young does not teach a plurality of dense nets. Burgess teaches plates (i.e.; shelves) including dense nets (i.e.; expanded wire metal mesh 60).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and with reasonable expectation of success to modify Young’s rack to comprise a plurality of dense nets as taught by Burgess. The motivation would be for the purpose of preventing objects from falling through the shelves.
In regards to claim 2, modified Young teaches plastic pads (Young: 25) are fixedly arranged at lower ends of the first side guardrail (Young: 13) and the second side guardrail (Young: 14); and the first side guardrail and the second side guardrail are respectively arranged on two sides of the rear plate (Young: 12).
In regards to claim 3, in modifying Young, Burgess teaches the plurality of dense nets (Burgess: 60) are fixedly arranged on inner walls of the two sides of the upper supporting plate, inner walls of the two sides of the middle supporting plate, and inner walls of the two sides of the lower supporting plate (i.e.; Burgess teaches welding the mesh to the cross-bars 44, 46; Col 3, Lines 20-23; see the mesh 60 fixed between the inside surfaces of the cross-bars in Fig. 1).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young, Jr. (US Pat. No. 3,915,097) and Burgess (US Pat. No. 6,112,918), and in further view of Rabbany et al. (US Pat. No. 10,470,566 B1).
In regards to claims 4-6, Young, modified by Burgess, teaches the upper supporting plate (Young: 26) is arranged on an upper side of a front end surface of the rear plate (Young: 12), and the upper supporting plate is positioned on upper end surfaces of the two upper hooks (Young: 21) (claim 4); the middle supporting plate (Young: 26) is arranged at a lower middle position of a front end surface of the rear plate, and the middle supporting plate is positioned on upper end surfaces of the two middle hooks (Young: 21) (claim 5); and the lower supporting plate (Young: 26) is arranged on a lower side of a front end surface of the rear plate, and the lower supporting plate is positioned on upper end surfaces of the two lower hooks (Young: 21) (claim 6).
Young does not teach clamping the supporting plates on the upper end surfaces of the hooks. Rabbany teaches clamping supporting plates (20, 22, 24) on upper surfaces of hooks (clips 40, 41) (i.e.; shelves are snap-fit into the clips; Col 3, Lines 13-15).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and with reasonable expectation of success to modify Young’s rack to clamp the respective supporting plates into the upper surfaces of their respective hooks. The motivation would be for the purpose of holding the plates (i.e.; shelves) in place as taught by Rabbany (Col 3, Lines 13-15).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The examiner now relies on the teachings of Young, Jr. in view of Burgess and Rabbany as discussed with respect to the claims above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Stanton L Krycinski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631