DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 8/31/2026. The objections to the claims have been withdrawn. Claims 1-16 remain pending for consideration on the merits.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a non-contact sensing device” in claims 9 and 13, “an infrared sensing device” in claim 12 and 16.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: : “a non-contact sensing device” and “an infrared sensing device” correspond to an infrared thermopile sensing device as described in paragraph 0042 of the published application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JI et al (US 20240263863) in view of Weibel, Jr. et al (US 4142373)
Regarding claim 1, JI teaches a method for operating an ice maker appliance (100, fig. 9), the method comprising: directing, with a controller (131), liquid water (s1000) into a mold cavity (115) of a mold body (110) of the ice maker appliance to form an ice piece (ice, paragraph 0140) therein; performing, with the controller, an ice harvesting operation (s3000) to release the ice piece from the mold cavity; receiving, with the controller, non-contact-based sensing device data (paragraph 0100-0102) indicative of a temperature within the mold cavity (temperature of water in the 115, paragraph 0100-0102) but fails to explicitly teach receiving, with the controller, non-contact-based sensing device data indicative of a temperature within the mold cavity after performing the ice harvesting operation; detecting, with the controller, a presence of a remaining ice piece within the mold cavity based on the received non-contact-based sensing device data; and initiating, with the controller, a control action associated with the ice maker appliance in response to the detection of the presence of the remaining ice piece within the mold cavity to prevent ice buildup in the mold cavity.
However, Weibel teaches receiving, with the controller (297) , non-contact-based sensing device data indicative of a temperature (temperature, Col. 12, lines 30-58) within the mold cavity after performing the ice harvesting operation (col. 1, lines 53-65, stuck cube, col. 2, lines 22-33, Col. 11, lines 57-65, Col. 12, lines 30-58); detecting, with the controller, a presence of a remaining ice piece (stuck cube, col. 2, lines 22-33, Col. 11, lines 57-65, claim 1), within the mold cavity based on the received non-contact-based sensing device data; and initiating, with the controller, a control action (col. 2, lines 22-33, Col. 11, lines 57-65, Col. 12, lines 30-58) associated with the ice maker appliance in response to the detection of the presence of the remaining ice piece within the mold cavity to prevent ice buildup in the mold cavity (col. 2, lines 22-33, Col. 11, lines 57-65, Col. 12, lines 30-58) to provide an improved ice piece harvest control circuit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of JI to teach receiving, with the controller, non-contact-based sensing device data indicative of a temperature within the mold cavity after performing the ice harvesting operation; detecting, with the controller, a presence of a remaining ice piece within the mold cavity based on the received non-contact-based sensing device data; and initiating, with the controller, a control action associated with the ice maker appliance in response to the detection of the presence of the remaining ice piece within the mold cavity ) to provide an improved ice piece harvest control circuit.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings teach detecting the presence of the remaining ice piece within the mold cavity comprises: determining, with the controller, the temperature (above or below 32 degree F, col. 2, lines 22-33, Col. 11, lines 57-65, Col. 12, lines 30-58 of Weibel) within the mold cavity based on the received non-contact-based sensing device data (col. 2, lines 22-33, Col. 11, lines 57-65, Col. 12, lines 30-58 of Weibel); and detecting, with the controller, the presence of the remaining ice piece within the mold cavity based on the determined temperature within the mold cavity (below 32 degree F, col. 2, lines 22-33, Col. 11, lines 57-65, Col. 12, lines 30-58 of Weibel).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach detecting the presence of the remaining ice piece within the mold cavity comprises: comparing, with the controller, the determined temperature within the mold cavity to a temperature threshold (preset temperature, paragraph 0101-0103 of JI, col. 2, lines 22-33, Col. 11, lines 57-65, Col. 12, lines 30-58 of Weibel); and detecting, with the controller, the presence of the remaining ice piece within the mold cavity in response to the determined temperature within the mold cavity being approximately equal to the temperature threshold (equal, paragraph 0102 of JI, col. 2, lines 22-33, Col. 11, lines 57-65, Col. 12, lines 30-58 of Weibel)).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach initiating the control action comprises: performing, with the controller, an ice harvesting operation (ice separating, paragraph 0101-0103 of JI, col. 2, lines 22-33, Col. 11, lines 57-65, Col. 12, lines 30-58 of Weibel) in response to the detection of the presence of the remaining ice piece within the mold cavity.
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings all the limitations of claim 9 including a non-contact-based sensing device (161 of JI) and a controller (131 of Ji) operatively coupled to the non-contact-based sensing device (paragraph 0101-0103 of JI). See rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claims 10 and 14, the combined teachings teach the mold cavity comprises an open end (open end of 115, annotated fig. 3 below of JI), the open end oriented upwards (fig. 3 of JI).
Regarding claims 11 and 15, the combined teachings teach wherein the non-contact-based sensing device is positioned over the open end of the mold cavity (exposed to the ice tray, paragraph 0100 of JI) so that the non-contact-based sensing device has a temperature detection range within the mold cavity (paragraph 0100-0103 of JI).
Regarding claims 12 and 16, the combined teachings teach the non-contact-based sensing device is configured as an infrared-based sensing device (infrared, paragraph 0100 of JI).
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings all the limitations of claim 10 including a refrigerator appliance (1 of JI) defining a vertical direction (fig. 2 of JI), a lateral direction (fig. 2 of JI), and a transverse direction (fig. 2 of JI), comprising: a cabinet (cabinet, paragraph 0075 of JI) defining a chilled chamber (refrigerating compartment, paragraph 0077 of JI); a door (a door, paragraph 0075 of JI) rotatably mounted to the cabinet to provide selective access to the chilled chamber (fig. 2 of JI); an ice maker (100 of JI) positioned within the chilled chamber (fig. 1 of JI). See rejection of claim 9.
Claims 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JI et al (US 20240263863) in view of Weibel, Jr. et al (US 4142373) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al (US 20220357088).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach the temperature threshold corresponds to an ambient temperature within the ice maker appliance.
However, Kim teaches the temperature threshold (temperature sensor has reached an OFF reference, paragraph 0618) corresponds to an ambient temperature (a temperature above zero, paragraph 0620, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize an ambient temperature would be above zero) within the ice maker appliance to efficiently separate ice.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of JI to include the temperature threshold corresponds to an ambient temperature within the ice maker appliance in view of the teachings of Kim to efficiently separate ice.
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach initiating the control action comprises: operating, with the controller, a valve (810 of Kim) of the ice maker appliance to restrict the flow of liquid water (turn off valve, paragraph 0504 of Kim) to the mold cavity in response to the detection of the presence of the remaining ice piece within the mold cavity (paragraph 0101-0103 of JI).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JI et al (US 20240263863) in view of Weibel, Jr. et al (US 4142373) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shi et al (US 20220235991).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach wherein initiating the control action comprises: initiating, with the controller, a notification to an operator of the ice maker appliance of an unsuccessful ice harvesting operation when the presence of the remaining ice piece within the mold cavity is detected.
However, Shi teaches wherein initiating the control action (movement of ejector, paragraph 0105) comprises: initiating, with the controller, a notification to an operator of the ice maker appliance (it is well known in the art of ice making to provide a notification or an alert) of an unsuccessful ice harvesting operation (error, fig. 17a) when the presence of the remaining ice piece within the mold cavity is detected (blocked due to ice accumulation, paragraph 0105) to provide a reliable ice maker control to detect and remove ice that may be interfering with the movement of the ejector finger.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of JI to include wherein initiating the control action comprises: initiating, with the controller, a notification to an operator of the ice maker appliance of an unsuccessful ice harvesting operation when the presence of the remaining ice piece within the mold cavity is detected in view of the teachings of Shi to provide a reliable ice maker control to detect and remove ice that may be interfering with the movement of the ejector finger.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JI et al (US 20240263863) in view of Weibel, Jr. et al (US 4142373) and Shi et al (US 20220235991) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Kim et al (US 20220357088).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach wherein initiating the notification to the operator comprises: displaying the notification to the operator of the ice maker appliance of the unsuccessful ice harvesting operation when the presence of the remaining ice piece within the mold cavity is detected.
However, Kim teaches wherein initiating the notification to the operator comprises: displaying (820) the notification to the operator of the ice maker appliance of the unsuccessful ice harvesting operation when the presence of the remaining ice piece within the mold cavity is detected (paragraph 0469, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the error for harvesting of Shi is capable of being displayed on the output 820 of Kim to provide notification) so that the error state can be quickly checked, thus enabling a user to quickly repair the refrigerator.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include initiating the notification to the operator comprises: displaying the notification to the operator of the ice maker appliance of the unsuccessful ice harvesting operation when the presence of the remaining ice piece within the mold cavity is detected in view of the teachings of Kim so that the error state can be quickly checked, thus enabling a user to quickly repair the refrigerator.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763