Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 10-12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (2023/0008199) in view of Park (2014/0012587).
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses a mobile device (30), comprising a clock configured to create a touch time stamp when a viewer of a multimedia media playback played on a screen touches a virtual call-to- action (CTA) button on a remote control in response to a request to the viewer to press the CTA button, and configured to create a trigger time stamp when the viewer presses the CTA button on the remote control (note touch and hold operation and tap operation as described in par. 40); except
configured to create a release time stamp when the viewer finishes touching the CTA button on the remote control. However, Yu teaches that the virtual button can be configured to perform different operations, but not limited to, such as touch and hold and tap operations (par. 40).
Park, from the similar field of endeavor, teaches the scheme of generating a timestamp when a software or virtual button is released in a mobile device (note par. 42, 47). In addition, Park also teaches the generation of timestamp when the virtual button is actuated or pressed.
Hence, in view the similarity in between Yu and Park and if release timestamp is needed in Yu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Park into Yu so that the release timestamp could be part of the input operations of Yu.
Regarding claim 2, Yu discloses the request to the viewer comprises a configuration instruction to display the CTA button on the screen (note par. 40).
Regarding claim 3, Yu discloses a communication interface arranged to send a change instruction to the remote control, requesting the viewer to press the CTA button and change the an appearance of the CTA button (note par. 40).
Regarding claim 6, Yu inherently discloses the clock is further configured to create a presentation time stamp documenting when the request was displayed to the viewer (note par. 93, 98, 144, 148).
Regarding claim 10-12, and 15, see similar rejections as set forth above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 7, 9, 13-14, and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
/MICHAEL LEE/ Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2422