DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-4 and 8-11 are pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. As of the date of this application, no Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) has been filed on behalf of this case.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 8-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,285,671. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the pending claims is encompassed by the claims of the patent. More specifically, claim 1 of the patent encompasses pending claims 1 and 8; patent claim 2 is a substantial duplicate of pending claim 2, with the only differences being caused by the amendment on 03/05/2025; and patent claims 3-5 are identical to pending claims 3-4 and 9-11, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staten et al. (US 2012/0289384) in view of Chen (US 2020/0114191).
In regards to Claim 1, Staten discloses a mounting system for attachment of interchangeable exercise machine accessories, comprising: a mounting bracket configured to be attached to a vertical support column (Staten: Fig. 6-11; 16) of an exercise machine having a plurality of horizontal holes for attachment of exercise accessories, the mounting bracket, comprising a housing (Staten: Fig. 4-11; 52) formed of a rigid material or materials having a front and two sides (Staten: Fig. 4-11; 26, 28) in a partial rectangular configuration, and configured to partially enclose the vertical support column within the front and two sides when mounted; a mounting plate (Staten: Fig. 4-11; 52), comprising a housing formed of a rigid material or materials having a front and two sides (Staten: Fig. 4-11; 32, 34) in a partial rectangular configuration, and configured to partially enclose the mounting bracket within the front and two sides when mounted; a support structure (Staten: Fig. 4-11; 38) for an exercise accessory; and one or more fastening devices (Staten: Fig. 4-11; 66, 74) for attachment of the mounting plate to the mounting bracket.
Staten fails to disclose a housing extension on one side of the housing for attachment of a first pin. However, Chen teaches a housing extension (Chen: Fig. 3; 31) on one side of the housing for attachment of a first pin (Chen: Fig. 3; 34).
Staten and Chen are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. adjustable support brackets. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting bracket housing in Staten with the extension and pin from Chen, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide an attaching pin that is more visible to a user (Chen: Fig. 3; shows visible pin), thereby making the first step of the attachment process simpler by making the pin easier to align at the desired location.
In regards to Claim 2, Staten, as modified, teaches the mounting system of claim 1, wherein the one or more fastening devices used between the mounting bracket and mounting plate comprise one or more of tabs and slots (Staten: Fig. 4-11; 66, 74), pins and holes, rails and slots, bolts or screws with corresponding threads in the mounting bracket or mounting plate, and magnets.
In regards to Claim 3, Staten, as modified, teaches the mounting system of claim 2, wherein the one or more fastening devices (Staten: Fig. 4-11; 66, 74) are configured to engage with one another via friction.
In regards to Claim 4, Staten, as modified, teaches the mounting system of claim 3, wherein the one or more fastening devices are tabs and slots (Staten: Fig. 4-11; 66, 74), further wherein the tabs are angled to cause increasing friction within the slots as the tabs are inserted into the slots.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staten et al. (US 2012/0289384) in view of Chen (US 2020/0114191) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2015?0257533).
In regards to Claim 8, Staten, as modified, teaches the mounting system of claim 1, but fails to disclose a locking mechanism comprising a cam attached to the mounting plate via a cam pin, the cam being configured to engage with a surface of the mounting bracket when rotated.
However, Yang teaches a locking mechanism comprising a cam (Yang: Fig. 4a-5c; 24) attached to a mounting plate (Yang: Fig. 4a-5c; 20) via a cam pin, the cam being configured to engage with a surface of the mounting bracket when rotated.
Staten and Yang are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. adjustable support brackets. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting bracket and plate in Staten with the locking mechanism from Yang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a locking means that secures the mounting plate to the mounting bracket via clamping forces that cause holding pressure at multiple locations, is quickly securable by a user, and provides a tactile indication that has been moved to a fully locked position, thereby making repositioning of the mounting plate simpler and faster while still ensuring a secure hold (Yang: [0085]-[0087]).
In regards to Claim 9, Staten, as modified, teaches the mounting system of claim 8, wherein the cam (Yang: Fig. 4a-5c; 24) is mounted in-line with the support structure (Staten: Fig. 4-11; 38), and has an offset such that rotation of the cam causes an outer edge of the cam to engage with the surface of the mounting bracket (Yang: Fig. 5a-5c).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for cited references.
/Taylor Morris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631