DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12, 14-17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Ramaswamy et al. (US Pat. 7,609,853) in view of Luff (US Pub. 2010/0195865) and in further view of Mandal et al. (US Pub. 2020/0349928), herein referenced as Ramaswamy, Luff, and Mandal, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Ramaswamy discloses “An audience measurement system comprising: a processor and a memory having stored thereon machine readable instructions that, when executed by the processor (Col. 5 lines 48-65, Figs. 2-3), cause the audience measurement system to perform operations comprising:
providing, via a network and in response to a detected movement of a user in a media presentation area, an instruction to a … home device to output a request for verification of user presence in the media presentation area (Col. 2 lines 39-62, Col. 3 lines 11-20, Col. 3 lines 37-57, Col. 9 lines 11-51, Figs. 1-3, i.e., detecting motion of audience members and audience change detector prompting the audience to identify members if a change in the number of people in the audience is visually detected, wherein the prompt maybe be an audible sound);
obtaining, via the network and from the … home device, an audio speech input received from the user by the … home device… (Col 4 lines 4-12, Fig. 2, i.e., input device may be a microphone and voice recognition engine);
generating user presence data that correlates the audio speech input with media presented by a media presentation device; and storing the user presence data in a database.” (Col. 6 line 66-Col. 7 line 37, Figs. 4A-B, i.e. updating the database with input data (e.g., an audience member's identity)).
Ramaswamy teaches audience change detector that prompts the audience to identify members if a change in the number of people in the audience is visually detected, however fails to explicitly disclose a smart home device.
Luff teaches the technique of providing a smart home device for audience measurement ([0028], [0113], [0115], [0120]-[0121], Figs. 13-15, i.e., smart speaker collects audience measurement data). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing a smart home device for audience measurement as taught by Luff, to improve the audience detection system of Ramaswamy for the predictable result of utilizing a ubiquitous and affordable smart device to gather audience data that can also provide a variety of hands-free assistance controls.
The combination fails to explicitly disclose providing, via a network, an instruction to notify the user that the audio speech input is received.
Mandal teaches the technique of providing, via a network, an instruction to notify the user that the audio speech input is received ([0028], [0030], Fig. 1, i.e., output audio data 121 may correspond to confirmation that the voice command was received (e.g., “Here is a playlist of electronic dance music.”) or other responsive data). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing, via a network, an instruction to notify the user that the audio speech input is received as taught by Mandal, to improve the audience detection system of Ramaswamy for the predictable result of providing the user with assurance that the voice command was heard and understood.
Regarding claim 2, Ramaswamy discloses “wherein the request for verification of user presence in the media presentation area comprises an audio request provided through a speaker of the … home device.” (Col. 3 lines 37-57, i.e., the prompter may be an audible sound).
Regarding claim 3, Ramaswamy discloses “wherein the operations further comprise: after providing the instruction to the … home device to output the request for verification of user presence, activating a flash indicator of a meter device disposed in the media presentation area.” (Col. 3 lines 37-57, i.e., the prompter may be a flashing light).
Regarding claim 5, Ramaswamy discloses “wherein the operations further comprise: performing speech analysis of the audio speech input to detect a user identifier associated with the user.” (Col 4 lines 4-12, Fig. 2, i.e., input device may be a microphone and voice recognition engine).
Regarding claim 7, Ramaswamy discloses “wherein correlating the audio speech input with media presented by the media presentation device comprises: correlating one or more timestamps associated with the audio speech input with one or more timestamps associated with motion signal data obtained by a motion sensor.” (Col. 4 lines 13-28, Col. 6 line 66-Col. 7 line 9, Col. 7 lines 56-67, i.e., an audience change detector utilizing a voice recognition engine and a time stamper recording a time and date that an audience change occurred).
Regarding claim 8, Ramaswamy discloses “A non-transitory machine readable storage medium comprising instructions that , when executed, cause a processor to perform operations (Col. 5 lines 48-65, Figs. 2-3) comprising:
providing, via a network and in response to a detected movement of a user in a media presentation area, an instruction to a … home device to output a request for verification of user presence in the media presentation area (Col. 2 lines 39-62, Col. 3 lines 11-20, Col. 3 lines 37-57, Col. 9 lines 11-51, Figs. 1-3, i.e., detecting motion of audience members and audience change detector prompting the audience to identify members if a change in the number of people in the audience is visually detected, wherein the prompt maybe be an audible sound);
obtaining, via the network and from the … home device, an audio speech input received from the user by the … home device… (Col 4 lines 4-12, Fig. 2, i.e., input device may be a microphone and voice recognition engine);
generating user presence data that correlates the audio speech input with media presented by a media presentation device; and storing the user presence data in a database.” (Col. 6 line 66-Col. 7 line 37, Figs. 4A-B, i.e. updating the database with input data (e.g., an audience member's identity)).
Ramaswamy teaches audience change detector that prompts the audience to identify members if a change in the number of people in the audience is visually detected, however fails to explicitly disclose a smart home device.
Luff teaches the technique of providing a smart home device for audience measurement ([0028], [0113], [0115], [0120]-[0121], Figs. 13-15, i.e., smart speaker collects audience measurement data). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing a smart home device for audience measurement as taught by Luff, to improve the audience detection system of Ramaswamy for the predictable result of utilizing a ubiquitous and affordable smart device to gather audience data that can also provide a variety of hands-free assistance controls.
The combination fails to explicitly disclose providing, via a network, an instruction to notify the user that the audio speech input is received.
Mandal teaches the technique of providing, via a network, an instruction to notify the user that the audio speech input is received ([0028], [0030], Fig. 1, i.e., output audio data 121 may correspond to confirmation that the voice command was received (e.g., “Here is a playlist of electronic dance music.”) or other responsive data). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing, via a network, an instruction to notify the user that the audio speech input is received as taught by Mandal, to improve the audience detection system of Ramaswamy for the predictable result of providing the user with assurance that the voice command was heard and understood.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, Ramaswamy discloses “A method comprising: providing, via a network and in response to a detected movement of a user in a media presentation area, an instruction to a … home device to output a request for verification of user presence in the media presentation area (Col. 2 lines 39-62, Col. 3 lines 11-20, Col. 3 lines 37-57, Col. 9 lines 11-51, Figs. 1-3, i.e., detecting motion of audience members and audience change detector prompting the audience to identify members if a change in the number of people in the audience is visually detected, wherein the prompt maybe be an audible sound);
obtaining, via the network and from the … home device, an audio speech input received from the user by the … home device (Col 4 lines 4-12, Fig. 2, i.e., input device may be a microphone and voice recognition engine);
generating user presence data that correlates the audio speech input with media presented by a media presentation device; and storing the user presence data in a database.” (Col. 6 line 66-Col. 7 line 37, Figs. 4A-B, i.e. updating the database with input data (e.g., an audience member's identity)).
Ramaswamy teaches audience change detector that prompts the audience to identify members if a change in the number of people in the audience is visually detected, however fails to explicitly disclose a smart home device.
Luff teaches the technique of providing a smart home device for audience measurement ([0028], [0113], [0115], [0120]-[0121], Figs. 13-15, i.e., smart speaker collects audience measurement data). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing a smart home device for audience measurement as taught by Luff, to improve the audience detection system of Ramaswamy for the predictable result of utilizing a ubiquitous and affordable smart device to gather audience data that can also provide a variety of hands-free assistance controls.
The combination fails to explicitly disclose providing, via a network, an instruction to notify the user that the audio speech input is received.
Mandal teaches the technique of providing, via a network, an instruction to notify the user that the audio speech input is received ([0028], [0030], Fig. 1, i.e., output audio data 121 may correspond to confirmation that the voice command was received (e.g., “Here is a playlist of electronic dance music.”) or other responsive data). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing, via a network, an instruction to notify the user that the audio speech input is received as taught by Mandal, to improve the audience detection system of Ramaswamy for the predictable result of providing the user with assurance that the voice command was heard and understood.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 5.
Claims 6, 13, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Ramaswamy in view of Luff, Mandal, and in further view of Conrad et al. (US Pub. 2015/0341692), herein referenced as Conrad.
Regarding claim 6, the combination fails to disclose “wherein correlating the audio speech input with media presented by the media presentation device comprises: correlating one or more timestamps associated with the audio speech input with one or more timestamps associated with signatures or watermarks that characterize the media presented by the media presentation device.”
Conrad teaches the technique of providing wherein correlating the audio speech input with media presented by the media presentation device comprises: correlating one or more timestamps associated with the audio speech input with one or more timestamps associated with signatures or watermarks that characterize the media presented by the media presentation device ([0012]-[0015], [0023], [0034], [0085], [0098], Figs. 1, 4-5, i.e., determining audience state or interest using passive sensor data and what portions the viewer watched and how intently the viewer watched those portions. For instance, determining a viewer is talking during particular portions of the media program, such as a movie with advertisements. Additionally, the portions of the media program may be marked as having a particular media type. For example, Incredible Family is both an adventure and a comedy program, with portions of the movie marked as having either of these media types).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing wherein correlating the audio speech input with media presented by the media presentation device comprises: correlating one or more timestamps associated with the audio speech input with one or more timestamps associated with signatures or watermarks that characterize the media presented by the media presentation device as taught by Conrad, to improve the audience detection system of Ramaswamy for the predictable result of allowing advertisers and media providers to learn what kinds of shows people wish to watch ([0002]).
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 6.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 11, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER Q HUERTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425 February 12, 2026