CTNF 18/829,772 CTNF 87773 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US 2012/0018641) (“Watanabe”), and further in view of Oda et al. (US 2016/0210410) (“Oda”) . With regards to claim 1 and 13-14 , Watanabe discloses a radiation image capturing device and a radiation image capturing method that captures an image of radiation transmitted through a human body ([0003][0078]; FIG. 1) , the radiation imaging apparatus comprising: an image generation unit ([0254]; FIG. 22; electronic cassette 20) configured to generate a radiation image based on an incident radiation ([0078]; “…an electronic cassette (radiation image capturing device) 20 that detects the radiation 16 transmitted through the subject 14 and converts the radiation into a radiation image,…”) ; and a control unit (system controller; 24) configured to, in a case where it is determined, based on a camera image captured by a camera and output data output from a detection sensor configured to detect at least either one of a position or a movement ([0254]; “…the electronic cassette 20 ….. sequentially detects positioning of the subject 14 and predicts the image capturing possibility at the present time, on the basis of an aging characteristic of the positioning…., the positioning means the position and the posture of the subject 14 when radiation image capturing is performed under a predetermined arrangement relationship between the radiation device 18 and the electronic cassette 20”) , that at least any one of conditions including a positional relation between the radiation imaging apparatus and a radiation generation apparatus configured to generate the radiation [0254] , a positional relation between the subject and the radiation imaging apparatus [0254] , or a posture of the subject becomes a predetermined state in the radiation imaging [0254] , perform control so that a transition is made from a wait/sleep state ([0156][0255]; sleep state ) in which a lower power consumption is provided than in an imaging-ready state in which the radiation is detectable by the image generation unit, to the imaging-ready state ([0156]; “The electronic cassette 20 maintains a sleep state, until the start signal is transmitted. The sleep state means a state in which power is not supplied to the radiation conversion panel 64 and the driving circuit unit 106.”) . Watanabe teaches that the electronic cassette 20 transits from a sleep state to a start state [0255] and the reference further teaches that the electronic cassette 20 maintains a sleep state until a start signal is transmitted [0156]. Further, Watanabe teaches of a standby mode used to decrease power consumption when not in image capturing mode [0252]. Additionally, the reference teaches that the cassette control unit 1058 of the electronic cassette 1040 can be maintained in a waiting state until a radiation dose reaches a certain threshold [0415]. Finally, the reference teaches of a “sleep state” wherein power is not supplied to the radiation conversion panel 64 and the driving circuit unit 106 [0156] . Watanabe do not specifically teach of using a “wait state” to lower power consumption. In the same field of endeavor, Oda discloses a radiographic imaging device configured to acquire a radiographic image in accordance with irradiated radiation (Abstract) . Oda [0093] teaches “…the imaging control unit 22 causes the radiation detector 20 to be in a standby state ….the “standby state” represents a state in which the power of the radiographic imaging device 14 is On, and the radiographic imaging device 14 is waiting for an instruction for imaging a radiographic image .” ([0064] teaches that the radiation detector 20 can be an electronic cassette.) In view of Oda, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize or view the standby mode of Watanabe, as a standby/waiting/sleep state wherein the imaging device is on and is awaiting instructions to perform imaging. Utilizing a standby/waiting/sleep state in the electronic cassette decreases power consumption while awaiting radiographic imaging instructions/signal. With regards to claim 2 , Watanabe, in view of Oda, discloses the radiation imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the subject (Watanabe; FIG. 1; 14) is positioned between a radiation irradiation unit (Watanabe; FIG. 1; radiation source 34) of the radiation generation apparatus (Watanabe; FIG. 1; radiation device 18) and the radiation imaging apparatus (Watanabe; FIG. 1; electronic cassette (radiation image capturing device) 20 ) , and wherein a positional relation between the radiation generation apparatus and the radiation imaging apparatus is a positional relation between the radiation irradiation unit of the radiation generation apparatus and the radiation imaging apparatus (Watanabe; [0254]) . With regards to claim 3 , Watanabe, in view of Oda, discloses the radiation imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the camera is disposed on a radiation irradiation unit of the radiation generation apparatus. (Watanabe; [0301]) With regards to claim 4 , Watanabe, in view of Oda, discloses the radiation imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the detection sensor includes at least any one of an acceleration sensor, a gyro sensor, or an earth magnetism sensor. (Watanabe; [0301]) With regards to claim 5 , Watanabe, in view of Oda, discloses the radiation imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in a case where the at least any one of the conditions deviates from the predetermined state, the control unit performs control so that a transition from the imaging-ready state to the wait state is made. (Watanabe; [0253])(Oda; [0109]) With regards to claim 6 , Watanabe, in view of Oda, discloses the radiation imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in a case where, after the control unit performs control so that the transition to the imaging-ready state is made, at least any one of the conditions deviates from the predetermined state, the control unit performs control so that a notification unit issues a notification of the deviation. (Watanabe; [0260][0272][0277]) With regards to claim 7 , Watanabe, in view of Oda, discloses the radiation imaging apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the notification unit issues the notification by using at least either one of a display. (Watanabe; [0260]) With regards to claim 8 , Watanabe, in view of Oda, discloses the radiation imaging apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the notification unit is disposed on at least any one of a control apparatus configured to control the radiation imaging apparatus, the radiation imaging apparatus, or the radiation generation apparatus. (Watanabe; [0260]) With regards to claim 9, Watanabe, in view of Oda, discloses the radiation imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in a case where, after the control unit performs control so that the transition to the imaging-ready state is made, the radiation image is transmitted to a control apparatus configured to control the radiation imaging apparatus (Watanabe; [0128][0265]) , the control unit performs control so that a transition to the wait state is made (Watanabe; [0253])(Oda; [0109]). With regards to claim 10, Watanabe, in view of Oda, discloses the radiation imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in a case where, after the control unit performs control so that the transition to the imaging-ready state is made, the image generation unit reads an electrical signal related to the radiation image (Watanabe; [0154]) , the control unit performs control so that a transition to the wait state is made (Watanabe; [0253])(Oda; [0109]) . With regards to claim 11, Watanabe, in view of Oda, discloses the radiation imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in a case where an imaging preparation time of the radiation imaging apparatus is equal to or less than an irradiation preparation time for the radiation to be generated by the radiation generation apparatus, the control unit performs control so that the transition from the wait state to the imaging-ready state is made in a case where an irradiation preparation request for the radiation is issued to the radiation generation apparatus (Watanabe; [0006][0310][0311][0312]) , and wherein, in a case where the imaging preparation time of the radiation imaging apparatus is larger than the irradiation preparation time for the radiation to be generated by the radiation generation apparatus, the control unit performs control so that the transition from the wait state to the imaging-ready state is made in a case where at least any one of the conditions becomes the predetermined state (Watanabe; [0526]) (Oda; [0251]) . With regards to claim 12, Watanabe, in view of Oda, discloses the radiation imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined state is determined based on an imaging order. (Watanabe; [0255][0265]) With regards to claim 15, Watanabe, in view of Oda, discloses the radiation imaging apparatus according to claim 14, a storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute the control method according to claim 14. (Watanabe; [0394][0401][0443]) Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ishioka (US 2020/0041670) Tamura et al. (US 2013/0279661) Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HUGH H MAUPIN whose telephone number is (571)270-1495. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30 - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Uzma Alam can be reached at 571-272-3995. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HUGH MAUPIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884 Application/Control Number: 18/829,772 Page 2 Art Unit: 2884 Application/Control Number: 18/829,772 Page 3 Art Unit: 2884 Application/Control Number: 18/829,772 Page 4 Art Unit: 2884 Application/Control Number: 18/829,772 Page 5 Art Unit: 2884 Application/Control Number: 18/829,772 Page 6 Art Unit: 2884 Application/Control Number: 18/829,772 Page 7 Art Unit: 2884 Application/Control Number: 18/829,772 Page 8 Art Unit: 2884 Application/Control Number: 18/829,772 Page 9 Art Unit: 2884 Application/Control Number: 18/829,772 Page 10 Art Unit: 2884 Application/Control Number: 18/829,772 Page 11 Art Unit: 2884 Application/Control Number: 18/829,772 Page 12 Art Unit: 2884 Application/Control Number: 18/829,772 Page 13 Art Unit: 2884